Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    87
    A lot of gaming per pound. [Sept 2012, p.108]
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    91
    As a whole, this is a set of games that is really a must have for Vita owners. Whether you're starving for content on the Vita, or feel pretty satiated with the current slate of titles that have released over the past couple weeks, having both of these games on a handheld platform is simply amazing.
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    90
    Packed with content, and it's a joy to play. Whether you're returning to Snake's adventures or experiencing them for the first time, these two games feel at home on the Vita, look great and will keep you busy for quite some time.
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    90
    There's no Peace Walker included, frame rate might be inconsistent, rear touch controls are a little tricky to adapt to and a few textures didn't age so well; however, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers two real masterpieces which really stand the test of time.
  5. 90
    Strong proof that MGS works on handhelds, even if Peace Walker isn't on it.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    90
    Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection contains two of the very best stealth games of the last decade, lavishly updated and jam-packed with extra content.
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    88
    When you're out and about and you've got some downtime, your fancy new Vita is just begging for some classic stealth action. If you're a fan, it's a no-brainer.
  8. Jun 18, 2012
    90
    While the lack of Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is extremely disappointing, if you own a Vita and somehow managed to miss all of the previous releases of these two titles, now is a better time than ever to come out of your cardboard box and experience these two award winning games whether at home or on the go.
  9. Feb 11, 2015
    96
    The Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is an absolute wonderful port that in someways is better than its PS3 brother. With stunning graphics and the great touch controls, it's almost perfect. Despite Peace Walker not being included, it would be a shame if this game wasn't in every Vita owners collection.
  10. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    As in the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions, a polished collection with two classics that every gamer should try. They have been upgraded visually and well adapted to the portable screen, but maybe it arrives too late for some players who had already bought the domestic versions. And of course we miss Peace Walker.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I got my copy of MGS HD Collection a day early and I've been playing ever since.

    The best compliment I can give it is that it's a perfect
    I got my copy of MGS HD Collection a day early and I've been playing ever since.

    The best compliment I can give it is that it's a perfect reproduction of the original games (Metal Gear Solid 2 and Metal Gear Solid 3) with improved graphics.

    The original games were so incredibly good that giving this game anything less than a 10 would be a travesty. I'm disappointed (and perplexed) by the fact that Peace Walker wasn't included in the package as it was in the console version, but it is absolutely amazing having these legendary games in your pocket. Gameplay-wise they are as flawless as always. Time has done nothing to diminish their awesomeness. Graphically they are much improved from the originals. They look gorgeous on the Vita's screen.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This is my first MGS game...and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The game has an incredibly deep story, fairly consistent graphics forThis is my first MGS game...and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The game has an incredibly deep story, fairly consistent graphics for a remastered game, but what really blows away my mind are the controls. Resistance had some control problems, but this kind of reinvents the way tps and fps on the vita should have. I haven't finished the games yet, but they seem to be long lasting, as I'm well into 5 hours into MGS 2 part and 2 hours on the MGS 3 part and it doesn't seem to be approaching the end. A bang for your bucks in every possible way. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    1
    Love Metal Gear, I always dreamed of playing it on a hand-held when I first bought the game. But Konami has such serious flaws with such aLove Metal Gear, I always dreamed of playing it on a hand-held when I first bought the game. But Konami has such serious flaws with such a great game. First of all, why aren't the subsistence features added on? You know, stuff like Secret theater, VR Training, Boss Rush, Snake Vs. Monkey, Metal Gear Skateboarding, Did I mention Boss rush? So much taken away, FOR NO GOOD REASON. Why did they take that out? Another thing is that Konami had to be greedy jerks and NOT leave in Metal Gear Peace Walker. This whole Transferring thing is a complete gimmick, I think people are patient enough to wait before playing this game on the ps3. You might as well just buy the originals, after all those had much more features than this game. This game is only good if you are new to the whole franchise in which I say, you are better off just buying the subsistence versions and getting peace walker for your psp because if you don't, you won't be truly enveloped in the Metal gear experience. I'd like to say that the metal gear and metal gear II add-ons were nice however, but these guys had a chance to go above and beyond and didn't take it. Full Review »