Metal Gear Solid HD Collection PlayStation Vita

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 220 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: SnakeFrom the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, the HD Collection offers old and new fans a chance to experience the epic game play, design and storytelling of the MGS franchise. The "Metal Gear Solid (MGS)" series is the seminal work of Hideo Kojima, Japan's master game creator, and the progenitor of the stealth action game genre. The series has become a global phenomenon, with over 27 million copies sold worldwide. The player controls a secret agent from an elite special forces unit who is sent on solo sneaking missions through enemy installations, vast jungles, and sometimes even the thick of battle. Alone and surrounded by the enemy, even a special forces agent will find it tough to come out alive. But that is the secret behind the series' popularity-the cerebral challenge of figuring out how to avoid combat, and the thrill of sneaking through enemy territory undetected.The MGS series is also known for its storyline, which blends seamlessly with the gameplay. The scenarios are based on extensive research and incorporate the drama of actual developments in society. These elements have made MGS what it is today: a mature work of entertainment that transcends national borders and the confines of video games, and one of the leading products of the Japanesecontent business. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Feb 11, 2015
    96
    The Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is an absolute wonderful port that in someways is better than its PS3 brother. With stunning graphics and the great touch controls, it's almost perfect. Despite Peace Walker not being included, it would be a shame if this game wasn't in every Vita owners collection.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    90
    There's no Peace Walker included, frame rate might be inconsistent, rear touch controls are a little tricky to adapt to and a few textures didn't age so well; however, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers two real masterpieces which really stand the test of time.
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    88
    When you're out and about and you've got some downtime, your fancy new Vita is just begging for some classic stealth action. If you're a fan, it's a no-brainer.
  4. 80
    Ultimately, the incredible amount of fun and content to be had within Metal Gear Solid 2 and 3 outweighs a lot of this package's negatives. But the lack of Peace Walker is such a glaring omission, it really cannot be dismissed all that easily.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    Two great classics with tons of extra material. They look great in HD, but where is Metal Gear: Peace Walker?
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    It's no surprise, in my opinion, that Metal Gear Solid 4 and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker went to considerate efforts to emulate Big Boss's original adventure - but neither manage to capture what made Metal Gear Solid 3 so special.
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    The content MGS: HD Collection offers is some of the finest of the last decade. But it's also frustrating that this collection could have-and should have-offered so much more.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I got my copy of MGS HD Collection a day early and I've been playing ever since.

    The best compliment I can give it is that it's a perfect
    I got my copy of MGS HD Collection a day early and I've been playing ever since.

    The best compliment I can give it is that it's a perfect reproduction of the original games (Metal Gear Solid 2 and Metal Gear Solid 3) with improved graphics.

    The original games were so incredibly good that giving this game anything less than a 10 would be a travesty. I'm disappointed (and perplexed) by the fact that Peace Walker wasn't included in the package as it was in the console version, but it is absolutely amazing having these legendary games in your pocket. Gameplay-wise they are as flawless as always. Time has done nothing to diminish their awesomeness. Graphically they are much improved from the originals. They look gorgeous on the Vita's screen.
    Collapse
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Another essential purchase. The controls will make you insane at first, but after that hump... these are some of the best (and weirdest) videoAnother essential purchase. The controls will make you insane at first, but after that hump... these are some of the best (and weirdest) video games out there. Expand
  3. Aug 10, 2015
    10
    Jogo ótimo , com todos os clássicos e remasterizados , o Hideo Kojima é mestre no que faz, e o Big Boss aprova isso , parabéns, históriasJogo ótimo , com todos os clássicos e remasterizados , o Hideo Kojima é mestre no que faz, e o Big Boss aprova isso , parabéns, histórias perfeitas. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    Peacewalker.... Peacewalker!? PEACEWALKEER! (If mgs: peacewalker was included, it would be a 10.) You already know how great mgs is, so pickPeacewalker.... Peacewalker!? PEACEWALKEER! (If mgs: peacewalker was included, it would be a 10.) You already know how great mgs is, so pick it up. It would also be cool if they added the first mgs into this collection too, just for the sake of the story (Or at least a cinematic recap of sorts). But... that may be asking too much. The thing that I love about metal gear solid is the really dumb sense of humour that helps to settle you down from some of the more serious parts. If you didn't have the patience to play these games back in the day, then you wont be able to play them now, thought. Other than a few touch controls (which can be a little hit or miss) this game remains as deep, interesting and methodical, or as slow, boring and detached as you remember it. Fortunately, anyone who isn't an impatient and whining needs-in-your-face-action-all-the-time little kid, should remember these games as the masterpieces that they are. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    This is in my opinion the best PS Vita experience out there today. You don't sacrifice much if anything compared to the console edition of theThis is in my opinion the best PS Vita experience out there today. You don't sacrifice much if anything compared to the console edition of the game. I was worry that the Vita version wouldn't look good compared to the PS3 version, but the game looks amazing on the Vita. After owning MGS3 for both the Vita and 3DS the Vita does have the better version. The transfer of saves between the PS3 and Vita work without any problems. The trophies are cross compatible as well. If you earn a trophy on PS3, you earn it as well on the Vita. But, if you have past saves on PS3 that was started before the Vita release trophies will be disabled for that save but save transfer still works without a problem. Any new save will have trophy transfer. It would of been nice to have Peace Walker on this game, but you truly get a console experience on a handheld. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Great storyline, unique boss fights, amazing graphics. Konami did a good job with the vita version of the game. However, there are twoGreat storyline, unique boss fights, amazing graphics. Konami did a good job with the vita version of the game. However, there are two annoying traits that prevents me from giving it a perfect score. 1) The controls are god awful. I was 15 hours into the game and I still could not wrap my head around the nonsensical control choices implemented by developers. I would be in a heated firefight a lot of times and end up sticking to walls by accident while trying to run away. Sometimes when Im in first person view, aiming down will cause my character to get in the prone position. And the one perk I hate the most, is the inability to readily aim the way I want to while using a long gun. Im either aiming down the sights or shooting from the hip. It seems almost random. In tense battles my view is always involuntarily zooming in and out. 2) The second thing I hate is the developers' reluctance to add a restart option. The only way I can retry is by saving, then quitting the game, and reloading the game, or by standing there and waiting for the enememies to kill me. Seriously Konami, for the most part you guys are game developing geniuses, but theres a portion of you thats a damn stubborn dumb ass. Find someone else to map controls for you next time because you sre incompetent in that department. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    1
    Love Metal Gear, I always dreamed of playing it on a hand-held when I first bought the game. But Konami has such serious flaws with such aLove Metal Gear, I always dreamed of playing it on a hand-held when I first bought the game. But Konami has such serious flaws with such a great game. First of all, why aren't the subsistence features added on? You know, stuff like Secret theater, VR Training, Boss Rush, Snake Vs. Monkey, Metal Gear Skateboarding, Did I mention Boss rush? So much taken away, FOR NO GOOD REASON. Why did they take that out? Another thing is that Konami had to be greedy jerks and NOT leave in Metal Gear Peace Walker. This whole Transferring thing is a complete gimmick, I think people are patient enough to wait before playing this game on the ps3. You might as well just buy the originals, after all those had much more features than this game. This game is only good if you are new to the whole franchise in which I say, you are better off just buying the subsistence versions and getting peace walker for your psp because if you don't, you won't be truly enveloped in the Metal gear experience. I'd like to say that the metal gear and metal gear II add-ons were nice however, but these guys had a chance to go above and beyond and didn't take it. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews