Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jun 2, 2014
    80
    For a game without any kind of established lineage, this is a very welcome addition to the Vita’s growing JRPG library.
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    75
    Despite the issues outlined above, I've been enjoying my time with Mind Zero, and would recommend it to fans of Persona open to a different take on combat, while being accepting of something that's not as heavy on story.
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    70
    Mind Zero is an enjoyable dungeon crawler with engaging battles, lively voice acting, and oodles of exploration.
  4. 70
    A potential Persona-killer franchise once some flaws are ironed out. RPG fans will nevertheless enjoy the game, but those new to the genre might be put off by the grindy, linear nature of the game.
  5. 70
    Mind Zero is still a very entertaining game, it's just that when you deliberately compare yourself to the greatest, you're inevitably going to disappoint. Were Mind Zero to stand with its own narrative drive, and free of the comparisons to Persona, this game would have appreciated for what it is, rather than what it is not.
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    60
    An interesting mash of ideas that never quite gels together, Mind Zero rambles on too much for its own good.
  7. Jun 16, 2014
    60
    If you aren’t absolutely desperate for a new JRPG, you can safely skip this one and perhaps replay P4G instead.
  8. Jun 16, 2014
    60
    It's the beginning of a potential series worth exploring further, but there is still plenty of work to be done to generate a property that deserves mention alongside the titles uninformed viewers have compared it to.
  9. 55
    Mind Zero has the makings of what could be a decent dungeon crawler while tripping all over tropes that could be avoided. Poor graphics aside, story segments get boring while watching text boxes spew pointless dialogue, and the dungeon crawling and battling is the only actual bit of gameplay that there is.
  10. Jun 20, 2014
    50
    The game just depends too much on its uninteresting characters, only damaged further by tedious dungeon crawling and its other half-baked aspects. We think that there’s something buried here that would have made the game a must-have, but it’s too undeveloped to butt heads with better titles in its class.
  11. Jun 16, 2014
    50
    In other words, what you have in Mind Zero is a perfectly serviceable, thoroughly mediocre game.
  12. Jun 5, 2014
    40
    Like The Asylum's film oeuvre, Mind Zero is capable, at times, of at least holding your attention, but it's rarely entertaining, and when you're done, you'll be wondering why you didn't invest your time in a superior alternative instead.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 31, 2014
    9
    To those of you you who enjoy RPG's of mixed caliber. I don't mean as in normal Final Fantasy RPG but rather an RPG much like the Persona series. I would highly recommend this game. It acts like a mix between Persona and Digital Devil Saga from what i have seen. I'm not to far in the game myself maybe just 20 hours. However everyone has different tastes and this may not be the game for you and it may not feel like a Shin-Megami game either. To me it does and I enjoy this game. Full Review »
  2. Jun 2, 2014
    8
    I decided to give this game a chance since I like dungeon crawlers, seems like I made the right choice. It takes the setting of Persona and the gameplay of Etrian Odyssey, with a compelling story and a nice combat system, plus some great dungeons to explore. I'm liking it much more than some other Vita rpgs. Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2014
    7
    This game is obviously a Persona knock-off. However, saying that, I actually enjoy this game very much.
    Combat is fun, Dungeon exploration is
    fun, and voice acting is top notch. Overall plot however is terrible.
    The character humor is somewhat amusing.(SOMEWHAT) And the interactive story book form the plot takes doesn't work all to well..... I'll tell you one thing, this game is Persona 3's spiritual successor. If you hated Persona 3's ending play this. The protagonist lives through this one....
    Full Review »