Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 60
    It's unwelcoming, has some technical hiccups, and the experience has been shaved down to the necessities, but those necessities are incredibly solid. They would just be better if they had the trappings to go with them.
  2. May 3, 2012
    85
    While anyone can play and enjoy The Show, particularly because of the fine level of control afforded by custom difficulty settings, those who appreciate the acute intricacies of baseball are bound to be left giddy by the attention to detail and level of depth provided. I just love playing it, whether I'm relaxing at home or riding on BART. It has an inherent addictive quality separate from, or perhaps parallel to, my love for baseball, while capturing the sport beautifully.
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    84
    MLB 12: The Show is a huge step up from the PSP (how could it not be), and comes dangerously close to mirroring the PS3 version. Obvious sacrifices had to be made in gameplay and presentation to pack this huge game into your hands, but for those looking for a great (albeit only) handheld baseball game or just a great way to take your console game on the road with you, MLB 12: The Show is a fantastic title that all Vita-carrying baseball lovers should pick up.
  4. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    The Show's solid debut is very much in line with the experience offered on PS3, but the sensitive analog controls put a big hole in its swing. If the Vita is your only avenue of play, though, there are workarounds. If you use this version as an extension to your PS3 play, it negatively affects your stats to a degree, but it's still a suitable companion that allows you to play more video game baseball. Especially when your significant other is hogging the TV.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    65
    Issues aside, MLB 12: The Show demonstrates a bright future for portable baseball games.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    The biggest disappointment, though, is the sloppy online play.
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    75
    MLB 12: The Show on the Vita does a pretty good job getting the nuances right, but fails to deliver on the fluff that gamers have a chance to see on the PS3 version.
  8. Mar 7, 2012
    80
    A major step up from the PSP versions. It's nearly the same game as the console. The touchscreen controls are a nice addition. It's a smaller, slightly less polished version of the game, but still an awesome baseball experience, and one of the best portable sports games ever.
  9. 85
    The Vita version does have a little more to offer for owners of the PS3 version, but as a standalone game, still offers an incredible, in-depth baseball experience that will keep even the most hardcore of baseball fans interested for quite some time.
  10. The format's best sports game. [June 2012, p.105]
  11. This portable rookie has some flaws, but there's all-star potential come next season. [June 2012, p.78]
  12. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    Baseball fans should retrieve their wallets immediately. You won't find a more immersive baseball game outside the ballpark.
  13. Mar 26, 2012
    70
    MLB 12 on the Vita is a clean presentation of the baseball experience on the go. It raises the bar for realism a notch with its enhanced physics, but loses what it gains from clumsy animations. There's a lot of room for improvement, both technically and creatively, but for now the game suffers the most from the former.
  14. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    Overall, MLB 12: The Show on the PS Vita shows lots of promise as well as room for improvement
  15. Mar 15, 2012
    80
    Even with room to improve, The Show 12 for the Vita is the best portable sports game I've ever played, and it should be in every baseball fan's library.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Don't let the people with super high graphical expectations fool you, this game is amazing. Graphics ate fantastic, I think some people just forget this is on a handheld system. All the modes are here, unlike the psp versions of the game. Graphics, sounds, and controls are all awesome. Some trophies are gonna be hard, but that's a good thing to me. Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I got this game last Friday, and Im not a huge Baseball fan (im more into my footy(soccer)), but this is a top top title. Its taking me some time to get to grips with the controls (there are a lot, haha), but its a solid challenge and the presentation is 2nd to none! Any fan of the series is in for a treat with this title, awesome! Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    Wanted to issue a warning to folks on this one. Overall, I am enjoying the game and I am new to the series so I am forging up the learning curve. I am very disappointed in the graphics, very. I expected more. I am interested to hear how the community responds to this title. It's feature rich and you can set the controls in many variations to suit you play preference and skill. Not a deal killer but would advise to wait for a price drop to purchase. Full Review »