Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MLB 12 The Show builds on what has been delivered in previous franchise releases, adding compelling features that bring unparalleled innovation.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. May 3, 2012
    85
    While anyone can play and enjoy The Show, particularly because of the fine level of control afforded by custom difficulty settings, those who appreciate the acute intricacies of baseball are bound to be left giddy by the attention to detail and level of depth provided. I just love playing it, whether I'm relaxing at home or riding on BART. It has an inherent addictive quality separate from, or perhaps parallel to, my love for baseball, while capturing the sport beautifully.
  2. 85
    The Vita version does have a little more to offer for owners of the PS3 version, but as a standalone game, still offers an incredible, in-depth baseball experience that will keep even the most hardcore of baseball fans interested for quite some time.
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    84
    MLB 12: The Show is a huge step up from the PSP (how could it not be), and comes dangerously close to mirroring the PS3 version. Obvious sacrifices had to be made in gameplay and presentation to pack this huge game into your hands, but for those looking for a great (albeit only) handheld baseball game or just a great way to take your console game on the road with you, MLB 12: The Show is a fantastic title that all Vita-carrying baseball lovers should pick up.
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    80
    A major step up from the PSP versions. It's nearly the same game as the console. The touchscreen controls are a nice addition. It's a smaller, slightly less polished version of the game, but still an awesome baseball experience, and one of the best portable sports games ever.
  5. Mar 15, 2012
    80
    Even with room to improve, The Show 12 for the Vita is the best portable sports game I've ever played, and it should be in every baseball fan's library.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    75
    MLB 12: The Show on the Vita does a pretty good job getting the nuances right, but fails to deliver on the fluff that gamers have a chance to see on the PS3 version.
  7. 60
    It's unwelcoming, has some technical hiccups, and the experience has been shaved down to the necessities, but those necessities are incredibly solid. They would just be better if they had the trappings to go with them.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Don't let the people with super high graphical expectations fool you, this game is amazing. Graphics ate fantastic, I think some people just forget this is on a handheld system. All the modes are here, unlike the psp versions of the game. Graphics, sounds, and controls are all awesome. Some trophies are gonna be hard, but that's a good thing to me. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    When a handheld version of a highly established console game is released, it is common for players to expect the exact same experience, but on the go. While the Vita version of MLB:12 The Show comes close to achieving this, there is still a significant difference between the two.

    GAMEPLAY:

    The gameplay really shines in this game. While some small features are missing from the console version, all of the gameplay features are identical. New to the series is pulse pitching and the Vita version makes sure to include this as well. Pulse pitching involves a pulsating circle that requires perfect timing in order to successfully pitch the ball where you want it. The pulse pitching was extremely frustrating, and being someone who is good with timing, I could almost never get the timing down. Thankfully, this feature is optional and the other pitching control methods from the previous PS3 are all here.

    Added onto the Vita version are touch controls. When pitching you are given the option of touching the screen to choose your pitch and touching where you want to place your pitch. I found the touch controls to be almost necessary as the analog controls for selecting your pitch location was way too finicky and was not near as precise. I found myself using the buttons to select my pitch and had to move my fingers around to touch the screen from my pitch location and then return to the button controls to execute my pitch. While at first this felt a little awkward and unneccary I found that with so many different ways to control how you pitch, itâ
    Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    A must buy, it is the system buying game for sure, it's a smaller replica than the PS3 counterpart, porting the same experience and gameplay minus the time consuming presentation screens, pefect baseball on-the-go game with cross platform support... Home? play it on the PS3, save it to the cloud and continue your season/franchise while travelig! awesome game indeed Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    This is my first baseball game, so this is coming from someone who doesn't really follow the games or the sport. The graphics aren't really terrible, but they aren't fantastic. There is an obvious gap between what this game looks like, and maybe say, Uncharted: Golden Abyss. I had few issues with the frame rate, and haven't had any other graphical problems. The gameplay is, for the most part, very solid. With multiple ways to bat and pitch, you should find no problem getting the controls down. On its easiest setting, the game is as you would expect, easy. But put the difficulty up all the way, and you got yourself a challenging game.I can't really make a judgment about the teams or rosters because I only know the players from a few teams (Detroit Tigers!). There are many modes of play here. Ranging from basic exhibition to creating a player and rising through the ranks, or choosing teams and managing them without having to actually play in a single game. Overall, this game has a few minor problems but not any the absolutely hinder gameplay. If you have $40 and are looking for a good Vita game, this will not disappoint. Expand
  5. May 6, 2012
    9
    Being British, we don't get a baseball game so we have to import MLB games from the US. This was the first MLB game I've ever played and I completely agree with the people that say it's the best sports game around. OK, the graphics aren't the best, but they're very very good for a handheld game, I've had the game for 3 weeks now, completed 1 year on Road to the show (Which is brilliant btw), and tried Franchise mode, which I'll admit I struggle on, even on the easiest difficulty, but I love it, I don't get annoyed at it. It's a great game, although if someone is about to buy a Vita, I would only recommend it if you like Baseball or you just love sports games in general. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    This game is so incredible. I am a huge fan of "The Show" franchise, but everyone plays 360, so I never really felt the need to get it. The graphics are just okay, but everything else is fun on a bun. The sound is incredible. The road to the show is great. I can't believe they packed so much of the full game into the Vita one. There is one thing that keeps this from being a 10... The load times. Oh my god. This game takes so incredibly long to load that you may start not enjoying it as much. They need to update it to fix this, and it will easily be the best game besides for AotMB. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    Wanted to issue a warning to folks on this one. Overall, I am enjoying the game and I am new to the series so I am forging up the learning curve. I am very disappointed in the graphics, very. I expected more. I am interested to hear how the community responds to this title. It's feature rich and you can set the controls in many variations to suit you play preference and skill. Not a deal killer but would advise to wait for a price drop to purchase. Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews