Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Improvements to Diamond Dynasty, Franchise and Road To The Show modes promise to make MLB 13 The Show the most realistic baseball game ever, while the addition of all-new game modes expand gameplay options even further.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 82
    Sure it does not look as good as the PS3 version of the game and there are some technical issues that rear their ugly head from time to time, yet there is no mistaking this is an amazingly deep game for gamers on the go and one baseball fans with a PS Vita can purchase with confidence.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Phenomenal simulation and an amazing presentation make MLB 13: The Show one of the best sports games available on the market. Vita owners are still missing out on a couple of key features like the Diamond Dynasty mode but you still can’t deny the insane amount of game packed into this little package.
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    80
    While it’s still working to catch up to its console big brother, MLB: The Show 2013 on the Vita is a very solid game and a great way to take the experience on the go. If next year’s version can continue to improve the visual fidelity and expand on the cross platform functionality, it will be an impressive feat. If you only have a Vita and crave baseball action, you need to pick this up. If you are like me and can’t get enough of the PS3 version, this is an excellent supplement (and you don’t even have to go to BioGenesis or BALCO to get it).
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    76
    MLB 13: The Show on Vita is the Oakland A’s of video game baseball: they play in a crummy stadium (the Vita), but when you look past that, they’re pretty damn good.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    75
    It's understandable that Sony wants to link the two versions of the game every year, but more acknowledgement that these are two different games for two different platforms and even two somewhat different audiences would make the Vita version stand on its own much better.
  6. May 29, 2013
    70
    Even though the graphics and controls can’t compete with its console brother, MLB 13 on Vita still offers a fun and deep baseball sim.
  7. Apr 21, 2013
    60
    The lack of proper tutorials for newcomers makes the game way too hard from the start for anyone that doesn't understand baseball. There's a great sports game in there, but it's hidden behind a steep learning curve and the lack of assistance from the game. If you're up for the challenge you'll probably be pleasantly surprised. I however will let the dream of baseball remain just a dream.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is an awesome Game if you call yourself a baseball fan! It is much better than last years vita game. There are cut scenes after a batter gets a hit or a baserunner steals a base. And the gameplay is much smoother than last years game. I would recommend it to anyone with a vita. It plays just like the ps3 version and I forgot to mention the Postseason mode isn't as good as the ps3 version for audio. But the audio is still great for a portable system. Must buy game! Much better than Mlb 12 the show for Ps vita! Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Overall, this game is very good. The game is similar MLB 12 Vita, but added cutscenes and beginner mode are great additions to the game, and my favorite new addition, Online HR Derby. This mode is amazing and very addicting. Even if you have MLB 12: the Show, you should still buy this game. Collapse
  3. EUR
    Mar 30, 2013
    9
    GRAPHICS 8 improved framerate, good eye-candy
    SOUND 8 lacks ps3 port season audio, everything else is spot on
    CONTROLS 9 perfect, sticks
    are a bit too sensitive
    REPLAY 10 lots of options, online, offline, RTTS, season. Endless game.
    FINAL MLB 13 is an improvement over MLB 12.
    Note for EU users: this year cloud saving works flawlessly and its well worth it Go Buy!
    Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Best Sport game for PS VITA so far! its easy to play, good grpahics for the Vita and a very good career mode (road to the show) by far my favorite Vita game! even if i´m not really a baseball fan! Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    i was impressed with the first game on a new system, yeah there were some graphics and frame rate issues, but overall this years version is a step up. smoother animations and frame rate, graphics seem to be about the same, which is still very impressive. i'm finding it a little easier than last years but overall its an amazing experience on a handheld and well worth the investment even if you're still playing last years! Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    Very good game. It's basically the same as the PS3 version (which I also own) but on a handheld. I play on my PS3, then upload to the cloud. Before I leave work the next day I download the cloud save and continue my RTTS pitcher while commuting to work. I can't even stress how great that is. The reason why using the cloud saves works so well is the similarities. The console version obviously looks better, but there is no difference in the pitching and hitting mechanics. None. I can pitch just as effectively on my Vita as I can on my PS3. I think I'll play an entire career with this pitcher because I'm not tied to my home. Great, great job. Expand