ModNation Racers: Road Trip PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2012
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51
Buy On
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    42
    All in all, ModNation Racers: Road Trip just feels unfinished. From the issues with the Vita capable options, to the lack of visual flare, this Road Trip has more hiccups than a Griswold family Vacation, but just like those movies, it may still be fun to visit now and again.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    30
    It's a complete misfire, and no amount of goofy skins or nifty track editors can make up for the seriously busted fundamentals.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    30
    By far the most blatantly rushed cash-in attempt of all the PS Vita launch titles, ModNation Racers: Road Trip is to be avoided at all costs. With horrid visuals, dawdling menus, and threadbare features, this lazy piece of software insults the system it is supposed to help showcase. In fact, I'd say its existence could be directly harmful to the Vita, given how it's one of the bigger titles available at launch and makes the Vita look like it's only capable of producing garbage.
  4. games(TM)
    Feb 28, 2012
    40
    Outside of novelty value, there's little reason why anyone should pick this up with their Vita over the vastly superior WipEout 2048. [Issue#119, p.97]
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    30
    ModNation Racers was never top draw but this drags a previously competent franchise into the bowls of low budget cash-in hell.
  6. Feb 27, 2012
    40
    ModNation Racers: Road Trip has a ton of content, but quantity doesn't beget quality. Obviously rushed out the door for launch, it captures little of what made the console release so charming. Steer clear, there are far better racers on the market.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    While Road Trip definitely does not deserve a 9 or 10, it still is a great casual kart racing game that will offer alot of fun. The downsidesWhile Road Trip definitely does not deserve a 9 or 10, it still is a great casual kart racing game that will offer alot of fun. The downsides are the lack of an online multiplayer mode, a noticeable visual downgrade from the PS3 version, and the sluggish in-game menus. The frame-rate isn't as bad as everyone says it is- though it's definitely not even close to 60fps. Overall it's fun if you like action and creating stuff. Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    This game is fun, the graphics are there, the soundtrack is fun, and the customizable features are super addictive. I've downloaded perfectThis game is fun, the graphics are there, the soundtrack is fun, and the customizable features are super addictive. I've downloaded perfect mods of sonic, Mario, commander Shepard, and spider man! Now all we need is an online feature. This is my first MNR game, if it had an online feature I would never leave my house. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Great game. I really couldn't care less that the online play isn't here, as I didn't pick it up expecting it. Sure it would be nice but IGreat game. I really couldn't care less that the online play isn't here, as I didn't pick it up expecting it. Sure it would be nice but I don't buy games expecting it unless its an mmo. The game is fun, and lets us customize carts and tracks, which is fantastic. Graphics are pretty good, especially for a launch title. Pick it up for some fun on the go, without requiring large investments of time. Full Review »