ModNation Racers: Road Trip PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2012
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 69
  2. Negative: 10 out of 69
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    This game is fun, the graphics are there, the soundtrack is fun, and the customizable features are super addictive. I've downloaded perfect mods of sonic, Mario, commander Shepard, and spider man! Now all we need is an online feature. This is my first MNR game, if it had an online feature I would never leave my house.
  2. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    I like the extra features that are not featured in the PS3 version but the PS3 version is still better. Never the less I still enjoy playing it. For a handheld this game is pretty good. I do recommend it more for casual gamers.
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Great game. I really couldn't care less that the online play isn't here, as I didn't pick it up expecting it. Sure it would be nice but I don't buy games expecting it unless its an mmo. The game is fun, and lets us customize carts and tracks, which is fantastic. Graphics are pretty good, especially for a launch title. Pick it up for some fun on the go, without requiring large investments of time.
  4. May 30, 2012
    8
    despite the score being lower on vita, I think this version wins out over the psp version in almost every way. The psp version had somewhat of a story, and I believe it had online play correct me if I'm wrong, but the vita version plays much better, the graphics are far better, and the customization poses less limitations. Overall I feel Road Trip is a solid kart racing game despite it'sdespite the score being lower on vita, I think this version wins out over the psp version in almost every way. The psp version had somewhat of a story, and I believe it had online play correct me if I'm wrong, but the vita version plays much better, the graphics are far better, and the customization poses less limitations. Overall I feel Road Trip is a solid kart racing game despite it's few setbacks. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    i never played modnation racers till i picked up my Vita. i found it to be alot of fun and the custumising your car and character alot of fun.The game plays alot like mario kart but without the feeling like you are getting screwed in the rear 6X in a row and you feel like skill matters abit more in this game. the ability to make and upload and dowload tracks also gives you infinite tracksi never played modnation racers till i picked up my Vita. i found it to be alot of fun and the custumising your car and character alot of fun.The game plays alot like mario kart but without the feeling like you are getting screwed in the rear 6X in a row and you feel like skill matters abit more in this game. the ability to make and upload and dowload tracks also gives you infinite tracks to race on. The graphics are ok for the vita they don't feel as good as they should be. also the menues are not the best and navagating them is abit of a pain. the biggest killer for this game and god knows why they didn't include this but NO ONLINE PLAY!? this deffinitly should have been included in this game and would make the replay value last alot longer. all you get for multiplayer is Ad Hoc mode ... sorry but that doesn't cut it . still though its fun and for only $30 i am still enjoying it. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    I was torn between 7 and 8 but I decided to bump it up. The courses and handling felt true to the PS3 version there are loads of tracks and unlockables making carts mods is easy enough. The only reason this game gets knocked down is the lack of online multiplayer which for Modnation is a pretty big oversight. If you are looking for a fun racer with lots of replayability this is for you, ifI was torn between 7 and 8 but I decided to bump it up. The courses and handling felt true to the PS3 version there are loads of tracks and unlockables making carts mods is easy enough. The only reason this game gets knocked down is the lack of online multiplayer which for Modnation is a pretty big oversight. If you are looking for a fun racer with lots of replayability this is for you, if you are looking to race against people online look elsewhere. What it does it does well... but it could have done more. Expand
  7. Gaz
    Apr 2, 2012
    0
    This game doesn't deserve the bad wrap that it gets. In all honesty, yes, it has some major problems, but this is an amazing kart racer that any kart racing fan should probably own. At times the game does seem half-baked. No online? Really? The PSP version had online, and not having it in Road Trip is criminal. At first I didn't care because I never played the online on the PSP, butThis game doesn't deserve the bad wrap that it gets. In all honesty, yes, it has some major problems, but this is an amazing kart racer that any kart racing fan should probably own. At times the game does seem half-baked. No online? Really? The PSP version had online, and not having it in Road Trip is criminal. At first I didn't care because I never played the online on the PSP, but after downloading some of other people's Mods, karts, and tracks, it became clear that onine would have worked great in this game. The load times also drag on forever. There's no disk, and still its as slow as it's console counterpart. I also had a sound issue when returning from a race. At the main hub, sometimes there is no sound and that frustrates me. But enough about the game's weaknesses, lets focus on its strengths. First of all, the game handles like a dream. Kart racing on a portable system has never been so fun to do. Some of the later career races will leave you frustrated, but overall the game is extremely fun to play. The standard story mode is gone, instead replaced with a Mario Kart-style tour mode. That, combined with a deep unlockable system, makes career racing enjoyable and challenging, as well as replayable. The creation tools are also simple and effective. Mods, karts and tracks can all be made using simple touch controls. The online sharing is also fun to use, especially since almost all of the PS3 content is already available to download on the PS Vita. So despite its faults, ModNation Racers: Road Trip proves itself to be a fun kart racer that no kart racing fan should miss out on. Collapse
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51
  1. Apr 28, 2012
    60
    ModNation Racers is nothing to write home about, and is best compared to standing still in traffic during rush hour. You'll stand still, pull up slightly, hit the brakes, and stand still again. Not even beautiful scenery will rectify this road trip.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 17, 2012
    74
    Misses the point completely with the anemic multiplayer options. [Apr 2012]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 12, 2012
    70
    It's still fun, but there are big handfulls of frustration thrown in too. [May 2012, p.79]