Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 1, 2012
    100
    The single-player story mode is still astoundingly deep and the challenge tower is an exciting and maddening climb.
  2. May 1, 2012
    100
    There's a lot to love about Mortal Kombat for the PS Vita. The game controls like a dream, the modes and gameplay lend themselves extremely well to short bursts of play, and NetherRealm even included solid online multiplayer gameplay and functionality
  3. May 1, 2012
    100
    I cannot recommend Mortal Kombat highly enough. This is a game that belongs in your Vita's library and the price is just right. For $40 you get everything the console versions had and then some, as new characters fill out an already massive roster and new challenges will test your combat skills. It may not have the stunning in-game visuals of its counterparts, but that is forgivable considering what Warner Bros. has managed to pack into the product.
  4. May 1, 2012
    100
    Confusion over the name aside, Mortal Kombat on the PS Vita is a must-own for any fighting game fan. Not only does it have all of the amazing content from last year's stellar console release, but it also features substantial new modes that are more than worth the $40 asking price. Without a doubt, this is the definitive version of Mortal Kombat!
  5. May 2, 2012
    95
    Mortal Kombat for the PS Vita is truly a wonderful package that outweighs its price tag. There is so much content here it is impossible not to recommend. If you are not a fan of the series or its reboot, this is certainly not going to change your mind, but even if you dropped double-digit hours on the original, the Vita version is worth a go. This will literally be locked in my system for months to come, and I look forward to unlocking everything all over again.
  6. May 10, 2012
    91
    If you've got a Vita and like fighting games, buying Mortal Kombat is an absolute no-brainer. There's so much content here, and it's loads of fun, with lots of depth and plenty of challenge to keep you going long into the upcoming cold winter nights.
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  8. Even without the Vita-specific additions, however, this is an easy recommendation as the game retains everything that made the franchise reboot an accessible alternative. [July 2012, p.83]
  9. May 14, 2012
    90
    Mortal Kombat on Vita packs the ultra-violent action of the series into your battle-hardened hands, and shows just how hard a punch Vita truly packs. With its $40 asking price for the entire home console game, DLC and large amount of exclusive additional content, Mortal Kombat is an essential Vita title that no fan of the genre should miss.
  10. May 10, 2012
    90
    Mortal Kombat at its best!
  11. May 8, 2012
    90
    It might be a while before a fighting game emerges with a genuinely amazing story, but for now the plight of Raiden and the representatives of Earthrealm is fascinating enough.
  12. 90
    The added character roster, new costumes, and extra Challenge Tower should be enough to sway those on the fence. But remember that it's Kombat on the go, so you can show off those fatalities anywhere, and all this content is a mere forty dollars-twenty bucks less than the barebones console copy at its launch-making an already stellar game an unbelievable bargain.
  13. May 1, 2012
    90
    This is the most complete version of Mortal Kombat available.
  14. May 1, 2012
    90
    A straight-forward port would have gone over well enough, but NetherRealm went the extra mile and made this a standout, compelling release that I'm happy to recommend.
  15. May 1, 2012
    90
    This a perfect example of keeping the best graphical fidelity possible and including an already astronomical amount of content, while adding an even more extensive set of missions for players to explore that masterfully uses various features the PS Vita has to offer.
  16. May 1, 2012
    90
    But if you do make the plunge, you will know where that money went, as MK on Vita is a damn good example of how future ports to Sony's handheld should go: dial back the eye candy if you need to, but do not compromise your gameplay or remove features just because it's hard to make them work on a mobile system.
  17. May 21, 2012
    89
    Its new contents are not that important, but will enhance durability for solo players. Its major flaws are the downgrade in graphics and the absence of PlayStation 3 compatibility: you'll have to unlock everything again if you had done it on the PS3. A great fighting game with charming personality that fans of the series will love.
  18. May 4, 2012
    89
    Mortal Kombat shines through as not just the best fighter on Sony's new handheld, but perhaps one of the Vita's best games overall.
  19. May 2, 2012
    88
    Outside of the graphical issues, this is a well-made port overall.
  20. May 1, 2012
    88
    The control is just about right, the graphical presentation is loaded with beautiful animations, the roster is huge, and there's a ton of content. The story is still totally lame, the Challenge Tower can sometimes feel unfairly tough, and the AI is…well, MK AI, but those aren't deal-breakers.
  21. May 21, 2012
    87
    In short : You have to play Mortal Kombat, if you want to have the best beat 'em up for the Vita.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. May 3, 2012
    10
    Main reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. Seriously though, I felt the same way another person commented, that I fired up story mode at first and when the game switched from pre-rendered graphics to in-game graphics I was gob smacked how poor it looked. No damage shows up either. However, once I went to other modes like arcade + training + challenge tower, the difference in lighting + damage model turned on (I assume it's disabled in story mode on purpose) makes the game look fine. Sure not console quality, but its fast and fluid. Very happy with my purchase. Full Review »
  2. May 2, 2012
    10
    Don't listen to the naysayers here. "Graphics look like a PSP game." Really? This game is excellent. The fighting is just as smooth as the console versions, all of the DLC characters and costumes are included and the fatalities still look great. Sure the graphics don't look as good as the console versions, but this is a HANDHELD. I would like to see another handheld pump out these graphics and still maintain the smooth 60fps gameplay, There is the addition of new bonus missions and modes as well. If you have a Vita and are into fighting games, for $40 you are getting an amazing package. Completely recommended. Full Review »
  3. May 4, 2012
    10
    I played the XBox and PS3 version of Mortal Kombat and the PS vita version is amazing. The fact that NRS was able to put MK9 on Vita at 60 frames a second makes this game worth buying. If you love the console versions, you will love the Vita version. It's great to see NRS didn't just port MK, but added tons of new content and the WIFI plays so smooth that I feel like I'm playing offline. If you have a Vita this is a must buy, and not to mention the new mini games like test your slice are a lot of fun. I also love playing as Kintaro, Shao Kahn, and Tremor. Congrats NRS on a great game and not just porting the same old game. Full Review »