User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2015
    7
    Mortal Kombat for PlayStation Vita is a game worth your attention, especially if you haven't had the opportunity to check out last year's "big" MK and you miss the original installments. It's a great reboot - well made, reminiscent of the golden age, has lots of fantastic warriors and some unique bonuses.
  2. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    Good fighting game. The best background story of its time among all fighting games, outstanding long kombos, a humongous variety of exciting elements such as hidden kombatants, secret levels, countless finishers which make you have lots of fun while playing. Please, do not regard the people saying this game is too violent comparing to the other games just because of its finishers, becauseGood fighting game. The best background story of its time among all fighting games, outstanding long kombos, a humongous variety of exciting elements such as hidden kombatants, secret levels, countless finishers which make you have lots of fun while playing. Please, do not regard the people saying this game is too violent comparing to the other games just because of its finishers, because most of them are just too funny to take them serious. Tell me street fighter lovers, do you think it is too violent when the Coyote is crushed by a huge rock after falling to the ground on his face while chasing the Roadrunner, or IS IT FUNNY? The Coyote still lives, so does Sub-Zero in MK... To conclude, I personally believe this is how a fighting game should be. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    Now I'm reluctant to give any game a 10/10 but this game is close. Mortal Kombat on the Vita is the best handheld fighting game out there. Great graphics just like a console game, all the special moves and fatalities. Good sound effects and great character choice. You can play for hours and if you own a Vita and like fighting games you have to buy this
  4. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    This video game is 8 out of 1/0 for me! I'm not a graphics freak or anything but the graphics are bad an expected them to be better. I played hours on this! very decent game, graphics aren't everything. FINISH HIM!
  5. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    Now it was a amazing game but the level changed during time of the story I was new to mortal kombat and I barley knew any moves yet wheni got to cyrax and sector I couldn't win using moves too advanced for me to block and one person vs 2 people that's ****
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Por comentar este fabuloso juego de PSVITA es por lo que me he inscrito en Metacritic.

    No voy a comentar gráficos y sonidos porque para eso lo veis en un canal HD de youtube. Podríamos resumirlo como Videojuego en estado puro. El juego es emocionante, entretenido y muy divertido, el modo historia simplemente de lo mejor que existe en beat 'em ups, excelentemente integrado y fusionado
    Por comentar este fabuloso juego de PSVITA es por lo que me he inscrito en Metacritic.

    No voy a comentar gráficos y sonidos porque para eso lo veis en un canal HD de youtube.

    Podríamos resumirlo como Videojuego en estado puro. El juego es emocionante, entretenido y muy divertido, el modo historia simplemente de lo mejor que existe en beat 'em ups, excelentemente integrado y fusionado con los combates. Y la jugabilidad sencillamente es infinita. Tiene muchos luchadores diferentes, muchisimos modos de juego aparte del historia y todos muy originales. A destacar uno de ellos en los cuales se cambian al azar varias carácterísticas del combate como la orientación al avanzar, el salto, etc... lo cual es de lo mas divertido para jugar con un amigo y las risas son aseguradas. Aparte tambien tiene modos para desbloquear items, trajes, opciones, galerías etc.

    A destacar su diseño en general tanto de personajes, localizaciones, animaciones, sonidos, voz del narrador...en resumen es un buen homenaje a lo que fue Mortal Kombat, que digo...es lo que debería haber sido Mortal Kombat el juego definitivo de la saga y un imprescindible para todo aquel que tenga ganas de diversión.

    Este es de los juegos que podrás echar una partida en cualquier sitio, tengas mucho o poco tiempo libre, y solo por su jugabilidad y diversión le planto un 10, porque es videojuego en estado puro, ya que lo que mas me importa de los videojuegos es que me hagan sentir, entretener, sufrir y disfrutar a partes iguales.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    Best way to Experience Mortal Kombat on the go. Full roster with tons of modes plus vita-only challenge stages. graphics take a hit but not enough to really take away from the game.
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    An extremely uncompelling fighting game with stiff animations, last-gen graphics, and poor mechanics. It's a constant shock to me that this game is well-liked.
  9. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Superb technical fighting game like on the consoles.
    And while having the entire story mode plus the ohter many game modes intact,
    unfortnately it has taken some hard hits one the graphical side. And also have ind mind the huge amount memory this game takes up on your memory card` 3066mb. I´d barely give this port an 8 but must, admit that Mortal Kombat is my favorite fighter for the
    Superb technical fighting game like on the consoles.
    And while having the entire story mode plus the ohter many game modes intact,
    unfortnately it has taken some hard hits one the graphical side.
    And also have ind mind the huge amount memory this game takes up on your memory card` 3066mb.
    I´d barely give this port an 8 but must, admit that Mortal Kombat is my favorite fighter for the vita!
    Great story mode plus lots of content makes sure that you will be entertained for quite some time
    Expand
  10. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    MK Might just be the best fighting game on the vita right now I still haven't played DOA plus,But trust ,me this game is well worth your money first off The DLC makes the game so much more fun,There are tons of modes to enjoy for a long time including a challenge tower with hundreds of difficult tasks to complete plus for tha a bonus challenge tower!!!!,A fascinating,amazing,interestingMK Might just be the best fighting game on the vita right now I still haven't played DOA plus,But trust ,me this game is well worth your money first off The DLC makes the game so much more fun,There are tons of modes to enjoy for a long time including a challenge tower with hundreds of difficult tasks to complete plus for tha a bonus challenge tower!!!!,A fascinating,amazing,interesting entertaining and long story mode!,is the best story mode I've seen in a fighting game for a while,The mini games are fun and the new ones 2!,the game uses the vita's features perfectly,the gameplay runs smoothly and backgrounds look great with tons of content to unlock,adhoc & is a very awesome game there's still some problems I have with the game especially the visuals just look gross and unpleasant which fatalities unfun to watch which really hurts and the online play is pretty slow anyways the game is amazing and if your making a choice between Sfxtk,UNVC3 or MK pick MK toons of stuff!!!!!that is way my final score is 8.5(Best fighting game on the vita yet its epic!!!!!!) Expand
  11. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    It might be a little a late to review this game but I feel I should take this opportunity now. This game, simply gives a smile to my face. It has everything to keep me busy on long commutes and BOOOOORING school-days. The graphics, as far as what people are b*tching about here, is only slightly changed compared to the console versions. Yeah there are a lot of jags, but the lighting, theIt might be a little a late to review this game but I feel I should take this opportunity now. This game, simply gives a smile to my face. It has everything to keep me busy on long commutes and BOOOOORING school-days. The graphics, as far as what people are b*tching about here, is only slightly changed compared to the console versions. Yeah there are a lot of jags, but the lighting, the awesome background animations are there. MOST IMPORTANTLY, the Komplete Story Mode is there! Everything from the console version is available in this Vita version plus a new challenge tower and more! It's worth every buck. And, well, as a fan of the MK series ever since, I could say, after the original MK9 got released in 2011, this is the next most satisfyingly built MK ever with in-game touch-screen minigames and OH-SO FUNNY modes ONLY available in the Vita's new challenge tower! It is everything I expected it to be.. and more! Expand
  12. May 21, 2013
    9
    Awesome fighting game on the Vita. Vita only features don't feel like a gimmick and are actually a lot of fun. The character models are a little low rez, but overall, the game looks great! lots of fun on the go.
  13. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    Mortal Kombat Vita version is just another perfect addition to rich library of Vita's Fighting games MK has not much difference with its console version, it doesnt have Cross-Play unfortunately but it does comes with all the DLCs which were released for the console version. It has additional Tower challenge which adds to game much of fun specially that these sort of challenges are createdMortal Kombat Vita version is just another perfect addition to rich library of Vita's Fighting games MK has not much difference with its console version, it doesnt have Cross-Play unfortunately but it does comes with all the DLCs which were released for the console version. It has additional Tower challenge which adds to game much of fun specially that these sort of challenges are created based on vita capabilities The controls are amazingly well suited as well. The game runs of smooth 60 FPS, but the characters models are a bit jaggy and ygly from the closer views. The stages have their details though. Finally MK its a really MOST HAVE GAME for every vita owner who didnt previously tried MK on their consoles, its the most bloody vita game to date as well so be advised if you are below 18 Expand
  14. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    Now this game is an amazing port of the console versions of Mortal Kombat. The game, although has bad character models, runs at an amazing 60 FPS with so much to do in-game. If the story mode isn't enough for you there are the unlockables in the game which require you to get a ton of Koins. Also, the ladder mode and the Vita Ladder Mode are just so extensive man!

    This game contains so
    Now this game is an amazing port of the console versions of Mortal Kombat. The game, although has bad character models, runs at an amazing 60 FPS with so much to do in-game. If the story mode isn't enough for you there are the unlockables in the game which require you to get a ton of Koins. Also, the ladder mode and the Vita Ladder Mode are just so extensive man!

    This game contains so much for a small price to pay for a long period of replayability, which is a good point for me.

    Buy this game if you want a Fighter on the go, if you want something with better character models but slower FPS then buy Marvel VS Capcom 3 or Street Fighter X Tekken for the Vita.
    Expand
  15. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This is a really good comprehensive fighting game. It plays in 2D and runs at 60fps. It includes all of the extra content from the other platform releases of this game and then some. It controls well and is a joy to play with so many characters to choose from. The main thing that impressed me was the depth to the story mode, I've not seen anything with quite the same scope. It appears toThis is a really good comprehensive fighting game. It plays in 2D and runs at 60fps. It includes all of the extra content from the other platform releases of this game and then some. It controls well and is a joy to play with so many characters to choose from. The main thing that impressed me was the depth to the story mode, I've not seen anything with quite the same scope. It appears to cover the entire plot of the first 3 games. Sometimes you will have a few minutes of dialogue between fights and although predictably it's no Shakespeare I found the cinematics engaging, entertaining and (perhaps unintentionally), rather humorous at times. This is a great example of how a handheld port should be done. I concur with the comments about the character models as some of them are jarringly low detail which is especially noticable when the game moves from a cutscene to in game action. However, it really is less of an issue in play. In summary this is a good well implemented game with a lot of content that really translates to the platform well. Expand
  16. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    A excellent port of the console game. All is here and more. The massive amount of content makes up for the terrible graphics. The menu's still look excellent though. If you're wondering why I haven't given this a 8 or 9. Its because I wasn't the biggest fan of the PS3 version. But still thought it was good. Sound on the Vita version excels. The amount of content(it has to be said over andA excellent port of the console game. All is here and more. The massive amount of content makes up for the terrible graphics. The menu's still look excellent though. If you're wondering why I haven't given this a 8 or 9. Its because I wasn't the biggest fan of the PS3 version. But still thought it was good. Sound on the Vita version excels. The amount of content(it has to be said over and over again) here is so huge! A worthwhile purchase for anyone with a soul. Expand
  17. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    If it aint broken don't fix it... Exactly! While the gameplay remains pretty much the same as the older the games, the added violent x ray attacks make it even so much more fun.

    Based on how i feel, Mortal Kombat isn't 'perfect', but still back to the roots and better than ever for both story and gameplay department!
  18. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    First of all this is same as MK: Komplete edition for PS3. It has all the bonus characters and stuff. Of course there are worse graphics , but who cares when the game runs smooth on 60fps and still looks pretty good imo. After beating the story mode you can start the challenge tower , where you will unlock most of your coins which you can use to unlock stuff at the crypt. Trophies are veryFirst of all this is same as MK: Komplete edition for PS3. It has all the bonus characters and stuff. Of course there are worse graphics , but who cares when the game runs smooth on 60fps and still looks pretty good imo. After beating the story mode you can start the challenge tower , where you will unlock most of your coins which you can use to unlock stuff at the crypt. Trophies are very hard to earn in Mortal Kombat. Pretty the same thing as PS3 version. I recommend this game to everyone who doesnt own MK for PS3 or Xbox 360. Expand
  19. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    Game is extremely fun. Runs fast and fluid just like the home console versions. Having the DLC also makes the game a great value. Lots of game modes to play through that add tons of replay value. My only issue is the graphics themselves. The characters run very smooth, but the details in the characters are only fair quality. The are not bad just not amazing compared to a game like UltimateGame is extremely fun. Runs fast and fluid just like the home console versions. Having the DLC also makes the game a great value. Lots of game modes to play through that add tons of replay value. My only issue is the graphics themselves. The characters run very smooth, but the details in the characters are only fair quality. The are not bad just not amazing compared to a game like Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3. Online play is smooth as well. No noticeable lag on my end. Overall a solid 8 and worthy of being in your collection if you are a fighting game fan Expand
  20. Oct 23, 2012
    8
    gave this an 8 out of 10, very fluid framerate and just as fun as the home console, my only komplaint (see what i did there...) is that the in game graphics, when it transitions from the CG movies to the actual fighting is quite poor.....i appreciate the framerate being top notch, but its still hard to believe that the fighters themselves look so bad.....just a slight step up from pspgave this an 8 out of 10, very fluid framerate and just as fun as the home console, my only komplaint (see what i did there...) is that the in game graphics, when it transitions from the CG movies to the actual fighting is quite poor.....i appreciate the framerate being top notch, but its still hard to believe that the fighters themselves look so bad.....just a slight step up from psp graphics. the backgrounds are solid if only the character models were up to par this game would be flawless(there...i did it again) still a very solid effort and a lot of fun to play, especially with all the unlockables Expand
  21. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    First off, I haven't played a fighting game since Tekken on the PS2. That game was great, but I never really got into it beyond picking it up with a friend for an hour. So it was to my complete surprise when I popped in Mortal Kombat and I was hooked. I think it was the gameplay more than anything but having little to no exposure to the variety of attacks and characters made it feel soFirst off, I haven't played a fighting game since Tekken on the PS2. That game was great, but I never really got into it beyond picking it up with a friend for an hour. So it was to my complete surprise when I popped in Mortal Kombat and I was hooked. I think it was the gameplay more than anything but having little to no exposure to the variety of attacks and characters made it feel so fresh compared to what I've currently been playing. I can't say the story was especially important for me but I found it interesting how they were able to tie in so many characters and place a story around them without it getting boring. I can see the story mode being similar to that of a Call of Duty game to a first-timer in that it is a tutorial for multiplayer modes and other facets of the game (challenge tower/spec ops). It served as a great way to introduce me to the players and learn their skill sets which I can take to multiplayer (which I haven't tried) and also the challenge tower. So now that I've brought it up I should mention that I'm only about 15 challenges in on each tower. I liked them plenty but not to the extent that I wanted to grind through them. I think they'll serve as a good go-to when I'm short on time similar to many iPhone games. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone at $10 and while I don't know what the console versions have over the vita version I would say there is a whole lot more than $10 worth of content. Expand
  22. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    MK does a good job of bringing a Mortal Kombat "virgin" into a well developed fighting series. I instantly fell in love with the game and it's amusing-in-a-kinda-dumb-way story, but the presentation of the story is done very well. After the story mode i didn't find myself playing it all that much, since i am not much for competitive fighting gaming against strangers, speciall not in a gameMK does a good job of bringing a Mortal Kombat "virgin" into a well developed fighting series. I instantly fell in love with the game and it's amusing-in-a-kinda-dumb-way story, but the presentation of the story is done very well. After the story mode i didn't find myself playing it all that much, since i am not much for competitive fighting gaming against strangers, speciall not in a game like MK, which i am not that good at. Expand
  23. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    If you,ve played Mortal Kombat for the ps3 and 360 than you'v played this game,but for the vita version there are a few bonuses. For fatality input u can now use the touch screen to swipe the motions but u dont have to push the required button letting u have more than one chance at pulling it off,there are 150 new challenges that take advantage of the vitas touchcreen and gyroscope andIf you,ve played Mortal Kombat for the ps3 and 360 than you'v played this game,but for the vita version there are a few bonuses. For fatality input u can now use the touch screen to swipe the motions but u dont have to push the required button letting u have more than one chance at pulling it off,there are 150 new challenges that take advantage of the vitas touchcreen and gyroscope and they are fun. You get the same story mode,original challenge tower,bonus challenge tower,ladder,tag ladder,the krypt,practice,and online play for 40 bucks. If you have a vita this is the only game that you should definitley buy. Expand
  24. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    First of all the graphics are horrible! Very pixilated and rushed.
    And also the game is frustratingly hard!
    Sometimes some fights feel like they are impossible!!!

    But it has a very solid online mode that works great.

    And overall it's a great game the story is long and really deep.

    Well worth your money and your time if you like fighting games.
  25. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    It's a very good game to play. Lot's of things to do. The only con is that the graphics could be better. Well, if you like platinum trophies, this one is really difficult to get.
  26. Aug 3, 2012
    8
    There is a lot to do in this game with two challenge towers and the story mode so it will definitely keep you busy. The game runs smoothly as well but there are some issues with low res textures in places on the characters. It's hardly a deal breaker though and this is a fantastic Mortal Kombat game
  27. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Pickd up Mortal Kombat for the Vita because I had never owned the console version and was always afraid to drop full price on a fighter recently because in my younger days I played fighters so much! THIS IS AN AMAZING game. For a portable game to have this much content (tons of modes, tons of characters, and a HELLA long story mode for a fighter) is amazing. The only con is that upclose onPickd up Mortal Kombat for the Vita because I had never owned the console version and was always afraid to drop full price on a fighter recently because in my younger days I played fighters so much! THIS IS AN AMAZING game. For a portable game to have this much content (tons of modes, tons of characters, and a HELLA long story mode for a fighter) is amazing. The only con is that upclose on the short cutscenes (only 2 seconds long) right before you fight you can tell that they had to scale back a little to keep the frame rate so fluid (never a drop so far). But the overall graphics are beautiful. "Come here!!!" and buy this game. Expand
  28. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    Mortal Kombat on the Playstation Vita is a worthy port of the 2011 console game. The controls, the content and the frenetic gameplay are all intact here. The best feature to the Vita game though is the bonus challenge tower. If you were expecting an easy challenge tower that's a breeze, sorry to disappoint you. The bonus challenge tower is comprised of 150 unique challenges, which sprinkleMortal Kombat on the Playstation Vita is a worthy port of the 2011 console game. The controls, the content and the frenetic gameplay are all intact here. The best feature to the Vita game though is the bonus challenge tower. If you were expecting an easy challenge tower that's a breeze, sorry to disappoint you. The bonus challenge tower is comprised of 150 unique challenges, which sprinkle in some potent touchscreen, rear touch and tilt controls for an interesting and unique Mortal Kombat experience. This gives it an edge over the console game, as the spark of creative design makes for a more compelling game. The only drawbacks come in the form of inherent button mashing situations. Two on one battles and familiar tactics will make the experience less enjoyable. Unless you use a wide assortment of moves in your arsenal. Unfortunately the touchscreen capabilities are also absent for the main challenge ladders and story modes. Seriously, who wouldn't want to use the touch screen to counter ranged attacks? Lastly the graphics are noticeably bumped down and envionments lack that certain MK magic of the PS3 and 360 versions. Overall though, MK on Vita is the complete fighting experience on a handheld. The consessions and flaws are minor, and mainly stem from inconsistencies in the console game. So is this the definitive version of Mortal Kombat? Absolutely! Expand
  29. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.
    As for the content, while there is more of it, there's not enough DLC. Ridge Racer has you covered in this regard.
    All in all, average, but not a classic.
  30. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best Vita game out. I've spent hours playing the bonus challenge tower alone. It's addicting and the replay value is high. Anyone on the fence will not be disappointed.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  2. 80
    Successful conversion of the original Mortal Kombat proves that battle games aren't yet finished. Great visuals and perfect playability delivers uncompromising fights. [July 2012]
  3. It's incredibly fast-paced and responsive. Nailing some of the intense combos may twist your fingers off as there are no touchscreen specials except for the X-ray moves that can be initiated once you have a full meter, but fatalities can be executed with finger swipes that match the d-pad inputs. Most of the extra modes, such as Test Your Slice, are gimmicks that either borrow heavily from smartphone games (let's just say you'll slice fruit whilst playing as a ninja) or rely on 'been there, done that' mechanics that use the Vita's hardware. Balancing a man on a beam is old hat, even if he's perilously dangling above a pit. [July 2012, p82]