User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 150

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2012
    0
    The same gameplay with minor additions like character costumes, additional ladder, etc. Vita specific features include swype actions. Be aware: dumbed down graphics (both characters and environments), but, what's important, FPS is still 60. They should have made a PC version with enhancements instead of this with lower quality.
  2. May 3, 2012
    0
    Well after a long wait there we have MK to PSV, and what a disappointment; the first and biggest complaint is graphics, what a mess, MKII for game boy was better. what were they thinking, this is not a Nds game, or PSP game but looks like.

    game play is good, but this is supposed to be one of the main selling games for PSV, I can understand why they released a game with dated graphics,
    c'mon characters looks like soul reaver ones.

    Just terrible to spend 40 in this game just for paper box alike graphics. i regret of bought it using psn, i can't sell it and get some of my money back....
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.
    As for the content, while there is more of it, there's not enough DLC. Ridge Racer has you covered in this regard.
    All in all, average, but not a classic.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    An extremely uncompelling fighting game with stiff animations, last-gen graphics, and poor mechanics. It's a constant shock to me that this game is well-liked.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  2. 80
    Successful conversion of the original Mortal Kombat proves that battle games aren't yet finished. Great visuals and perfect playability delivers uncompromising fights. [July 2012]
  3. It's incredibly fast-paced and responsive. Nailing some of the intense combos may twist your fingers off as there are no touchscreen specials except for the X-ray moves that can be initiated once you have a full meter, but fatalities can be executed with finger swipes that match the d-pad inputs. Most of the extra modes, such as Test Your Slice, are gimmicks that either borrow heavily from smartphone games (let's just say you'll slice fruit whilst playing as a ninja) or rely on 'been there, done that' mechanics that use the Vita's hardware. Balancing a man on a beam is old hat, even if he's perilously dangling above a pit. [July 2012, p82]