User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 164

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 3, 2012
    10
    Main reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. Seriously though, I felt the same way another person commented, that I fired up story mode at first and when the game switched from pre-rendered graphics to in-game graphics I was gob smacked how poor it looked. No damage shows up either. However, once I wentMain reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. Seriously though, I felt the same way another person commented, that I fired up story mode at first and when the game switched from pre-rendered graphics to in-game graphics I was gob smacked how poor it looked. No damage shows up either. However, once I went to other modes like arcade + training + challenge tower, the difference in lighting + damage model turned on (I assume it's disabled in story mode on purpose) makes the game look fine. Sure not console quality, but its fast and fluid. Very happy with my purchase. Expand
  2. May 2, 2012
    10
    Don't listen to the naysayers here. "Graphics look like a PSP game." Really? This game is excellent. The fighting is just as smooth as the console versions, all of the DLC characters and costumes are included and the fatalities still look great. Sure the graphics don't look as good as the console versions, but this is a HANDHELD. I would like to see another handheld pump out these graphicsDon't listen to the naysayers here. "Graphics look like a PSP game." Really? This game is excellent. The fighting is just as smooth as the console versions, all of the DLC characters and costumes are included and the fatalities still look great. Sure the graphics don't look as good as the console versions, but this is a HANDHELD. I would like to see another handheld pump out these graphics and still maintain the smooth 60fps gameplay, There is the addition of new bonus missions and modes as well. If you have a Vita and are into fighting games, for $40 you are getting an amazing package. Completely recommended. Expand
  3. May 2, 2012
    10
    What a great game. I have never played a previous MK title, but it blows away Ultimate Marvel and Blazblue. The graphics are stellar on Vita. Game should be rated a 95+. A TON of content, an a+ quality game.
  4. May 1, 2012
    9
    I have never bought a Mortal Kombat game, and the PS Vita one is my first. I've always watched tournaments on mk9. The PS Vita makes fighting games on the go an awesome experience, MK being the top contender. This game offers plenty of stuff to do for hours on end, has awesome sound, the graphics may not look like the xbox360 or ps3, but the gameplay is solid and fluid. If your a PS VitaI have never bought a Mortal Kombat game, and the PS Vita one is my first. I've always watched tournaments on mk9. The PS Vita makes fighting games on the go an awesome experience, MK being the top contender. This game offers plenty of stuff to do for hours on end, has awesome sound, the graphics may not look like the xbox360 or ps3, but the gameplay is solid and fluid. If your a PS Vita owner like me and didnt get the 360 or Ps3 versions, get this for sure! Expand
  5. May 4, 2012
    10
    I played the XBox and PS3 version of Mortal Kombat and the PS vita version is amazing. The fact that NRS was able to put MK9 on Vita at 60 frames a second makes this game worth buying. If you love the console versions, you will love the Vita version. It's great to see NRS didn't just port MK, but added tons of new content and the WIFI plays so smooth that I feel like I'm playing offline.I played the XBox and PS3 version of Mortal Kombat and the PS vita version is amazing. The fact that NRS was able to put MK9 on Vita at 60 frames a second makes this game worth buying. If you love the console versions, you will love the Vita version. It's great to see NRS didn't just port MK, but added tons of new content and the WIFI plays so smooth that I feel like I'm playing offline. If you have a Vita this is a must buy, and not to mention the new mini games like test your slice are a lot of fun. I also love playing as Kintaro, Shao Kahn, and Tremor. Congrats NRS on a great game and not just porting the same old game. Expand
  6. May 3, 2012
    10
    Okay let me just start by saying you can't be very smart if you're reviewing based on the graphics everything on here is done just fine outside of the graphics. In other words it's suffering from a bit of Goldeneye N64 syndrome. The graphics NEVER effect the gameplay and if you're going to review this and look at the graphics and say oh this is no good PLEASE jump off the empire state building.
  7. May 3, 2012
    10
    This version of Mortal kombat is the best I've Played in yeArs! The graphics are very good I thought- people need to grow up who give this a zero : graphics are not what make or brake a game! It's an awesome fighter and the best on a handheld- psp or Ds graphics?! Please! Obviously he never ownd one or he wouldn't even compare ! If you love fighters you'll love this
  8. May 1, 2012
    5
    After having played the excellent port of Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3, I was honestly expecting the same level of quality to be present in Mortal Kombat for the PS VITA. To my utter shock and horror this is not the case. I started up story mode. Everything looked great until the switch from pre rendered video to in game engine. This game looks like a first gen PSP title at best. TheAfter having played the excellent port of Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3, I was honestly expecting the same level of quality to be present in Mortal Kombat for the PS VITA. To my utter shock and horror this is not the case. I started up story mode. Everything looked great until the switch from pre rendered video to in game engine. This game looks like a first gen PSP title at best. The polygon count on the character models is laughably low. The textures are muddy and flat. Fatalities look awful because of this problem. I'm sorry but there is no excuse for this poor presentation. Now in the games defense it plays fluid and online works. This is great and I applaud NetherRealm for nailing that down. But seriously this game needed either more time or a different dev team that has more experience to retain the graphical quality this game should have. I will be selling my copy in the morning because I really feel like I was deceived by the promise of the complete experience on the go. Next time NetherRealm hire people that can get the job done right or give it to the Capcom devs. They certainly know what it takes to make everything work. Collapse
  9. May 2, 2012
    10
    Being a MK diehard fan, I just can't get enough of this game. I purchased the PS3 version along with the PDP arcade stick when it was released last year and completed everything. Now, I have a portable version with some new compelling content, so I have something new to play during my lengthy NYC train commute.

    Does the game play great? YES Is all of the new content amazing? YES Must
    Being a MK diehard fan, I just can't get enough of this game. I purchased the PS3 version along with the PDP arcade stick when it was released last year and completed everything. Now, I have a portable version with some new compelling content, so I have something new to play during my lengthy NYC train commute.

    Does the game play great? YES
    Is all of the new content amazing? YES
    Must you run out right now and purchase this? YES

    There is indeed a little graphic fidelity loss, however remember that the Vita IS NOT a full fledged PS3 console in your hands. I'll take the slight (and I do mean slight) loss is visuals to keep the game running at 60Hz! It's smooth as butter!

    Kudos!!!!! This is the way that Vita games need to be in order for the system to survive!!!
    Expand
  10. May 2, 2012
    9
    I gave it a 9 because of the slight graphical difference between the console counterparts. Do not listen to the zero spammers below. The only time you really notice it is during story mode when it transitions between the movie cut scenes to the in game engine. Once it backs out and you are fighting the character models look great and the gameplay is fluid at 60fps. This version hasI gave it a 9 because of the slight graphical difference between the console counterparts. Do not listen to the zero spammers below. The only time you really notice it is during story mode when it transitions between the movie cut scenes to the in game engine. Once it backs out and you are fighting the character models look great and the gameplay is fluid at 60fps. This version has everything every character available right from the start, all the extra costumes and plenty of replay value between the story mode, online (which is great and stable), ladder modes, tower challenge and the bonus tower challenge that offers more in the way of the vita mechanics. If fighting games is your thing hands down this is the best the vita has to offer. Expand
  11. May 2, 2012
    6
    I would love to give this game a 10, it plays so true to the style of past Mortal Kombat games, however, as an early adopter of the Vita, a machine that boasts unparalleled strength in the mobile market, I hoped to find a truly immersive hand held experience. I am sad to say, that is not the case here. Although mechanically it is a powerhouse, Mortal Kombat on the PSVita looks miserable.I would love to give this game a 10, it plays so true to the style of past Mortal Kombat games, however, as an early adopter of the Vita, a machine that boasts unparalleled strength in the mobile market, I hoped to find a truly immersive hand held experience. I am sad to say, that is not the case here. Although mechanically it is a powerhouse, Mortal Kombat on the PSVita looks miserable. The models are so jagged, it takes an emulation of a child's imagination to make this game seem as gruesome as the console original. The menus and the on screen displays follow suit, not taking advantage of the pixel dense oled at hand. On top of all this, the sound is dim, making the experience all the more ineffective. I've played fighters on my iPhone that succeed in immersion more than the title here. Bottom line, the PSVita earns a 10/10 for the way it executes, it's comfortable and responsive when going through the combos, and they did an excellent job porting the controls right onto the device, but when it comes down to it, the experience is sub par, not taking advantage of the visual elements available. 6/10 I expect to see more developers really taking advantage of the powerhouse we have here. Expand
  12. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    An extremely uncompelling fighting game with stiff animations, last-gen graphics, and poor mechanics. It's a constant shock to me that this game is well-liked.
  13. May 1, 2012
    0
    The same gameplay with minor additions like character costumes, additional ladder, etc. Vita specific features include swype actions. Be aware: dumbed down graphics (both characters and environments), but, what's important, FPS is still 60. They should have made a PC version with enhancements instead of this with lower quality.
  14. May 3, 2012
    0
    Well after a long wait there we have MK to PSV, and what a disappointment; the first and biggest complaint is graphics, what a mess, MKII for game boy was better. what were they thinking, this is not a Nds game, or PSP game but looks like.

    game play is good, but this is supposed to be one of the main selling games for PSV, I can understand why they released a game with dated graphics,
    Well after a long wait there we have MK to PSV, and what a disappointment; the first and biggest complaint is graphics, what a mess, MKII for game boy was better. what were they thinking, this is not a Nds game, or PSP game but looks like.

    game play is good, but this is supposed to be one of the main selling games for PSV, I can understand why they released a game with dated graphics, c'mon characters looks like soul reaver ones.

    Just terrible to spend 40 in this game just for paper box alike graphics. i regret of bought it using psn, i can't sell it and get some of my money back....
    Expand
  15. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best Vita game out. I've spent hours playing the bonus challenge tower alone. It's addicting and the replay value is high. Anyone on the fence will not be disappointed.
  16. Gaz
    May 17, 2012
    8
    Alright, so Mortal Kombat has finally hit the Vita. Now, I've been waiting for this game for a while and trust me when I say that both newcomers and fans of the the series won't be dissapointed by this portable port. The amount of "kontent" in the Vita version is amazing. For 40 bucks you get a full-fledged story mode, arcade mode complete with regular acrcade ladder mode and tag ladderAlright, so Mortal Kombat has finally hit the Vita. Now, I've been waiting for this game for a while and trust me when I say that both newcomers and fans of the the series won't be dissapointed by this portable port. The amount of "kontent" in the Vita version is amazing. For 40 bucks you get a full-fledged story mode, arcade mode complete with regular acrcade ladder mode and tag ladder mode, challenge tower, a bonus challenge tower that utilizes the features of the Vita, training mode, fatality training, all four DLC character from the console verion, including PS3-exclusive, Kratos, and more. And if that doesn't make your mouth water, there's also the massive Krypt, which you can use koins you earned in the game to unlock new content such as concept art, alternate costumes, and alternate fatalities. The fighting is intense, satisfying, and fun. The fighting engine works very well on the Vita, and being able to unleash those kombos on your enemies on the go makes it even more gratifying. The cutscene graphics during story mode are near-pefect, and stage graphics really look great on the Vita. The only downside to the graphics is that the character models look somewhat horrendous. While you're fighting, they look fine, but zoom in for the beginning of a fight or a fatality, and you'll find that the graphics leave a lot to be desired in comparison to the game's console counterpart. Another downfall of the game is the extremely annoying and cheap battles with Shao Kahn. Don't expect a straight-up fight with this guy. Instead you'll be dodging and upcutting you're way through two rounds praying that you don't fall victim to his unblockable hammer-throw attack. Not to mention that his X-ray move does 52% damage, so try not to get your head smashed in(which he literally does, by the way), and take him down. Aside from these gripes, Mortal Kombat proves itself, in my opinion, as the greatest fighting game on the Vita. Street Fighter fans can keep their flashy, complicated hyper combos to themselves. I'm sticking with a game that's simple to pick up and play, yet so deep that you won't want to put it down(unless you're fighting Shao Kahn). This makes MK a no-brainer for fighting game fans, MK veterans, or someone who just wants to rip people's heads off. When it comes to fighting games on the Vita, Mk reigns supreme. Expand
  17. May 4, 2012
    10
    Yes, the graphic is toned down compared to the console version.
    However, everything else you have enjoyed from Mortal Kombat from your console is now in your palm.
    Characters movements are smooth and fast with its 60 fr/s, and using d-pad to use fantastic combos and special moves are great fun. The game contains all the contents that its console brother has and more. (e.g. More costumes
    Yes, the graphic is toned down compared to the console version.
    However, everything else you have enjoyed from Mortal Kombat from your console is now in your palm.
    Characters movements are smooth and fast with its 60 fr/s, and using d-pad to use fantastic combos
    and special moves are great fun.

    The game contains all the contents that its console brother has and more.
    (e.g. More costumes and New Challenge Tower Mode)

    If you love Mortal Kombat and own VITA, this title is a must-buy.
    Expand
  18. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Pickd up Mortal Kombat for the Vita because I had never owned the console version and was always afraid to drop full price on a fighter recently because in my younger days I played fighters so much! THIS IS AN AMAZING game. For a portable game to have this much content (tons of modes, tons of characters, and a HELLA long story mode for a fighter) is amazing. The only con is that upclose onPickd up Mortal Kombat for the Vita because I had never owned the console version and was always afraid to drop full price on a fighter recently because in my younger days I played fighters so much! THIS IS AN AMAZING game. For a portable game to have this much content (tons of modes, tons of characters, and a HELLA long story mode for a fighter) is amazing. The only con is that upclose on the short cutscenes (only 2 seconds long) right before you fight you can tell that they had to scale back a little to keep the frame rate so fluid (never a drop so far). But the overall graphics are beautiful. "Come here!!!" and buy this game. Expand
  19. May 6, 2012
    9
    It's the PS3 port of the great Mortal Kombat game from last year with all the DLC bells and whistles in it, along with a few Vita specific things like touchscreen fatalities and a bonus challenge tower. It's very enjoyable but the graphical hit the game took to get on the Vita is very noticeable. They definitely could have done a little better with the graphics here. I'm not expecting PS3It's the PS3 port of the great Mortal Kombat game from last year with all the DLC bells and whistles in it, along with a few Vita specific things like touchscreen fatalities and a bonus challenge tower. It's very enjoyable but the graphical hit the game took to get on the Vita is very noticeable. They definitely could have done a little better with the graphics here. I'm not expecting PS3 quality graphics here but it is very noticeable. If you really liked last years game then pick this one for sure. It's not a game you buy the system for, but it's a very good game in general for a system that could use another quality title so early in it's life. Expand
  20. May 6, 2012
    9
    I like this game. It is almost an identical replica of the console versions of the game. My only complaint is on the graphics. On console versions, the transition between cut scene and in- game visuals were smooth. I almost couldn't tell the difference. But in the Vita version, the in-game graphics are so degraded, it were about the same as the original PSP graphics. Scorpion looksI like this game. It is almost an identical replica of the console versions of the game. My only complaint is on the graphics. On console versions, the transition between cut scene and in- game visuals were smooth. I almost couldn't tell the difference. But in the Vita version, the in-game graphics are so degraded, it were about the same as the original PSP graphics. Scorpion looks especially pixilated and washed out compared to his cut scene CG model. However, if you can overlook these graphical inconsistencies, you will enjoy this game just like you would the console version. Expand
  21. May 6, 2012
    10
    In game characters textures are horrible, but in movement (60 fps) are beauty, theres is enough content to keep you busy untill another great game comes for the vita. I hope in the near future the developers realease a patch for anti-aliasing for the game if its possible.
  22. May 12, 2012
    9
    While the game is as great as it was before (+ awesome minigames!), the soundtrack and graphics are let down from console versions, and they are HUGE let downs. I'll give it a 9 cause as a game, it's still awesome.
  23. May 6, 2012
    7
    As a huge fan of Mortal Kombat, I was looking forward to this game immensely. The first thing you notice when you turn this game on and get into a match is the graphics. Now not to say they're bad, you can just tell they had to make some cut-backs to get the game to run at its silky smooth 60fps. If you have played MK9 on the consoles you pretty much know what to expect from the gameplay.As a huge fan of Mortal Kombat, I was looking forward to this game immensely. The first thing you notice when you turn this game on and get into a match is the graphics. Now not to say they're bad, you can just tell they had to make some cut-backs to get the game to run at its silky smooth 60fps. If you have played MK9 on the consoles you pretty much know what to expect from the gameplay. If not you can expect a grizzly, violent and immensely fun fighter. Pulling off fatalities on the touch screen is fun and they have introduced some clever use of the vita's functions in the challenge tower. The online seems smooth from what I've played, my only complaint with the MK games online, is the players... they can be incredibly cheap by spamming the same most powerful move over and over again! But overall for the £30 I payed for this game I'm very impressed the whole DLC roster from the consoles is here, also the vita's new touches make this a very good purchase. Expand
  24. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    If it aint broken don't fix it... Exactly! While the gameplay remains pretty much the same as the older the games, the added violent x ray attacks make it even so much more fun.

    Based on how i feel, Mortal Kombat isn't 'perfect', but still back to the roots and better than ever for both story and gameplay department!
  25. X19
    May 22, 2012
    9
    A lot of these reviews are pretty narrow minded, so I thought I should share my thoughts. First up, this is my first MK game. I vaguely remember playing the older ones in an arcade, but that's really it. That being said, I can't compare this to past MK games because I have not played them. I do know the graphical difference between the PS3 and Vita version however. Simply put though, It isA lot of these reviews are pretty narrow minded, so I thought I should share my thoughts. First up, this is my first MK game. I vaguely remember playing the older ones in an arcade, but that's really it. That being said, I can't compare this to past MK games because I have not played them. I do know the graphical difference between the PS3 and Vita version however. Simply put though, It is fun. This is my most played game on the Vita for good reason. There's plenty to do and it plays so well. Most of the mixed and negative reviews only contain a complaint about graphics, but really share no other problems since there are few. I'd like to explain to people why MK on the Vita is not up to par with the PS3 version or other Vita titles.

    1: It's running at 60 FPS (Frames per second)- essentially, graphics are downgraded for better performance and responsive controls. Compare CoD (60 FPS) to BF3 (30 FPS) and you'll see the difference between the two. I know, it's so hard to not mention Call of Duty in a fighting game review.

    2: It's a handheld device.- not even Uncharted Golden Abyss matches modern PS3 titles running at 60 FPS

    3: It's the FULL MK game with even more Kontent (see what I did there?)- It takes up roughly 3 GB, which is the same amount of space that Uncharted Golden Abyss takes up. Meaning that the devs wanted to sacrifice graphics for more content and gameplay.

    I hope you see why the graphics are downgraded now and why it wouldn't be nearly as good if they just focused on graphics. Any MK fan who owns a Vita should pick this up. It is Mortal Kombat on the go. It's only downside is graphics, but if you're a true fan, then it should not matter.
    Expand
  26. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    MK Might just be the best fighting game on the vita right now I still haven't played DOA plus,But trust ,me this game is well worth your money first off The DLC makes the game so much more fun,There are tons of modes to enjoy for a long time including a challenge tower with hundreds of difficult tasks to complete plus for tha a bonus challenge tower!!!!,A fascinating,amazing,interestingMK Might just be the best fighting game on the vita right now I still haven't played DOA plus,But trust ,me this game is well worth your money first off The DLC makes the game so much more fun,There are tons of modes to enjoy for a long time including a challenge tower with hundreds of difficult tasks to complete plus for tha a bonus challenge tower!!!!,A fascinating,amazing,interesting entertaining and long story mode!,is the best story mode I've seen in a fighting game for a while,The mini games are fun and the new ones 2!,the game uses the vita's features perfectly,the gameplay runs smoothly and backgrounds look great with tons of content to unlock,adhoc & is a very awesome game there's still some problems I have with the game especially the visuals just look gross and unpleasant which fatalities unfun to watch which really hurts and the online play is pretty slow anyways the game is amazing and if your making a choice between Sfxtk,UNVC3 or MK pick MK toons of stuff!!!!!that is way my final score is 8.5(Best fighting game on the vita yet its epic!!!!!!) Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    It might be a little a late to review this game but I feel I should take this opportunity now. This game, simply gives a smile to my face. It has everything to keep me busy on long commutes and BOOOOORING school-days. The graphics, as far as what people are b*tching about here, is only slightly changed compared to the console versions. Yeah there are a lot of jags, but the lighting, theIt might be a little a late to review this game but I feel I should take this opportunity now. This game, simply gives a smile to my face. It has everything to keep me busy on long commutes and BOOOOORING school-days. The graphics, as far as what people are b*tching about here, is only slightly changed compared to the console versions. Yeah there are a lot of jags, but the lighting, the awesome background animations are there. MOST IMPORTANTLY, the Komplete Story Mode is there! Everything from the console version is available in this Vita version plus a new challenge tower and more! It's worth every buck. And, well, as a fan of the MK series ever since, I could say, after the original MK9 got released in 2011, this is the next most satisfyingly built MK ever with in-game touch-screen minigames and OH-SO FUNNY modes ONLY available in the Vita's new challenge tower! It is everything I expected it to be.. and more! Expand
  28. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    Best way to Experience Mortal Kombat on the go. Full roster with tons of modes plus vita-only challenge stages. graphics take a hit but not enough to really take away from the game.
  29. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Superb technical fighting game like on the consoles.
    And while having the entire story mode plus the ohter many game modes intact,
    unfortnately it has taken some hard hits one the graphical side. And also have ind mind the huge amount memory this game takes up on your memory card` 3066mb. I´d barely give this port an 8 but must, admit that Mortal Kombat is my favorite fighter for the
    Superb technical fighting game like on the consoles.
    And while having the entire story mode plus the ohter many game modes intact,
    unfortnately it has taken some hard hits one the graphical side.
    And also have ind mind the huge amount memory this game takes up on your memory card` 3066mb.
    I´d barely give this port an 8 but must, admit that Mortal Kombat is my favorite fighter for the vita!
    Great story mode plus lots of content makes sure that you will be entertained for quite some time
    Expand
  30. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    Mortal Kombat on the Playstation Vita is a worthy port of the 2011 console game. The controls, the content and the frenetic gameplay are all intact here. The best feature to the Vita game though is the bonus challenge tower. If you were expecting an easy challenge tower that's a breeze, sorry to disappoint you. The bonus challenge tower is comprised of 150 unique challenges, which sprinkleMortal Kombat on the Playstation Vita is a worthy port of the 2011 console game. The controls, the content and the frenetic gameplay are all intact here. The best feature to the Vita game though is the bonus challenge tower. If you were expecting an easy challenge tower that's a breeze, sorry to disappoint you. The bonus challenge tower is comprised of 150 unique challenges, which sprinkle in some potent touchscreen, rear touch and tilt controls for an interesting and unique Mortal Kombat experience. This gives it an edge over the console game, as the spark of creative design makes for a more compelling game. The only drawbacks come in the form of inherent button mashing situations. Two on one battles and familiar tactics will make the experience less enjoyable. Unless you use a wide assortment of moves in your arsenal. Unfortunately the touchscreen capabilities are also absent for the main challenge ladders and story modes. Seriously, who wouldn't want to use the touch screen to counter ranged attacks? Lastly the graphics are noticeably bumped down and envionments lack that certain MK magic of the PS3 and 360 versions. Overall though, MK on Vita is the complete fighting experience on a handheld. The consessions and flaws are minor, and mainly stem from inconsistencies in the console game. So is this the definitive version of Mortal Kombat? Absolutely! Expand
  31. May 1, 2012
    0
    After having played the excellent port of Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3, I was honestly expecting the same level of quality to be present in Mortal Kombat for the PS VITA. To my utter shock and horror this is not the case. I started up story mode. Everything looked great until the switch from pre rendered video to in game engine. This game looks like a first gen PSP title at best. TheAfter having played the excellent port of Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3, I was honestly expecting the same level of quality to be present in Mortal Kombat for the PS VITA. To my utter shock and horror this is not the case. I started up story mode. Everything looked great until the switch from pre rendered video to in game engine. This game looks like a first gen PSP title at best. The polygon count on the character models is laughably low. The textures are muddy and flat. Fatalities look awful because of this problem. I'm sorry but there is no excuse for this poor presentation. Now in the games defense it plays fluid and online works. This is great and I applaud NetherRealm for nailing that down. But seriously this game needed either more time or a different dev team that has more experience to retain the graphical quality this game should have. I will be selling my copy in the morning because I really feel like I was deceived by the promise of the complete experience on the go. Next time NetherRealm hire people that can get the job done right or give it to the Capcom devs. They certainly know what it takes to make everything work. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  2. 80
    Successful conversion of the original Mortal Kombat proves that battle games aren't yet finished. Great visuals and perfect playability delivers uncompromising fights. [July 2012]
  3. It's incredibly fast-paced and responsive. Nailing some of the intense combos may twist your fingers off as there are no touchscreen specials except for the X-ray moves that can be initiated once you have a full meter, but fatalities can be executed with finger swipes that match the d-pad inputs. Most of the extra modes, such as Test Your Slice, are gimmicks that either borrow heavily from smartphone games (let's just say you'll slice fruit whilst playing as a ninja) or rely on 'been there, done that' mechanics that use the Vita's hardware. Balancing a man on a beam is old hat, even if he's perilously dangling above a pit. [July 2012, p82]