User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 189
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 6, 2012
    7
    As a huge fan of Mortal Kombat, I was looking forward to this game immensely. The first thing you notice when you turn this game on and get into a match is the graphics. Now not to say they're bad, you can just tell they had to make some cut-backs to get the game to run at its silky smooth 60fps. If you have played MK9 on the consoles you pretty much know what to expect from the gameplay.As a huge fan of Mortal Kombat, I was looking forward to this game immensely. The first thing you notice when you turn this game on and get into a match is the graphics. Now not to say they're bad, you can just tell they had to make some cut-backs to get the game to run at its silky smooth 60fps. If you have played MK9 on the consoles you pretty much know what to expect from the gameplay. If not you can expect a grizzly, violent and immensely fun fighter. Pulling off fatalities on the touch screen is fun and they have introduced some clever use of the vita's functions in the challenge tower. The online seems smooth from what I've played, my only complaint with the MK games online, is the players... they can be incredibly cheap by spamming the same most powerful move over and over again! But overall for the £30 I payed for this game I'm very impressed the whole DLC roster from the consoles is here, also the vita's new touches make this a very good purchase. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    A excellent port of the console game. All is here and more. The massive amount of content makes up for the terrible graphics. The menu's still look excellent though. If you're wondering why I haven't given this a 8 or 9. Its because I wasn't the biggest fan of the PS3 version. But still thought it was good. Sound on the Vita version excels. The amount of content(it has to be said over andA excellent port of the console game. All is here and more. The massive amount of content makes up for the terrible graphics. The menu's still look excellent though. If you're wondering why I haven't given this a 8 or 9. Its because I wasn't the biggest fan of the PS3 version. But still thought it was good. Sound on the Vita version excels. The amount of content(it has to be said over and over again) here is so huge! A worthwhile purchase for anyone with a soul. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    First of all the graphics are horrible! Very pixilated and rushed.
    And also the game is frustratingly hard!
    Sometimes some fights feel like they are impossible!!!

    But it has a very solid online mode that works great.

    And overall it's a great game the story is long and really deep.

    Well worth your money and your time if you like fighting games.
  4. May 2, 2015
    7
    Mortal Kombat for PlayStation Vita is a game worth your attention, especially if you haven't had the opportunity to check out last year's "big" MK and you miss the original installments. It's a great reboot - well made, reminiscent of the golden age, has lots of fantastic warriors and some unique bonuses.
  5. May 2, 2012
    6
    I would love to give this game a 10, it plays so true to the style of past Mortal Kombat games, however, as an early adopter of the Vita, a machine that boasts unparalleled strength in the mobile market, I hoped to find a truly immersive hand held experience. I am sad to say, that is not the case here. Although mechanically it is a powerhouse, Mortal Kombat on the PSVita looks miserable.I would love to give this game a 10, it plays so true to the style of past Mortal Kombat games, however, as an early adopter of the Vita, a machine that boasts unparalleled strength in the mobile market, I hoped to find a truly immersive hand held experience. I am sad to say, that is not the case here. Although mechanically it is a powerhouse, Mortal Kombat on the PSVita looks miserable. The models are so jagged, it takes an emulation of a child's imagination to make this game seem as gruesome as the console original. The menus and the on screen displays follow suit, not taking advantage of the pixel dense oled at hand. On top of all this, the sound is dim, making the experience all the more ineffective. I've played fighters on my iPhone that succeed in immersion more than the title here. Bottom line, the PSVita earns a 10/10 for the way it executes, it's comfortable and responsive when going through the combos, and they did an excellent job porting the controls right onto the device, but when it comes down to it, the experience is sub par, not taking advantage of the visual elements available. 6/10 I expect to see more developers really taking advantage of the powerhouse we have here. Expand
  6. May 1, 2012
    5
    After having played the excellent port of Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3, I was honestly expecting the same level of quality to be present in Mortal Kombat for the PS VITA. To my utter shock and horror this is not the case. I started up story mode. Everything looked great until the switch from pre rendered video to in game engine. This game looks like a first gen PSP title at best. TheAfter having played the excellent port of Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3, I was honestly expecting the same level of quality to be present in Mortal Kombat for the PS VITA. To my utter shock and horror this is not the case. I started up story mode. Everything looked great until the switch from pre rendered video to in game engine. This game looks like a first gen PSP title at best. The polygon count on the character models is laughably low. The textures are muddy and flat. Fatalities look awful because of this problem. I'm sorry but there is no excuse for this poor presentation. Now in the games defense it plays fluid and online works. This is great and I applaud NetherRealm for nailing that down. But seriously this game needed either more time or a different dev team that has more experience to retain the graphical quality this game should have. I will be selling my copy in the morning because I really feel like I was deceived by the promise of the complete experience on the go. Next time NetherRealm hire people that can get the job done right or give it to the Capcom devs. They certainly know what it takes to make everything work. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 29, 2012
    80
    Successful conversion of the original Mortal Kombat proves that battle games aren't yet finished. Great visuals and perfect playability delivers uncompromising fights. [July 2012]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 4, 2012
    80
    It's incredibly fast-paced and responsive. Nailing some of the intense combos may twist your fingers off as there are no touchscreen specials except for the X-ray moves that can be initiated once you have a full meter, but fatalities can be executed with finger swipes that match the d-pad inputs. Most of the extra modes, such as Test Your Slice, are gimmicks that either borrow heavily from smartphone games (let's just say you'll slice fruit whilst playing as a ninja) or rely on 'been there, done that' mechanics that use the Vita's hardware. Balancing a man on a beam is old hat, even if he's perilously dangling above a pit. [July 2012, p82]