Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready to re-enter the tournament wherever you are. A full reboot of the franchise, this latest version of the game combines innovative mature oriented fighter gameplay with a deep story mode, enhanced graphics and game technology and new game modes. The game features a storyline thatGet ready to re-enter the tournament wherever you are. A full reboot of the franchise, this latest version of the game combines innovative mature oriented fighter gameplay with a deep story mode, enhanced graphics and game technology and new game modes. The game features a storyline that takes you back to the original tournament, exclusive Vita functionality, fatalities presented in graphic detail never imagined in earlier release, and completely new game modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 1, 2012
    100
    The single-player story mode is still astoundingly deep and the challenge tower is an exciting and maddening climb.
  2. May 1, 2012
    90
    A straight-forward port would have gone over well enough, but NetherRealm went the extra mile and made this a standout, compelling release that I'm happy to recommend.
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  4. May 24, 2012
    85
    Mortal Kombat for PlayStation Vita is a game worth your attention, especially if you haven't had the opportunity to check out last year's "big" MK and you miss the original installments. It's a great reboot - well made, reminiscent of the golden age, has lots of fantastic warriors and some unique bonuses.
  5. Jun 17, 2012
    83
    With a staggering amount of content packed in, Mortal Kombat Vita not only benefits from the balance patches from the PS3 iteration but makes for the best version when played on the go. [Issue#219, p.78]
  6. May 28, 2012
    80
    Inarguably one of the finest portable fighting games to have ever been released. Boasting at least twenty hours of single-player content to kick and punch your way through. It's also one of the system's most convincing ports with a platter of mini-games and exclusive features, organically worked into the overall package.
  7. 70
    As a PS Vita game this is no more than a competent port, but as a restatement of one of gaming's most enduring fighters it's still good, dumb fun.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    Now this game is an amazing port of the console versions of Mortal Kombat. The game, although has bad character models, runs at an amazing 60Now this game is an amazing port of the console versions of Mortal Kombat. The game, although has bad character models, runs at an amazing 60 FPS with so much to do in-game. If the story mode isn't enough for you there are the unlockables in the game which require you to get a ton of Koins. Also, the ladder mode and the Vita Ladder Mode are just so extensive man!

    This game contains so much for a small price to pay for a long period of replayability, which is a good point for me.

    Buy this game if you want a Fighter on the go, if you want something with better character models but slower FPS then buy Marvel VS Capcom 3 or Street Fighter X Tekken for the Vita.
    Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    It might be a little a late to review this game but I feel I should take this opportunity now. This game, simply gives a smile to my face. ItIt might be a little a late to review this game but I feel I should take this opportunity now. This game, simply gives a smile to my face. It has everything to keep me busy on long commutes and BOOOOORING school-days. The graphics, as far as what people are b*tching about here, is only slightly changed compared to the console versions. Yeah there are a lot of jags, but the lighting, the awesome background animations are there. MOST IMPORTANTLY, the Komplete Story Mode is there! Everything from the console version is available in this Vita version plus a new challenge tower and more! It's worth every buck. And, well, as a fan of the MK series ever since, I could say, after the original MK9 got released in 2011, this is the next most satisfyingly built MK ever with in-game touch-screen minigames and OH-SO FUNNY modes ONLY available in the Vita's new challenge tower! It is everything I expected it to be.. and more! Expand
  3. May 3, 2012
    10
    Main reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. SeriouslyMain reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. Seriously though, I felt the same way another person commented, that I fired up story mode at first and when the game switched from pre-rendered graphics to in-game graphics I was gob smacked how poor it looked. No damage shows up either. However, once I went to other modes like arcade + training + challenge tower, the difference in lighting + damage model turned on (I assume it's disabled in story mode on purpose) makes the game look fine. Sure not console quality, but its fast and fluid. Very happy with my purchase. Expand
  4. May 21, 2013
    9
    Awesome fighting game on the Vita. Vita only features don't feel like a gimmick and are actually a lot of fun. The character models are aAwesome fighting game on the Vita. Vita only features don't feel like a gimmick and are actually a lot of fun. The character models are a little low rez, but overall, the game looks great! lots of fun on the go. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    This video game is 8 out of 1/0 for me! I'm not a graphics freak or anything but the graphics are bad an expected them to be better. I playedThis video game is 8 out of 1/0 for me! I'm not a graphics freak or anything but the graphics are bad an expected them to be better. I played hours on this! very decent game, graphics aren't everything. FINISH HIM! Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    Mortal Kombat on the Playstation Vita is a worthy port of the 2011 console game. The controls, the content and the frenetic gameplay are allMortal Kombat on the Playstation Vita is a worthy port of the 2011 console game. The controls, the content and the frenetic gameplay are all intact here. The best feature to the Vita game though is the bonus challenge tower. If you were expecting an easy challenge tower that's a breeze, sorry to disappoint you. The bonus challenge tower is comprised of 150 unique challenges, which sprinkle in some potent touchscreen, rear touch and tilt controls for an interesting and unique Mortal Kombat experience. This gives it an edge over the console game, as the spark of creative design makes for a more compelling game. The only drawbacks come in the form of inherent button mashing situations. Two on one battles and familiar tactics will make the experience less enjoyable. Unless you use a wide assortment of moves in your arsenal. Unfortunately the touchscreen capabilities are also absent for the main challenge ladders and story modes. Seriously, who wouldn't want to use the touch screen to counter ranged attacks? Lastly the graphics are noticeably bumped down and envionments lack that certain MK magic of the PS3 and 360 versions. Overall though, MK on Vita is the complete fighting experience on a handheld. The consessions and flaws are minor, and mainly stem from inconsistencies in the console game. So is this the definitive version of Mortal Kombat? Absolutely! Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.
    As for the content, while there is more of it, there's not enough DLC. Ridge Racer has you covered in this regard.
    All in all, average, but not a classic.
    Expand

See all 56 User Reviews