Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready to re-enter the tournament wherever you are. A full reboot of the franchise, this latest version of the game combines innovative mature oriented fighter gameplay with a deep story mode, enhanced graphics and game technology and new game modes. The game features a storyline thatGet ready to re-enter the tournament wherever you are. A full reboot of the franchise, this latest version of the game combines innovative mature oriented fighter gameplay with a deep story mode, enhanced graphics and game technology and new game modes. The game features a storyline that takes you back to the original tournament, exclusive Vita functionality, fatalities presented in graphic detail never imagined in earlier release, and completely new game modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 1, 2012
    100
    The single-player story mode is still astoundingly deep and the challenge tower is an exciting and maddening climb.
  2. May 1, 2012
    90
    A straight-forward port would have gone over well enough, but NetherRealm went the extra mile and made this a standout, compelling release that I'm happy to recommend.
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  4. May 24, 2012
    85
    Mortal Kombat for PlayStation Vita is a game worth your attention, especially if you haven't had the opportunity to check out last year's "big" MK and you miss the original installments. It's a great reboot - well made, reminiscent of the golden age, has lots of fantastic warriors and some unique bonuses.
  5. Jun 17, 2012
    83
    With a staggering amount of content packed in, Mortal Kombat Vita not only benefits from the balance patches from the PS3 iteration but makes for the best version when played on the go. [Issue#219, p.78]
  6. May 28, 2012
    80
    Inarguably one of the finest portable fighting games to have ever been released. Boasting at least twenty hours of single-player content to kick and punch your way through. It's also one of the system's most convincing ports with a platter of mini-games and exclusive features, organically worked into the overall package.
  7. 70
    As a PS Vita game this is no more than a competent port, but as a restatement of one of gaming's most enduring fighters it's still good, dumb fun.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 57
  2. Negative: 3 out of 57
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Por comentar este fabuloso juego de PSVITA es por lo que me he inscrito en Metacritic.

    No voy a comentar gráficos y sonidos porque para eso
    Por comentar este fabuloso juego de PSVITA es por lo que me he inscrito en Metacritic.

    No voy a comentar gráficos y sonidos porque para eso lo veis en un canal HD de youtube.

    Podríamos resumirlo como Videojuego en estado puro. El juego es emocionante, entretenido y muy divertido, el modo historia simplemente de lo mejor que existe en beat 'em ups, excelentemente integrado y fusionado con los combates. Y la jugabilidad sencillamente es infinita. Tiene muchos luchadores diferentes, muchisimos modos de juego aparte del historia y todos muy originales. A destacar uno de ellos en los cuales se cambian al azar varias carácterísticas del combate como la orientación al avanzar, el salto, etc... lo cual es de lo mas divertido para jugar con un amigo y las risas son aseguradas. Aparte tambien tiene modos para desbloquear items, trajes, opciones, galerías etc.

    A destacar su diseño en general tanto de personajes, localizaciones, animaciones, sonidos, voz del narrador...en resumen es un buen homenaje a lo que fue Mortal Kombat, que digo...es lo que debería haber sido Mortal Kombat el juego definitivo de la saga y un imprescindible para todo aquel que tenga ganas de diversión.

    Este es de los juegos que podrás echar una partida en cualquier sitio, tengas mucho o poco tiempo libre, y solo por su jugabilidad y diversión le planto un 10, porque es videojuego en estado puro, ya que lo que mas me importa de los videojuegos es que me hagan sentir, entretener, sufrir y disfrutar a partes iguales.
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    Good fighting game. The best background story of its time among all fighting games, outstanding long kombos, a humongous variety of excitingGood fighting game. The best background story of its time among all fighting games, outstanding long kombos, a humongous variety of exciting elements such as hidden kombatants, secret levels, countless finishers which make you have lots of fun while playing. Please, do not regard the people saying this game is too violent comparing to the other games just because of its finishers, because most of them are just too funny to take them serious. Tell me street fighter lovers, do you think it is too violent when the Coyote is crushed by a huge rock after falling to the ground on his face while chasing the Roadrunner, or IS IT FUNNY? The Coyote still lives, so does Sub-Zero in MK... To conclude, I personally believe this is how a fighting game should be. Expand
  3. May 3, 2012
    10
    Main reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. SeriouslyMain reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. Seriously though, I felt the same way another person commented, that I fired up story mode at first and when the game switched from pre-rendered graphics to in-game graphics I was gob smacked how poor it looked. No damage shows up either. However, once I went to other modes like arcade + training + challenge tower, the difference in lighting + damage model turned on (I assume it's disabled in story mode on purpose) makes the game look fine. Sure not console quality, but its fast and fluid. Very happy with my purchase. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    Now it was a amazing game but the level changed during time of the story I was new to mortal kombat and I barley knew any moves yet wheni gotNow it was a amazing game but the level changed during time of the story I was new to mortal kombat and I barley knew any moves yet wheni got to cyrax and sector I couldn't win using moves too advanced for me to block and one person vs 2 people that's **** Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Superb technical fighting game like on the consoles.
    And while having the entire story mode plus the ohter many game modes intact,
    Superb technical fighting game like on the consoles.
    And while having the entire story mode plus the ohter many game modes intact,
    unfortnately it has taken some hard hits one the graphical side.
    And also have ind mind the huge amount memory this game takes up on your memory card` 3066mb.
    I´d barely give this port an 8 but must, admit that Mortal Kombat is my favorite fighter for the vita!
    Great story mode plus lots of content makes sure that you will be entertained for quite some time
    Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    It's a very good game to play. Lot's of things to do. The only con is that the graphics could be better. Well, if you like platinum trophies,It's a very good game to play. Lot's of things to do. The only con is that the graphics could be better. Well, if you like platinum trophies, this one is really difficult to get. Collapse
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.
    As for the content, while there is more of it, there's not enough DLC. Ridge Racer has you covered in this regard.
    All in all, average, but not a classic.
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews