MotorStorm RC PlayStation Vita

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    72
    It's addictive at first, but I just don't see it holding interest after several hours of play unless you have a highly competitive group of friends to continually challenge to best your scores.
  2. May 12, 2012
    70
    MotorStorm RC leaves us with mixed feelings. The MotorStorm spin-off is an ideal portable game with short races and no load-times. It also comes at a low price and boasts lots of content, and it's playable on both your PS3 and Vita with some great crossplatform functions. But when it comes to controls and the camera the game doesn't do all that well. It's a great concept that doesn't live up to its potential.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    70
    It's a generous package, and even more so given that a purchase of the Vita version nets you a PS3 copy as well, your progress persistent between the two versions. Other launch games may better sell Vita's touch, tilt or AR capabilities, but there is no better advertisement for its connectivity.
  4. 70
    You get a good amount of gaming for little money and you will feel like a happy kid for a while with MotorStorm RC. In the end it´s the completely missing online modes which keep it from higher praise.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    It's fun, but only in the same way wanging around plastic trucks was back when you wore Bananaman pyjamas. [Apr 2012, p.118]
  6. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Mar 22, 2012
    60
    Plenty of tracks and motors, but fails the brand spectacularly on thrills. It's like Motorstorm as viewed by a seagull. [Apr 2012, p.108]
  7. Mar 1, 2012
    60
    This portable version of MotorStorm, with its tiny RC cars you drive from a top-down view, is a fun little surprise on the Vita. The gameplay's simple, but solid. And the price is really low, especially considering you'll get the Vita Version for free on top of this one. The only downside, but an important one : no multiplayer whatsoever.
  8. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 7, 2012
    50
    All this offers is twin-stick controls and slightly crisper visuals. [June 2012, p.83]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    What a game, I downloaded this expecting a lame game and I am shocked, its brilliant. yes the graphics are lacking and the music can be a bitWhat a game, I downloaded this expecting a lame game and I am shocked, its brilliant. yes the graphics are lacking and the music can be a bit annoying, but if you have a competitive nature this game is amazing!

    The reason I like it so much, is because of the auto log style feature, once you complete the event, you are then shown your friends best times and the global best time, a ghost arrow is also placed on track and you can compete for both friend and global supremacy. Its brilliant and well worth the £4.75 price tag.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    A really fun and sometimes challenging little game, I don't understand why theres no online multiplayer because it would be a great onlineA really fun and sometimes challenging little game, I don't understand why theres no online multiplayer because it would be a great online racer, but its a great game regardless and amazing value. Load times are non-existant, graphics are quite good for what they are, car handling is mostly good though some classes can be really hard to control and there seems to be quite a bit of content for the price. Absolutely one of the best deals on PSN. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    I have just finished getting a platinum trophy for this game and loved every minute of it. This game is very addicting with the leaderboardsI have just finished getting a platinum trophy for this game and loved every minute of it. This game is very addicting with the leaderboards both global and between friends keeping you going back for more just to shave that extra half a second off your time. The graphics are not bad at all, they could be better but with the top down view there is not much that can be improved. There is a great variety of vehicles and tracks to keep you hooked for hours, I spent about 20 hours on it and I am still addicted. I can't finish this without mentioning the price either. At 5 quid this is a major bargain. Full Review »