MotorStorm RC Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A unique blend of old-school and contemporary racing gameplay, MotorStorm RC is an addictive racer, with social interaction at the fore. Players will be able to build an impressive garage of vehicles, with 24 vehicles initially available to unlock in the game, with DLC and expansion packs allowing gamers to access new tracks, vehicles, and more, planned after launch. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    93
    We actually find it hard to come up with any complaints about Motorstorm RC. On the contrary, we feel like we've stolen this game. An extremely low price for a visually strong and extremely addictive racing game? You won't find a better deal anywhere soon.
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    A staggering title: not only is it a successful test bed for one of the PlayStation Vita's most promising features, but it's also a cunningly addictive game in its own right.
  3. MotorStorm Artic Edge was a decent PSP game, but failed to capture the awe inspiring violence the franchise is known for. So making MotorStorm RC a top-down racer was an incredibly smart move. Especially since everything else still feels like MotorStorm: the music, the menus, ... [April 2012, p.93]
  4. Feb 23, 2012
    80
    Motorstorm makes its debut on Playstation Vita and a lot has changed from the earlier console games. Instead of real vehicles you get to drive RC cars in short, fast races. Motorstorm RC fits the portable format perfectly but why is there no multiplayer?!
  5. Mar 5, 2012
    80
    One of the most pleasant surprises from PSVita's launch line-up. It's fun, it's addictive and you can play it on your PS3 too!
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Motorstorm is a game relatively limited, but capable of giving immense fun at an affordable price.
  7. All this offers is twin-stick controls and slightly crisper visuals. [June 2012, p.83]

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    What a game, I downloaded this expecting a lame game and I am shocked, its brilliant. yes the graphics are lacking and the music can be a bit annoying, but if you have a competitive nature this game is amazing!

    The reason I like it so much, is because of the auto log style feature, once you complete the event, you are then shown your friends best times and the global best time, a ghost arrow is also placed on track and you can compete for both friend and global supremacy. Its brilliant and well worth the £4.75 price tag.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This game is by far the best title I have played on the vita, the controls are weird at first but once you get a hang of them, you really get to enjoy the game play to it's fullest. The game is challenging in a good way, pitting you against computers who are very good and being able to play against various friends ghosts is amazing. The game is really addictive, so much so that I completed it to 100% and downloaded all the DLC's. Luckily I did get the game free from PS+ because I probably wouldn't have bought this game, however if they release a sequel it will be a day one purchase from me.

    I am a motorstorm Lunatic 10/10
    Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    This game is nothing short of magical. Right from the off, there is something about the whole package that puts it in a class of it's own. Although there's no head to head racing, you do feel very much part of a community of players and that is rare. No sooner have you completed a challenge, when a pop up tells you that somebody else has 'battered', 'trounced' or 'humiliated' your efforts. It just makes you want to get back in a race harder and faster. It's the perfect game for on-the-go gaming in bursts but you can easily lose a few hours too, trying to shave tenths and hundredths of seconds off competitor's times.

    As spectacular as behing the wheel graphics have become, I don't think I've had such a laugh on a racing game for some time now.
    Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    Very cute, fun free game. It is a great game that i can play anytime i don't feel like playing my usual. Very nice graphics and gameplay make this a must get (not must buy). Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Very good fun! I'm surprised that a spin-off can be as good, if not better, than the main games! Two different control schemes, lots of levels, medals to unlock, and four different types of race. Near the end its a bit repetitive, but it's a racing game, so you can't expect tons of variety. Very nice game and cheap too! Recommended! Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2012
    6
    While the game does have some generally fun game-play- and a well integrated online element- it falls apart in later play because of an extreme spike in difficult and a general malfunction in controls. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    It's hard to hate on a game that is free. I definitely played all the races and bought the Carnival and other DLC for cheap (PS Plus discount). However the lack of multiplayer (aside from score comparison) severely limits what could be a great game as racing against AI for 2 minutes can get repetitive and stale. Graphics are fair and there are some nice looking tracks. Unfortunately there just isnt enough depth and variety in the game modes. If a multiplayer mode was added this would be a huge plus for this game. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews