Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Muramasa Rebirth is the follow-up to Muramasa: The Demon Blade that tells the tale of two souls and 108 deadly blades.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 96
    Muramasa Rebirth is a wonderfully enhanced version of an already terrific game that melds old-school action sensibilities with more modern complexities and a storyline that manages to feel notably mature.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    90
    Muramasa: Rebirth was a great game on the Wii but on the Vita, it is a masterpiece. Excellent and engaging gameplay, enjoyable stories (yes, multiple), and one of the most visually appealing art styles ever used in a video game combine for an adventure that every Vita owner should take.
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    85
    Muramasa: The Demon Blade's a piece of art, or art by itself. It's a simple beat 'em up that's set on the early Japanese history, mainly focused on the personal story of two wanderers that're trying to earn a living smashing every enemy that's set on their way. Improved with HD graphics in this Vita version.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    It’s not only Vita’s prettiest game; it’s also a hell of a lot of fun to play. Immersive, stylish, and full of action, Muramasa Rebirth’s twin campaigns, multiple endings, hidden Demon Swords, massive exploration and other optional goodies are enough to keep you busy for a good long while.
  5. 80
    For fans of Vanillaware’s games, this is a no-brainer. Muramasa Rebirth is the more complete version of its Wii predecessor. With an amazing art style, fast action, and even some humor, sidescroller fighting game fans will find a lot to like here. This is one of the Vita’s prettiest games, and is fun to boot!
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Thanks to its new localization and higher resolution, Rebirth is unquestionably the definitive version of the game, and anyone who enjoyed the original would be foolish to not experience this improved version.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    60
    The game occasionally falters as a portable port because of its refusal to use the Vita's technological capabilities for anything other than enhancing things strictly on a superficial level.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    10 out ot 10!

    I'm an absolute fan of high quality 2D games. This game delivers in every single aspect: smooth gameplay, breath-taking
    10 out ot 10!

    I'm an absolute fan of high quality 2D games. This game delivers in every single aspect: smooth gameplay, breath-taking sprites, sounds etc.

    I almost bought a Wii just to have the oportunity to play this game alone, i'm glad that I have a PSV and can play it now!

    So far, I've played about 6 hours with Momohime and enjoying every single minute of it!
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2014
    10
    I gotta say that I'm a huge fan of 2D beat em up, slash em up and so on. I am also a fan of RPG's, leveling systems and character building.I gotta say that I'm a huge fan of 2D beat em up, slash em up and so on. I am also a fan of RPG's, leveling systems and character building. And I love games that takes place in a fantasy-inspired or historical time period. Well, this game fits all of my criteria.

    The graphics are simply amazing, I find myself looking at the backgrounds more than in any other game I've played to date. The soundtrack is spot on, very suiting to this game. I love just about everything of this game, and can see little problems. Well, the transportation could be a little easier or faster, but other than that... no. Nothing.

    The gameplay is simply put AMAZING! Fast paced action, slashing and destroying. The controls are absolutely spot on perfect and it is very very easy to just put this game on and lose yourself in it. It has a somewhat good story, but the gameplay is what keeps me coming back for more. I simply love it.

    Call me old fashioned, I've been in this industry from the NES. I adored games like final fight, streets of rage and golden axe. Now, with the Vita, we can play a game that has all of that, but is longer and has a satisfying leveling system.

    I can't give anything else than 10/10 and have high hopes for a sequel. Right now!
    Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Vanillaware's sublime 2D adventure, Muramasa Rebirth is so much more than a simple HD port of the Nintendo Wii's, fabulous Muramasa: The DemonVanillaware's sublime 2D adventure, Muramasa Rebirth is so much more than a simple HD port of the Nintendo Wii's, fabulous Muramasa: The Demon Blade. Indeed, as far as I am concerned, it is the very finest game to hit Sony's underappreciated Playstation Vita yet, and in the process, represents the very pinnacle of action-RPG gaming in the handheld space.

    Now of course, this potentially controversial statement means that if Muramasa has indeed jumped straight to the top of Vita's pecking order, it edges out some truly excellent titles in doing so. Arguably, chief among which, is not only the timeless fan-favourite JRPG, Persona 4 Golden, but even Vanillaware's very own Dragon's Crown too no less. And that is the biggest compliment I can pay this incredible game.

    What with Muramasa Rebirth and the aforementioned Dragon's Crown, Vanillaware are *the* developer to watch right now, and given the Japanese studio's record of combing gorgeous artwork with deep, addictive gameplay, I only hope that they continue to support Sony's handheld in the future. And in the meantime? How about Odin's Sphere on Vita!?
    Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Muramasa is excellent game to spend time with on your Vita. It has bright vivid colors, action and a nice soundtrack.

    Do keep in mind that
    Muramasa is excellent game to spend time with on your Vita. It has bright vivid colors, action and a nice soundtrack.

    Do keep in mind that this game does not include English audio, but it does have the required subtitles. Since I mostly play JP- audio anyway this does not bother me and as such did not impact my rating for the game.
    Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    One of the best 2D games ever !

    I never played the Wii version but i buy a PSV for this game and Persona 4 Golden. And i don't have any
    One of the best 2D games ever !

    I never played the Wii version but i buy a PSV for this game and Persona 4 Golden. And i don't have any regrets !

    It's an awesome game
    Expand
  6. rih
    Jun 25, 2013
    9
    It's gorgeous. It's fun.

    This kind of games (triple A quality 2D) are very scarce... If you own a PSV and didn't had the chance to play the
    It's gorgeous. It's fun.

    This kind of games (triple A quality 2D) are very scarce... If you own a PSV and didn't had the chance to play the original version on the Wii, do yourself a favor: PLAY IT NOW!

    Review summary:
    +jaw-dropping beautiful hand-painted 2D sprites
    +simple, yet astonishing gameplay mechanics
    +great bosses
    +very good sound effects and music
    +great replayability factor
    -lack enemy variety (minor)
    Collapse
  7. Jun 6, 2014
    6
    Well i see people like this game, but it's ok. Problem is, that you don't go around killing stuff. You run and run and run, and then you haveWell i see people like this game, but it's ok. Problem is, that you don't go around killing stuff. You run and run and run, and then you have a one scene brawl with some enemies, and then you run some more. IF you fight constantly and have to be on your toes, that's different. In this manner, it's boring to just run around and you want to explore something and then COMBAT starts which has that draw back "oh, again? I just want to explore this section". Combat for me comes as a nuissance instead as a jewel that it should be. Combat is flawless, but it comes at the wrong time! Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers