Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Muramasa Rebirth is the follow-up to Muramasa: The Demon Blade that tells the tale of two souls and 108 deadly blades.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 96
    Muramasa Rebirth is a wonderfully enhanced version of an already terrific game that melds old-school action sensibilities with more modern complexities and a storyline that manages to feel notably mature.
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    90
    For those that own a Vita I suggest picking up Vanillaware’s entry on the machine. It is gorgeous, with stylistic and deep combat, and just plain enjoyable. Anyone clamoring for more software on Sony’s portable should look no further.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    85
    Muramasa Rebirth is a gorgeous, action-packed, fairly lengthy adventure that looks, sounds, and plays better than ever.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    It’s not only Vita’s prettiest game; it’s also a hell of a lot of fun to play. Immersive, stylish, and full of action, Muramasa Rebirth’s twin campaigns, multiple endings, hidden Demon Swords, massive exploration and other optional goodies are enough to keep you busy for a good long while.
  5. 80
    For fans of Vanillaware’s games, this is a no-brainer. Muramasa Rebirth is the more complete version of its Wii predecessor. With an amazing art style, fast action, and even some humor, sidescroller fighting game fans will find a lot to like here. This is one of the Vita’s prettiest games, and is fun to boot!
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Thanks to its new localization and higher resolution, Rebirth is unquestionably the definitive version of the game, and anyone who enjoyed the original would be foolish to not experience this improved version.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    60
    The game occasionally falters as a portable port because of its refusal to use the Vita's technological capabilities for anything other than enhancing things strictly on a superficial level.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    10 out ot 10!

    I'm an absolute fan of high quality 2D games. This game delivers in every single aspect: smooth gameplay, breath-taking
    sprites, sounds etc.

    I almost bought a Wii just to have the oportunity to play this game alone, i'm glad that I have a PSV and can play it now!

    So far, I've played about 6 hours with Momohime and enjoying every single minute of it!
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Art is gorgeous. Gameplay is fast, fun and deep. Stories of characters are well written. And game has a LOT of post-game content after you finish both main stories (those took me around 20h), icluding alternative endings.

    Ignore "professional game critics" giving this excellent game score of 78 just because its not AAA title or some smartass wannabe indie fad.

    TL;DR - PLAY IT!
    Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I adore this game. i loved it on the wii and I'm thrilled it's now on Vita.

    The game has 2 things that make it magical: its unique 2D art
    and animation, and a beautifully melodic and high energy soundtrack that pushes you onwards even when the gameplay gets samey.

    The game is very simple go left, right, explore, collect, level up, manage basic resources, get some light mystically flavoured storytelling, and mainly fight. You're collecting swords with crazy and inventive special moves throughout the game, and testing them out on all manner of incredibly designed and animated creatures & monsters. Like Okami, the game is inspired by traditional Japanese art and mural painting, and it really does feel like a painting come to life in a video game.

    Very few games have this much charm. I rate it very highly indeed as one of my few keepers this last game generation.
    Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Muramasa is excellent game to spend time with on your Vita. It has bright vivid colors, action and a nice soundtrack.

    Do keep in mind that
    this game does not include English audio, but it does have the required subtitles. Since I mostly play JP- audio anyway this does not bother me and as such did not impact my rating for the game. Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Vanillaware's sublime 2D adventure, Muramasa Rebirth is so much more than a simple HD port of the Nintendo Wii's, fabulous Muramasa: The Demon Blade. Indeed, as far as I am concerned, it is the very finest game to hit Sony's underappreciated Playstation Vita yet, and in the process, represents the very pinnacle of action-RPG gaming in the handheld space.

    Now of course, this potentially controversial statement means that if Muramasa has indeed jumped straight to the top of Vita's pecking order, it edges out some truly excellent titles in doing so. Arguably, chief among which, is not only the timeless fan-favourite JRPG, Persona 4 Golden, but even Vanillaware's very own Dragon's Crown too no less. And that is the biggest compliment I can pay this incredible game.

    What with Muramasa Rebirth and the aforementioned Dragon's Crown, Vanillaware are *the* developer to watch right now, and given the Japanese studio's record of combing gorgeous artwork with deep, addictive gameplay, I only hope that they continue to support Sony's handheld in the future. And in the meantime? How about Odin's Sphere on Vita!?
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Muramasa on the Wii was my first Vanillaware game and I loved it. I played it several years ago, but I only played half of it due to various reasons. This time I played it all the way through and got all 6 endings as well as most of the achievements.

    I'm sure it's been driven into the ground at this point, but I can't help but point out how amazing the artwork and aesthetic is. Definitely one of the most beautiful games I've played and the Vita's screen makes it look even better. The music is equally great and when combined with the art style creates an amazing atmosphere that fits the game's setting perfectly.

    The gameplay is fun and never gets old (at least for me), though the areas in the game as well as the standard enemies can get repetitive. I imagine this is a turnoff for some people, but I never minded it. The story is simple but interesting. I would have also liked to see one more sword type in the game to vary up the combat a bit more. The game can be challenging on Chaos mode, and there's always the unlockable Fury mode for those seeking even greater hurdles.

    All in all, this is a beautifully made and fun 2d beat-em-up that can be repetitive for some. If there had been more varied areas and enemies I would have given it a perfect score.
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    Graphics. Hey, I like some good 2D.

    ++ Combo system. Simple enough to pick up, flexible enough to feel skillful.

    ++ Bosses. Megaman
    meets Metroid meets Castlevania-ish with a few brawler mechanics.

    ++ Difficulty options! Everywhere from button mashing cheese to "Beat the game with 1 HP".

    == Standard run is ~6 Hrs ~6Hrs, for both Kisuke and Momohime. Can be MUCH longer if you try to plat it.

    == Food animations. On one hand they're beautiful. On the other hand, you have to mash X a bunch of times. If you like the animations this is great, but a left-brained mechanic gamer is going to be extremely irritated.

    == Japanese-only Voicing. Not a problem for me (I prefer originals over bad redubs) but for some people this will absolutely kill the game for them.

    == Weapon customization is...ok. There are two major weapon types (Sword, Longsword) and then a bunch of special abilities and passive effects. The value of this system is heavily dependent on the difficulty of the game, and in many places you're "forced" to give up your favourite effect because the damage on the Sword isn't high enough. Unless you like hitting brick walls with a butter knife.

    -- Backtracking. It gets slightly better near the end of the game, but as early as the FIRST LEVEL you're forced to go forward (fine), beat a boss (fine), and then walk all the way back through the area you just went through.

    -- Some of the midgame environments are duplicates of the early game environments.

    TL:DR

    It's a pretty darn good game, but the $40/$35 price tag keeps me from just recommending it to everyone. Arguably a must-buy for PSV owners, but not much of a reason to pick it up for people who don't own a PSV yet.

    True Score: 8.5. If the price drops by $5 $10 then the score jumps to 9.5.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews