Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Muramasa Rebirth is the follow-up to Muramasa: The Demon Blade that tells the tale of two souls and 108 deadly blades.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 96
    Muramasa Rebirth is a wonderfully enhanced version of an already terrific game that melds old-school action sensibilities with more modern complexities and a storyline that manages to feel notably mature.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    90
    Muramasa: Rebirth was a great game on the Wii but on the Vita, it is a masterpiece. Excellent and engaging gameplay, enjoyable stories (yes, multiple), and one of the most visually appealing art styles ever used in a video game combine for an adventure that every Vita owner should take.
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    85
    Muramasa: The Demon Blade's a piece of art, or art by itself. It's a simple beat 'em up that's set on the early Japanese history, mainly focused on the personal story of two wanderers that're trying to earn a living smashing every enemy that's set on their way. Improved with HD graphics in this Vita version.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    It’s not only Vita’s prettiest game; it’s also a hell of a lot of fun to play. Immersive, stylish, and full of action, Muramasa Rebirth’s twin campaigns, multiple endings, hidden Demon Swords, massive exploration and other optional goodies are enough to keep you busy for a good long while.
  5. 80
    For fans of Vanillaware’s games, this is a no-brainer. Muramasa Rebirth is the more complete version of its Wii predecessor. With an amazing art style, fast action, and even some humor, sidescroller fighting game fans will find a lot to like here. This is one of the Vita’s prettiest games, and is fun to boot!
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    80
    Thanks to its new localization and higher resolution, Rebirth is unquestionably the definitive version of the game, and anyone who enjoyed the original would be foolish to not experience this improved version.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    60
    The game occasionally falters as a portable port because of its refusal to use the Vita's technological capabilities for anything other than enhancing things strictly on a superficial level.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. May 27, 2014
    10
    I gotta say that I'm a huge fan of 2D beat em up, slash em up and so on. I am also a fan of RPG's, leveling systems and character building. And I love games that takes place in a fantasy-inspired or historical time period. Well, this game fits all of my criteria.

    The graphics are simply amazing, I find myself looking at the backgrounds more than in any other game I've played to date. The soundtrack is spot on, very suiting to this game. I love just about everything of this game, and can see little problems. Well, the transportation could be a little easier or faster, but other than that... no. Nothing.

    The gameplay is simply put AMAZING! Fast paced action, slashing and destroying. The controls are absolutely spot on perfect and it is very very easy to just put this game on and lose yourself in it. It has a somewhat good story, but the gameplay is what keeps me coming back for more. I simply love it.

    Call me old fashioned, I've been in this industry from the NES. I adored games like final fight, streets of rage and golden axe. Now, with the Vita, we can play a game that has all of that, but is longer and has a satisfying leveling system.

    I can't give anything else than 10/10 and have high hopes for a sequel. Right now!
    Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    10 out ot 10!

    I'm an absolute fan of high quality 2D games. This game delivers in every single aspect: smooth gameplay, breath-taking
    sprites, sounds etc.

    I almost bought a Wii just to have the oportunity to play this game alone, i'm glad that I have a PSV and can play it now!

    So far, I've played about 6 hours with Momohime and enjoying every single minute of it!
    Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Muramasa on the Wii was my first Vanillaware game and I loved it. I played it several years ago, but I only played half of it due to various reasons. This time I played it all the way through and got all 6 endings as well as most of the achievements.

    I'm sure it's been driven into the ground at this point, but I can't help but point out how amazing the artwork and aesthetic is. Definitely one of the most beautiful games I've played and the Vita's screen makes it look even better. The music is equally great and when combined with the art style creates an amazing atmosphere that fits the game's setting perfectly.

    The gameplay is fun and never gets old (at least for me), though the areas in the game as well as the standard enemies can get repetitive. I imagine this is a turnoff for some people, but I never minded it. The story is simple but interesting. I would have also liked to see one more sword type in the game to vary up the combat a bit more. The game can be challenging on Chaos mode, and there's always the unlockable Fury mode for those seeking even greater hurdles.

    All in all, this is a beautifully made and fun 2d beat-em-up that can be repetitive for some. If there had been more varied areas and enemies I would have given it a perfect score.
    Expand
  4. rih
    Jun 25, 2013
    9
    It's gorgeous. It's fun.

    This kind of games (triple A quality 2D) are very scarce... If you own a PSV and didn't had the chance to play the
    original version on the Wii, do yourself a favor: PLAY IT NOW!

    Review summary:
    +jaw-dropping beautiful hand-painted 2D sprites
    +simple, yet astonishing gameplay mechanics
    +great bosses
    +very good sound effects and music
    +great replayability factor
    -lack enemy variety (minor)
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Beautifully drawn detailed graphics and animation that has to be seen in motion. Music that goes well with fast combat which will be your main job to do and with 108 blades with various abilities and special moves available it will be fun. Different story with unique bosses and several endings for each character.
    Almost forgot that you can cook traditional japanese dishes. Simply delicasy.
    Collapse
  6. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    The game looks absolutely beautiful on Vita and graphics are the best thing on Muramasa. Story is but a necessity to be ignored, but the characters are quite well written, which makes it enjoyable nontheless.

    Combat is fast, with responisve controls, but I'd appreciate if the enemies had less HP and more tricks up their sleeves, since it takes unreasonable long time to take down most enemies even when you are clearly superior and they can't put a scretch on you. Some enemy types are rather annoying to deal with like that, they can't harm you, but will happily deflect most of your attacks. Not much fun to be had then.

    Boss fights on the other hand are quite different and much more enjoyable, since each comes with its own playstyle. The pinnacle of combat for me were the second endings of each character, which are super fast paced and 90% of attacks ends up witch clash of the blades. Kisuke's 1st/3rd ending boss fight also had a nice emotional drive to it.

    What was really disappointing is the repetivnes of the game: Locations are greatly copy/pasted, and you are required to basically just run back and forth through them with random fights thrown in more than I'd care for the playtime gets ridiculously inflated with that. Also inventory navigation/use could be more user-friendly if you want to use multiple items, you have to re-open the inventory for every single one.

    This being considered a metrodivania game, I'd expect gaining new abilities throughout the game, but you gain access to the new areas simply by obtaining a specific sword. And the swords, in essence, are all pretty much the same, thus the gameplay does not evolve a bit over the course of game, which is a real shame.

    For a metroidvania game on Vita, I'd say the Guacamelee! is a better choice. But when you play a Vanillaware game, you play it mostly for the art.
    Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2014
    6
    Well i see people like this game, but it's ok. Problem is, that you don't go around killing stuff. You run and run and run, and then you have a one scene brawl with some enemies, and then you run some more. IF you fight constantly and have to be on your toes, that's different. In this manner, it's boring to just run around and you want to explore something and then COMBAT starts which has that draw back "oh, again? I just want to explore this section". Combat for me comes as a nuissance instead as a jewel that it should be. Combat is flawless, but it comes at the wrong time! Expand

See all 18 User Reviews