User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is really good game with the stunning graphics and amazing sound track well while the game is not as stunning as ps3 version it is still very good and a must by /////// my many lost because of you sony three perfect games in one day oh my god
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Very close to the home console racing experience on a portable device. I personally prefer forza horizon but NFS MW is still great and fantastic on the vita
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    6
    I have been waiting for this game to hit the Vita; I am a criterion fan, specially their Hot pursuit game. However, playing this game on the vita, felt so flimsy being a just a port without taking the time to understand or adjust it to operate on a handheld device.
    It feels that they spent too much time on the features and not enough on the actual driving experience and mechanics.
    The
    I have been waiting for this game to hit the Vita; I am a criterion fan, specially their Hot pursuit game. However, playing this game on the vita, felt so flimsy being a just a port without taking the time to understand or adjust it to operate on a handheld device.
    It feels that they spent too much time on the features and not enough on the actual driving experience and mechanics.

    The fonts are way to small, the driving engine is not half good as the hot pursuit one.

    I yet to play it on my PC & PS3. Bottom line i am dissapointed.
    Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    why is nfs most wanted is a must buy the answer very easy because it has every thing you need from racing games graphics sounds and action so do not forget to own yourself this game ..note,,, there is some issues
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    4
    I bought this game against my better judgement because I usually don't buy racing games, but I got it anyway. I took it home played it for 10 minutes and I felt regret. The graphics are okay (good for a handheld I guess) but leave much to be desired. The game play is what I was most dissapointed with the handling feels like you're trying to turn a boat and that's why I returned it theI bought this game against my better judgement because I usually don't buy racing games, but I got it anyway. I took it home played it for 10 minutes and I felt regret. The graphics are okay (good for a handheld I guess) but leave much to be desired. The game play is what I was most dissapointed with the handling feels like you're trying to turn a boat and that's why I returned it the very next day. Sub par graphics I can take but bad game play...HELL NO! I would'nt recommend it to anyone. Save your money and buy something else. Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    5
    made an account just for this unjustifiably overrated racer. i don't always buy ea games and when i do around 1/500 time of all game purchases,i immediately regret it.
    the draw distance is extremely low and the control is not as responsive as a driving game should be. perhaps someone rated the wrong port, maybe we should all check again.
  7. May 27, 2013
    6
    for every good, there's a bad. I've not made the comparison against console versions but i'm pretty sure the Vita version is a rather lazy port. the clue I think, is in the tiny text and buttons. but the main problem is the game just isnt very well optimised for the vita. a lot of people have mentioned that the car handling/steering response suck and I agree completely.
    This alone makes
    for every good, there's a bad. I've not made the comparison against console versions but i'm pretty sure the Vita version is a rather lazy port. the clue I think, is in the tiny text and buttons. but the main problem is the game just isnt very well optimised for the vita. a lot of people have mentioned that the car handling/steering response suck and I agree completely.
    This alone makes the game twice as difficult compared to (assuming) the console version running at 60fps.

    bottomline- great game that fails as a Vita port. get the console version.
    Expand
  8. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    The thing I have found about the Playstation Vita is that it's a split topic. On one hand you have the people that are content, and on the other there are the people that want more out of it. Games like Need for Speed: Most Wanted ride that fine line. It literally takes everything from the console version and crams it into a portable format. A few things lost in translation can't hold thisThe thing I have found about the Playstation Vita is that it's a split topic. On one hand you have the people that are content, and on the other there are the people that want more out of it. Games like Need for Speed: Most Wanted ride that fine line. It literally takes everything from the console version and crams it into a portable format. A few things lost in translation can't hold this back from being a great racer early in the Vita's life cycle.

    First off I'll start with the good. Like I said above this is literally the same game you are playing on the consoles. All the cars, races, areas, challenges are all there. Even Autolog is there which is a nice addition for those of you with friends that want to compete indirectly. A few Vita specific races have been thrown in for good measure. As far as the gameplay, well it's simply... Sublime. Cars handle, and sound just as good as their console counterparts. Criterion has literally put gameplay parity on priority with this game and that's why I'm so happy with the product.

    However it's not entirely perfect, as one troll on the website here puts it. There are some texture issues with the map, as well as clipping textures like flashing tire tracks and the like that are having a hard time translating. Another thing i have noticed is that there are a few less cars on the road and a few graphical effects have been drawn back or cut completely. The visuals are also not on par with the consoles, which is to be expected considering this is a portable we're talking about. Another point the troll puts out is that the iOS version is superior due to graphics, controls, and overall gameplay. My rebuttal is... Are you high? I have played the iOS version and it isn't even half the game that you are getting with the Vita version. Now everybody needs to realize that we are in the infancy of the Vita's development cycle and developers are still getting their reigns on the platform so to speak. Aside from these niggling issues it's a rock solid counterpart to a fantastic console racing game.

    Overall by purchasing this you are for the most part getting the console game on a handheld. Gameplay wise it's phenomenal, polish wise it's not horrible by any stretch of the means, and the issues I listed above are absolutely patchable. You would be missing out on a fantastic racing game by not picking this up. 8.5/10

    Synopsis: Totally worth your hard earned cash.
    Expand
  9. Feb 18, 2013
    3
    While I find this game hugely addictive there are a lot of things that annoy me about it.
    Good: -Graphics -size of map.
    Bad: -when driving over bridges your wheels sink into the road -when you brake the License plate light comes on, i'm sure this should be on all the time -police cars sometimes disappear infront of you -no car animations (raisable spoilers, air breaks) -boat like
    While I find this game hugely addictive there are a lot of things that annoy me about it.
    Good: -Graphics -size of map.
    Bad: -when driving over bridges your wheels sink into the road
    -when you brake the License plate light comes on, i'm sure this should be on all the time
    -police cars sometimes disappear infront of you
    -no car animations (raisable spoilers, air breaks)
    -boat like control, breaking takes miles, turning? stick to the freeway, when you break from 150mph+ you vear to the right and crash.
    -not much difference in hadeling and speed between cars
    -unrealistic performance from cars, little hatchbacks doing 170mph +
    -no use of second analogue stick for accelerator or brake so you only have an on/off brake and accelerator with the shoulder buttons.

    The "missions" are a bit hollow, race, "upgrade" car, beat most wanted critter, race, "upgrade Car" and so on 10 times or until you get bored.

    All you have to show you the plotted course is the Satnav which is small and a pain to have to check when you're driving at 180mph, you often find you've passed a corner, now and again there will be a wall of arrows to let you know when to turn but this is rare.

    Somehow it's still addictive though.

    I bought it on Xbox 360 after and it's a much better game but the gameplay is still hollow.

    NFS the Run has a story and everything, this is just empty, it's like they made the map and the cars then realised they had a week to implement the Driving Engine and Gameplay.
    Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Boy - this game is getting some mixed opinions.
    I was waiting for this game like forever and was infuriated at the fact that there were next no none gameplay videos being shown. Anywho - I downloaded it - and truth be told it seems a little meh at first. I have not played the one for console but have played (and loved) Burnout Paradise. Everything seems all right but things looked a bit
    Boy - this game is getting some mixed opinions.
    I was waiting for this game like forever and was infuriated at the fact that there were next no none gameplay videos being shown. Anywho - I downloaded it - and truth be told it seems a little meh at first. I have not played the one for console but have played (and loved) Burnout Paradise. Everything seems all right but things looked a bit dull - menu system was a little slow to load, graphics looked hazy. But when I started playing a race it felt amazing!
    True - the traffic is scanty - but I have a feeling that more traffic would have hampered gameplay on the small screen. Presently I am trying to win the race against the first most wanted car (a dozen attempts no luck) and it rocks. Soundtrack too is something I am warming up to you.
    I think this game is one for keeps. Yes - there are small niggles but it ends up just about perfect.
    /The only really irritating thing I found was the headlights coming towards you which are SO pixelated it is not even funny - but we can live with that/
    Expand
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Best handheld racing game in history. More or less a mirror of the home console versions which are great games themselves. Only sacrifices a touch of visual fidelity, smaller multiplayer and less traffic.
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    when i see the user review for the ps3 and xbox really i shocked because of the bad rating idid not know what is the problem with the game it is very good both in ps3 and vita version i bought the game for my vita and ps3 and it deserves the money i have payed
  13. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    This game is an excellent racer. it has good graphics for the vita and an sturdy framerate. it can get boring when you have done the most wanted races however it will take very long to achieve 100% completion
  14. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    First of all I am an over 40 gamer and I admit, I am not the best at games anymore. I don't have tons of time to invest on getting used to game mechanics and such. However, I play enough games that I know when something isn't quite right and this game fits that category. If you are a gamer in my demographic, then expect to do a lot of : start race, make 1 small mistake, have no chance ofFirst of all I am an over 40 gamer and I admit, I am not the best at games anymore. I don't have tons of time to invest on getting used to game mechanics and such. However, I play enough games that I know when something isn't quite right and this game fits that category. If you are a gamer in my demographic, then expect to do a lot of : start race, make 1 small mistake, have no chance of winning, press start -> retry race...rinse and repeat. I really want to like this game and I kind of do. The music is great. The city is great. The sense of speed is great. However, it is simply frustrating to play. It reminds me a lot of midnight club...super fun game...super frustrating game. So here are the problems with this game: 1. The controls are flawed. The cars steer like the roads are made of ice. 2. The graphics are great/horrible. In some ways they look great, but when you are traveling at 120 miles an hour all the textures look pixelated and it is really hard to see where upcoming obstacles start and stop. 3. If you make 1 mistake, just restart the race. You have little chance of winning. 4. I know it's an open world game, but please give me the option to just jump into a race. Driving to it is lame. 5. Sometimes the cops are fun, but other times they are just plain annoying. 6. You have to win mods for all the cars you find. I'm not sure who decided that winning nitrous and other mods for each car you find is fun. It isn't. Furthermore, there are only a handful of custom option available for each car.

    Don't get me wrong, this game is fun sometimes, but it will not be a stress reliever. So if you play games to get rid of stress. Look elsewhere.
    Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I am rating this game 10/10 like everybody because after having an account banned for giving it a low score (moreover, I didn't use any insulting words - just wanted to give my honest opinion - which I thought was the point of Metacritic), it seems you can't give NFS Vita a bad rating...Don't know if EA is paying Metacritic to ban accounts or not, doesn't matter to me anymore...this gameI am rating this game 10/10 like everybody because after having an account banned for giving it a low score (moreover, I didn't use any insulting words - just wanted to give my honest opinion - which I thought was the point of Metacritic), it seems you can't give NFS Vita a bad rating...Don't know if EA is paying Metacritic to ban accounts or not, doesn't matter to me anymore...this game is awesome and totally deserve its perfect score ! 10/10 all the way! Best game I've ever played - people are right! The VERY definition of gaming. Now, I will still mention this interesting fact: Metacritic user scores for "Need for Speed: Most Wanted": PC Version - 4.4/10 (for 284 people), 360 version - 5.5/10 (for 123 people), PS3 Version - 5.4/10 (for 210 people), PSVita Version - 8.1/10 FOR ONLY 61 PEOPLE --- The same game (same gameplay), minus the graphics - proof of biased opinions coming from owners of the VITA version...It instantly became a 10/10 for everybody because it's a technical achievement on handheld. But I'm sorry graphics alone don't make a great game. PLEASE don't think about being honest and give it a lower score, because fanboys will use the "Report Abuse" button... Enjoy your 10/10! Expand
  16. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    What Need for Speed: Most Wanted does for the PSVita is exactly what Burnout Legends did for the PSP, it shows off what the console is capable at this point. Which appears to be bringing a whole console game to the Vita. The whole thing! Except Legends was the best of all the console games in one. Most wanted was just the whole game on the Vita. Travelling around Fairhaven, Most Wanted'sWhat Need for Speed: Most Wanted does for the PSVita is exactly what Burnout Legends did for the PSP, it shows off what the console is capable at this point. Which appears to be bringing a whole console game to the Vita. The whole thing! Except Legends was the best of all the console games in one. Most wanted was just the whole game on the Vita. Travelling around Fairhaven, Most Wanted's massive open world, is a joy. The game is very much like Burnout, people have called it Burnout 2, which is not a problem. The cars swing around, the take-downs feel heavy, it's a pure arcade racer right down to its heart. I really can't stress how fun this game is. Every aspect of this is the same as the console version, but its even more suited to the Vita. The fact that a whole console game has been perfectly put into the form of a PSVita card, is awesome. And it's true, every race, bit of the world, every car e.t.c. The gameplay is perfect for the Vita. This game is addictive. Expand
  17. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best need for speed games I ever played, it feels like I got my money's worth with this one. The gameplay is very addictive and fun, the cars feel authentic like real life, the handling is great and the speed is super fast. The graphics are close to the ps3 version. I was hesitant at first about buying this game but I'm glad I did. The only reason I'm on here writing aThis is one of the best need for speed games I ever played, it feels like I got my money's worth with this one. The gameplay is very addictive and fun, the cars feel authentic like real life, the handling is great and the speed is super fast. The graphics are close to the ps3 version. I was hesitant at first about buying this game but I'm glad I did. The only reason I'm on here writing a review because my vita is charging up right now from playing the game all day. Expand
  18. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    http://bit.ly/PF4ASB

    There is so much for you to get involved with, hunting down every single thing will take you a very long time, and the convenience of this being portable and take anywhere only adds to the equation. This is easily the best portable racer that I have ever played, and if you own both the PS3 and the Vita I would still suggest taking a chance on this version. It may be
    http://bit.ly/PF4ASB

    There is so much for you to get involved with, hunting down every single thing will take you a very long time, and the convenience of this being portable and take anywhere only adds to the equation. This is easily the best portable racer that I have ever played, and if you own both the PS3 and the Vita I would still suggest taking a chance on this version. It may be slightly less pretty but is full of content that can be taken everywhere.

    It
    Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    I was undecided whether to pick up this game because i was pretty disappointed with NFS games released past years (only one i liked was Hot Pursuit , also created by Criterion). But im glad i tried this one on PS Vita. First of all , the game is the same as PS3/X360/PC version, only with worse graphics and sound but they are still pretty enjoyable ! Game runs silk smooth , with someI was undecided whether to pick up this game because i was pretty disappointed with NFS games released past years (only one i liked was Hot Pursuit , also created by Criterion). But im glad i tried this one on PS Vita. First of all , the game is the same as PS3/X360/PC version, only with worse graphics and sound but they are still pretty enjoyable ! Game runs silk smooth , with some loading while you go fast through the city but it doesnt slow down the game in any way (at least i didnt noticed). Main positive i see in this game is the fun factor. Everything i do is very entertaining , every race has its own difficulty and rewards you get when you finish the race which you can apply to your car immediately after the race using the in-game menu. This menu is simply accessible through the d-pad anytime , if you are currently not in a race. What can i say, if you liked the classic Most Wanted or Hot Pursuit released in 2010, then buy this game you will not regret it. At last a solid Need for Speed game and luckily also for PS Vita :) Collapse
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is the most fully featured and polished game on the ps vita. It has great online functionality and the graphics are great. I really can't find anything that i didn't' like about it. The online and single player are almost 2 completely separate games in that you unlock things independently so if theres twice the experience. If you own a vita this is a must buy, that last game i enjoyedThis is the most fully featured and polished game on the ps vita. It has great online functionality and the graphics are great. I really can't find anything that i didn't' like about it. The online and single player are almost 2 completely separate games in that you unlock things independently so if theres twice the experience. If you own a vita this is a must buy, that last game i enjoyed this much was uncharted but that had no online which was disappointing but this has great online and now i have something to do at work besides work, who needs productivity when u have NFS. Expand
  21. NT1
    Oct 31, 2012
    9
    After having played the last few NFS games (Shift 2, Hot Pursuit and The Run) I had lost quite some faith in the franchise. With this installement of a new NFS game, all that faith is restored! The graphics are superb, the best so far, and the sound is amazing with headphones on. The controls on the Vita react as it would on a PS3, so the statement that this game gives you a consoleAfter having played the last few NFS games (Shift 2, Hot Pursuit and The Run) I had lost quite some faith in the franchise. With this installement of a new NFS game, all that faith is restored! The graphics are superb, the best so far, and the sound is amazing with headphones on. The controls on the Vita react as it would on a PS3, so the statement that this game gives you a console experience is indeed in it's place. At the beginning of the game it can be a little tricky to get used to the tracks, because of the open world, but if you have played for about half an hour you can really own the streets. One thing I was worried about when i started the game, was framedrop. If this game looks this good, it has to stutter when your going fast or when there are a few cars around you. But nothing of all that! So that's definitely a big plus. Is there nothing wrong with this game? Sure there is. I noticed sometimes a graphical glitch, and there is a text in the middle of the screen if you did something awesome so you can't see the road and possibly you crash. I noticed there was an update that should fix the graphical glitches, but i can't really determine if it's fixed. One option i did miss in the game is to select your own tunes, because there aren't many songs in the game. So repeated songs are possibly going to annoy you in a few days. Alltogether this is a great game, that has great replay value, great sound and awesome graphics. If there is 1 game i have to recommend for PS Vita gamers, it's this one! Expand
  22. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing. Great graphics, great soundtrack, great cars. 110% worth the $40 price tag and a MUST for Vita owners. I have the console version as well and let me tell you, there is NO difference.
  23. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    @CPCkid......Im dissapointed with the graphics as well, though they arnt detracting from my enjoyment of the gameplay, Im mainly a PC gamer so if i let graphics detract from my enjoyment of games on other systems my PS3 and Vita would never get used. I understand your disapounted and frustrated by other people rating it 10, its definetly not a 10 it has issues, though ive only experiened@CPCkid......Im dissapointed with the graphics as well, though they arnt detracting from my enjoyment of the gameplay, Im mainly a PC gamer so if i let graphics detract from my enjoyment of games on other systems my PS3 and Vita would never get used. I understand your disapounted and frustrated by other people rating it 10, its definetly not a 10 it has issues, though ive only experiened slight lag in online mode, not offline.
    I cant for the life of me understand how anyone could think the IOS version of this game is superior. I own both and the PC version and while the IOS version has sharper graphics it is inferior in every other way. What certain people dont seem to take into consideration is that the Vita version is gameplay wise identical to the console versions. It is a resource hog as its an open world game but on the IOS version you have zero freedom to go where you want,plus the Vita has great multiplayer, which the IOS version doesnt. Anyone with the slightest knowledge of game design understands that the despite its lack of graphical fidelity the more impressive version is the Vita one, simply because off how much it packs in. The long and short of it is the IOS version is good for a quick game on the bus, the Vita version will keep you busy for weeks if not months, is it perfect...no...but there isnt much that couldnt be improved in future updates. And regarding the price difference...the IOS version is a casual game with annoying in app purchases...the Vita version is a fully fledged open world offline and online racer, i know where id rather spend my money.
    Expand
  24. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Just bought this in the morning, fired up need for speed most wanted for the ps vita on the train going home..
    Now I have a few things to say.. Frankly if it will allo me it's this.. Totally aware of what the critics have been saying.. Looking at you ign! The graphics are fantastic, very close to ps3 Xbox versions.. Great lighting and effects.. It struck me and the early reviews appear to
    Just bought this in the morning, fired up need for speed most wanted for the ps vita on the train going home..
    Now I have a few things to say.. Frankly if it will allo me it's this.. Totally aware of what the critics have been saying.. Looking at you ign! The graphics are fantastic, very close to ps3 Xbox versions.. Great lighting and effects.. It struck me and the early reviews appear to be correct, the roads wer sparse and barren, which kind of disappointed me.. But wait!! (when I got home I connected up to the wifi updated the game to see if there were any patches.. There is.. Graphical and stability fixes.. Correct me if I'm wrong but the amont of traffic in the game appears to have doubled or even tripled even.. I've noticed it.. The game is fantastic.. The sounds effects are amazing.. Accurate engine sounds.. Cars have a weighty feeling, slides/ handbrake turns are spot on too!! Already found 20 cars lots to do.. Online works wonderfully, even links up and carrys over to my ps3 games saves.. PEOPLE GET BEHIND THIS GAME AMD CRITERION.. They deserve full credit for making this game.. People moaning about the inferior smartphone versions should really stop.. It's 39.99 for a reason not 79p from a silly app store.. This is an incredible coding feat...I have assassins creed liberation another amazing game, but need for speed most wanted will be getting most of my spare time because it's instantly fun to fire it up and put it back down..
    If this is a first generation ps vita Racing game imagine how cool a sequal will be two years down the line..
    For me I'd say buy it and you won't regret it, best game I've owned yet on any handheld..

    Now I have to stop writing this.. Back to nfs mw!!!
    Expand
  25. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    I wish this game was exclusively designed for PS VITA. The Console version n Pc version are just god in graphics, the overall gameplay is not satisfying at all compare to other racing games. It sounds a remake of BurnOut Paradise with the name of NEED FOR SPEED . However despite of my dissapointment on the other versions i think this game is pretty good for handheld ! The vita graphics inI wish this game was exclusively designed for PS VITA. The Console version n Pc version are just god in graphics, the overall gameplay is not satisfying at all compare to other racing games. It sounds a remake of BurnOut Paradise with the name of NEED FOR SPEED . However despite of my dissapointment on the other versions i think this game is pretty good for handheld ! The vita graphics in city are good, out of town has lack of details. Frame rate is pretty good, excitement is a bit less due to less traffic in streets. but the other part the design of cars is shiiny. Gameplay is similar to console ! overall i think criterion can do better than this, but this is a good approach like assassins creed Expand
  26. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Since the launch of the PS Vita I was waiting for a racing game worth playing, and I found that in Need for Speed Most Wanted.

    As pointed out by some other folks the game has it's flaws, mainly in the graphics department. The shadows are very pixelated and the particle effects and reflections are mostly non-existent. The frame rate was very solid for me in single player but fluctuated a
    Since the launch of the PS Vita I was waiting for a racing game worth playing, and I found that in Need for Speed Most Wanted.

    As pointed out by some other folks the game has it's flaws, mainly in the graphics department. The shadows are very pixelated and the particle effects and reflections are mostly non-existent. The frame rate was very solid for me in single player but fluctuated a lot when online. As I live in Brazil I suspect that it may have something to do with the connection lag.

    Having stated those facts objectively, I need to say that I really don't care about them that much. I found the graphics more than good enough and the simple fact is that I keep playing and playing and seem to be unable to put the game down.

    The game is feature complete compared to the other versions and is very similar in structure and gameplay to Burnout Paradise (big city, open world, many places to do jumps and other stunts, etc.) and the addition of cops and the easy to get cars really spices thing up.

    The online gameplay is very rich and simple to get into and the realtime leaderboards (Autolog 2) are great for the competitive guy.

    The simple fact is that the game is really not perfect, but I am having just too much fun to notice.
    Expand
  27. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I love racing games - so i may be a bit biased but this is a game I constantly go back to more than any other game on my vita. I love playing with headphones because of the sounds of the engines and the screams of the tires on asphalt. This is a high class game. Its a bit like a pig with lipstick. Its still a pig, albeit a pretty one. The game looks great, its not current gen 'consoleI love racing games - so i may be a bit biased but this is a game I constantly go back to more than any other game on my vita. I love playing with headphones because of the sounds of the engines and the screams of the tires on asphalt. This is a high class game. Its a bit like a pig with lipstick. Its still a pig, albeit a pretty one. The game looks great, its not current gen 'console quality' but it still looks great. Graphics alone i'd give it a 7.5/10. When you are stopped and really start to stare at the screen, the visuals start to fall apart. Foliage is a bit spares, the detail is a bit lame, and the textures are small. The cars themselves are beautiful, and they integrate damage in an interestingly optimized way. But where the visuals soar is when you're moving at 100+ MPH through the city and highways. The game flies beautifully and this is how the games was meant to be seen.

    The online connectivity of the games is amazing. Coming back a few days later to find a friend beat your track time or had a better launch through a billboard keeps you engaged in new ways. I find it so much fun to find a car I like and try to beat all the races with that car. I have only done 2 of the 10 most wanted races but there's so much content in this game. I love it! I can't recommend this game more highly if you like racing games. I was a huge fan of Ridge Racer - which had awesome online multiplayer. I loved the Rockstar Midnight Club series, and played the PSP version quite a bit on my vita, but with this racing game - I need no other right now.
    Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    NFS Most Wanted Vita is a direct port of the console versions, and save for some graphical downgrades and lesser traffic, is the exact same game we're presented on consoles, only on the go. The game is generally consistent in terms of looks, cars are sleek and beautiful to look at and while the environments aren't the best out there, they get the job done. My only complaints are that drawNFS Most Wanted Vita is a direct port of the console versions, and save for some graphical downgrades and lesser traffic, is the exact same game we're presented on consoles, only on the go. The game is generally consistent in terms of looks, cars are sleek and beautiful to look at and while the environments aren't the best out there, they get the job done. My only complaints are that draw distances aren't quite so great, and car headlights in the distance can look like a blob of pixels, which require some getting used to before being able to correctly judge where exactly the cars are at. Also, the game suffers from a lack of any story. Non, zero, zilch. This can get boring quickly for players who don't care so much for the cars, as there is a lack of motivation for players to continue playing. However, the game generally looks stunning, and races are fun and thrilling to play through. There are a ton of cars to find and drive through and while the lack of any real customization is disappointing, the races and sheer amount of cars keep the game from getting boring too quickly. Multiplayer is also a blast where you race in a multitude of different events with up to 3 other players. The races are relatively stable and i've only encountered some connection issues and lag once or twice since i've had the game. Overall, need for speed most wanted vita is the go to game currently for any racing title on the vita, and fits perfectly in your pocket for on the go gaming. Expand
  29. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    In response to what drdan said about not being able to hop right into a race, you can. When easydrive appears in the upper left corner, press the right directional button and all available races appear.
  30. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    Based on the reviews (both user and critic) I'd been reading on metacritic for this game, I decided to go out and buy it. I'll get straight to the point and say that this game is not a perfect 10 by any means. I was expected to be blown away but in all honesty, I wasn't. The main bad points of the game are the inconsistent quality graphics (Sometimes excellent sometimes poor) and theBased on the reviews (both user and critic) I'd been reading on metacritic for this game, I decided to go out and buy it. I'll get straight to the point and say that this game is not a perfect 10 by any means. I was expected to be blown away but in all honesty, I wasn't. The main bad points of the game are the inconsistent quality graphics (Sometimes excellent sometimes poor) and the handling of he cars themselves. During some of the more frantic moments, the framerate takes a hit as does the sound (stopping and starting, so annoying). Some people might say "what are you expecting from a handheld", go take a look at wipeout 2048 then you will realise the kind of graphics that can be achieved on a handheld. That said the sound of the cars and the music of the game is pretty good, and probably most importantly the gameplay is good as well. Its fun and enjoyable even if a little frustrating at times. So, it's my no means a 10 as it has it's flaws, but it's still a pretty good racer which will keep you occupied for a while. It's just not as amazing as everyone is making out. A solid 7 from me. Expand
  31. Apr 12, 2013
    6
    This is one of the most rage inducing game I ever played, while the Vita version is on a such of small scale, the AI has major advantage over the player, I acknowledged the fact that spike strip does not affect AI cars, it is so irritating knowing that many were saying there are not enough civilian cars, and knowing that 70 percent of me failing is because of them, it just doesn't makeThis is one of the most rage inducing game I ever played, while the Vita version is on a such of small scale, the AI has major advantage over the player, I acknowledged the fact that spike strip does not affect AI cars, it is so irritating knowing that many were saying there are not enough civilian cars, and knowing that 70 percent of me failing is because of them, it just doesn't make sense, as I was feeling that the game just purposely spawn a civilian car ahead of me when I am doing good, to complete wipe me off the lead, the other 30 percent is maybe the cars, how I feel as if I was steering a rocket, a very irritating but thrilling exciting experience, if there's a top racing game on Vita, it's NFS Most Wanted. Expand
  32. Jun 11, 2013
    4
    Need for seepd most wanted is an good game but i perefer the old need for speed most wanted the reason for that is, is becuase it's just more... action type feeling when you play the game and the storyline is better than this new one, that could be just be my opinion, go and buy it to check the game out, dont just take my word for it
  33. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    The newest of Need for Speed ​​brings us something that really impresses us, is that it takes elements of Burnout, which is considered very old, since it is very classic Burnout, which causes that bore you play if already have you ever played Burnout. Apart from that there is great variety in the cars, and are the best known, and you are not surprised to see one. But it has good qualityThe newest of Need for Speed ​​brings us something that really impresses us, is that it takes elements of Burnout, which is considered very old, since it is very classic Burnout, which causes that bore you play if already have you ever played Burnout. Apart from that there is great variety in the cars, and are the best known, and you are not surprised to see one. But it has good quality graphics and sound, this is the exception Expand
  34. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    Nearly the exact same as the console counterpart. Great soundtrack, huge car variety, massive map and an insane amount of things to explore. Probably the best racing game I have played this year and it's portable... what's not to love !
  35. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Need For Speed Most Wanted stands out for it's outstanding graphics content and handling. But the city all the races take place in just feel so lifeless and generic. Did i mention almost every track looks the same? Not to mention the abuse of IAPs
  36. Nov 14, 2013
    4
    the sound design is wonderful, the graphics are very passable, but the gameplay is like piloting a yacht through a supermarket. thorouhly disappointed, particularly as there are no other realistic racers on vita.
  37. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Great racing game. If you enjoyed Burnout Paradise, then you'll enjoy this. Great pick up and play for the handheld system, but I'm sure you'll play it a lot longer than a 15 min fix. Criterion have got a lot out of the Vita with this title as there is very little difference between this and the home console version's. What is cool, is that your times and challenges crossover between PS3 &Great racing game. If you enjoyed Burnout Paradise, then you'll enjoy this. Great pick up and play for the handheld system, but I'm sure you'll play it a lot longer than a 15 min fix. Criterion have got a lot out of the Vita with this title as there is very little difference between this and the home console version's. What is cool, is that your times and challenges crossover between PS3 & Vita with your friend's. Nice touch. A solid 8 from me. If you want a simulation, look elsewhere. If you want an arcade tarmac ripper, you won't go far wrong with this game. Be your own judge and make your own mind up, it's your cash after all. Expand
  38. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    It was better then expected, its have its faults like when you are driving really fast the Lightning from other upcoming cars gets low pixelated frames, or that its few cars on the road every time. But i was hoping for full game experience and the feeling of speed. Criterion delivered that and only that make it a 8 for me.
  39. uah
    Nov 5, 2012
    10
    @smellymetal Every time a kid compares a handheld game with a home console one, God kills a kitten.

    Please, please, think about the poor kittens that are lost :(
  40. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome racer. Ive never really been a fan of the NFS series, but this game blew me away. Stunning graphics and console quality that i never expected. A must buy for any racing fan.
  41. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Runs smoothly and feels fast enough, graphics are excellent with some minor flaws. Gameplay is very good, cars handle well and are controlled well by the analogue stick. Plenty of content, many races and cars with billboards to smash all over the map. An impressive handheld version of a fun racing game, recommended.
  42. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    A very good game. The event races for every car you drive and the challenges to be the most wanted will grant a great entertainment. Win those races to get car upgrades. You can also drive around the city to get milestones. The graphics quality aren't very good. Cars and scenario are ok, but the lights of the traffic car are blur, difficult to view. But, in my opinion, it´s the firstA very good game. The event races for every car you drive and the challenges to be the most wanted will grant a great entertainment. Win those races to get car upgrades. You can also drive around the city to get milestones. The graphics quality aren't very good. Cars and scenario are ok, but the lights of the traffic car are blur, difficult to view. But, in my opinion, it´s the first Vita´s racing game worth play. If you like racing games, I would say its a must buy. Expand
  43. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    What can I say? This game has been very good to me. As a casual racing game fan, this game has more than met my expectation. I don't own this game for the Xbox 360 so I can't compare the two. But, as a Vita owner having 9 games under my belt, this is one of the better games. The best thing is that I can play two to three races at a time and have a blast. Highly recommended!
  44. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Loving this game! I loved the sandbox layout of Burnout Paradise and Criterion have done an excellent job recreating that on the Vita, with EA's blessing. Most negative comments I've seen were around it not being exactly like the ps3 version, which I find ludicrous. The fact they have a mini metropolis with no lag or reloading on a handheld is absolutely outstanding, and people of thatLoving this game! I loved the sandbox layout of Burnout Paradise and Criterion have done an excellent job recreating that on the Vita, with EA's blessing. Most negative comments I've seen were around it not being exactly like the ps3 version, which I find ludicrous. The fact they have a mini metropolis with no lag or reloading on a handheld is absolutely outstanding, and people of that opinion should perhaps compare to psp/ds instead to get a reality check. This is a phenomenal effort on a handheld, bring on the dlc! Expand
  45. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I' ve been playing this game for a few days and the only thing I can say is: wow!!! Good graphics, addictive gameplay and gorgeous online (no lag, fast...). How can this little device handle the whole map??? As I dont own a Ps3/xbox, the game suits perfect for me. Another question is which version you would pick up if you have both, home and portable consoles...
  46. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Excellent racing game for the vita. I think the graphics and decent and game play sublime. Huge amount of cars to find and race with good online multiplayer. There has been some comments about lack of traffic however I find that there is fair amount of traffic around especially on the highways to negotiate. NFS MW is perfect on the VIta and is a must buy for fans of racing games.
  47. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    On one hand, bringing the full scale Most Wanted with all the same content as PC/360/PS3 to the Vita is remarkable achievement. On the other hand the actual driving experience can get quite frustrating - the open world aspect of the game with so many obstacles you can crash into works great on big PC/TV screen but on the Vita everything is so small that lot of the time it's much harder toOn one hand, bringing the full scale Most Wanted with all the same content as PC/360/PS3 to the Vita is remarkable achievement. On the other hand the actual driving experience can get quite frustrating - the open world aspect of the game with so many obstacles you can crash into works great on big PC/TV screen but on the Vita everything is so small that lot of the time it's much harder to figure out where to drive and how not to crash all the time. It is a great game but I am still waiting for a killer racing game on the platform - unfortunately NFS MW isn't it. Expand
  48. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Very fun game, controls and gameplay are excellent. Well thought out multiplayer which is thoroughly enjoyable. No bugs or lag from my play through, probably played around 20 hours so far. Highly recommend to anyone with a PS Vita,
  49. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I was dissapointed in this game at first because I was expecting it to be equal to the console version...Criterion developed both versions of this game side by side. I knew right off the bat that the graphics wernt even close to the console version, some claim they are really good and the best on the console but this is not true. Wipeout has far better graphics, and this game looks goodI was dissapointed in this game at first because I was expecting it to be equal to the console version...Criterion developed both versions of this game side by side. I knew right off the bat that the graphics wernt even close to the console version, some claim they are really good and the best on the console but this is not true. Wipeout has far better graphics, and this game looks good but it just looks kind of bland...you can tell they took out a lot of the cool particle effects, reflection, and hi-rez textures from the console edition. Despite the dissapointing graphics, I was loving this game. It plays so good and it does look pretty impressive at time. Then I read somewhere that not only did they cut down the graphics, they cut down cops and traffic! I was furious, the games roads did seem kind of barren, and it was kind of weird only having 2 cops at a road block....I hated this game for a day because not only was I not getting the same visuals, I wasnt even getting the same GAMEPLAY! Well after a couple days and after I took a stick out of my ass, I began to reassess this game again. Despite hating on it for not being equal in graphics and content on screen(I know the vita can do more, it has same ram as ps3,4 3ghz processors, and loads faster), I came to the consclussion that the game experience I had with this on my Vita was some of the best I had all year. Reanalyzing this and not comparing it, I came to the conclussion that this game is superior to any other Vita racer by far. Even though its not the same as the console version, it is close enough! It is also $40 instead of $60, so I pretty much would have paid $20 more just to see increased traffic and reflections. Also I am getting a really cool "gotta catch em all!" vibe with this game on my vita.....you find cars in the game world, touch them, then they are yours to keep! You also can unlock and upgrade gear indivually with each car. Normally I dont care about these things, but for some reason since it is on my Vita it seems much more personal! Kinda like how with pokemon, you viewed your gameboy as this machine that captured little pets, or a tomagachi,. When I carry this game around in my Vita I get the sense that the cars I've unlocked are MINE, they Belong to ME, it is my OWN LITTLE COLLECTION of cool little things! I wouldnt feel like this on the console, I would just be like "Pshh just another car like with the other 10 racing games I own"

    Overall very good game. Runs smooth most the time....The framerate does drop sometimes in multiplayer when lagging and it will make your crash but this is rare. If this game had all the things the console one did, I would give it a perfect score instead of a 9

    Graphics = 9
    Sound = 8
    Gameplay = 9.5
    Originality = 8
    Replay = 9
    Expand
  50. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    First off, I have only played the game for a few hours so far and have not tried it on PS3. I am highly impressed with the game so far, the graphics and content have exceeded my expectations by far. I still can't believe what I am playing is on a handheld device, I think it looks better then most games on my PS3. My only problem is that the turning can be a bit sloppy at times but otherFirst off, I have only played the game for a few hours so far and have not tried it on PS3. I am highly impressed with the game so far, the graphics and content have exceeded my expectations by far. I still can't believe what I am playing is on a handheld device, I think it looks better then most games on my PS3. My only problem is that the turning can be a bit sloppy at times but other then that fantastic game! Expand
  51. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    BEST RACING GAME FOR VITA. If that was all my review, I wouldn't be helping anyone. This game is very similar to the PS3 version, because all the cars, races, billboard locations, map are all the same on the vita. There are less cars on the road, but who cares! I did not have a lot of lag when playing multiplayer, and the single player is where this game shines. You can go do some races,BEST RACING GAME FOR VITA. If that was all my review, I wouldn't be helping anyone. This game is very similar to the PS3 version, because all the cars, races, billboard locations, map are all the same on the vita. There are less cars on the road, but who cares! I did not have a lot of lag when playing multiplayer, and the single player is where this game shines. You can go do some races, find new cars, try and beat your friends scores on some billboards, or even get into a cop chase. The options are great. I wish they had added cross play or cross save onto this because its very annoying to beat the challenges on both ps3 and vita. If you want the ps3 version and have a vita too, just save your money and get the vita version, because they are the same. Overall 8 out of 10

    PROS: PS3 quality on the go, many options of what to do, multiplayer is enjoyable, great graphics for a portable, easy to control, gameplay is great, no drop of framerate
    CONS: Would have liked to see cross save and cross play considering they are the same game.
    Expand
  52. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    The best portable racing game ever made. It is as close to its console brother as you can get. Graphics aren't as good and there is less traffic. To be able to get everything else in a handheld s just amazing. You need to own this game, it has hours and hours of enjoyment. The best overall game to date on the vita.l
  53. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    If this game isn't in your Vita library right now, I am coming over to slap you silly. Need for Speed: Most Wanted on the Vita shows how the franchise can be developed on a handheld console. The game itself contains all the vanilla content the console versions have, minus the DLC. The game is an exact replica of the console version with the lens flare and all the effects the consoleIf this game isn't in your Vita library right now, I am coming over to slap you silly. Need for Speed: Most Wanted on the Vita shows how the franchise can be developed on a handheld console. The game itself contains all the vanilla content the console versions have, minus the DLC. The game is an exact replica of the console version with the lens flare and all the effects the console version has, now I'm not saying there were no cuts, but what I am saying is that they are negligible. These cuts include, no DLC, less appealing graphics (But still very amazing), damage to cars from crashes is less realistic and less cars on the road.

    These cuts are so small to be used against buying this game. The controls are amazing, the graphics still look great and the whole game is a bang for your buck. I recommend to buy this for your Vita immediately and since the price has been reduced since launch, there is no reason not to get this amazing game.
    Expand
  54. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    This review might be coming a bit late, but since the price drop, it might prove useful to someone who was waiting for it to be within their budget. And now that it's only $20, it's certainly worth a go around.

    If you've been a fan of the previous Criterion games such as Burnout Paradise, you'll feel right at home with this open world racer. The cut scenes, crashes and game mechanics
    This review might be coming a bit late, but since the price drop, it might prove useful to someone who was waiting for it to be within their budget. And now that it's only $20, it's certainly worth a go around.

    If you've been a fan of the previous Criterion games such as Burnout Paradise, you'll feel right at home with this open world racer. The cut scenes, crashes and game mechanics are virtually the same except licensed cars are being smashed around instead of your generic look-alikes. Graphically, it's about as detailed as you can hope for in a portable racer. The textures are nice with only a few anti-aliasing issues with headlights and far away buildings. There were some graphical glitches that I couldn't overlook such as clipping right through a mountain side when my car caught a little too much air or my car looking like it's having a seizure if it lands awkwardly on the ground. Those were rare, so it was rather excusable. The game is beautiful. Because it's the full version of the console equivalents, sometimes the fonts were a bit too small to read on the loading screen and during dialogue captions.

    The gameplay is definitely on the arcade side of things with the cars driving and handling relatively the same across all makes and models. Tap the brake while accelerating through a corner and your car is sure to drift. Since the obvious formula the developers were going for was the Burnout style of racing, this didn't feel entirely disappointing. Although you would hope that there would be a larger difference in handling when comparing a rear wheel drive powerhouse muscle car like a Z01 and a rigid compact cornering machine like the Ariel Atom. Sadly, this was not the case. The only real notable differences were changing to off-road tires to boost handling in the dirt. All in all, it's still a blast to zoom past on-coming traffic as they look like nothing but blurs on your screen.

    The sound is definitely compressed and the crashing sounds are more reminiscent of a thunderclap than metal colliding. From the Vita speakers, it's not very noticeable as they can't produce low decibels very well, but once you put on a good pair of headphones, these details all come to light. Overall, it's nothing overly distracting and doesn't take away from the gameplay and only audiophiles would truly penalize the game for it.

    Overall, this is a solid game that warrants you spending your hard earned $20, especially since this game doesn't lack anything that its console counterparts have. All the cars, all the races (and even some nice exclusives), and all the options are here. Although, I will say that there is no DLC available for this version so you'll have to settle for the normal versions of each car instead of your ever so slightly tweaked versions you can buy in the DLC. No complaints here. They're fine for me. As a final remark, for all those who continue comparing this version to the console version, it would be like comparing Little League baseball players and MLB players. You just can't do that. The hardware just can't produce the same amount of detail, so just judge it for what it is; a beautiful and full spectacle on a completely portable platform. So just stop ragging on the kid for not being able to hit 30 homeruns a year.
    Expand
  55. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I know that most of kids like racing games especially for 7 years old to 10 because some of the kids like cars even in the toys... So some of the kids when they have a gadget they always want a racing game this is the best game that can suit them... I think so it is greater than the first one because it is open world so you can travel around I really really liked this game even i don'tI know that most of kids like racing games especially for 7 years old to 10 because some of the kids like cars even in the toys... So some of the kids when they have a gadget they always want a racing game this is the best game that can suit them... I think so it is greater than the first one because it is open world so you can travel around I really really liked this game even i don't have one on the vita but when i watched it is so awesome... So thank you EA for such having great racing games. Expand
  56. Dec 14, 2013
    2
    Sorry but Bad Bad Bad, Before you all shout I have played GT5, Forza, GT on the PSP, Ridgeracer etc finish endless games FPS so quite a few hours.

    I have spent 6 hours of playtime on Vita Most Wanted far far far to hard no settings for easy Hard even the Ford GT seems a good choice but one mistake you are out of the running!!! And endless upon endless restarts to try and win a real
    Sorry but Bad Bad Bad, Before you all shout I have played GT5, Forza, GT on the PSP, Ridgeracer etc finish endless games FPS so quite a few hours.

    I have spent 6 hours of playtime on Vita Most Wanted far far far to hard no settings for easy Hard even the Ford GT seems a good choice but one mistake you are out of the running!!! And endless upon endless restarts to try and win a real massive disappointment games should be for all for gods sake simple Easy, Medium and Hard. Will avoid NFS Games in the future :-(
    Yes I know you have the option in the Races but they should be marked Hard, Very hard and Impossible unless you wire the Vita directly to the brain of the producer! 3/10 Fed of wasting my money on games like this!
    Expand
  57. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    This game is literally a copy and paste of Burnout Paradise.
    Which is a good thing honestly, especially when compared to other terrible games such as NFS Rivals.
  58. May 13, 2014
    9
    Very fun, easy to grasp with epic races and police chases, however with a few flaws as a result of bringing the game to the Vita. Everything you want in a racing game is almost here, aside from car customization. Pick this one up, and if you can, try out the Marussia B2, my favorite car in the game.

    Positives: +Fun cars +Nicely done races +Large, diverse, open world with lots to
    Very fun, easy to grasp with epic races and police chases, however with a few flaws as a result of bringing the game to the Vita. Everything you want in a racing game is almost here, aside from car customization. Pick this one up, and if you can, try out the Marussia B2, my favorite car in the game.

    Positives:
    +Fun cars
    +Nicely done races
    +Large, diverse, open world with lots to explore
    +Intense police chases
    +Day and night cycle
    Negatives:
    -Rubber Banding
    -Occasional misc. glitches
    -Annoying traffic that can't be turned off
    -Small music soundtrack and repetitive police dialogue
    -Boring and laggy multiplayer
    Expand
  59. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    I was undecided whether to pick up this game because i was pretty disappointed with NFS games released past years (only one i liked was Hot Pursuit , also created by Criterion). But im glad i tried this one on PS Vita. First of all , the game is the same as PS3/X360/PC version, only with worse graphics and sound but they are still pretty enjoyable ! Game runs silk smooth , with someI was undecided whether to pick up this game because i was pretty disappointed with NFS games released past years (only one i liked was Hot Pursuit , also created by Criterion). But im glad i tried this one on PS Vita. First of all , the game is the same as PS3/X360/PC version, only with worse graphics and sound but they are still pretty enjoyable ! Game runs silk smooth , with some loading while you go fast through the city but it doesnt slow down the game in any way (at least i didnt noticed). Main positive i see in this game is the fun factor. Everything i do is very entertaining , every race has its own difficulty and rewards you get when you finish the race which you can apply to your car immediately after the race using the in-game menu. This menu is simply accessible through the d-pad anytime , if you are currently not in a race. What can i say, if you liked the classic Most Wanted or Hot Pursuit released in 2010, then buy this game you will not regret it. At last a solid Need for Speed game and luckily also for PS Vita :) Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 21, 2013
    78
    The new Most Wanted is no real "Most Wanted": It's an adventurous trip into the wide area of open world games without any string of story. For a quick drive the game is fun, but for a longer stay in Fairhaven it's missing a story and some guidance (apart from ongoing online matchmaking arenas).
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    85
    It really is a well-realized effort and serves a suitable replacement to the home experience. I'd highly suggest checking it out; it's certainly high on my list of Vita games that are worth owning.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    Many features are toned down in the Vita version, graphics, traffic and online functions for example. But that doesn't mean that the rest of the game is not good - in fact it's great. Especially due to the fact that it's designed around the portable format.