User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 158

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is really good game with the stunning graphics and amazing sound track well while the game is not as stunning as ps3 version it is still very good and a must by /////// my many lost because of you sony three perfect games in one day oh my god
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Very close to the home console racing experience on a portable device. I personally prefer forza horizon but NFS MW is still great and fantastic on the vita
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    why is nfs most wanted is a must buy the answer very easy because it has every thing you need from racing games graphics sounds and action so do not forget to own yourself this game ..note,,, there is some issues
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Boy - this game is getting some mixed opinions.
    I was waiting for this game like forever and was infuriated at the fact that there were next no none gameplay videos being shown. Anywho - I downloaded it - and truth be told it seems a little meh at first. I have not played the one for console but have played (and loved) Burnout Paradise. Everything seems all right but things looked a bit
    dull - menu system was a little slow to load, graphics looked hazy. But when I started playing a race it felt amazing!
    True - the traffic is scanty - but I have a feeling that more traffic would have hampered gameplay on the small screen. Presently I am trying to win the race against the first most wanted car (a dozen attempts no luck) and it rocks. Soundtrack too is something I am warming up to you.
    I think this game is one for keeps. Yes - there are small niggles but it ends up just about perfect.
    /The only really irritating thing I found was the headlights coming towards you which are SO pixelated it is not even funny - but we can live with that/
    Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Best handheld racing game in history. More or less a mirror of the home console versions which are great games themselves. Only sacrifices a touch of visual fidelity, smaller multiplayer and less traffic.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    when i see the user review for the ps3 and xbox really i shocked because of the bad rating idid not know what is the problem with the game it is very good both in ps3 and vita version i bought the game for my vita and ps3 and it deserves the money i have payed
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I am rating this game 10/10 like everybody because after having an account banned for giving it a low score (moreover, I didn't use any insulting words - just wanted to give my honest opinion - which I thought was the point of Metacritic), it seems you can't give NFS Vita a bad rating...Don't know if EA is paying Metacritic to ban accounts or not, doesn't matter to me anymore...this game is awesome and totally deserve its perfect score ! 10/10 all the way! Best game I've ever played - people are right! The VERY definition of gaming. Now, I will still mention this interesting fact: Metacritic user scores for "Need for Speed: Most Wanted": PC Version - 4.4/10 (for 284 people), 360 version - 5.5/10 (for 123 people), PS3 Version - 5.4/10 (for 210 people), PSVita Version - 8.1/10 FOR ONLY 61 PEOPLE --- The same game (same gameplay), minus the graphics - proof of biased opinions coming from owners of the VITA version...It instantly became a 10/10 for everybody because it's a technical achievement on handheld. But I'm sorry graphics alone don't make a great game. PLEASE don't think about being honest and give it a lower score, because fanboys will use the "Report Abuse" button... Enjoy your 10/10! Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best need for speed games I ever played, it feels like I got my money's worth with this one. The gameplay is very addictive and fun, the cars feel authentic like real life, the handling is great and the speed is super fast. The graphics are close to the ps3 version. I was hesitant at first about buying this game but I'm glad I did. The only reason I'm on here writing a review because my vita is charging up right now from playing the game all day. Expand
  9. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    http://bit.ly/PF4ASB

    There is so much for you to get involved with, hunting down every single thing will take you a very long time, and the convenience of this being portable and take anywhere only adds to the equation. This is easily the best portable racer that I have ever played, and if you own both the PS3 and the Vita I would still suggest taking a chance on this version. It may be
    slightly less pretty but is full of content that can be taken everywhere.

    It
    Expand
  10. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    I was undecided whether to pick up this game because i was pretty disappointed with NFS games released past years (only one i liked was Hot Pursuit , also created by Criterion). But im glad i tried this one on PS Vita. First of all , the game is the same as PS3/X360/PC version, only with worse graphics and sound but they are still pretty enjoyable ! Game runs silk smooth , with some loading while you go fast through the city but it doesnt slow down the game in any way (at least i didnt noticed). Main positive i see in this game is the fun factor. Everything i do is very entertaining , every race has its own difficulty and rewards you get when you finish the race which you can apply to your car immediately after the race using the in-game menu. This menu is simply accessible through the d-pad anytime , if you are currently not in a race. What can i say, if you liked the classic Most Wanted or Hot Pursuit released in 2010, then buy this game you will not regret it. At last a solid Need for Speed game and luckily also for PS Vita :) Expand
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is the most fully featured and polished game on the ps vita. It has great online functionality and the graphics are great. I really can't find anything that i didn't' like about it. The online and single player are almost 2 completely separate games in that you unlock things independently so if theres twice the experience. If you own a vita this is a must buy, that last game i enjoyed this much was uncharted but that had no online which was disappointing but this has great online and now i have something to do at work besides work, who needs productivity when u have NFS. Expand
  12. NT1
    Oct 31, 2012
    9
    After having played the last few NFS games (Shift 2, Hot Pursuit and The Run) I had lost quite some faith in the franchise. With this installement of a new NFS game, all that faith is restored! The graphics are superb, the best so far, and the sound is amazing with headphones on. The controls on the Vita react as it would on a PS3, so the statement that this game gives you a console experience is indeed in it's place. At the beginning of the game it can be a little tricky to get used to the tracks, because of the open world, but if you have played for about half an hour you can really own the streets. One thing I was worried about when i started the game, was framedrop. If this game looks this good, it has to stutter when your going fast or when there are a few cars around you. But nothing of all that! So that's definitely a big plus. Is there nothing wrong with this game? Sure there is. I noticed sometimes a graphical glitch, and there is a text in the middle of the screen if you did something awesome so you can't see the road and possibly you crash. I noticed there was an update that should fix the graphical glitches, but i can't really determine if it's fixed. One option i did miss in the game is to select your own tunes, because there aren't many songs in the game. So repeated songs are possibly going to annoy you in a few days. Alltogether this is a great game, that has great replay value, great sound and awesome graphics. If there is 1 game i have to recommend for PS Vita gamers, it's this one! Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing. Great graphics, great soundtrack, great cars. 110% worth the $40 price tag and a MUST for Vita owners. I have the console version as well and let me tell you, there is NO difference.
  14. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    @CPCkid......Im dissapointed with the graphics as well, though they arnt detracting from my enjoyment of the gameplay, Im mainly a PC gamer so if i let graphics detract from my enjoyment of games on other systems my PS3 and Vita would never get used. I understand your disapounted and frustrated by other people rating it 10, its definetly not a 10 it has issues, though ive only experiened slight lag in online mode, not offline.
    I cant for the life of me understand how anyone could think the IOS version of this game is superior. I own both and the PC version and while the IOS version has sharper graphics it is inferior in every other way. What certain people dont seem to take into consideration is that the Vita version is gameplay wise identical to the console versions. It is a resource hog as its an open world game but on the IOS version you have zero freedom to go where you want,plus the Vita has great multiplayer, which the IOS version doesnt. Anyone with the slightest knowledge of game design understands that the despite its lack of graphical fidelity the more impressive version is the Vita one, simply because off how much it packs in. The long and short of it is the IOS version is good for a quick game on the bus, the Vita version will keep you busy for weeks if not months, is it perfect...no...but there isnt much that couldnt be improved in future updates. And regarding the price difference...the IOS version is a casual game with annoying in app purchases...the Vita version is a fully fledged open world offline and online racer, i know where id rather spend my money.
    Expand
  15. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Just bought this in the morning, fired up need for speed most wanted for the ps vita on the train going home..
    Now I have a few things to say.. Frankly if it will allo me it's this.. Totally aware of what the critics have been saying.. Looking at you ign! The graphics are fantastic, very close to ps3 Xbox versions.. Great lighting and effects.. It struck me and the early reviews appear to
    be correct, the roads wer sparse and barren, which kind of disappointed me.. But wait!! (when I got home I connected up to the wifi updated the game to see if there were any patches.. There is.. Graphical and stability fixes.. Correct me if I'm wrong but the amont of traffic in the game appears to have doubled or even tripled even.. I've noticed it.. The game is fantastic.. The sounds effects are amazing.. Accurate engine sounds.. Cars have a weighty feeling, slides/ handbrake turns are spot on too!! Already found 20 cars lots to do.. Online works wonderfully, even links up and carrys over to my ps3 games saves.. PEOPLE GET BEHIND THIS GAME AMD CRITERION.. They deserve full credit for making this game.. People moaning about the inferior smartphone versions should really stop.. It's 39.99 for a reason not 79p from a silly app store.. This is an incredible coding feat...I have assassins creed liberation another amazing game, but need for speed most wanted will be getting most of my spare time because it's instantly fun to fire it up and put it back down..
    If this is a first generation ps vita Racing game imagine how cool a sequal will be two years down the line..
    For me I'd say buy it and you won't regret it, best game I've owned yet on any handheld..

    Now I have to stop writing this.. Back to nfs mw!!!
    Expand
  16. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I love racing games - so i may be a bit biased but this is a game I constantly go back to more than any other game on my vita. I love playing with headphones because of the sounds of the engines and the screams of the tires on asphalt. This is a high class game. Its a bit like a pig with lipstick. Its still a pig, albeit a pretty one. The game looks great, its not current gen 'console quality' but it still looks great. Graphics alone i'd give it a 7.5/10. When you are stopped and really start to stare at the screen, the visuals start to fall apart. Foliage is a bit spares, the detail is a bit lame, and the textures are small. The cars themselves are beautiful, and they integrate damage in an interestingly optimized way. But where the visuals soar is when you're moving at 100+ MPH through the city and highways. The game flies beautifully and this is how the games was meant to be seen.

    The online connectivity of the games is amazing. Coming back a few days later to find a friend beat your track time or had a better launch through a billboard keeps you engaged in new ways. I find it so much fun to find a car I like and try to beat all the races with that car. I have only done 2 of the 10 most wanted races but there's so much content in this game. I love it! I can't recommend this game more highly if you like racing games. I was a huge fan of Ridge Racer - which had awesome online multiplayer. I loved the Rockstar Midnight Club series, and played the PSP version quite a bit on my vita, but with this racing game - I need no other right now.
    Expand
  17. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    NFS Most Wanted Vita is a direct port of the console versions, and save for some graphical downgrades and lesser traffic, is the exact same game we're presented on consoles, only on the go. The game is generally consistent in terms of looks, cars are sleek and beautiful to look at and while the environments aren't the best out there, they get the job done. My only complaints are that draw distances aren't quite so great, and car headlights in the distance can look like a blob of pixels, which require some getting used to before being able to correctly judge where exactly the cars are at. Also, the game suffers from a lack of any story. Non, zero, zilch. This can get boring quickly for players who don't care so much for the cars, as there is a lack of motivation for players to continue playing. However, the game generally looks stunning, and races are fun and thrilling to play through. There are a ton of cars to find and drive through and while the lack of any real customization is disappointing, the races and sheer amount of cars keep the game from getting boring too quickly. Multiplayer is also a blast where you race in a multitude of different events with up to 3 other players. The races are relatively stable and i've only encountered some connection issues and lag once or twice since i've had the game. Overall, need for speed most wanted vita is the go to game currently for any racing title on the vita, and fits perfectly in your pocket for on the go gaming. Expand
  18. uah
    Nov 5, 2012
    10
    @smellymetal Every time a kid compares a handheld game with a home console one, God kills a kitten.

    Please, please, think about the poor kittens that are lost :(
  19. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome racer. Ive never really been a fan of the NFS series, but this game blew me away. Stunning graphics and console quality that i never expected. A must buy for any racing fan.
  20. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    What can I say? This game has been very good to me. As a casual racing game fan, this game has more than met my expectation. I don't own this game for the Xbox 360 so I can't compare the two. But, as a Vita owner having 9 games under my belt, this is one of the better games. The best thing is that I can play two to three races at a time and have a blast. Highly recommended!
  21. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Loving this game! I loved the sandbox layout of Burnout Paradise and Criterion have done an excellent job recreating that on the Vita, with EA's blessing. Most negative comments I've seen were around it not being exactly like the ps3 version, which I find ludicrous. The fact they have a mini metropolis with no lag or reloading on a handheld is absolutely outstanding, and people of that opinion should perhaps compare to psp/ds instead to get a reality check. This is a phenomenal effort on a handheld, bring on the dlc! Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I' ve been playing this game for a few days and the only thing I can say is: wow!!! Good graphics, addictive gameplay and gorgeous online (no lag, fast...). How can this little device handle the whole map??? As I dont own a Ps3/xbox, the game suits perfect for me. Another question is which version you would pick up if you have both, home and portable consoles...
  23. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Excellent racing game for the vita. I think the graphics and decent and game play sublime. Huge amount of cars to find and race with good online multiplayer. There has been some comments about lack of traffic however I find that there is fair amount of traffic around especially on the highways to negotiate. NFS MW is perfect on the VIta and is a must buy for fans of racing games.
  24. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Very fun game, controls and gameplay are excellent. Well thought out multiplayer which is thoroughly enjoyable. No bugs or lag from my play through, probably played around 20 hours so far. Highly recommend to anyone with a PS Vita,
  25. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I was dissapointed in this game at first because I was expecting it to be equal to the console version...Criterion developed both versions of this game side by side. I knew right off the bat that the graphics wernt even close to the console version, some claim they are really good and the best on the console but this is not true. Wipeout has far better graphics, and this game looks good but it just looks kind of bland...you can tell they took out a lot of the cool particle effects, reflection, and hi-rez textures from the console edition. Despite the dissapointing graphics, I was loving this game. It plays so good and it does look pretty impressive at time. Then I read somewhere that not only did they cut down the graphics, they cut down cops and traffic! I was furious, the games roads did seem kind of barren, and it was kind of weird only having 2 cops at a road block....I hated this game for a day because not only was I not getting the same visuals, I wasnt even getting the same GAMEPLAY! Well after a couple days and after I took a stick out of my ass, I began to reassess this game again. Despite hating on it for not being equal in graphics and content on screen(I know the vita can do more, it has same ram as ps3,4 3ghz processors, and loads faster), I came to the consclussion that the game experience I had with this on my Vita was some of the best I had all year. Reanalyzing this and not comparing it, I came to the conclussion that this game is superior to any other Vita racer by far. Even though its not the same as the console version, it is close enough! It is also $40 instead of $60, so I pretty much would have paid $20 more just to see increased traffic and reflections. Also I am getting a really cool "gotta catch em all!" vibe with this game on my vita.....you find cars in the game world, touch them, then they are yours to keep! You also can unlock and upgrade gear indivually with each car. Normally I dont care about these things, but for some reason since it is on my Vita it seems much more personal! Kinda like how with pokemon, you viewed your gameboy as this machine that captured little pets, or a tomagachi,. When I carry this game around in my Vita I get the sense that the cars I've unlocked are MINE, they Belong to ME, it is my OWN LITTLE COLLECTION of cool little things! I wouldnt feel like this on the console, I would just be like "Pshh just another car like with the other 10 racing games I own"

    Overall very good game. Runs smooth most the time....The framerate does drop sometimes in multiplayer when lagging and it will make your crash but this is rare. If this game had all the things the console one did, I would give it a perfect score instead of a 9

    Graphics = 9
    Sound = 8
    Gameplay = 9.5
    Originality = 8
    Replay = 9
    Expand
  26. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    First off, I have only played the game for a few hours so far and have not tried it on PS3. I am highly impressed with the game so far, the graphics and content have exceeded my expectations by far. I still can't believe what I am playing is on a handheld device, I think it looks better then most games on my PS3. My only problem is that the turning can be a bit sloppy at times but other then that fantastic game! Expand
  27. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    The best portable racing game ever made. It is as close to its console brother as you can get. Graphics aren't as good and there is less traffic. To be able to get everything else in a handheld s just amazing. You need to own this game, it has hours and hours of enjoyment. The best overall game to date on the vita.l
  28. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    If this game isn't in your Vita library right now, I am coming over to slap you silly. Need for Speed: Most Wanted on the Vita shows how the franchise can be developed on a handheld console. The game itself contains all the vanilla content the console versions have, minus the DLC. The game is an exact replica of the console version with the lens flare and all the effects the console version has, now I'm not saying there were no cuts, but what I am saying is that they are negligible. These cuts include, no DLC, less appealing graphics (But still very amazing), damage to cars from crashes is less realistic and less cars on the road.

    These cuts are so small to be used against buying this game. The controls are amazing, the graphics still look great and the whole game is a bang for your buck. I recommend to buy this for your Vita immediately and since the price has been reduced since launch, there is no reason not to get this amazing game.
    Expand
  29. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I know that most of kids like racing games especially for 7 years old to 10 because some of the kids like cars even in the toys... So some of the kids when they have a gadget they always want a racing game this is the best game that can suit them... I think so it is greater than the first one because it is open world so you can travel around I really really liked this game even i don't have one on the vita but when i watched it is so awesome... So thank you EA for such having great racing games. Expand
  30. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    This game is literally a copy and paste of Burnout Paradise.
    Which is a good thing honestly, especially when compared to other terrible games such as NFS Rivals.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 21, 2013
    78
    The new Most Wanted is no real "Most Wanted": It's an adventurous trip into the wide area of open world games without any string of story. For a quick drive the game is fun, but for a longer stay in Fairhaven it's missing a story and some guidance (apart from ongoing online matchmaking arenas).
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    85
    It really is a well-realized effort and serves a suitable replacement to the home experience. I'd highly suggest checking it out; it's certainly high on my list of Vita games that are worth owning.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    Many features are toned down in the Vita version, graphics, traffic and online functions for example. But that doesn't mean that the rest of the game is not good - in fact it's great. Especially due to the fact that it's designed around the portable format.