User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 205
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2014
    7
    NFS has always been the best racing series, I played first 5 titles, 3 - Hot Pursuit being arguably the best, then I kinda lost interest, but when Most Wanted has appeared for free on Vita as a part of 20th Playstation Anniversary, I checked it out and I'm glad it's still holding it's quality pretty firmly. I like the open world city that is at your disposal as a playground with lots ofNFS has always been the best racing series, I played first 5 titles, 3 - Hot Pursuit being arguably the best, then I kinda lost interest, but when Most Wanted has appeared for free on Vita as a part of 20th Playstation Anniversary, I checked it out and I'm glad it's still holding it's quality pretty firmly. I like the open world city that is at your disposal as a playground with lots of nice cars parked everywhere, just for you to take them for a ride on one of the prepared races, or just on a riding spree and evading cops. If I compare this to the competition that I played in recent years, Forza Horizon on Xbox is visualy nice, but always felt quite bland and boring to me and recently I played through Grid 2 which was nice, but incredibly generic and average, cars without personality, tracks without atmosphere. Not sure what is that special flavour that NFS series adds the others not, but I liked the cars here and I liked the open world city to race in, that's all you can ask for in a racing game. The Vita version has been watered down on a visual side obviously , but it's still ok looking and it's smooth, so it's all good. If there is something I must critique, it's that incredibly annoying crash replay that you cannot even turn off, whoever stands behind this game design decision needs slap in the face. Also, soundtrack was mostly annoying and I had to turn it off quite soon, listening to something better is definitely recommended. 7/10 Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome racer. Ive never really been a fan of the NFS series, but this game blew me away. Stunning graphics and console quality that i never expected. A must buy for any racing fan.
  3. Dec 28, 2014
    8
    A racing game that I really enjoyed. I think the open world and scavenging hunt for hidden cars was the difference for me, as I usually don't enjoy racing games. A good racing game on the vita doesn't hurt,also. The driving in this game was very smooth and responsive, the drifting was very fun to master, and all the cars for the most part feels different to some extent. A multiplayer thatA racing game that I really enjoyed. I think the open world and scavenging hunt for hidden cars was the difference for me, as I usually don't enjoy racing games. A good racing game on the vita doesn't hurt,also. The driving in this game was very smooth and responsive, the drifting was very fun to master, and all the cars for the most part feels different to some extent. A multiplayer that adds longevity to this game, and I will give it an solid 8. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    What Need for Speed: Most Wanted does for the PSVita is exactly what Burnout Legends did for the PSP, it shows off what the console is capable at this point. Which appears to be bringing a whole console game to the Vita. The whole thing! Except Legends was the best of all the console games in one. Most wanted was just the whole game on the Vita. Travelling around Fairhaven, Most Wanted'sWhat Need for Speed: Most Wanted does for the PSVita is exactly what Burnout Legends did for the PSP, it shows off what the console is capable at this point. Which appears to be bringing a whole console game to the Vita. The whole thing! Except Legends was the best of all the console games in one. Most wanted was just the whole game on the Vita. Travelling around Fairhaven, Most Wanted's massive open world, is a joy. The game is very much like Burnout, people have called it Burnout 2, which is not a problem. The cars swing around, the take-downs feel heavy, it's a pure arcade racer right down to its heart. I really can't stress how fun this game is. Every aspect of this is the same as the console version, but its even more suited to the Vita. The fact that a whole console game has been perfectly put into the form of a PSVita card, is awesome. And it's true, every race, bit of the world, every car e.t.c. The gameplay is perfect for the Vita. This game is addictive. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2015
    9
    Need for Speed for the PS Vita is great racing game and most likely one of the best, however it has flaws like the city buildings look flat in close ups and there is no rain or at least i haven't seen it. But, it also has it's pros like the multiplayer it runs and plays great. overall NFS is a great racing game for PS Vita.
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    I wish this game was exclusively designed for PS VITA. The Console version n Pc version are just god in graphics, the overall gameplay is not satisfying at all compare to other racing games. It sounds a remake of BurnOut Paradise with the name of NEED FOR SPEED . However despite of my dissapointment on the other versions i think this game is pretty good for handheld ! The vita graphics inI wish this game was exclusively designed for PS VITA. The Console version n Pc version are just god in graphics, the overall gameplay is not satisfying at all compare to other racing games. It sounds a remake of BurnOut Paradise with the name of NEED FOR SPEED . However despite of my dissapointment on the other versions i think this game is pretty good for handheld ! The vita graphics in city are good, out of town has lack of details. Frame rate is pretty good, excitement is a bit less due to less traffic in streets. but the other part the design of cars is shiiny. Gameplay is similar to console ! overall i think criterion can do better than this, but this is a good approach like assassins creed Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Need For Speed Most Wanted stands out for it's outstanding graphics content and handling. But the city all the races take place in just feel so lifeless and generic. Did i mention almost every track looks the same? Not to mention the abuse of IAPs
  8. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    I was undecided whether to pick up this game because i was pretty disappointed with NFS games released past years (only one i liked was Hot Pursuit , also created by Criterion). But im glad i tried this one on PS Vita. First of all , the game is the same as PS3/X360/PC version, only with worse graphics and sound but they are still pretty enjoyable ! Game runs silk smooth , with someI was undecided whether to pick up this game because i was pretty disappointed with NFS games released past years (only one i liked was Hot Pursuit , also created by Criterion). But im glad i tried this one on PS Vita. First of all , the game is the same as PS3/X360/PC version, only with worse graphics and sound but they are still pretty enjoyable ! Game runs silk smooth , with some loading while you go fast through the city but it doesnt slow down the game in any way (at least i didnt noticed). Main positive i see in this game is the fun factor. Everything i do is very entertaining , every race has its own difficulty and rewards you get when you finish the race which you can apply to your car immediately after the race using the in-game menu. This menu is simply accessible through the d-pad anytime , if you are currently not in a race. What can i say, if you liked the classic Most Wanted or Hot Pursuit released in 2010, then buy this game you will not regret it. At last a solid Need for Speed game and luckily also for PS Vita :) Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    If this game isn't in your Vita library right now, I am coming over to slap you silly. Need for Speed: Most Wanted on the Vita shows how the franchise can be developed on a handheld console. The game itself contains all the vanilla content the console versions have, minus the DLC. The game is an exact replica of the console version with the lens flare and all the effects the consoleIf this game isn't in your Vita library right now, I am coming over to slap you silly. Need for Speed: Most Wanted on the Vita shows how the franchise can be developed on a handheld console. The game itself contains all the vanilla content the console versions have, minus the DLC. The game is an exact replica of the console version with the lens flare and all the effects the console version has, now I'm not saying there were no cuts, but what I am saying is that they are negligible. These cuts include, no DLC, less appealing graphics (But still very amazing), damage to cars from crashes is less realistic and less cars on the road.

    These cuts are so small to be used against buying this game. The controls are amazing, the graphics still look great and the whole game is a bang for your buck. I recommend to buy this for your Vita immediately and since the price has been reduced since launch, there is no reason not to get this amazing game.
    Expand
  10. Sep 26, 2015
    9
    A fantastic port of a console game to Vita, showing its true power. Almost identical to the console/PC versions except it lacks the DLC and is let down by one bug that I also experienced in the console version, sometimes the multiplayer ends up constantly saving and the UI is inaccessible, on the PS3 this resulted in the lost of my data after it froze up, this hasn't happened on the VitaA fantastic port of a console game to Vita, showing its true power. Almost identical to the console/PC versions except it lacks the DLC and is let down by one bug that I also experienced in the console version, sometimes the multiplayer ends up constantly saving and the UI is inaccessible, on the PS3 this resulted in the lost of my data after it froze up, this hasn't happened on the Vita port yet and all in all is a fantastic game and well worth the price. Expand
  11. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Great racing game. If you enjoyed Burnout Paradise, then you'll enjoy this. Great pick up and play for the handheld system, but I'm sure you'll play it a lot longer than a 15 min fix. Criterion have got a lot out of the Vita with this title as there is very little difference between this and the home console version's. What is cool, is that your times and challenges crossover between PS3 &Great racing game. If you enjoyed Burnout Paradise, then you'll enjoy this. Great pick up and play for the handheld system, but I'm sure you'll play it a lot longer than a 15 min fix. Criterion have got a lot out of the Vita with this title as there is very little difference between this and the home console version's. What is cool, is that your times and challenges crossover between PS3 & Vita with your friend's. Nice touch. A solid 8 from me. If you want a simulation, look elsewhere. If you want an arcade tarmac ripper, you won't go far wrong with this game. Be your own judge and make your own mind up, it's your cash after all. Expand
  12. Sep 19, 2016
    7
    Before the ridiculous comparisons begin with the ps4 games lets just say this is a solid game and looks great on the vita.

    Plenty of challenges, cars and a pretty good size open world to drive around. Plenty of billboards, speed cameras, pursuits and challenges to keep you busy. Don't forget this is a handheld so it doesn't have the depth of the console but who would expect it to. If
    Before the ridiculous comparisons begin with the ps4 games lets just say this is a solid game and looks great on the vita.

    Plenty of challenges, cars and a pretty good size open world to drive around. Plenty of billboards, speed cameras, pursuits and challenges to keep you busy. Don't forget this is a handheld so it doesn't have the depth of the console but who would expect it to. If you like the need for speed series and want a handheld version you won't be disappointed. Easy to pick up and play. 7.5 / 10
    Expand
  13. Nov 30, 2015
    10
    One of (if not) the best games to own for a ps vita. Just play it the fun is there, the graphs are there, is all i want for a handheld racing game....
  14. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    when i see the user review for the ps3 and xbox really i shocked because of the bad rating idid not know what is the problem with the game it is very good both in ps3 and vita version i bought the game for my vita and ps3 and it deserves the money i have payed
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is really good game with the stunning graphics and amazing sound track well while the game is not as stunning as ps3 version it is still very good and a must by /////// my many lost because of you sony three perfect games in one day oh my god
  16. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    BEST RACING GAME FOR VITA. If that was all my review, I wouldn't be helping anyone. This game is very similar to the PS3 version, because all the cars, races, billboard locations, map are all the same on the vita. There are less cars on the road, but who cares! I did not have a lot of lag when playing multiplayer, and the single player is where this game shines. You can go do some races,BEST RACING GAME FOR VITA. If that was all my review, I wouldn't be helping anyone. This game is very similar to the PS3 version, because all the cars, races, billboard locations, map are all the same on the vita. There are less cars on the road, but who cares! I did not have a lot of lag when playing multiplayer, and the single player is where this game shines. You can go do some races, find new cars, try and beat your friends scores on some billboards, or even get into a cop chase. The options are great. I wish they had added cross play or cross save onto this because its very annoying to beat the challenges on both ps3 and vita. If you want the ps3 version and have a vita too, just save your money and get the vita version, because they are the same. Overall 8 out of 10

    PROS: PS3 quality on the go, many options of what to do, multiplayer is enjoyable, great graphics for a portable, easy to control, gameplay is great, no drop of framerate
    CONS: Would have liked to see cross save and cross play considering they are the same game.
    Expand
  17. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I am rating this game 10/10 like everybody because after having an account banned for giving it a low score (moreover, I didn't use any insulting words - just wanted to give my honest opinion - which I thought was the point of Metacritic), it seems you can't give NFS Vita a bad rating...Don't know if EA is paying Metacritic to ban accounts or not, doesn't matter to me anymore...this gameI am rating this game 10/10 like everybody because after having an account banned for giving it a low score (moreover, I didn't use any insulting words - just wanted to give my honest opinion - which I thought was the point of Metacritic), it seems you can't give NFS Vita a bad rating...Don't know if EA is paying Metacritic to ban accounts or not, doesn't matter to me anymore...this game is awesome and totally deserve its perfect score ! 10/10 all the way! Best game I've ever played - people are right! The VERY definition of gaming. Now, I will still mention this interesting fact: Metacritic user scores for "Need for Speed: Most Wanted": PC Version - 4.4/10 (for 284 people), 360 version - 5.5/10 (for 123 people), PS3 Version - 5.4/10 (for 210 people), PSVita Version - 8.1/10 FOR ONLY 61 PEOPLE --- The same game (same gameplay), minus the graphics - proof of biased opinions coming from owners of the VITA version...It instantly became a 10/10 for everybody because it's a technical achievement on handheld. But I'm sorry graphics alone don't make a great game. PLEASE don't think about being honest and give it a lower score, because fanboys will use the "Report Abuse" button... Enjoy your 10/10! Expand
  18. uah
    Nov 5, 2012
    10
    @smellymetal Every time a kid compares a handheld game with a home console one, God kills a kitten.

    Please, please, think about the poor kittens that are lost :(
  19. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I was dissapointed in this game at first because I was expecting it to be equal to the console version...Criterion developed both versions of this game side by side. I knew right off the bat that the graphics wernt even close to the console version, some claim they are really good and the best on the console but this is not true. Wipeout has far better graphics, and this game looks goodI was dissapointed in this game at first because I was expecting it to be equal to the console version...Criterion developed both versions of this game side by side. I knew right off the bat that the graphics wernt even close to the console version, some claim they are really good and the best on the console but this is not true. Wipeout has far better graphics, and this game looks good but it just looks kind of bland...you can tell they took out a lot of the cool particle effects, reflection, and hi-rez textures from the console edition. Despite the dissapointing graphics, I was loving this game. It plays so good and it does look pretty impressive at time. Then I read somewhere that not only did they cut down the graphics, they cut down cops and traffic! I was furious, the games roads did seem kind of barren, and it was kind of weird only having 2 cops at a road block....I hated this game for a day because not only was I not getting the same visuals, I wasnt even getting the same GAMEPLAY! Well after a couple days and after I took a stick out of my ass, I began to reassess this game again. Despite hating on it for not being equal in graphics and content on screen(I know the vita can do more, it has same ram as ps3,4 3ghz processors, and loads faster), I came to the consclussion that the game experience I had with this on my Vita was some of the best I had all year. Reanalyzing this and not comparing it, I came to the conclussion that this game is superior to any other Vita racer by far. Even though its not the same as the console version, it is close enough! It is also $40 instead of $60, so I pretty much would have paid $20 more just to see increased traffic and reflections. Also I am getting a really cool "gotta catch em all!" vibe with this game on my vita.....you find cars in the game world, touch them, then they are yours to keep! You also can unlock and upgrade gear indivually with each car. Normally I dont care about these things, but for some reason since it is on my Vita it seems much more personal! Kinda like how with pokemon, you viewed your gameboy as this machine that captured little pets, or a tomagachi,. When I carry this game around in my Vita I get the sense that the cars I've unlocked are MINE, they Belong to ME, it is my OWN LITTLE COLLECTION of cool little things! I wouldnt feel like this on the console, I would just be like "Pshh just another car like with the other 10 racing games I own"

    Overall very good game. Runs smooth most the time....The framerate does drop sometimes in multiplayer when lagging and it will make your crash but this is rare. If this game had all the things the console one did, I would give it a perfect score instead of a 9

    Graphics = 9
    Sound = 8
    Gameplay = 9.5
    Originality = 8
    Replay = 9
    Expand
  20. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    The best portable racing game ever made. It is as close to its console brother as you can get. Graphics aren't as good and there is less traffic. To be able to get everything else in a handheld s just amazing. You need to own this game, it has hours and hours of enjoyment. The best overall game to date on the vita.l
  21. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    Nearly the exact same as the console counterpart. Great soundtrack, huge car variety, massive map and an insane amount of things to explore. Probably the best racing game I have played this year and it's portable... what's not to love !
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    why is nfs most wanted is a must buy the answer very easy because it has every thing you need from racing games graphics sounds and action so do not forget to own yourself this game ..note,,, there is some issues
  23. NT1
    Oct 31, 2012
    9
    After having played the last few NFS games (Shift 2, Hot Pursuit and The Run) I had lost quite some faith in the franchise. With this installement of a new NFS game, all that faith is restored! The graphics are superb, the best so far, and the sound is amazing with headphones on. The controls on the Vita react as it would on a PS3, so the statement that this game gives you a consoleAfter having played the last few NFS games (Shift 2, Hot Pursuit and The Run) I had lost quite some faith in the franchise. With this installement of a new NFS game, all that faith is restored! The graphics are superb, the best so far, and the sound is amazing with headphones on. The controls on the Vita react as it would on a PS3, so the statement that this game gives you a console experience is indeed in it's place. At the beginning of the game it can be a little tricky to get used to the tracks, because of the open world, but if you have played for about half an hour you can really own the streets. One thing I was worried about when i started the game, was framedrop. If this game looks this good, it has to stutter when your going fast or when there are a few cars around you. But nothing of all that! So that's definitely a big plus. Is there nothing wrong with this game? Sure there is. I noticed sometimes a graphical glitch, and there is a text in the middle of the screen if you did something awesome so you can't see the road and possibly you crash. I noticed there was an update that should fix the graphical glitches, but i can't really determine if it's fixed. One option i did miss in the game is to select your own tunes, because there aren't many songs in the game. So repeated songs are possibly going to annoy you in a few days. Alltogether this is a great game, that has great replay value, great sound and awesome graphics. If there is 1 game i have to recommend for PS Vita gamers, it's this one! Expand
  24. May 13, 2014
    9
    Very fun, easy to grasp with epic races and police chases, however with a few flaws as a result of bringing the game to the Vita. Everything you want in a racing game is almost here, aside from car customization. Pick this one up, and if you can, try out the Marussia B2, my favorite car in the game.

    Positives: +Fun cars +Nicely done races +Large, diverse, open world with lots to
    Very fun, easy to grasp with epic races and police chases, however with a few flaws as a result of bringing the game to the Vita. Everything you want in a racing game is almost here, aside from car customization. Pick this one up, and if you can, try out the Marussia B2, my favorite car in the game.

    Positives:
    +Fun cars
    +Nicely done races
    +Large, diverse, open world with lots to explore
    +Intense police chases
    +Day and night cycle
    Negatives:
    -Rubber Banding
    -Occasional misc. glitches
    -Annoying traffic that can't be turned off
    -Small music soundtrack and repetitive police dialogue
    -Boring and laggy multiplayer
    Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best need for speed games I ever played, it feels like I got my money's worth with this one. The gameplay is very addictive and fun, the cars feel authentic like real life, the handling is great and the speed is super fast. The graphics are close to the ps3 version. I was hesitant at first about buying this game but I'm glad I did. The only reason I'm on here writing aThis is one of the best need for speed games I ever played, it feels like I got my money's worth with this one. The gameplay is very addictive and fun, the cars feel authentic like real life, the handling is great and the speed is super fast. The graphics are close to the ps3 version. I was hesitant at first about buying this game but I'm glad I did. The only reason I'm on here writing a review because my vita is charging up right now from playing the game all day. Expand
  26. Nov 3, 2012
    6
    I have been waiting for this game to hit the Vita; I am a criterion fan, specially their Hot pursuit game. However, playing this game on the vita, felt so flimsy being a just a port without taking the time to understand or adjust it to operate on a handheld device.
    It feels that they spent too much time on the features and not enough on the actual driving experience and mechanics.
    The
    I have been waiting for this game to hit the Vita; I am a criterion fan, specially their Hot pursuit game. However, playing this game on the vita, felt so flimsy being a just a port without taking the time to understand or adjust it to operate on a handheld device.
    It feels that they spent too much time on the features and not enough on the actual driving experience and mechanics.

    The fonts are way to small, the driving engine is not half good as the hot pursuit one.

    I yet to play it on my PC & PS3. Bottom line i am dissapointed.
    Expand
  27. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Just bought this in the morning, fired up need for speed most wanted for the ps vita on the train going home..
    Now I have a few things to say.. Frankly if it will allo me it's this.. Totally aware of what the critics have been saying.. Looking at you ign! The graphics are fantastic, very close to ps3 Xbox versions.. Great lighting and effects.. It struck me and the early reviews appear to
    Just bought this in the morning, fired up need for speed most wanted for the ps vita on the train going home..
    Now I have a few things to say.. Frankly if it will allo me it's this.. Totally aware of what the critics have been saying.. Looking at you ign! The graphics are fantastic, very close to ps3 Xbox versions.. Great lighting and effects.. It struck me and the early reviews appear to be correct, the roads wer sparse and barren, which kind of disappointed me.. But wait!! (when I got home I connected up to the wifi updated the game to see if there were any patches.. There is.. Graphical and stability fixes.. Correct me if I'm wrong but the amont of traffic in the game appears to have doubled or even tripled even.. I've noticed it.. The game is fantastic.. The sounds effects are amazing.. Accurate engine sounds.. Cars have a weighty feeling, slides/ handbrake turns are spot on too!! Already found 20 cars lots to do.. Online works wonderfully, even links up and carrys over to my ps3 games saves.. PEOPLE GET BEHIND THIS GAME AMD CRITERION.. They deserve full credit for making this game.. People moaning about the inferior smartphone versions should really stop.. It's 39.99 for a reason not 79p from a silly app store.. This is an incredible coding feat...I have assassins creed liberation another amazing game, but need for speed most wanted will be getting most of my spare time because it's instantly fun to fire it up and put it back down..
    If this is a first generation ps vita Racing game imagine how cool a sequal will be two years down the line..
    For me I'd say buy it and you won't regret it, best game I've owned yet on any handheld..

    Now I have to stop writing this.. Back to nfs mw!!!
    Expand
  28. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I know that most of kids like racing games especially for 7 years old to 10 because some of the kids like cars even in the toys... So some of the kids when they have a gadget they always want a racing game this is the best game that can suit them... I think so it is greater than the first one because it is open world so you can travel around I really really liked this game even i don'tI know that most of kids like racing games especially for 7 years old to 10 because some of the kids like cars even in the toys... So some of the kids when they have a gadget they always want a racing game this is the best game that can suit them... I think so it is greater than the first one because it is open world so you can travel around I really really liked this game even i don't have one on the vita but when i watched it is so awesome... So thank you EA for such having great racing games. Expand
  29. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Best handheld racing game in history. More or less a mirror of the home console versions which are great games themselves. Only sacrifices a touch of visual fidelity, smaller multiplayer and less traffic.
  30. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Very close to the home console racing experience on a portable device. I personally prefer forza horizon but NFS MW is still great and fantastic on the vita
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 21, 2013
    78
    The new Most Wanted is no real "Most Wanted": It's an adventurous trip into the wide area of open world games without any string of story. For a quick drive the game is fun, but for a longer stay in Fairhaven it's missing a story and some guidance (apart from ongoing online matchmaking arenas).
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    85
    It really is a well-realized effort and serves a suitable replacement to the home experience. I'd highly suggest checking it out; it's certainly high on my list of Vita games that are worth owning.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    Many features are toned down in the Vita version, graphics, traffic and online functions for example. But that doesn't mean that the rest of the game is not good - in fact it's great. Especially due to the fact that it's designed around the portable format.