Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed: Most Wanted is an open world Racing game. The game is the 19th release in the long-running Need for Speed franchise, and the first for the PlayStation Vita. It hearkens back to the earliest games in the series as players compete in races with police unified against them. Races have a set beginning and end point, with the open world game design allowing players to complete each using whatever path they can find. Additional features of performance include a unique blend of Simulation and Arcade gameplay, social play options through the Autolog 2 feature, exciting multiplayer support, and a large selection of vehicles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    90
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted's impressive selection of vehicles and vast open world should satisfy your high-speed hunger. With an impressive multiplayer suite, slick gameplay, and stunning visuals, this racer is a real treat. If you're a fan of the genre, Criterion's latest deserves a place at the top of your personal most wanted list.
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    90
    Criterion has proved themselves as the first developer to really figure out the Vita and what can be done with it. Need for Speed Most Wanted is a must have for any Vita owner or any fan of racing games.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    89
    EA have proven with Most Wanted that the Vita is capable of much more than the likes of Call of Duty: Declassified or even Assassin's Creed III: Liberation, and Most Wanted should be at the top of your want-list for Vita as a result.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    An extremely impressive handheld version of a console hit, but one not without some serious compromises. Still, it's one of the best racers of the year and it's in your pocket. Can't complain.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Under the bonnet Need for Speed: Most Wanted offers a complete experience. A big city to race in and the original progression system lets you drive a lot of different cars. Autolog and Easydrive also make sure the next race is never far away. It does, however, takes necessary practice and concentration to get the very precise steering under control and the low resolution oncoming traffic will make you crash every now and again. Despite its faults Need for Speed: Most Wanted is the best and most complete race game for the Vita so far.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Criterion has managed to shoehorn the full console experience into the tiny PS Vita and the result is just wonderful. This is by far the best racing game for PS Vita.
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    60
    Criterion seems to have done the maximum in order to offer a similarly fun experience on the Vita than it did on the 360 and PS3. This version is impressive, has roughly the same content than the console ones. Its just slightly less beautiful and with fewer contestants in the races, but other than that, it's the same experience.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 57
  2. Negative: 5 out of 57
  1. uah
    Nov 5, 2012
    10
    @smellymetal Every time a kid compares a handheld game with a home console one, God kills a kitten.

    Please, please, think about the poor
    kittens that are lost :( Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Just bought this in the morning, fired up need for speed most wanted for the ps vita on the train going home..
    Now I have a few things to
    say.. Frankly if it will allo me it's this.. Totally aware of what the critics have been saying.. Looking at you ign! The graphics are fantastic, very close to ps3 Xbox versions.. Great lighting and effects.. It struck me and the early reviews appear to be correct, the roads wer sparse and barren, which kind of disappointed me.. But wait!! (when I got home I connected up to the wifi updated the game to see if there were any patches.. There is.. Graphical and stability fixes.. Correct me if I'm wrong but the amont of traffic in the game appears to have doubled or even tripled even.. I've noticed it.. The game is fantastic.. The sounds effects are amazing.. Accurate engine sounds.. Cars have a weighty feeling, slides/ handbrake turns are spot on too!! Already found 20 cars lots to do.. Online works wonderfully, even links up and carrys over to my ps3 games saves.. PEOPLE GET BEHIND THIS GAME AMD CRITERION.. They deserve full credit for making this game.. People moaning about the inferior smartphone versions should really stop.. It's 39.99 for a reason not 79p from a silly app store.. This is an incredible coding feat...I have assassins creed liberation another amazing game, but need for speed most wanted will be getting most of my spare time because it's instantly fun to fire it up and put it back down..
    If this is a first generation ps vita Racing game imagine how cool a sequal will be two years down the line..
    For me I'd say buy it and you won't regret it, best game I've owned yet on any handheld..

    Now I have to stop writing this.. Back to nfs mw!!!
    Collapse
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is really good game with the stunning graphics and amazing sound track well while the game is not as stunning as ps3 version it is still very good and a must by /////// my many lost because of you sony three perfect games in one day oh my god Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome racer. Ive never really been a fan of the NFS series, but this game blew me away. Stunning graphics and console quality that i never expected. A must buy for any racing fan. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    Nearly the exact same as the console counterpart. Great soundtrack, huge car variety, massive map and an insane amount of things to explore. Probably the best racing game I have played this year and it's portable... what's not to love ! Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Need For Speed Most Wanted stands out for it's outstanding graphics content and handling. But the city all the races take place in just feel so lifeless and generic. Did i mention almost every track looks the same? Not to mention the abuse of IAPs Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    2
    Sorry but Bad Bad Bad, Before you all shout I have played GT5, Forza, GT on the PSP, Ridgeracer etc finish endless games FPS so quite a few hours.

    I have spent 6 hours of playtime on Vita Most Wanted far far far to hard no settings for easy Hard even the Ford GT seems a good choice but one mistake you are out of the running!!! And endless upon endless restarts to try and win a real massive disappointment games should be for all for gods sake simple Easy, Medium and Hard. Will avoid NFS Games in the future :-(
    Yes I know you have the option in the Races but they should be marked Hard, Very hard and Impossible unless you wire the Vita directly to the brain of the producer! 3/10 Fed of wasting my money on games like this!
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews