Need for Speed: Most Wanted - A Criterion Game Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed: Most Wanted is an open world Racing game. The game is the 19th release in the long-running Need for Speed franchise, and the first for the PlayStation Vita. It hearkens back to the earliest games in the series as players compete in races with police unified against them.Need for Speed: Most Wanted is an open world Racing game. The game is the 19th release in the long-running Need for Speed franchise, and the first for the PlayStation Vita. It hearkens back to the earliest games in the series as players compete in races with police unified against them. Races have a set beginning and end point, with the open world game design allowing players to complete each using whatever path they can find. Additional features of performance include a unique blend of Simulation and Arcade gameplay, social play options through the Autolog 2 feature, exciting multiplayer support, and a large selection of vehicles. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    90
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted's impressive selection of vehicles and vast open world should satisfy your high-speed hunger. With an impressive multiplayer suite, slick gameplay, and stunning visuals, this racer is a real treat. If you're a fan of the genre, Criterion's latest deserves a place at the top of your personal most wanted list.
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    90
    Criterion has proved themselves as the first developer to really figure out the Vita and what can be done with it. Need for Speed Most Wanted is a must have for any Vita owner or any fan of racing games.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    89
    EA have proven with Most Wanted that the Vita is capable of much more than the likes of Call of Duty: Declassified or even Assassin's Creed III: Liberation, and Most Wanted should be at the top of your want-list for Vita as a result.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    An extremely impressive handheld version of a console hit, but one not without some serious compromises. Still, it's one of the best racers of the year and it's in your pocket. Can't complain.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Under the bonnet Need for Speed: Most Wanted offers a complete experience. A big city to race in and the original progression system lets you drive a lot of different cars. Autolog and Easydrive also make sure the next race is never far away. It does, however, takes necessary practice and concentration to get the very precise steering under control and the low resolution oncoming traffic will make you crash every now and again. Despite its faults Need for Speed: Most Wanted is the best and most complete race game for the Vita so far.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Criterion has managed to shoehorn the full console experience into the tiny PS Vita and the result is just wonderful. This is by far the best racing game for PS Vita.
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    60
    Criterion seems to have done the maximum in order to offer a similarly fun experience on the Vita than it did on the 360 and PS3. This version is impressive, has roughly the same content than the console ones. Its just slightly less beautiful and with fewer contestants in the races, but other than that, it's the same experience.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 64
  2. Negative: 5 out of 64
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I love racing games - so i may be a bit biased but this is a game I constantly go back to more than any other game on my vita. I love playingI love racing games - so i may be a bit biased but this is a game I constantly go back to more than any other game on my vita. I love playing with headphones because of the sounds of the engines and the screams of the tires on asphalt. This is a high class game. Its a bit like a pig with lipstick. Its still a pig, albeit a pretty one. The game looks great, its not current gen 'console quality' but it still looks great. Graphics alone i'd give it a 7.5/10. When you are stopped and really start to stare at the screen, the visuals start to fall apart. Foliage is a bit spares, the detail is a bit lame, and the textures are small. The cars themselves are beautiful, and they integrate damage in an interestingly optimized way. But where the visuals soar is when you're moving at 100+ MPH through the city and highways. The game flies beautifully and this is how the games was meant to be seen.

    The online connectivity of the games is amazing. Coming back a few days later to find a friend beat your track time or had a better launch through a billboard keeps you engaged in new ways. I find it so much fun to find a car I like and try to beat all the races with that car. I have only done 2 of the 10 most wanted races but there's so much content in this game. I love it! I can't recommend this game more highly if you like racing games. I was a huge fan of Ridge Racer - which had awesome online multiplayer. I loved the Rockstar Midnight Club series, and played the PSP version quite a bit on my vita, but with this racing game - I need no other right now.
    Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is really good game with the stunning graphics and amazing sound track well while the game is not as stunning as ps3 version it isthis game is really good game with the stunning graphics and amazing sound track well while the game is not as stunning as ps3 version it is still very good and a must by /////// my many lost because of you sony three perfect games in one day oh my god Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Loving this game! I loved the sandbox layout of Burnout Paradise and Criterion have done an excellent job recreating that on the Vita, withLoving this game! I loved the sandbox layout of Burnout Paradise and Criterion have done an excellent job recreating that on the Vita, with EA's blessing. Most negative comments I've seen were around it not being exactly like the ps3 version, which I find ludicrous. The fact they have a mini metropolis with no lag or reloading on a handheld is absolutely outstanding, and people of that opinion should perhaps compare to psp/ds instead to get a reality check. This is a phenomenal effort on a handheld, bring on the dlc! Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I' ve been playing this game for a few days and the only thing I can say is: wow!!! Good graphics, addictive gameplay and gorgeous online (noI' ve been playing this game for a few days and the only thing I can say is: wow!!! Good graphics, addictive gameplay and gorgeous online (no lag, fast...). How can this little device handle the whole map??? As I dont own a Ps3/xbox, the game suits perfect for me. Another question is which version you would pick up if you have both, home and portable consoles... Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Runs smoothly and feels fast enough, graphics are excellent with some minor flaws. Gameplay is very good, cars handle well and are controlledRuns smoothly and feels fast enough, graphics are excellent with some minor flaws. Gameplay is very good, cars handle well and are controlled well by the analogue stick. Plenty of content, many races and cars with billboards to smash all over the map. An impressive handheld version of a fun racing game, recommended. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    Based on the reviews (both user and critic) I'd been reading on metacritic for this game, I decided to go out and buy it. I'll get straightBased on the reviews (both user and critic) I'd been reading on metacritic for this game, I decided to go out and buy it. I'll get straight to the point and say that this game is not a perfect 10 by any means. I was expected to be blown away but in all honesty, I wasn't. The main bad points of the game are the inconsistent quality graphics (Sometimes excellent sometimes poor) and the handling of he cars themselves. During some of the more frantic moments, the framerate takes a hit as does the sound (stopping and starting, so annoying). Some people might say "what are you expecting from a handheld", go take a look at wipeout 2048 then you will realise the kind of graphics that can be achieved on a handheld. That said the sound of the cars and the music of the game is pretty good, and probably most importantly the gameplay is good as well. Its fun and enjoyable even if a little frustrating at times. So, it's my no means a 10 as it has it's flaws, but it's still a pretty good racer which will keep you occupied for a while. It's just not as amazing as everyone is making out. A solid 7 from me. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    2
    Sorry but Bad Bad Bad, Before you all shout I have played GT5, Forza, GT on the PSP, Ridgeracer etc finish endless games FPS so quite a fewSorry but Bad Bad Bad, Before you all shout I have played GT5, Forza, GT on the PSP, Ridgeracer etc finish endless games FPS so quite a few hours.

    I have spent 6 hours of playtime on Vita Most Wanted far far far to hard no settings for easy Hard even the Ford GT seems a good choice but one mistake you are out of the running!!! And endless upon endless restarts to try and win a real massive disappointment games should be for all for gods sake simple Easy, Medium and Hard. Will avoid NFS Games in the future :-(
    Yes I know you have the option in the Races but they should be marked Hard, Very hard and Impossible unless you wire the Vita directly to the brain of the producer! 3/10 Fed of wasting my money on games like this!
    Expand

See all 64 User Reviews