• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 2, 2012
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    90
    If you loved Little King's Story you should try this version. Differences are not huge, but enough to make you replay the adventure. A great choice if you enjoy this kind of games, and fully recommendable if you don't have any kind of previous experience.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    86
    Smart, funny, charming and beautiful. Needs a strategic brain, and requires patience, but otherwise great. [Dec 2012, p.99]
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    85
    Overall, New Little King's Story is an engaging combination of easy to master combat, bosses are a decent challenge, and building up your kingdom is as entertaining as the laws you can create.
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    85
    New Little King's Story is an incredible game that takes everything that we've seen so far in the strategy genre and pushes it even further. More content, same personality and great Vita adaptation.
  5. It's an addictive cycle, and every step has its own interesting challenges, RPG and strategy fans shouldn't let this little sleeper pass by. [Holiday 2012, p.81]
  6. 80
    It's a game that's easily recommended for those looking for something different and constantly complaining of the very similar games that flood the market.
  7. Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Some technology issues and a few uncertain design choices, many of which were already in Little King's Story, weigh a bit in last Konami's IP. But after all, New Little King's Story is deep in its mechanics, nice and very long. Merging an RPG with a RTS isn't easy, but the final result is commendable. Hail to the Little King!
  8. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    New Little King's Story should be commended for the way it amalgamates several complex genres into one fun and accessible package. It will almost certainly appeal to RPG fans more than real-time strategy veterans, but the elements it draws from both genres complement each other exceptionally well. Although players familiar with the Wii version will notice more than a few similarities, most of the comparisons drawn will no doubt be favourable.
  9. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    New Little King's Story is a tale worth telling. A great real-time strategy / role-playing hybrid, now on the go.
  10. Oct 1, 2012
    78
    Controls are quite responsive, graphics are cute and all in all, New Little King Story is probably the most fun I've had on the VITA in months!
  11. All of this you control, unfortunately, with the classic Vita controls. The touch screen can be used to navigate the games menus, but is not used during actual gameplay. Neither are any of the other unique capabilities of the Vita. [November 2012, p.90]
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    75
    One thing New Little King's Story does is offer diversity to the catalogue of the PlayStation Vita. The adventures of Corobo are fun, and the game is solid, it is addictive. Not a home run, but a very respectable title nonetheless.
  13. Oct 29, 2012
    75
    New Little King's Story is, just like its predecessor on the Wii, a lot of light entertainment in a huggable coat. But don't let its appearance fool you. Once you get into building your kingdom, playing it will be hard to resist. It's the ultimate proof that the fresh ideas and concepts work. All the more unfortunate that technical issues affect this otherwise great game.
  14. Oct 12, 2012
    75
    Overall, New Little King's Story is a good strategy role-playing game that's fun for the whole family. Despite some of the shortcomings, I still had a fun time with the game. If you missed it on Wii I definitely recommend giving New Little King's Story a go.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    This has gotta be my most favourite game atm! the rpg elements are great! the town building is fun! and everytime I pick this game up theThis has gotta be my most favourite game atm! the rpg elements are great! the town building is fun! and everytime I pick this game up the hours sink away. Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    My friend convinced me to get this and shockingly, it's totally worth it.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    Funny game, very original and cute...There are a lots of things you can collect, and lots of dlc you can purchase to improve skills in theFunny game, very original and cute...There are a lots of things you can collect, and lots of dlc you can purchase to improve skills in the game. But they still have lot to do, since vita got a touch screen, they should facilitate game control with this feature. Full Review »