Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Plus Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NINJA GAIDEN SIGMA 2 PLUS brings the most intense, action-packed ninja adventure to PS Vita with stunning graphics, new modes, and plenty of blood. In the game, Ryu Hayabusa, the iconic super ninja of the Ninja Gaiden franchise, returns to the Sigma series to prevent the resurrection of theNINJA GAIDEN SIGMA 2 PLUS brings the most intense, action-packed ninja adventure to PS Vita with stunning graphics, new modes, and plenty of blood. In the game, Ryu Hayabusa, the iconic super ninja of the Ninja Gaiden franchise, returns to the Sigma series to prevent the resurrection of the evil Archfiend by hunting down the Demon Statue stolen by the wicked Black Spider Ninja Clan. Players will battle from Tokyo to New York as Ryu encounters vicious enemies and acquires an extensive assortment of ninja weaponry along the way. The action lights up the Vita's impressive OLED screen with graphical quality exceeding the original Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus. An intuitive control system uses the front and rear touch screens and motion controls of the PS Vita, and new players will appreciate the inclusion of Hero Mode, which automatically boosts their attacks when their health is low. New modes include "Ninja Race," where players compete with enemies at breakneck speed to reach the end goal, and "Tag Mission," in which players can switch between two ninjas in real-time while defending the AI-controlled partner. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 23, 2013
    80
    A hugely compelling adaptation. [May 2013, p.109]
  2. Mar 2, 2013
    80
    Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2+ is an excellent game that makes the transition to the Vita quite well.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    79
    About as good as Ninja Gaiden Sigma is going to get.
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    70
    Compared to the PS3 version of the video game, Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Plus falls short with the graphical and framerate downgrades and a dearth of online features. It's also difficult to give credit to a game that's been revised over and over again for the last five years. Then again, it's still one of the best action titles for the handheld and it broadens the range of software available on a platform that sorely needs it. Besides, having more ninjas on your side is never a bad idea.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    65
    At its core, Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Plus isn't a bad action game. The action is still very combo-heavy and less tolerant of simple button-mashing tactics. The story is decent enough for those who can tolerate the typical plots of action-heavy anime, and there is a decent amount of gameplay to be had.
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    60
    At moments it can be wildly entertaining, but those moments come bundled with a terrible camera, uneven level design, and combat that tends to cheat you as often as it challenges you.
  7. Mar 20, 2013
    30
    The camera does not work well enough to capture everyone on screen at any one time. Much of the game was spent battling with the camera, in open spaces, spinning it around to find where the other unseen opponents were. It gets worse within enclosed spaces, when there’s little room to maneuver.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Yeah, I know, there is no co-op and Japanese Voices. But it's still Ninja Gaiden 2, you can't change this. It's fast, it's godamn hard and theYeah, I know, there is no co-op and Japanese Voices. But it's still Ninja Gaiden 2, you can't change this. It's fast, it's godamn hard and the story is cool. They even added gore that wasn't around in PS3 version. One of the best action games ever made that you can now take anywhere you want. If you haven't played it before it's a great opportunity. Enjoy Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    NGS+2 is an awesome game and if you have a Vita, you should own it. I don't know about all these bad reviews, but this is definitely one ofNGS+2 is an awesome game and if you have a Vita, you should own it. I don't know about all these bad reviews, but this is definitely one of the better Vita games I've bought. I mean come on, Ninja Gaiden on the go? I don't even see any lag issues, I'm on chapter 5 already and I think there was one part where it slowed down, for about 5 seconds? Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    whats wrong with all the reviewers, its a great game, i like 3ds and the vita and im lookng only bad reviews for the 2 consoles, there is awhats wrong with all the reviewers, its a great game, i like 3ds and the vita and im lookng only bad reviews for the 2 consoles, there is a lot of great but underrated games Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    Good visuals, smooth gameplay, no loading time, overall a very good port and if you haven't played the game before this is definitely a gameGood visuals, smooth gameplay, no loading time, overall a very good port and if you haven't played the game before this is definitely a game to pick up, it has a great combat system and decent story, and is one of the best "hack and slash's" around. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    This games is still awesome, just ignored about all reviews, just play it & have fun
    i just disappointed about cut-scene alternate costume is
    This games is still awesome, just ignored about all reviews, just play it & have fun
    i just disappointed about cut-scene alternate costume is not there, i hope Tecmo Team Ninja can bring the patch already....soon
    Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2014
    7
    Of course being on the vita, the game has performance issues. MAJOR. Slowdown is frequent and occasionally, the resolution will drop quite aOf course being on the vita, the game has performance issues. MAJOR. Slowdown is frequent and occasionally, the resolution will drop quite a bit for no reason and framerate issues are quite common too. Other than that, the game is the ninja gaiden sigma 2 that we all know and love. There are several additions too, them being the gore being back (YEAH!!!!), a time attack mode and co-op missions with an AI. No more online co-op this time round (boo!). If you don't mind performance issues like me, then by all means buy this game. If not, then I recommend passing this one up. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    0
    Ultimately, Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Plus is a case study that just because a game can be ported to a handheld doesn’t mean it necessarily should,Ultimately, Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Plus is a case study that just because a game can be ported to a handheld doesn’t mean it necessarily should, especially if it suffers from downgraded visuals, spotty framerate and imprecise controls. Newbie players who never played the console versions may end up less frustrated out of ignorance, but a game that originally relied on tight controls and smooth gameplay should not have to endure such drawbacks just for the sake of going portable. It may earn points as a novelty to have the game on the go, but the cost of portability is too much of a disservice for a great action game optimized for consoles. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews