User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 58
  2. Negative: 10 out of 58

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    It's very challenging, but very fun. It'll keep gamers occupied for a long time. The graphics are great, the mechanics are great, and Ryu is very responsive.
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Never played any ninja gaiden games before this but I'm definitely interested in the series now. I thought this was a lot of fun and lasted a pretty good while too. To be honest the same night I beat it I was already thinking about starting a new game. Just trying to debate whether to play hard mode or not, I feel like I had enough difficulty on normal. I think part of what makes this gameNever played any ninja gaiden games before this but I'm definitely interested in the series now. I thought this was a lot of fun and lasted a pretty good while too. To be honest the same night I beat it I was already thinking about starting a new game. Just trying to debate whether to play hard mode or not, I feel like I had enough difficulty on normal. I think part of what makes this game so enjoyable is that the enemies don't just blindly run for you and let you attack them. They actually fight back and defend themselves forcing you to have to outsmart them as well. It makes the combat more involved instead of just button mashing. Not only that but it feels like there's a good balance between exploration and combat so the game never really gets stale all the way to the end. The soundtrack is really good, the music caught my attention many times throughout the game. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    7
    This game provides a nice ninja experience that is focused on action. There are really two aspects of this game, the travel and the combat. As you travel through a level, you will need to use the walls to perform multiple jumps in order to traverse the heights. The combat is very action based and usually involves fights against multiple enemies. Personally, I would give this game a muchThis game provides a nice ninja experience that is focused on action. There are really two aspects of this game, the travel and the combat. As you travel through a level, you will need to use the walls to perform multiple jumps in order to traverse the heights. The combat is very action based and usually involves fights against multiple enemies. Personally, I would give this game a much lower score but instead, I try to rate it for what it is. It is an action game that involves a lot of repetition and button mashing to get through the levels. By way of comparison, Shinobido 2 is a much more interesting and engaging experience, despite it's frustrating combat controls. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    I´m sad that there are no reviews for this game, because it really kicks ass, the game is an exact port of the ps3 game, you get what you see, literally is ninja gaiden sigma with little things they put for the vita game, the game never slows is as fast paced and good looking as you remember and the controls are perfect, the ps vita is a machine designed to be a hardcoreI´m sad that there are no reviews for this game, because it really kicks ass, the game is an exact port of the ps3 game, you get what you see, literally is ninja gaiden sigma with little things they put for the vita game, the game never slows is as fast paced and good looking as you remember and the controls are perfect, the ps vita is a machine designed to be a hardcore experience, when i lost i never felt that the system didn't respond, this one is of my 3 top games for vita, the other 2 being uncharted and marvel vs capcom, if you are looking for an action or ninja gaiden game you should definitely pick this one up. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    I've played through two versions of this on the xbox and its follow up on the 360. This version has some issues that were not in the original. It pauses to load in the middle of fights which did not happen before and should not happen now, fighting the enemies is hard enough... fighting the loading as well is a real **** This also causes enemies to re-spawn as soon as they are defeated inI've played through two versions of this on the xbox and its follow up on the 360. This version has some issues that were not in the original. It pauses to load in the middle of fights which did not happen before and should not happen now, fighting the enemies is hard enough... fighting the loading as well is a real **** This also causes enemies to re-spawn as soon as they are defeated in areas where their spawn point is close to a loading point... The new touch additions are a pain in the ass rather than an enhancement, its easy to touch the screen by accident as the left thumb-stick is too close to it resulting in a first person view when you least want it. The right thumb-stick also hinders the buttons above it so I never used the guillotine throw during this play-through. They may have removed a save point prior to the fight with Alma in the cathedral, I could be wrong but I don't remember such an awful trek back to this difficult fight when I lost in the older versions? There are now more life bar boosts than the game will allow the use of which is poor... The final chapter has always been frustrating but I thought when you got out of the volcano in the original that, should you lose the final fight, it would restart you at the fight rather than at the bottom of the bloody volcano, again I might be wrong. Either way you would not play through this chapter if it were near the start, you would turn the game off and trade it in for as little as a £1. To top this off once completed it just throws you back to the title screen after the credits have rolled with no final save, so you can't go through it again with all your gear etc... WHY!!! A very bad port of a great game, a bit of modern TLC could have made a big difference... instead the conversion team who got hold of this have taken a butchers cleaver to it and hacked it up. Probably the same guys who made Ninja Gaiden 3! Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    well.. This game doesnt have much reviews but is a great game... its real challenging and fun... i mean.. this is the first ninja gaiden ive ever played so im not that familiar with the gameplay... But it definitely became one of the best games in the vita ive played... Not to get me wrong... It could have used more work and the in-game loadings could get annoying (or is it just that mywell.. This game doesnt have much reviews but is a great game... its real challenging and fun... i mean.. this is the first ninja gaiden ive ever played so im not that familiar with the gameplay... But it definitely became one of the best games in the vita ive played... Not to get me wrong... It could have used more work and the in-game loadings could get annoying (or is it just that my vita has a problem) but it still is worth buying if your into hard games... Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Well, I have to say that Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus is the only game that satisfied me in all vita games from the day PS vita released until now. I never played any Ninja Gaiden games before and this Vita game is my first try in the series. The graphic in this game may not be the same level as the PS3 version, but all characters and elements looks sharp and beautiful with vita's OLED screen.Well, I have to say that Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus is the only game that satisfied me in all vita games from the day PS vita released until now. I never played any Ninja Gaiden games before and this Vita game is my first try in the series. The graphic in this game may not be the same level as the PS3 version, but all characters and elements looks sharp and beautiful with vita's OLED screen. The Gameplay in this game is very awesome, fast and fluid. You can combine lots of different actions together to finish everyone who stands in front of Ryu. The contents in this game are abundant with the story mode and lots of Challenge mode. You don't worry about finishing this game in several hour and beginning to feel bored. Though this game is a little hard for beginners, it's still a must play for those who didn't play Ninja Gaiden before and also love playing action games. Expand
  8. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Same great game I remember for the Xbox. Great graphics and smooth gameplay. Difficulty meant for an old school gamer that is used to really being skilled at a game in order to pass it. Camera works way better than it did back on Xbox. Have had a blast revisiting and enjoying the great work done on this remake of a classic game. If you are up for a challenge this is definitely the game for you.
  9. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    Brilliant Game for the Vita I am one of the few that missed this the first time round I was never an xbox fan; PS1, PS2, PC and PS3 although i have seen the light and got a 360 eventually roll on next gen Its a tough game but you can get by with less skill and persistence. The game tests you and lets you develop your skills regularly adding upgrades/weapons/moves. Each fight can beBrilliant Game for the Vita I am one of the few that missed this the first time round I was never an xbox fan; PS1, PS2, PC and PS3 although i have seen the light and got a 360 eventually roll on next gen Its a tough game but you can get by with less skill and persistence. The game tests you and lets you develop your skills regularly adding upgrades/weapons/moves. Each fight can be fatal in a dark souls kinda way maybe not quite that tough but us old skool gamers like a challenge!

    Action, fighting, combos, good boss fights, whacky story very minor camera issues and unnecessary touchscreen stuff but this does not detract form an A* game which you can really tell was made to the highest standard when it was developed. Worth a play for anyone currently one of the best Vita titles.
    Expand
  10. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    Ninja Gaiden was my favorite game for the old Xbox, so when it was released for PS Vita as Ninja Gaiden Sigma plus i had to have it. And i must say, that even though not much except besides the graphics (Wich has gotten quite an remarkable uplift) has changed. The game design and gameplay still holds up till this days standard. Have you played Ninja Gaiden before there isn´t much newNinja Gaiden was my favorite game for the old Xbox, so when it was released for PS Vita as Ninja Gaiden Sigma plus i had to have it. And i must say, that even though not much except besides the graphics (Wich has gotten quite an remarkable uplift) has changed. The game design and gameplay still holds up till this days standard. Have you played Ninja Gaiden before there isn´t much new here, but if you haven´t played it, you will definitely get some bang for your bucks. Expand
  11. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    a highly underrated game, suitable for hardcore action gamers.

    How ps vita many games have this degree of responsiveness, and AI. The learning curve is gradual then steep then the mastery becomes enjoyable. Graphics are smooth and fast and the sword slashing becomes a course of mini beatemups. levels are well designed and the userr can explore and interact well. For me it beats all
    a highly underrated game, suitable for hardcore action gamers.

    How ps vita many games have this degree of responsiveness, and AI. The learning curve is gradual then steep then the mastery becomes enjoyable. Graphics are smooth and fast and the sword slashing becomes a course of mini beatemups. levels are well designed and the userr can explore and interact well.

    For me it beats all the swathe of repetitive and commercial childish cartoon like games for handhelds. This game is one of the few games that can appeal to adults.

    If you have played this on the xbox, i can understand how this vita game adds little. But if you haven't played a ninja gaiden title, you will find this hard to put down.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    60
    Compromised on a technical level, Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus is not as polished of a port as it deserved to be (and probably could have been if the publisher was not so adamant about shipping the game in time for the Vita's launch). Some solace is taken in the fact that, at the very least, we finally have a workable version of a 3D Ninja Gaiden game running in the palm of our hands, but it still leaves you feeling let down by the whole sloppy affair.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    72
    Fun and a solid challenge, but lacking in some respects, showing its age, sometimes unfair and with pointless Vita-specific controls. [Issue#217, p.81]
  3. For the skim readers out there; there are two ninja launch titles for Vita. This one cuts the other one a new butt crack. [April 2012, p80]