• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Aug 13, 2013
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    90
    It's simple, yet challenging, and although it seems low-tech, it actually gives you some rather high-tech contraptions to overcome. It's not just one of the best AR games available, but one of the most fun, challenging, and satisfying puzzle titles on the Vita in general.
  2. 90
    Fun, challenging and addictive, OPEN ME! proves that augmented reality gaming isn't just a gimmick.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    82
    Puzzles and Augmented Reality? Yes! Sony delivers another incredible experience for PS Vita. Open Me! It´s a game so unique and fun to play that you cannot pass up.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    80
    A great idea that shows it's possible to create solid AR games if you have imagination and you are a bit crazy. There are some minor issues with the camera, but it works extremely well for the most part and it's a smart and challenging puzzle game. Just be aware you're gonna look like an idiot while playing it.
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Open Me! is the puzzle game that you do not expect. Backed by simple idea, offers a stimulating experience for everyone.
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    Open Me is tough but a ton of fun. Solving the puzzles is an enormously satisfying experience, and the online creation aspect is a brilliant idea. The augmented reality can be a touch finicky in places, but creative design ensures that the title eschews the gimmicky nature of similar releases. Don't be a square and give this one a go.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    80
    If you like either puzzles or AR, you should try it. If you like both, then you're going to love this. It's a nice surprise for those who want to play in a different way.
  8. Aug 15, 2013
    80
    A showpiece for AR technology, this workout for your brain (and, occasionally, your body) is a downloadable treat no self-respecting Vita-owning puzzle fan should be without.
  9. Sep 18, 2013
    78
    A slickly enjoyable experience. [Nov 2013, p.71]
  10. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    You can't go wrong with this strangely addictive puzzle game. It's without a doubt the best AR game on the PS Vita - with enough charm to offset the potential ache in your muscles.
  11. Japan Studio succeeded in making the best Augmented Reality game for the PlayStation Vita, even though that is not much of an accomplishment seeing how little most games use this feature. [October 2013 p.90]
  12. Sep 1, 2013
    70
    As a pure puzzler though Open Me! delivers and if you like a good head scratch then you could do far worse than trying to poke your way through this set of boxes.
  13. Aug 23, 2013
    70
    Without a doubt the best AR game on the PS Vita. It’s challenging, diverse and addictive.
  14. Aug 21, 2013
    70
    Sure, Open Me! isn’t thrilling in terms of graphics, but the puzzles here aren’t child’s play and other than a few hiccups that the tech can’t escape, it’s a responsive effort.
  15. Sep 18, 2013
    55
    Open Me! is a smart puzzle game plagued by annoying technical issues and quite a shallow replayability.
  16. Sep 3, 2013
    50
    Unlike iOS title The Room, here intricacy proves a weakness, and Open Me doesn’t have the rich atmosphere of Fireproof Games’ award-winning puzzler to compensate for its mechanical awkwardness.
  17. Aug 19, 2013
    50
    Awkward controls and other flaws make it hard to appreciate the innovative and devious puzzles in Open Me.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    4
    It is highly original, it uses all of Vita's capabilities and it is suited to the machine, it's quite addictive and it's the best AR experience. With that said... it' s a pretty poor package for its price, it last very little, it has its share of technical problems and its gameplay can be somewhat awkward.

    It's a nice piece of puzzler and some some pretty creative ideas, but the package isn't good.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This game is great for chilrden! the puzzle solving isent to hard and it have a nice look on it, i would say its really worth it if you have a young child in your household. Full Review »