• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 635 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Persona 4: The Golden is a remastered version of PS2 classic Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    100
    The young Persona 4 hero thought he would spend a peaceful year, far from his parents, when he was transferred to that small Japanese town... But murders, spirits, mysteries and RPG are never far away when Atlus decides to make a new Persona game. Persona 4 The Golden is undoubtedly the most exciting and baroque adventure on PS Vita, fully packed with brilliant ideas that will let you experience a totally awesome school year.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    It's the tightest, best-written, and most must-play game Atlus has ever created. Persona 4 started as a strong, singular RPG; with Persona 4 Golden, it is a masterpiece.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    100
    Persona 4 Golden is so much more than just a mere game, it’s a wonderful experience that grabs you by the beard hairs and drags you in, dominating your spare time and idle thoughts until you have reached that ending.
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    94
    Golden is technically the fifth iteration of a formula established with Persona 3 but it feels just as appealing and engaging now as it did four years ago. No one else (literally) is making games like this and if you've somehow avoided a modern day Persona title you owe it to yourself to give Golden a shot. It's sweet icing on a delicious cake.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is part detective novel, part teenage simulation and part asian RPG – all being important pieces which combine to create some of the most memorable and entertaining moments I’ve ever had with a JRPG.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Persona 4: Golden is the perfect example of a well-done remake. Atlus expanded the already awesome original experience, enhancing the graphics and adding high quality extra contents. This is one of the most interesting PlayStation Vita games.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    As much as I found myself groaning through the parts I knew I would dislike-namely, the grinding and overwhelming sense of repetition that emanates from combat and time management-I grew to respect Persona 4: Golden. I can't say I completely enjoyed my time with the game, but I'm not the kind of person who would be interested in buying it. Those who are will find an admirably polished JRPG and a welcome addition to their burgeoning Vita library.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 149
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    A superb game if only more developers took inspiration from Atlus. Feels very original and is very immersive with excellent charact design and fun combat. A must on Vita Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    An absolutely fantastic game! While Atlus seems to know how to improve upon a great game, there are still tiny quirks that bother me a bit. Things like unmoving mouths during speech and the fact that the people don't seem to know what anti-aliasing is bother me a bit, but no game is perfect. The fact remains that this game is a fantastic RPG with well-written characters and a combat system with enough strategy and flair to keep battles interesting even after you're 50+ hours into this title Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    A perfect recreation of an all time classic, with amazing extra features this is something you don't want too miss, defs the reason to own a vita for those yet to pick one up. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    A lot of games interest me for a few hours and then ultimately lose me. I never return. P4G has been an exception. 25+ hours into the game and it still feels fresh. Sure, some of the dialogue is hokey and borderline offensive, but the game still has charm. Looking forward to seeing how the story unfolds. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Let me start off be saying that I typically do not care for JRPGs, but this game that I thought might take several months to beat is so deep, so well-voiced and so content-rich that I couldn't put it down, plowing through the whole story (70 hours or so) in just a few weeks.

    Any game that can make you excited about reading a book or attending basketball practice must be doing something right. The voice actors are phenomenal. The dungeon-crawling gameplay is challenging but fair (with a few minor but completely unavoidable exceptions). The story can be a little absurd at times, but it is a hell of a lot of fun to work through.

    This game is an absolute must-play for anyone, regardless of your preferences. If you have a Vita and haven't played this game yet, you're doing things wrong.
    Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This new rendition of a great classic, became the GREATEST one to date. Everything. I mean everything, that I wanted from an RPG game is here. I could never stress out how much I'm astonished by playing this... "thing" (is it a port? is it a remake? I can't describe its uniqueness). By all means, this game is legendary on all levels and attained a better position than its PS2 counterpart. With all the new features such as the "online mode" stacked into one already-great game, this updated version is worth my every buck. In short, I got more than what I paid for. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    1
    The game has long stretches of gameplay without save points and I've had it hang twice now on certain menu screens. I've lost about 12 hours of time due to this bug, and I'm absolutely disgusted that this was allowed to be put into the final product. Expand

See all 149 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games Image
    Published: June 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PlayStation Vita.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.