• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 685 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Persona 4: The Golden is a remastered version of PS2 classic Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    100
    The young Persona 4 hero thought he would spend a peaceful year, far from his parents, when he was transferred to that small Japanese town... But murders, spirits, mysteries and RPG are never far away when Atlus decides to make a new Persona game. Persona 4 The Golden is undoubtedly the most exciting and baroque adventure on PS Vita, fully packed with brilliant ideas that will let you experience a totally awesome school year.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    It's the tightest, best-written, and most must-play game Atlus has ever created. Persona 4 started as a strong, singular RPG; with Persona 4 Golden, it is a masterpiece.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    100
    Persona 4 Golden is so much more than just a mere game, it’s a wonderful experience that grabs you by the beard hairs and drags you in, dominating your spare time and idle thoughts until you have reached that ending.
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    94
    Golden is technically the fifth iteration of a formula established with Persona 3 but it feels just as appealing and engaging now as it did four years ago. No one else (literally) is making games like this and if you've somehow avoided a modern day Persona title you owe it to yourself to give Golden a shot. It's sweet icing on a delicious cake.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is part detective novel, part teenage simulation and part asian RPG – all being important pieces which combine to create some of the most memorable and entertaining moments I’ve ever had with a JRPG.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Persona 4: Golden is the perfect example of a well-done remake. Atlus expanded the already awesome original experience, enhancing the graphics and adding high quality extra contents. This is one of the most interesting PlayStation Vita games.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    As much as I found myself groaning through the parts I knew I would dislike-namely, the grinding and overwhelming sense of repetition that emanates from combat and time management-I grew to respect Persona 4: Golden. I can't say I completely enjoyed my time with the game, but I'm not the kind of person who would be interested in buying it. Those who are will find an admirably polished JRPG and a welcome addition to their burgeoning Vita library.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 157
  1. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    Wow, just wow! Probably the best game of all time! Nothing comes close. Quality surpasses anything I've ever seen. People who dislike this game probably hate JRPG's. Western gaming culture will never come close to this. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likreMore like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    A perfect recreation of an all time classic, with amazing extra features this is something you don't want too miss, defs the reason to own a vita for those yet to pick one up. Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    I'm usually not one for JRPGS. I'm terrible at micromanaging and have a tendency to not see a 60 hour campaign to its entirety. That being said, Persona 4 Golden is one of my favorite RPGs ever. I haven't felt this strongly about a group of characters since Mass Effect 2. This game alone is worth buying a Vita for. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    The first time I heard about persona 4 was from a friend who watched persona 4 the animation and convinced me to watch it, needless to say I was hooked and when I heard it was based on a game I had to buy it. Getting persona 4 Golden was the best decision I made. This game has to be the best JRPG I have ever played in my life I am hooked. I definitely recommend this for anyone who is into JRPG Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Never before have I become so invested in an rpg, everything about this game reeks of style and charm, It is hard to explain the emotional impact of persona 4, that I think is the games greatest strength, if you have any anti-anime bias, its time to get over it, because you are missing out on a true classic... Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    1
    The game has long stretches of gameplay without save points and I've had it hang twice now on certain menu screens. I've lost about 12 hours of time due to this bug, and I'm absolutely disgusted that this was allowed to be put into the final product. Collapse

See all 157 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games Image
    Published: September 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PlayStation Vita.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.