Persona 4 Golden PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Persona 4 Golden Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1238 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Persona 4: The Golden is a remastered version of PS2 classic Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    100
    The young Persona 4 hero thought he would spend a peaceful year, far from his parents, when he was transferred to that small Japanese town... But murders, spirits, mysteries and RPG are never far away when Atlus decides to make a new Persona game. Persona 4 The Golden is undoubtedly the most exciting and baroque adventure on PS Vita, fully packed with brilliant ideas that will let you experience a totally awesome school year.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    It's the tightest, best-written, and most must-play game Atlus has ever created. Persona 4 started as a strong, singular RPG; with Persona 4 Golden, it is a masterpiece.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    100
    Persona 4 Golden is so much more than just a mere game, it’s a wonderful experience that grabs you by the beard hairs and drags you in, dominating your spare time and idle thoughts until you have reached that ending.
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    94
    Golden is technically the fifth iteration of a formula established with Persona 3 but it feels just as appealing and engaging now as it did four years ago. No one else (literally) is making games like this and if you've somehow avoided a modern day Persona title you owe it to yourself to give Golden a shot. It's sweet icing on a delicious cake.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is part detective novel, part teenage simulation and part asian RPG – all being important pieces which combine to create some of the most memorable and entertaining moments I’ve ever had with a JRPG.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Persona 4: Golden is the perfect example of a well-done remake. Atlus expanded the already awesome original experience, enhancing the graphics and adding high quality extra contents. This is one of the most interesting PlayStation Vita games.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    As much as I found myself groaning through the parts I knew I would dislike-namely, the grinding and overwhelming sense of repetition that emanates from combat and time management-I grew to respect Persona 4: Golden. I can't say I completely enjoyed my time with the game, but I'm not the kind of person who would be interested in buying it. Those who are will find an admirably polished JRPG and a welcome addition to their burgeoning Vita library.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 209
  1. Sep 11, 2016
    10
    Never have I played a game like this.

    The story, the music, the characters, everything, just everything verge on perfection. At first, i
    Never have I played a game like this.

    The story, the music, the characters, everything, just everything verge on perfection.

    At first, i was hesitant buying a Vita for it (no real reason to do so really) but every tear i shed while playing this game...every tear made every penny more then worth.

    Epic. just epic. Be prepared to become an emotional wreck for as long as your formidable adventure will last savoring this masterpiece. A-ABSOLUTELY-MUST-BUY!
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    Persona 4 is the epitome of a game gone 'perfect.' It bears no flaws, and shows no sign of incompetency; it reeks of polish. This is no morePersona 4 is the epitome of a game gone 'perfect.' It bears no flaws, and shows no sign of incompetency; it reeks of polish. This is no more evident than in the game's fantastic presentation. Menu's sparkle, character-art pops and the music fits each mood perfectly. The gameplay is split into two separate parts, combat and socializing. During most months a schoolmate of yours will be kidnapped and thrown into a mysterious TV world and it will be your responsibility to head into the TV world and rescue them. Inside you will battle hideous creatures known as 'shadows' the rejected emotions we all carry within ourselves personified. The combat's surface-level simplicity actually makes the overall experience much deeper and more strategic. There are clearly layed out attacks, and very few complications. (Fire-attack, wind-attack, physical-attack,) but that means that instead of focusing on move-advantage during combat you focus on the general strategies at play. It's up to you to decide on how you want each battle to play out, since almost all enemies in the game can be killed near instantly most well placed attacks will do it. But since you too can die near instantaneously it can often be a difficult decision between deciding whether or not you want to go all in and rush a battle and risk a misstep and getting hammered, or playing it safe and risk drawing the battle on for far too long. The game is merciless, which is made no more evident than in the boss fights, where it feels like more of a game of 'how many walls can I put between my enemy and me?' It's a well thought out survival. The second portion of the game comes in these 'socializing' sections. The game has a heavy theme based around friendship, and it is the bonds you forge with others that make you more powerful. This may seem like a cheesy idea but it's handled with such maturity and such depth that it feels more than just your typical 'friendship is magic' type trope. So when you're not battling shadows, you're usually trying to power up your social-links by spending time with your friends. Each time a schoolmate of yours is kidnapped you only have a limited amount of time to save them, and it's completely up to you on how to spend that time. Preparation is key, but so is relaxation. One day you may be training, than buying equipment, hanging out with friends... and then another day you might be fishing or gardening for life-saving vegetables. The story is expertly written, with likable characters, an interesting villain and a massive array of plot-twists and subtle themes including a particularly interesting conflict of ideologies near the end. I won't spoil any of it for you here though. All and all, everything looks nice, plays nice and sounds nice with the voice acting being a major highlight of the game. If you don't like RPGs, Persona is certainly not going to change your mind on that. It really is a typical turn-based rpg at its heart, but the surrounding elements are what make it flawless. Persona 4 Golden is certainly deserving of a perfect score; just, do yourself a favour and watch neither of the anime adaptions. They're terrible. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    A perfect recreation of an all time classic, with amazing extra features this is something you don't want too miss, defs the reason to own aA perfect recreation of an all time classic, with amazing extra features this is something you don't want too miss, defs the reason to own a vita for those yet to pick one up. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Just finished Persona 4 The Golden last night. I must admit that this game is a MASTERPIECE. I'll say it upfront, i'm giving this game aJust finished Persona 4 The Golden last night. I must admit that this game is a MASTERPIECE. I'll say it upfront, i'm giving this game a 10/10. I enjoyed the game very much.

    The story about a young boy who was sent to live with his uncle in the countryside, Inaba Town. He will have to live there for a year. The first time he arrived, lots of rumor about the midnight channel and people missing. What exactly happened in Inaba & what's our hero role in all of this? Play and find it out.

    Plus point:
    - This game has like every aspect to make the game enjoyable. First of all, a strong main story. I mean yeah, you are a high schooler who is a student at days while playing the role of a guy who can summon persona and whack the ass of Shadows? That's pretty much cool. And not just that, we got lines of strong supporting characters. You could unfold what happened in Inaba, searching for the truth or stop at the false truth, it's all up to you. Because the fate of the story is in your hand.
    - Social links & normal life! Supporting characters are not just supporting characters, you can actually bond with them and get extra side story. Our hero is a high school student, so it's just normal to have activities outside school. You can go on a date, hang out with your friends, find a girlfriend, eat at the restaurant, learn more about your friends, you can do part time jobs, read books, make lunch, etc. This makes the game just real and we can relate it to our life as well.
    - Music! Shoji Meguro is definitely a genius. He writes most of the songs for the Megami Tensei series and yes, this game has addictive music. The battle music, theme song, background music, it's just awesome. It makes you enjoy the game more than ever.
    - Persona 4 The Golden is like a complete edition of Persona 4. At first i thought just some extra scene and a little upgrade. I was wrong. The new shuffle system, extra scene of going skiing, going to beach, festival & stuffs? It's just awesome. New social link like Marie and her true story? That's just awesome. This is my 2nd time playing it and i'm still amazed by the new contents. Costumes, Riding Bike, 3rd Evolution. Epilogue showing how's your friend a year later, & etc. Thumbs up Atlus, just...awesome.

    Minus Point:
    - Seriously? None. But if i have to point it out. You can get the "True" True Ending only if you play it the 2nd time. Well, most people would love to play it again. But not for me, uh-uh. I don't like playing the whole game for the 2nd time. But by playing it the 2nd time, that means you can get the other Social Link that you haven't got the first time. Well it's all about perspective though.

    After all i REALLY....REALLY recommend you to buy this game if you own a Vita. This game is a masterpiece and you GOT to have this game. 10/10, nuff said & just grab the f*cking game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I never played a Persona before, closest I've got was Devil Survivor Overclocked on the 3DS which wasn't a great hit for me, tbh. But this isI never played a Persona before, closest I've got was Devil Survivor Overclocked on the 3DS which wasn't a great hit for me, tbh. But this is dang. Definitely one of the best, if not the very best, J-RPG I've ever played. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    The first time I heard about persona 4 was from a friend who watched persona 4 the animation and convinced me to watch it, needless to say IThe first time I heard about persona 4 was from a friend who watched persona 4 the animation and convinced me to watch it, needless to say I was hooked and when I heard it was based on a game I had to buy it. Getting persona 4 Golden was the best decision I made. This game has to be the best JRPG I have ever played in my life I am hooked. I definitely recommend this for anyone who is into JRPG Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2016
    0
    Quite possibly the worst JRPG in the history of gaming. Old outdated gameplay, very bad graphics (you might actually go blind from the awefulQuite possibly the worst JRPG in the history of gaming. Old outdated gameplay, very bad graphics (you might actually go blind from the aweful design. I do not recommend at all! Expand

See all 209 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2016
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PlayStation Vita.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.