Persona 4 Golden PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Persona 4 Golden Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1334 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Persona 4: The Golden is a remastered version of PS2 classic Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    100
    The young Persona 4 hero thought he would spend a peaceful year, far from his parents, when he was transferred to that small Japanese town... But murders, spirits, mysteries and RPG are never far away when Atlus decides to make a new Persona game. Persona 4 The Golden is undoubtedly the most exciting and baroque adventure on PS Vita, fully packed with brilliant ideas that will let you experience a totally awesome school year.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    It's the tightest, best-written, and most must-play game Atlus has ever created. Persona 4 started as a strong, singular RPG; with Persona 4 Golden, it is a masterpiece.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    100
    Persona 4 Golden is so much more than just a mere game, it’s a wonderful experience that grabs you by the beard hairs and drags you in, dominating your spare time and idle thoughts until you have reached that ending.
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    94
    Golden is technically the fifth iteration of a formula established with Persona 3 but it feels just as appealing and engaging now as it did four years ago. No one else (literally) is making games like this and if you've somehow avoided a modern day Persona title you owe it to yourself to give Golden a shot. It's sweet icing on a delicious cake.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is part detective novel, part teenage simulation and part asian RPG – all being important pieces which combine to create some of the most memorable and entertaining moments I’ve ever had with a JRPG.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Persona 4: Golden is the perfect example of a well-done remake. Atlus expanded the already awesome original experience, enhancing the graphics and adding high quality extra contents. This is one of the most interesting PlayStation Vita games.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    As much as I found myself groaning through the parts I knew I would dislike-namely, the grinding and overwhelming sense of repetition that emanates from combat and time management-I grew to respect Persona 4: Golden. I can't say I completely enjoyed my time with the game, but I'm not the kind of person who would be interested in buying it. Those who are will find an admirably polished JRPG and a welcome addition to their burgeoning Vita library.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 216
  1. Apr 11, 2017
    10
    I bought a PSTV just to play this; it was definitely worth it. The Persona series as a whole is really in a class of its own. They are simplyI bought a PSTV just to play this; it was definitely worth it. The Persona series as a whole is really in a class of its own. They are simply that good, and the stories and characters that engaging. Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    Persona 4 is the epitome of a game gone 'perfect.' It bears no flaws, and shows no sign of incompetency; it reeks of polish. This is no morePersona 4 is the epitome of a game gone 'perfect.' It bears no flaws, and shows no sign of incompetency; it reeks of polish. This is no more evident than in the game's fantastic presentation. Menu's sparkle, character-art pops and the music fits each mood perfectly. The gameplay is split into two separate parts, combat and socializing. During most months a schoolmate of yours will be kidnapped and thrown into a mysterious TV world and it will be your responsibility to head into the TV world and rescue them. Inside you will battle hideous creatures known as 'shadows' the rejected emotions we all carry within ourselves personified. The combat's surface-level simplicity actually makes the overall experience much deeper and more strategic. There are clearly layed out attacks, and very few complications. (Fire-attack, wind-attack, physical-attack,) but that means that instead of focusing on move-advantage during combat you focus on the general strategies at play. It's up to you to decide on how you want each battle to play out, since almost all enemies in the game can be killed near instantly most well placed attacks will do it. But since you too can die near instantaneously it can often be a difficult decision between deciding whether or not you want to go all in and rush a battle and risk a misstep and getting hammered, or playing it safe and risk drawing the battle on for far too long. The game is merciless, which is made no more evident than in the boss fights, where it feels like more of a game of 'how many walls can I put between my enemy and me?' It's a well thought out survival. The second portion of the game comes in these 'socializing' sections. The game has a heavy theme based around friendship, and it is the bonds you forge with others that make you more powerful. This may seem like a cheesy idea but it's handled with such maturity and such depth that it feels more than just your typical 'friendship is magic' type trope. So when you're not battling shadows, you're usually trying to power up your social-links by spending time with your friends. Each time a schoolmate of yours is kidnapped you only have a limited amount of time to save them, and it's completely up to you on how to spend that time. Preparation is key, but so is relaxation. One day you may be training, than buying equipment, hanging out with friends... and then another day you might be fishing or gardening for life-saving vegetables. The story is expertly written, with likable characters, an interesting villain and a massive array of plot-twists and subtle themes including a particularly interesting conflict of ideologies near the end. I won't spoil any of it for you here though. All and all, everything looks nice, plays nice and sounds nice with the voice acting being a major highlight of the game. If you don't like RPGs, Persona is certainly not going to change your mind on that. It really is a typical turn-based rpg at its heart, but the surrounding elements are what make it flawless. Persona 4 Golden is certainly deserving of a perfect score; just, do yourself a favour and watch neither of the anime adaptions. They're terrible. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    A perfect recreation of an all time classic, with amazing extra features this is something you don't want too miss, defs the reason to own aA perfect recreation of an all time classic, with amazing extra features this is something you don't want too miss, defs the reason to own a vita for those yet to pick one up. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like morePlzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likreMore like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre More like more likre Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Persona 4 Golden is what i would call, is a game close to perfection (Yes, it is my favorite game of all time)

    I have not played any of
    Persona 4 Golden is what i would call, is a game close to perfection (Yes, it is my favorite game of all time)

    I have not played any of the early realises nor have i played the original PS2 edition. It was just a coincidence i brought it. I had a PS Vita, which was lacking good games, I saw that P4G got great reviews, and i thought why not? And I don't like playing Turn Based RPGs, i brought it from pure curiosity.

    P4G opened my eyes to something new, i now find turn based gameplay more tolerating and I've fallen got an bigger eye open for games and Anime from Japan.

    I was laughing with the characters, crying, and i even got true feelings for them. P4G is a emotional rollercoaster that keeps you attached to the characters and the world all the way towards the end.

    The Good:
    - Amazing visuals
    - Great voice acting
    - Best writing in gaming history
    - Easy gameplay
    - 100+ Hours of gameplay

    The Bad:
    - You lose your life (The real one)

    I know this review wont be convincing, but really i beg you to try it out. Its the perfect console seller, so buy a PS Vita just for this game!
    Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    I honestly can say that Persona 4 has to be of the greatest RPGS ever made if not the one of the best games ever created.... With that beingI honestly can say that Persona 4 has to be of the greatest RPGS ever made if not the one of the best games ever created.... With that being said I would have to put this up with any final fantasy ever made including FINAL FANTASY 7. So yeah I definitely think you should buy this game if you haven't already. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2016
    0
    Quite possibly the worst JRPG in the history of gaming. Old outdated gameplay, very bad graphics (you might actually go blind from the awefulQuite possibly the worst JRPG in the history of gaming. Old outdated gameplay, very bad graphics (you might actually go blind from the aweful design. I do not recommend at all! Expand

See all 216 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games Image
    Published: April 2, 2017
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PlayStation Vita.
  2. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  3. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.