Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    If you own a Vita, there’s really no reason why you should not have this game.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    90
    A splendid port for one of the best tower defense titles of all time. If you already have played the game in its previous incarnations, though, be aware: apart from the trophy list and the unnecessary touch controls, there's nothing really new here.
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    90
    PixelJunk Monsters: Ultimate HD is, at the end of the day, a game that won’t be to everyone’s tastes. If you have played every version of the series before this, you may find the challenge a little lacking, as you would have seen all the levels before. You do need to be a fan of the Tower Defense genre as there is nothing new on offer, but even with a passing interest in the genre, you will find this game a rewarding challenge from start to finish.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    90
    It’s more than 70 levels of superb tower defense that you can play wherever and whenever you want. Sure, I wish co-op carried over to single-player, that the difficulty spikes weren’t so maddening, and that there was a new island of levels, but that doesn’t take away from how excellent PixelJunk Monsters: Ultimate HD is.
  5. Jul 28, 2013
    90
    PixelJunk Monsters: Ultimate HD serves up a cannon blast of brilliance. At its core is a traditional tower defence game with a gorgeous aesthetic, but its considered gameplay, taxing tactics, and satisfying reward loop will make you dance to the beat of its drum. This will tear through your defences and devour your time like a gluttonous fiend. Don't miss this monstrous hit.
  6. 85
    The latest PixelJunk Monsters lives up to the series' pedigree, making no concession on punishing trial-and-error gameplay while delivering undeniable fun over dozens (hundreds?) of hours.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    84
    PixelJunk Monsters has lost none of its brilliant charm. [Nov 2013, p.71]
  8. Aug 6, 2013
    83
    Of course, I can understand why Q-Games might not have wanted to mess around too much with Pixeljunk Monsters. After all, when you've basically attained perfection — at least in some people's eyes — there's not much to be gained by going in and making huge changes.
  9. Sep 4, 2013
    82
    Some new levels would have been nice (there’s no new content on offer, unfortunately) but the 40+ that are here certainly represent a solid investment and will take some time to conquer, especially if you’re a perfectionist.
  10. Aug 5, 2013
    82
    Nice port of the classic Tower Defense PS3-PSP game with retooled graphics, touch controls and all the DLC content integrated.
  11. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Pixel Junk Monsters is as good as it has ever been. There is no arguing that this could be the best version of the game to date. Unfortunately, it is the best version of a game that we have already played multiple times. Newcomers to the franchise will find plenty to love, but returning players have seen all of this before.
  12. Monsters has a humble ambition, and succeeds in it without making too much fuss.
  13. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    This tower defense game is an addictive one. The HD-graphics are nice, but may not really be necessary in this cartoony style. The tutorial is very clear, the powerups are very simpel but work out great and Pixeljunk Monsters Ultimate HD is in one word a very worthwhile download on the PS Vita.
  14. Aug 28, 2013
    80
    Finally this tower defense game, which already appeared for the PSP and the PS3 earlier on, becomes available for the PlayStation Vita. The graphics are slightly more detailed and the touch features work fine, so if you haven't bought this game for any of the other systems yet, you should definitely give this version a try.
  15. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    All graphics and no contents makes PixelJunk Monsters a dull porting.
  16. Aug 2, 2013
    80
    The only tower defence game on Vita you'll likely ever need, PixelJunk Monsters Ultimate HD is stuffed with content, and is a gigantic challenge.
  17. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    All that matters in the end is that this game works flawlessly on the hardware and is an exceptional port of a great game that Vita owners get to play. While this won’t break the shackles of the Vita being a port machine, it does mean it just got that bit better at being a portable home console.
  18. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    The only flaw of PixelJunk Monsters: Ultimate HD is the lack of new content. Sony’s production is a beautiful and challenging tower defense with a good gameplay.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Now I gave some thought whether or not I should buy this game, I was a PixelJunkMonsters Newb, but I really needed a solid Tower Defense I could play on the go or between craziness at home.

    On careful consideration and attempting the Demo on the PS3, I decided to delve in.. and I gotta say, I know it's a game I'll be sinking many more hours into.

    What makes it worth buying? Well ask yourself this:

    Do you love Tower Defenses with maps that can offer a challenge without being gamebreaking?

    Do you prefer to always have something to do during said TD, including micromanagement?

    Do you have TD Loving, Vita having Friends?

    If you said yes to most of the above, buy this game.
    If you have a PS3, Try the Demo. If you have a PC and don't care about portability,
    wait for the Steam Release.

    The game is simple and easy to understand, but rainbowing (Complete without lifeloss) maps can offer challenges.

    Alll DLC is available from the start, Tum Tum (Random Gen Island) Island can be accessed without having to rainbow maps, but the rest of the islands and most of the content requires you to have rainbowed several maps.. which has lead to my slowdown as I try again and again, all in good fun, to beat more stages without losing a life. It can be difficult, but it's always worth picking back up.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    8
    My first tower defense game and I'm perfectly happy with it. The theme of being some kind of shamanic druid and saving the forest and your wooden babies before the hordes of monsters by building a well-thought tower defense all over the trees in your forest is awesome and while this isn't the type of game I would play as a "main dish", it fits PS Vita perfectly as you can play this to kill time while traveling or on a lunch break. There are plenty of levels, in places quite hardcore challenges and cute graphics, overall this is a very nice package. 8/10 Full Review »
  3. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    Inleiding

    Bij het horen van de naam Pixeljunk gaan bij menig Playstation gamer de oren gespitst omhoog. Pixeljunk is het merknaam van
    Q-games waarin zij sinds 2007 hun spellen lanceerden. Inititieel op de Playstation 3, later ook op de PSP. Spellen als Pixeljunk Eden, Monsters, Shooter en (in mindere mate) Racers behoren, naast de spellen van Thatgamecompany, tot de kroonjuwelen van deze consolegeneratie. Met name Pixeljunk Monsters kreeg na zijn eerste release in 2008 diverse uitbreidingen. Nu, vijf jaar later, komt Monsters inclusief zijn uitbreiding Encore naar de Vita, in prachtig HD.

    Het spel

    Jij bent Tikiman, de medicijnman van een inheemse stam, en het is jouw taak je stam van twintig tikikinderen te beschermen tegen hordes monsters, die in de kinderen een lekker hapje zien. Als medicijnman ga je niet direct het gevecht met de monsters aan, maar met je magische krachten kan je bomen veranderen in diverse verdedigingstorens. In het begin zijn dat vooral een toren met kruisboog, een kannon, en een luchtafweer-kannon. Uiteraard heeft elke toren zijn eigen sterke en zwakke punten, dus het is goed uitzoeken welk type toren je waar plaatst. Bovendien zijn je middelen niet oneindig: elke toren kost geld. Gelukkig hebben de meeste vijanden munten op zak, en kan je je geldbuidel op die manier aanvullen. Zoals het een goed tower-defense spel betaamt vallen de monsters in golven aan, varieren de monsters per golf, en worden ze steeds sterker.

    Het is dus een constante race tussen jouw verdedigingslinies en en de aanstormende monsters. Gelukkig kan je niet alleen torens plaatsen, je kan ze ook upgraden. Dat kan op verschillende manieren: Als een toren succesvol een monster ombrengt, krijgt hij ervaring. Daarnaast kan je je Tikiman naar een toren sturen, waarna deze een dansje bij de toren gaat doen. Dit dansje zorgt ook voor extra ervaring. Daarnaast laten verschillende monsters ook blauw-groen gekleurde eieren vallen. Deze eieren kan je inzetten om je toren direct naar een hoger ervarings-nivo te brengen. Het nivo van een toren kan je zien aan de kleur van het vlaggetje: die gaat van geel, naar groen, rood, paars en zwart. Let wel op: de eieren kan je ook gebruiken om nieuwe, zwaardere of gespecialiseerde torens te ontsluiten, die je wellicht nodig hebt voor latere monsters! Het is dus een constant balanceren tussen verschillende opties, en juist dat maakt PJ Monsters zo uitdagend, maar tegelijkertijd frustrerend: één verkeerde keuze kan je hele strategie in duigen laten vallen, met een gedwongen herstart van het nivo tot gevolg. Frustrerend, maar wél met een hele sterke ‘one more go’ factor. Je weet immers altijd waaróm het mis ging, en wat je de volgende keer beter moet doen.

    Besturing

    Zoals je mag verwachten van een Vita spel, maakt PJ Monsters gebruik van touchscreen. Een tik op het scherm is voldoende om Tikiman over door het level heen te sturen, en als Tikiman bij een boom staat, kan je door hem aan te wijzen een wiel-menu oproepen om het juiste type toren te selecteren. Op zich werkt dit goed, maar als je haast hebt (en dat heb je regelmatig!), vond ik dit persoonlijk al snel te onnauwkeurig.

    Gelukkig is ook de ‘oude’ besturing met knoppen en pookjes gewoon voorhanden. Met het linkerpookje stuur je Tikiman dan door het scherm, met x selecteer je je actie. Staat tikiman bij een boom, dan is dit het wiel met te bouwen torens, en als tikiman bij een toren staat, krijg je de opties je toren te verkopen, of versneld te upgraden. Met de d-pad selecteer je vervolgens snel en nauwkeurig de gewenste optie.

    Om goed overzicht te houden kan je met de linker schouderknop uit- en inzoomen, terwijl de rechter schouderknop je laat zien hoever elke toren is tot een volgende upgrade. Al met al is de besturing simpel, maar effectief.
    Beeld en geluid

    Op zich is Pixeljunk Monsters grafisch niet uitmuntend. Er wordt geen Frostbite of Unreal engine
    gebruikt. Alle graphics zijn 2D, en de animatie is beperkt tot de monsters, Tikiman, Tikikinderen, wapens en hier en daar een vlindertje. Toch is dat eerder effectief dan hinderlijk.Het helpt je concentreren op je taak: het opzetten van je verdedigings-linie. Hoewel 2D, zijn de graphics wel echt HD, en daarmee haarscherp op de Vita. Waar de vroegere PSP versie soms hinderlijk blurry was, is dit echt de originele PS3 versie, maar dan op Vita formaat. Het geluid is, zoals we nog weten van de eerdere versies, prima in orde en van hoge kwaliteit.

    Conclusie

    Heb je Pixeljunk Monsters op een of andere manier tot nu toe gemist, of wil je je avonturen als Tikiman herbeleven, dan is deze Pixeljunk Monsters Ultimate HD een vrijwel perfecte aankoop. Deze Vita heruitgave heeft met recht “Ultimate” in de titel staan. Verwacht geen revolutionaire veranderingen in besturing of gameplay, maar met deze Vita versie ben je wel in een keer helemaal “bij”. Absolute aanrader!
    http://community.eu.playstation.com/t5/PS-Vita-Games/Pixeljunk-Monsters-Ultimate-HD-review/m-p/19451942#M714
    Full Review »