User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 222
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    Great fun, especially with friends. A lot of characters to select from, and you can also buy more from the store. I love the Vita version but on the PS3 it's equally fun (cross-play is supported).
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    This is a DIFFERENT game than Super Smash Bros. It is not a clone, but definitely draws from the original idea. First, the biggest WOW factor" for me is the cross-play/cross-buy between the Vita and PS3 version. This is an idea that is fantastic. Not only is the value of the purchase significant, but the whole idea is something I've been waiting for awhile now. The character roster isThis is a DIFFERENT game than Super Smash Bros. It is not a clone, but definitely draws from the original idea. First, the biggest WOW factor" for me is the cross-play/cross-buy between the Vita and PS3 version. This is an idea that is fantastic. Not only is the value of the purchase significant, but the whole idea is something I've been waiting for awhile now. The character roster is doable. It is not going to satisfy everyone. You will always have those "where is this character?" and "why didn't they include this character?" people, but the amount of playable characters is sufficient for a first go-around. The characters feel like you took them directly out of their original games and put them into the battle arena. What I mean is that they characters actually feel like they do in their own games, which is something I can't say for Super Smash Bros. The story mode is lazy with really no substance. It's the biggest detractor. They had a huge opportunity to blow any Super Smash comparisons out of the water with a superb single player story, but entered the same pitfall and ended up actually considerably worse than its prime competitor. The unlockables are great, but still not as solid as Super Smash. I had spent many hours with SSB Brawl that had more meaningful and varied unlockables. The games biggest gameplay difference is the Special Gauge. Once this meter fills up, you perform your special which is the only way to get kills. This style will grow on you, but it makes character selection more heavy on their specials than the normal combat moves. The game seems to focus on online play, which is definitely fine by me. It's fun and connection is pretty seamless. Overall, I'd definitely recommend it. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Sure, it’s often compared to Super Smash Bros., albeit deservingly, but in this instance the student has surpassed the master. Not only has SuperBot Entertainment created a title that every Sony fab-boy (including myself) has been waiting for, but they nailed it. Like a carefully groomed, ass kicking bonsai tree, the attention to detail it has received provides its beauty. This is whereSure, it’s often compared to Super Smash Bros., albeit deservingly, but in this instance the student has surpassed the master. Not only has SuperBot Entertainment created a title that every Sony fab-boy (including myself) has been waiting for, but they nailed it. Like a carefully groomed, ass kicking bonsai tree, the attention to detail it has received provides its beauty. This is where All-Stars roundhouse kicks SSB out of the dojo.
    The care put into every character and stage, from gathering a cast of icons from all eras of Playstation that are incredibly spot-on to stages that transport you to childhood, has shaped an enjoyably quirky atmosphere for all to enjoy. The deep combat mechanics paired with the inclusion of loads of unlockables, online matches (duh) and tournament rankings keep you coming back for more. Well done, SuperBot. Bravo.
    Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    A very underrated brawler, think of it as Smash Bros for the thinking man. The amount of unlockables will keep you playing for hours! My only issue is online, there is no lag, but the people who play online are INSANELY good lol
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    PlayStation All-stars Battle Royale is a good game. The rooster could've been better but I happy with it. The game works that you have a bar in the bottom of the screen. The bar is the Super Meter. When fill up you could kill someone. This is how will win. You have 3 Level Supers. The Super aren't how many people you will kill is more likely you will kill someone. Some character have superPlayStation All-stars Battle Royale is a good game. The rooster could've been better but I happy with it. The game works that you have a bar in the bottom of the screen. The bar is the Super Meter. When fill up you could kill someone. This is how will win. You have 3 Level Supers. The Super aren't how many people you will kill is more likely you will kill someone. Some character have super that aren't good, but when you kill someone with let says Jak, Sackboy, or others is so satisfying. This game is like Super Bros., but in reverse. Instead pushing them out, you straight up kill them. There are things you could unlock like outros, intros, taunts, a costume per person, icons, background picture, victory music, maybe something else if I remember. Stages are every unique. Instead having one stage, for example Hades, you get two stages in one, like Hades being primary to Patapon being secondary. The music are remix of the stage you're playing , but in the menus and the opening theme is original. I hope there is possible sequel to improve this because this game does let room for improvements. I said get it. Should be around $29.99-$39.99 in PSN. Getting it used or cheaper should be worth it. Plus if get the PS3 or PSVITA ,or vise versa, you get the other version free. So you this only buy this once and getting PSVITA shouldn't be a risk. So getting the 9 score seem logical. Is not best game ever. When I play with friends or family or by myself we always have fun with it Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    A very good game which includes many favourite PlayStation characters than fans have fallen in love with throughout the years. This game is a great amount of fun, especially when playing with friends, and ironically stress relieving. Fun for all ages, though it lacks some classic PlayStation characters such as Crash Bandicoot and Spyro the Dragon. Despite this, the game is amazing andA very good game which includes many favourite PlayStation characters than fans have fallen in love with throughout the years. This game is a great amount of fun, especially when playing with friends, and ironically stress relieving. Fun for all ages, though it lacks some classic PlayStation characters such as Crash Bandicoot and Spyro the Dragon. Despite this, the game is amazing and worth the purchase at the local game store. Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    people call this smash bros PS edition
    people call it repetitive
    I call it simple and fun

    shure..the all-star kill system is weird, shire the story is a fighting game cliche, shire its smash bros BUT IN THE END this game was ok. i felt the roster lacked of imagination but heck...fun gameplay, good fighters, fluid but broken mechanics. I'm in!
  8. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    The best game on Vita. With many great characters, stages, and content fo choose from you're looking at the best handheld experience you can have on the go!
  9. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    for anyone interested in 4-player brawlers this is a must have, with over 1000 unlockables, a cool roster with some awesome Rivalry battles, (Ratchet & Clank vs Jak & Daxter). Game has already confirmed 2 free characters dlc add ons for 2013. This is no budget title, with characters from Dante, to Raiden, to Big Daddy's appearance with all the original VA and new dialog. I was sceptical offor anyone interested in 4-player brawlers this is a must have, with over 1000 unlockables, a cool roster with some awesome Rivalry battles, (Ratchet & Clank vs Jak & Daxter). Game has already confirmed 2 free characters dlc add ons for 2013. This is no budget title, with characters from Dante, to Raiden, to Big Daddy's appearance with all the original VA and new dialog. I was sceptical of Super kills, and one rare item that kills, but honestly it makes this game a completely original game and Santa Monica, SuperBot, Blueprint and Sony should be commended for making a truely great competitor for Nintendo's Super Smash Bros. Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I'm the biggest Smash brother fan, and I gotta say this game is 10000000000% better than Smash Brother. Nothing in that game can beat this one. It's just so amazing! Supers check, amazing characters check, awesome stages check. It's the whole package.
  11. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    I was not particular interested in this game since the announcement, a friend of mine gave me a copy as a gift to me and I had no choice but trying it. Well its not a bad game. Its nice to c we have an interesting collection of all the memorable environments and characters in a game. Best things I found about the game is the interactive arenas. The characters are quiet balanced and itsI was not particular interested in this game since the announcement, a friend of mine gave me a copy as a gift to me and I had no choice but trying it. Well its not a bad game. Its nice to c we have an interesting collection of all the memorable environments and characters in a game. Best things I found about the game is the interactive arenas. The characters are quiet balanced and its interesting to try the different move lists with each character and master your skills. However, the game is flawed. its shame to see they did not provide a good single player experience, it seems like the single player is just a training area to improve your skills for the multiplayer. Next when you move to multiplayer the real fun began. The multi is really good experience. I am happy to see the few last games of vita including this and MW, LBP are offering console quality multiplayer experiences. The graphics are not really nice in PS3 as well but overall both versions looks similar, frame rate is stable and the graphics suits the mood of the game. What you pay for this game u get it back. Not that much expensive like overprices games with stupid contents of sega era (COD VITA). and you get crossplay/buy for your PS3. well i guess this game is a must for every SONY BRAND LOVER ! and its sure a beautiful game on vita. i even found it more enjoyable on vita than the PS3. The experience is totally same but it just feels like its better on the go .... pick this game if u like combat games, it will not disappointing you otherwise a better choice is obviously BlazBlue - MK and then STxT Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Mixed reviews is good to show to everybody that they are just personal opinions and not the truth. This game will please anyone, like me, that loves tha Playstation brand. Amazing game. 10/10
  13. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game on the go, the only bad thing is that the vita's screen is not as comfortable as a tv, but that's obvious. Getting 2 games just for buying one is amazing, it does have story mode and tons of unlockables
  14. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    very good game i am playstation fan and the game really fun i always use drake and cole and i am pretty happy with kat its very fun to choose her thank you sony this is very solid game for any vita owner
  15. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Very solid game, in fact the game I'm enjoying the most on VITA right now. I should first admit I didn't expect anything out of it. I wasn't even a Smash Bros fan to begin with (even if I played the hell of the "Subspace Emissary" mode, back in the day). I found something really 'fresh' in PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale, not sure how to explain. The stages are beautiful, clever andVery solid game, in fact the game I'm enjoying the most on VITA right now. I should first admit I didn't expect anything out of it. I wasn't even a Smash Bros fan to begin with (even if I played the hell of the "Subspace Emissary" mode, back in the day). I found something really 'fresh' in PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale, not sure how to explain. The stages are beautiful, clever and inventive, the characters have a LOT of moves, and it's a totally different experience than Smash Bros if you go past the interface and look of things. For starters, it's not about throwing your opponents off a stage, but try to stack as much kills as possible before the timer runs out. I haven't been frustrated a single time. This game is just plain fun, in fact I can't even think of a single annoying thing. Once again, no game is perfect but 10/10 are for games that are the best you can imagine for a 'given' system. Well PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is what any PS VITA title should be. I really didn't expect a lot of it, and ended up being surprised because I expected a Smash Bros clone, but found something totally original and fun. PS: got this 'for free' together with the PS3 version, what a great deal - I can't believe it actually runs & feels as good as the PS3 version. SuperBot outdone themselves on this one! Expand
  16. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game completely exceeded my expectations. I recommend it to anyone who loves fun! It's addicting and can get pretty competitive if you play online or with friends next to you.
  17. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    sonyfanboy92 rate this amazing with score equals 2 just 2 and when i see his review for cod black ops he rate it 10 as me but he writes in his review shoot zombies and their is no zombies in the game that mean he is a big liar and he does not have vita
  18. 4DI
    Nov 26, 2012
    8
    You know. It ain't half bad
  19. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game is far from perfection but I´m optimist with this. We already have 2 new characters FREE next year, if the Dev company continue the support this game will be HUGE. With a LOT of new characters, stages and new features. If you buy this game please continue the support buying the DLCs.
  20. Jan 17, 2013
    9
    A ton of fun! Just as fun as SSB without the need to own a Nintendo console for just that game. Multiplayer is pretty balanced except Kratos being super-overpowered. Arcade mode is fun and its quick and easy to find matches online. I wish there were more characters, but that doesnt detract from the experience.
  21. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Two words: Mind. Blown. Wow, I must admit, my expectations and excitement for this game was very low throughout the year. I saw footage, wasn't blown away. Heard the character roster, wasn't blown away. Then, I played the beta. Only four characters, but I still started to get a feel for the game and what exactly Superbot was trying to accomplish. It slowly started to make sense. SoundsTwo words: Mind. Blown. Wow, I must admit, my expectations and excitement for this game was very low throughout the year. I saw footage, wasn't blown away. Heard the character roster, wasn't blown away. Then, I played the beta. Only four characters, but I still started to get a feel for the game and what exactly Superbot was trying to accomplish. It slowly started to make sense. Sounds weird I know, especially with a game that appears on the surface to be rather shallow. Build meter. Super. Rinse and repeat right? When you first pick up the sticks, understanding what exactly you're supposed to do may feel a little foreign if you haven't done this kind of thing before. But MY OH MY once sink your teeth into it, once you figure out the little nuances and the variations of playstyles depending on the character you pick (characters you're fighting against) AND the level you're fighting in (trust me, it matters) what you discover is a game of mighty depth. A game with gameplay so addictive I have not stop playing for one minute since last night at midnight. It's incredibly fun. Incredibly addictive. Incredibly nuanced. Superbot has pulled off the impossible. They actually made a GREAT FIGHTING GAME combined with a great social experience. Four on Four chaos is how this game was meant to be enjoyed. Even if it's just you, or you and a friend playing, add two AI characters into the mix because when it's four on four the fun factor quadruples to astronomical heights. Ok, whew, now back to the action. Oh, and thank you Superbot. Thank you. Expand
  22. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    All-stars plays exactly like the PS3 counterpart, which is impressive. However, the smaller screen real estate on the Vita makes it much harder to see what is going on, especially when the game gets frantic with four characters attacking on screen at the same time, which is often. Other than that, the game has been supported with numerous updates which served to fix most of the problemsAll-stars plays exactly like the PS3 counterpart, which is impressive. However, the smaller screen real estate on the Vita makes it much harder to see what is going on, especially when the game gets frantic with four characters attacking on screen at the same time, which is often. Other than that, the game has been supported with numerous updates which served to fix most of the problems with character balancing and the addition of some characters through DLC has helped, but this game should have shipped with more characters in the first place (at least 25-30). Hopefully this will be fixed in a sequel, as well as adding generally more famous characters to make the game more relevant. All that said, the game is fun with friends and worthy of your time to learn the move-sets of the characters and see how each one plays. The arcade mode is quite lackluster, utilizing mostly stills for cut scenes and very little explanation as to why the characters are there or fighting each other. The online mode has been frequently buggy but when it worked it is competent, but many players choose the same over-powered characters leading to not much variety. Overall, it is nice to see many characters from the history of Playstation coming together, and I am excited for a sequel to see what changes they can make to improve the game. Expand
  23. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Game's really fun. The graphics, sound, frame-rate are on par with the PS3 version. Cross-buy is a perfect reason to buy this game. Sadly there isn't anything sophisticated for "hardcore" gamers, but this game is fun anyways.
  24. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece
    Excellent game Great graphics and sound
    Online works good All the characters are very polish
    Needs dlc like crash bandicoot, cloud , sephirot, scorpion, etx io, batman , journey with his maps. But is a great game a very addicted game.
  25. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Playstation all stars is a great game but got bad criticism for being like super smash bros,I on the other hand disagree with that,I have played non-stop and have enjoyed every bit,from the amazing line up,a brilliant online mode and the most repayability in a vita game,I believe if you say there's nothing to play on your vita and have not tried this then you have made a mistake,by thePlaystation all stars is a great game but got bad criticism for being like super smash bros,I on the other hand disagree with that,I have played non-stop and have enjoyed every bit,from the amazing line up,a brilliant online mode and the most repayability in a vita game,I believe if you say there's nothing to play on your vita and have not tried this then you have made a mistake,by the way,I have not board and I bought it at launch Expand
  26. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    One of the best games to get for the Vita. Many would say that just because this has the same ground concept, it's instantly a copy of Super Smash Brothers, but it isn't. It has a really original way of gameplay and You might even say that this is better than Super Smash Bros. If you have a Vita, but you don't have this game, then I feel sorry for you.
  27. Jul 30, 2016
    10
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    83
    It has all the aspects of a Super Smash Bros., but the fact that only super attacks can kill off a character make the game feel less strategic. Still, it is a fun game to play with a few friends on the couch or online.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2013
    70
    The game feels right at home here. While it may not exactly push the PS3 to its limits, seeing it run on the PS Vita's 5 inch OLED screen is still extremely impressive. The camera keeps track of the frantic action perfectly, and although a little impact is lost the fidelity of the whole package makes up for it. [January 2013, p77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    71
    With the PS3 version being far superior, the Vita version is only for those who do not own their home console brother as on the Vita it's fun but not great due to the frustration factor.