Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is a four-player brawler pitting a vast array of Sony and third-party game characters against each other. Take the fight online or mix it up with your friends in your living room.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    This is probably the best game for Sony's portable console released this year.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale comes out like a true underdog and knocks it out of the park. SuperBot Entertainment manages to silence all those who have doubted them and delivers a great experience with tons of content and enjoyment. This is a game not just for fans of PlayStation, but for fans of great games, period.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    The PS3 version received a well-deserved high score and the same goes for the Vita edition. The game plays great, the characters are well-balanced and there's an awesome amount of content. The loading times are rather long and there's a few minor hick-ups here and there, but overall PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale remains a must-buy, even on Vita.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    75
    This is a good fighting game. However it's a bit too simple. Real PlayStation fans will have a lot of fun with it because of the exclusive characters and all the recognizable environments.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    72
    This is an interesting arena brawler with lots of action and Sony celebrity cast. It can get quite chaotic though.
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    71
    With the PS3 version being far superior, the Vita version is only for those who do not own their home console brother as on the Vita it's fun but not great due to the frustration factor.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    60
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale achieves what its sets out to do for the most part. Sony now has its answer to Super Smash Bros and PS3 and Vita owners have a place to turn to for accessible multiplayer bawls. It's a well-presented game that does justice to its cast of characters, but it could have been something more with a solo campaign of greater substance.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 6 out of 44
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    for anyone interested in 4-player brawlers this is a must have, with over 1000 unlockables, a cool roster with some awesome Rivalry battles, (Ratchet & Clank vs Jak & Daxter). Game has already confirmed 2 free characters dlc add ons for 2013. This is no budget title, with characters from Dante, to Raiden, to Big Daddy's appearance with all the original VA and new dialog. I was sceptical of Super kills, and one rare item that kills, but honestly it makes this game a completely original game and Santa Monica, SuperBot, Blueprint and Sony should be commended for making a truely great competitor for Nintendo's Super Smash Bros. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece
    Excellent game Great graphics and sound
    Online works good All the characters are very polish
    Needs dlc like crash bandicoot,
    cloud , sephirot, scorpion, etx io, batman , journey with his maps. But is a great game a very addicted game. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    very good game i am playstation fan and the game really fun i always use drake and cole and i am pretty happy with kat its very fun to choose her thank you sony this is very solid game for any vita owner Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    All-stars plays exactly like the PS3 counterpart, which is impressive. However, the smaller screen real estate on the Vita makes it much harder to see what is going on, especially when the game gets frantic with four characters attacking on screen at the same time, which is often. Other than that, the game has been supported with numerous updates which served to fix most of the problems with character balancing and the addition of some characters through DLC has helped, but this game should have shipped with more characters in the first place (at least 25-30). Hopefully this will be fixed in a sequel, as well as adding generally more famous characters to make the game more relevant. All that said, the game is fun with friends and worthy of your time to learn the move-sets of the characters and see how each one plays. The arcade mode is quite lackluster, utilizing mostly stills for cut scenes and very little explanation as to why the characters are there or fighting each other. The online mode has been frequently buggy but when it worked it is competent, but many players choose the same over-powered characters leading to not much variety. Overall, it is nice to see many characters from the history of Playstation coming together, and I am excited for a sequel to see what changes they can make to improve the game. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    I was not particular interested in this game since the announcement, a friend of mine gave me a copy as a gift to me and I had no choice but trying it. Well its not a bad game. Its nice to c we have an interesting collection of all the memorable environments and characters in a game. Best things I found about the game is the interactive arenas. The characters are quiet balanced and its interesting to try the different move lists with each character and master your skills. However, the game is flawed. its shame to see they did not provide a good single player experience, it seems like the single player is just a training area to improve your skills for the multiplayer. Next when you move to multiplayer the real fun began. The multi is really good experience. I am happy to see the few last games of vita including this and MW, LBP are offering console quality multiplayer experiences. The graphics are not really nice in PS3 as well but overall both versions looks similar, frame rate is stable and the graphics suits the mood of the game. What you pay for this game u get it back. Not that much expensive like overprices games with stupid contents of sega era (COD VITA). and you get crossplay/buy for your PS3. well i guess this game is a must for every SONY BRAND LOVER ! and its sure a beautiful game on vita. i even found it more enjoyable on vita than the PS3. The experience is totally same but it just feels like its better on the go .... pick this game if u like combat games, it will not disappointing you otherwise a better choice is obviously BlazBlue - MK and then STxT Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    With a pretty big character roster, pretty good graphics, and a fast and entertaining gameplay, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is a easy recommendation for the younger audience Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Sad attempt by Sony to clone Nintendo's successful franchises. I have owned Play Station, Play Station 2, and I can't name half the characters by looking at them. Sad part is, a bunch of them aren't even Sony characters in the first place, so what's the point? I wish Sony would focus on making their own IP's instead of trying to copy someone else. Nothing new here whatsover. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews