PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is a four-player brawler pitting a vast array of Sony and third-party game characters against each other. Take the fight online or mix it up with your friends in your living room.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    This is probably the best game for Sony's portable console released this year.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale comes out like a true underdog and knocks it out of the park. SuperBot Entertainment manages to silence all those who have doubted them and delivers a great experience with tons of content and enjoyment. This is a game not just for fans of PlayStation, but for fans of great games, period.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    The PS3 version received a well-deserved high score and the same goes for the Vita edition. The game plays great, the characters are well-balanced and there's an awesome amount of content. The loading times are rather long and there's a few minor hick-ups here and there, but overall PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale remains a must-buy, even on Vita.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    75
    This is a good fighting game. However it's a bit too simple. Real PlayStation fans will have a lot of fun with it because of the exclusive characters and all the recognizable environments.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    72
    This is an interesting arena brawler with lots of action and Sony celebrity cast. It can get quite chaotic though.
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    71
    With the PS3 version being far superior, the Vita version is only for those who do not own their home console brother as on the Vita it's fun but not great due to the frustration factor.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    60
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale achieves what its sets out to do for the most part. Sony now has its answer to Super Smash Bros and PS3 and Vita owners have a place to turn to for accessible multiplayer bawls. It's a well-presented game that does justice to its cast of characters, but it could have been something more with a solo campaign of greater substance.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece
    Excellent game Great graphics and sound
    Online works good All the characters are very polish Needs dlc like crash bandicoot,
    Masterpiece
    Excellent game Great graphics and sound
    Online works good All the characters are very polish
    Needs dlc like crash bandicoot, cloud , sephirot, scorpion, etx io, batman , journey with his maps. But is a great game a very addicted game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    very good game i am playstation fan and the game really fun i always use drake and cole and i am pretty happy with kat its very fun to choosevery good game i am playstation fan and the game really fun i always use drake and cole and i am pretty happy with kat its very fun to choose her thank you sony this is very solid game for any vita owner Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    for anyone interested in 4-player brawlers this is a must have, with over 1000 unlockables, a cool roster with some awesome Rivalry battles,for anyone interested in 4-player brawlers this is a must have, with over 1000 unlockables, a cool roster with some awesome Rivalry battles, (Ratchet & Clank vs Jak & Daxter). Game has already confirmed 2 free characters dlc add ons for 2013. This is no budget title, with characters from Dante, to Raiden, to Big Daddy's appearance with all the original VA and new dialog. I was sceptical of Super kills, and one rare item that kills, but honestly it makes this game a completely original game and Santa Monica, SuperBot, Blueprint and Sony should be commended for making a truely great competitor for Nintendo's Super Smash Bros. Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    A very good game which includes many favourite PlayStation characters than fans have fallen in love with throughout the years. This game is aA very good game which includes many favourite PlayStation characters than fans have fallen in love with throughout the years. This game is a great amount of fun, especially when playing with friends, and ironically stress relieving. Fun for all ages, though it lacks some classic PlayStation characters such as Crash Bandicoot and Spyro the Dragon. Despite this, the game is amazing and worth the purchase at the local game store. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    The game is not that bad with people saying it's a ssb clone. IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE it's just sony's turn to do it with PlayStation characters.The game is not that bad with people saying it's a ssb clone. IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE it's just sony's turn to do it with PlayStation characters. The game is fun with your family or friends. But there are some cons about the game. There are glitches in online, people using op characters such as kratos, raiden or dante. The game just doesn't really feel like a ssb clone to me. My excuse is also they made the supers only to kill people so no health....Just killing people with supers. I can't really get a game in 1st anyway because people using the op characters and people who just don't try other characters. The game deserves a 7/10 though it's not great enough to be a ssb clone but a good one to say the least. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    7
    I don't think PASBR will win against the big daddy Smash Bros. but its a good addition to this type of the fighting genre. It's just a funI don't think PASBR will win against the big daddy Smash Bros. but its a good addition to this type of the fighting genre. It's just a fun yet simple formula with a short catalog of characters that in my most sincere opinion many of them feel unnecessary to a game that is supposed to be very Sony like for example, here we have Raiden, Big daddy that by no reason this guy came first when the Xbox 360 was growing then Dante and Heihachi. And I mean many of these characters started in with the PS back in the day but they are starting to feel multi -platform in this generation the other complain is many of these characters the ones naturally from Sony are forgettable and I mean forgettable in terms of popularity why no Crash or Spyro in favor of Toro while is a Sony character is still not so relevant But anyway other than that the gameplay is very intriguing with a responsive style well checking it I'm glad Sony made this and I'm very glad they have found a clever style for their own family Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Sad attempt by Sony to clone Nintendo's successful franchises. I have owned Play Station, Play Station 2, and I can't name half theSad attempt by Sony to clone Nintendo's successful franchises. I have owned Play Station, Play Station 2, and I can't name half the characters by looking at them. Sad part is, a bunch of them aren't even Sony characters in the first place, so what's the point? I wish Sony would focus on making their own IP's instead of trying to copy someone else. Nothing new here whatsover. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews