Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is a four-player brawler pitting a vast array of Sony and third-party game characters against each other. Take the fight online or mix it up with your friends in your living room.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    This is probably the best game for Sony's portable console released this year.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale comes out like a true underdog and knocks it out of the park. SuperBot Entertainment manages to silence all those who have doubted them and delivers a great experience with tons of content and enjoyment. This is a game not just for fans of PlayStation, but for fans of great games, period.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    The PS3 version received a well-deserved high score and the same goes for the Vita edition. The game plays great, the characters are well-balanced and there's an awesome amount of content. The loading times are rather long and there's a few minor hick-ups here and there, but overall PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale remains a must-buy, even on Vita.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    75
    This is a good fighting game. However it's a bit too simple. Real PlayStation fans will have a lot of fun with it because of the exclusive characters and all the recognizable environments.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    72
    This is an interesting arena brawler with lots of action and Sony celebrity cast. It can get quite chaotic though.
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    71
    With the PS3 version being far superior, the Vita version is only for those who do not own their home console brother as on the Vita it's fun but not great due to the frustration factor.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    60
    PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale achieves what its sets out to do for the most part. Sony now has its answer to Super Smash Bros and PS3 and Vita owners have a place to turn to for accessible multiplayer bawls. It's a well-presented game that does justice to its cast of characters, but it could have been something more with a solo campaign of greater substance.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Two words: Mind. Blown. Wow, I must admit, my expectations and excitement for this game was very low throughout the year. I saw footage, wasn't blown away. Heard the character roster, wasn't blown away. Then, I played the beta. Only four characters, but I still started to get a feel for the game and what exactly Superbot was trying to accomplish. It slowly started to make sense. Sounds weird I know, especially with a game that appears on the surface to be rather shallow. Build meter. Super. Rinse and repeat right? When you first pick up the sticks, understanding what exactly you're supposed to do may feel a little foreign if you haven't done this kind of thing before. But MY OH MY once sink your teeth into it, once you figure out the little nuances and the variations of playstyles depending on the character you pick (characters you're fighting against) AND the level you're fighting in (trust me, it matters) what you discover is a game of mighty depth. A game with gameplay so addictive I have not stop playing for one minute since last night at midnight. It's incredibly fun. Incredibly addictive. Incredibly nuanced. Superbot has pulled off the impossible. They actually made a GREAT FIGHTING GAME combined with a great social experience. Four on Four chaos is how this game was meant to be enjoyed. Even if it's just you, or you and a friend playing, add two AI characters into the mix because when it's four on four the fun factor quadruples to astronomical heights. Ok, whew, now back to the action. Oh, and thank you Superbot. Thank you. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    very good game i am playstation fan and the game really fun i always use drake and cole and i am pretty happy with kat its very fun to choose her thank you sony this is very solid game for any vita owner Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    for anyone interested in 4-player brawlers this is a must have, with over 1000 unlockables, a cool roster with some awesome Rivalry battles, (Ratchet & Clank vs Jak & Daxter). Game has already confirmed 2 free characters dlc add ons for 2013. This is no budget title, with characters from Dante, to Raiden, to Big Daddy's appearance with all the original VA and new dialog. I was sceptical of Super kills, and one rare item that kills, but honestly it makes this game a completely original game and Santa Monica, SuperBot, Blueprint and Sony should be commended for making a truely great competitor for Nintendo's Super Smash Bros. Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    A very good game which includes many favourite PlayStation characters than fans have fallen in love with throughout the years. This game is a great amount of fun, especially when playing with friends, and ironically stress relieving. Fun for all ages, though it lacks some classic PlayStation characters such as Crash Bandicoot and Spyro the Dragon. Despite this, the game is amazing and worth the purchase at the local game store. Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    I'll keep it short and simple. It's a fun game with great mechanics, but everything that surrounds it is sub par. The menus, the trials, and extras, are all there but they lack a level of polish you would expect of a AAA game. If you love Sony, or like fighting games I would pick it up. Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    The game as a wonderful list of characters from Nathan Drake, Kratos, sly cooper and many other all stars of the Playstation francise. The gameplay lacks many things the supersmash bros did correctly. Playstation All Stars had a terrible Arcade mode where none of the character liked each other, the moves were based on building up your power levels to perform a super move to kill your enemies as their is no ring outs or any other ways to die. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Sad attempt by Sony to clone Nintendo's successful franchises. I have owned Play Station, Play Station 2, and I can't name half the characters by looking at them. Sad part is, a bunch of them aren't even Sony characters in the first place, so what's the point? I wish Sony would focus on making their own IP's instead of trying to copy someone else. Nothing new here whatsover. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews