Proteus PlayStation Vita

Proteus Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Proteus is a minimalist game of pure exploration and sublime discovery in a musical wilderness environment. There are no challenges and no goals other than those set by the player. A reactive audio mixing system allows the player to explore the environment as music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    91
    I won't even pretend to have any deep thoughts on that subject, but I can definitely say that if you want something unique on your Vita or your PS3, they don't make things much more unique than Proteus.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    Proteus isn’t a game in the usual sense of the word, it won’t appeal to every demographic, but it is an experience we would urge as many people as possible to take. There is something special about this that will leave a lasting effect.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    90
    By discarding any semblance of plot, characterisation and conventional mechanics, Proteus is a brave and highly original title that forces you to use your imagination, and forges unforgettable memories through simple exploration and a sense of wide-eyed, almost childlike wonder.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    Just like a painting you should really only look at Proteus once. Explore and discover it. A second time might show a few things you've missed along the way. A third time you'll just mostly see things you've already seen. From that point on, the experience break itself down.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    73
    Whatever you do, don’t just play the first 10 minutes of it. You’ll be utterly disappointed and will immediately wish you purchased another game. The biggest issue many will face is that there is no clear objective, and not a lot else to do other than walk around. But if you do play this, you’re going to need to stay committed - otherwise you’ll end up throwing your Vita against the wall.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    With the new scavenger hunt mode included, the Vita version of Proteus has something to offer that the PC version didn't, but it's still a polarising experience.
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    60
    Proteus is a creation that boasts an unusual beauty that’s extremely rare to find in videogames. But besides this, it has not much else to offer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    Such a beautifully atmospheric little audio-visual exploration title! While there isn't much "game" to it, it's a mesmerizing experience. YouSuch a beautifully atmospheric little audio-visual exploration title! While there isn't much "game" to it, it's a mesmerizing experience. You wander islands filled with 8 bit wilderness, atmosphere and life and each little piece of nature has it's own sound, that taken together with the gorgeous visuals, creates a unique and constantly changing soundscape like no other. It's almost zen-like in it's peacefulness as you slowly meander around the island with no instructions except to explore and enjoy. Collapse
  2. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed it, a nice little relaxing game about exploring a tranquile Island,a very original and unique idea put into action well, the seasonsI enjoyed it, a nice little relaxing game about exploring a tranquile Island,a very original and unique idea put into action well, the seasons change and the birds tweet, no overall objective just plain and simple fun. prehaps it could of been a bit cheaper but for what it was it was great, Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Proteus is not your typical game certainly, it is a game narrowed to certain type of people with unique taste, but who knows you might likeProteus is not your typical game certainly, it is a game narrowed to certain type of people with unique taste, but who knows you might like it. Proteus is simple an exploration game in an amazing pixelated world. You walk around the world, you are like a wandered, wait and see as the time passes by and change the land and most importantly looking for secrets and listen to a touchy music. Proteus is a game of exploration and that is it, but it is not that simple that you think. The art direction in the world of the game is just an amazing piece of work, colourful and varied and distinctive from all the other games I have seen so far. As you dig into the world you will discover it is not only a place to walk and see, it is a place to feel and rhyme with, it is not just walking, it is a place to enjoy the music and observe the world. Proteus is an amazing example of such a unique genre that we seen rarely in the world of video games. It will take an hour or 2 to complete but believe me I have been playing it nearly 18 hours as every time the world is generated randomly...
    It is a worth game to pick up if you like these sort of games, also be sure to go with a headphone for you first playtrhough and dun take off till you finish it im sure you will enjoy the amazing experience.
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2014
    7
    Outside of a slight visual downgrade and some Vita-specific features there really isn't anything different from the PS3 version. You can useOutside of a slight visual downgrade and some Vita-specific features there really isn't anything different from the PS3 version. You can use the rear touchpad to mess around with the world, and have PSN use your current location to generate the level, but these additions don't really change things up that much. Therefore my score and review for the Vita version are the going to be same as the PS3 version.

    A directionless game without any real objectives. There is a way to progress through the game until you "beat" it, but there's no explanation as to how. For many this lack of any sort of direction will make the game feel pointless, and therefore worthless. However the trophies might be the saving grace of the experience, as they help to give gamers some something to work towards.

    Odds are you'll have to look up how to get them, because there really isn't any explanation as to how to do so. Once I started digging into unlocking the trophies it really helped Proteus feel more like a game, and less like a semi-interactive experience. Something that saved it for me. Without them all there really would've been to do is explore each season for a bit until it gets boring then move on to the next one until it's over. Not exactly satisfying for many.

    Admittedly it is kind of interesting to see what certain landmarks will do at certain times. Certain events only happen around them during certain seasons and during certain times (day, night). Each playthrough takes place in a randomly generated world so it's clear that there's an emphasis on re-playability. However unless you really just find yourself enthralled with the experience there's really no reason to stick around for long. Especially after you've completed all of the trophies.

    There is fun to be had with Proteus, but it requires you to sort of make your own. Whether it be collecting all of the trophies or just random exploring there are things to keep gamers busy. However it's definitely not for everyone, and will only be praised by a certain audience. Perhaps this indie game tried to be too artsy, but overall I found some fun with it.
    Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    i didnt fully understand what i was doing the first time i played this game, but i found it to be very relaxing and somehow presented a vividi didnt fully understand what i was doing the first time i played this game, but i found it to be very relaxing and somehow presented a vivid story without using any dialog. This game is very visually appealing as well, throughout the game i was just in awe to what i was looking at. Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2014
    5
    I like different, unique and artistic things. Proteus is definitely one of those, because it's trying to do something new and it's certainlyI like different, unique and artistic things. Proteus is definitely one of those, because it's trying to do something new and it's certainly cute in it's audio-visual presentation. I like the moments of tranquility and you can most definitely find them here. On the other hand I also like good and fun gameplay and you can't find much of that in Proteus. I believe this concept could have been used in much more effective ways than it was here. If you just play through, there is not much going on and if you try to get some trophies, things can get very annoying, wandering around searching for all the flowers in all seasons without any indicators, or trying to interact with stones that never seem to interact in the first place. Spent hours on that without any results. In the end I'm going for the score right in the middle, on one hand I like it's uniqueness, on the other I don't like the lack of solid gameplay. That's Proteus. 5/10 Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2014
    3
    I booted this up on the Vita and spent half an hour wondering what the "point" of the game was... Unlike flower or other artistic type games,I booted this up on the Vita and spent half an hour wondering what the "point" of the game was... Unlike flower or other artistic type games, there didnt seem to be any objectives or an actual game. I could google it and find out to play the game but in a world of ever more impressive indie Vita games, this has already lost me... Expand

See all 11 User Reviews