Proteus Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Proteus is a minimalist game of pure exploration and sublime discovery in a musical wilderness environment. There are no challenges and no goals other than those set by the player. A reactive audio mixing system allows the player to explore the environment as music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    91
    I won't even pretend to have any deep thoughts on that subject, but I can definitely say that if you want something unique on your Vita or your PS3, they don't make things much more unique than Proteus.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    Proteus isn’t a game in the usual sense of the word, it won’t appeal to every demographic, but it is an experience we would urge as many people as possible to take. There is something special about this that will leave a lasting effect.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    90
    By discarding any semblance of plot, characterisation and conventional mechanics, Proteus is a brave and highly original title that forces you to use your imagination, and forges unforgettable memories through simple exploration and a sense of wide-eyed, almost childlike wonder.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    Just like a painting you should really only look at Proteus once. Explore and discover it. A second time might show a few things you've missed along the way. A third time you'll just mostly see things you've already seen. From that point on, the experience break itself down.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    73
    Whatever you do, don’t just play the first 10 minutes of it. You’ll be utterly disappointed and will immediately wish you purchased another game. The biggest issue many will face is that there is no clear objective, and not a lot else to do other than walk around. But if you do play this, you’re going to need to stay committed - otherwise you’ll end up throwing your Vita against the wall.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    With the new scavenger hunt mode included, the Vita version of Proteus has something to offer that the PC version didn't, but it's still a polarising experience.
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    60
    Proteus is a creation that boasts an unusual beauty that’s extremely rare to find in videogames. But besides this, it has not much else to offer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Proteus is not your typical game certainly, it is a game narrowed to certain type of people with unique taste, but who knows you might like it. Proteus is simple an exploration game in an amazing pixelated world. You walk around the world, you are like a wandered, wait and see as the time passes by and change the land and most importantly looking for secrets and listen to a touchy music. Proteus is a game of exploration and that is it, but it is not that simple that you think. The art direction in the world of the game is just an amazing piece of work, colourful and varied and distinctive from all the other games I have seen so far. As you dig into the world you will discover it is not only a place to walk and see, it is a place to feel and rhyme with, it is not just walking, it is a place to enjoy the music and observe the world. Proteus is an amazing example of such a unique genre that we seen rarely in the world of video games. It will take an hour or 2 to complete but believe me I have been playing it nearly 18 hours as every time the world is generated randomly...
    It is a worth game to pick up if you like these sort of games, also be sure to go with a headphone for you first playtrhough and dun take off till you finish it im sure you will enjoy the amazing experience.
    Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    Such a beautifully atmospheric little audio-visual exploration title! While there isn't much "game" to it, it's a mesmerizing experience. You wander islands filled with 8 bit wilderness, atmosphere and life and each little piece of nature has it's own sound, that taken together with the gorgeous visuals, creates a unique and constantly changing soundscape like no other. It's almost zen-like in it's peacefulness as you slowly meander around the island with no instructions except to explore and enjoy. Collapse
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Proteus isn't a real game, there are no real objectives, and is more of a work of art. So you explore islands and music plays according to how you explore. It's a nice game, however, I wouldn't say a 9 because the game should be priced lower. Even though it's cross-buy, $14 seem steep for this game. It is worth looking into. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2014
    5
    I like different, unique and artistic things. Proteus is definitely one of those, because it's trying to do something new and it's certainly cute in it's audio-visual presentation. I like the moments of tranquility and you can most definitely find them here. On the other hand I also like good and fun gameplay and you can't find much of that in Proteus. I believe this concept could have been used in much more effective ways than it was here. If you just play through, there is not much going on and if you try to get some trophies, things can get very annoying, wandering around searching for all the flowers in all seasons without any indicators, or trying to interact with stones that never seem to interact in the first place. Spent hours on that without any results. In the end I'm going for the score right in the middle, on one hand I like it's uniqueness, on the other I don't like the lack of solid gameplay. That's Proteus. 5/10 Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    4
    Not sure exactly what to say about Proteus. It's not a "game" so much as simply time spent wandering around an 8 bit island wilderness looking at digital trees, plants, and landscape while listening to a variety of sounds. If you like that sort of thing you'll probably find it interesting, otherwise you'll probably be bored quite rapidly.

    I personally didn't like the game. I found it rather dull and pointless with no real goal or purpose other than to wander around and see stuff. There is a beginning and an end to the game, but no actual reason for playing that I can see other than to experience the sights and sounds. You don't actually do anything, you're not on the island for any particular purpose, your arrival and departure don't signify anything meaningful, and in the end if you'd never been there nothing would have changed.

    The trophy support may appeal to some and give them a reason to spend a few short hours going through the game, but even then I can't see it being worth the time spent.

    I don't really understand why the game got such good reviews. Sure, it's different, but different doesn't automatically equal great, and at the end of the day if you're looking to play a game instead of just experiencing something different, Proteus will be a disappointment.
    Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2014
    4
    This game has serious issues. you cannot do anything about it...................................................................................... FAIL Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2014
    3
    I booted this up on the Vita and spent half an hour wondering what the "point" of the game was... Unlike flower or other artistic type games, there didnt seem to be any objectives or an actual game. I could google it and find out to play the game but in a world of ever more impressive indie Vita games, this has already lost me... Expand

See all 8 User Reviews