Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ragnarok Odyssey is set in an original world based on Norse mythology where a battle is being waged between humans and giants after the fall of the gods had previously separated the races.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    For all its missteps as an action-RPG, it is simply flawless as an example of how to make a Vita experience work. Judicious use of touchscreen controls, beautiful visuals, a smartly broken-up mission structure and eerily swift loading times makes this the gold standard for Sony's portable.
  2. 85
    A Vita game that you need to pick up and enjoy, because it is one of the best experiences on Sony's handheld yet. Sure the game has some frustrating moments and can become a bit repetitive, but it delivers intense action, smooth visuals, and an online experience that will have you coming back for more.
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    I enjoyed my time with Ragnarok Odyssey and thought it to be a great fit for the Vita. The "pick up and play" nature of the contract system makes it the perfect game to play while sitting on a train, plane or bus. Those who have already tackled Monster Hunter for the PSP and are looking for more would do well to give this one a gander.
  4. Nov 1, 2012
    70
    Despite its issues in just about every department, the core of Ragnarok Odyssey is a competent Monster Hunter-style adventure. For the right audience, the fast-paced combat counterbalances any issues with repetition and awkwardness.
  5. 70
    Game Art seeks to create a title that'll give Monster Hunter a run for its money. Though it's not quite there, it's a very solid first attempt to an exclusive title that should continue to grace the PlayStation Vita.
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    64
    Missions become repetitive. [May 2013, p.84]
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    40
    Ragnarok Odyssey is a polished offering with tight controls and nice graphics, but a little innovation would have gone a long way. In terms of both style and gameplay, this is little more than a generic RPG offering that fails to build on solid foundations.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    An excellent game for mh fans, this game can stand next to mh as being good on it own with a fresh take and alot of charm. Solo is fun but can get tedious, however its awesome to play with a group, as it really has all the classes working together. Awesome Game!!! Collapse
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    One of the best games to play on the Vita right now and this is a blast to play with some friends. Monster Hunter fans and action-rpg fans will dig this game as it is MH and moves just enough into the other to be a nice fresh take on the genre. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Best game on the Vita as of right now. This is not just a Monster Hunter clone it does its own thing and is a much better game for it. Enjoyable solo, an absolute blast in multiplayer and where the game really hits its mark. Pick this game up immediately, it is a must play. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    Ragnarok Odyssey brings so many great elements to the table for the Vita. Many critics like to compare it to the likes of Monster Hunter, and have thusly cast it aside as a cheap knockoff. As a gamer who has never played Monster Hunter, and who has played Ragnarok Online, I've found that Odyssey is nothing less than an all around fun hack and slash live action rpg that holds true to the main elements found in the traditional game. It's a bit of a dungeon diving set up, another rpg element that some might find to be a turn off, however the gameplay is so addicting that most gamers won't mind this at all. There are 6 classes to choose from when creating a character, and the customization varies from gender, to hair styles, colors, and even the sound of the characters voice. Characters grow stronger by completing Chapters and also by upgrading their armor with cards, which can have various effects. Cards and weapons can be found by slaying monsters in the open world maps during quests. All in all, Ragnarok Odyssey is one of the finest rpg offerings available for the Vita, and it's really a shame that the critics couldn't see beyond the fact that this game simply wasn't meant to be Monster Hunter. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    This is a great Vita game. Upon investigation of the critic reviews, perhaps one with more sway in your decision making may be IGN. In IGNs review, Colin mentions valid points, which you will truly find in this game in terms of presentation. There are items on the screen that even after playing this whole time since the games release I still don't know what they are. For example, there's a green crystal icon in the bottom right of the screen which occasionally fills up and glows; I tried touching the screen over it, but nothing. It's not explained in the tutorials either. And this is just one of the examples of the game assuming you already know a lot of what's going on. Does it bother me? Not really- I'm sure I'll figure it out the more I play and it doesn't affect my gameplay. Other than that, you'll find a fun and beautiful game. I should probably at this point admit that I have never played any Monster Hunter games, except for a demo that was available a couple years ago on the PSP. In the game, you prepare in your HQ by purchasing and upgrading equipment, armor, and cards. The cards system works by adding specific stat infused cards to your armor, thus defining your character on the battlefield. Some cards have advantages, and some cards have really amazing advantages with slight disadvantages associated with them, and it's up to you to decide how you want to apply these perks to your character based on how you play. What makes this game so fun is that the quests are designed to last 5- 10 minutes, and most have a time cap of 30 minutes, creating the perfect pick-up-and-play experience. Having to sit down and invest hours of gameplay can be intimidating sometimes amidst a busy schedule, so I really appreciate the portable nature of this game! I think it's a very fun game, bound to keep me entertained for a very long time, a much needed niche on the Vita, with fun boss battles, and well scaled trophies. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Out of the barren list of titles on the vita this Action-RPG is a gem, but it is not game of the year material. Do not get me wrong it has good art direction and looting via ultra combo is always just hard to pass on; it's just the game just feels a little shallow in depth. Honesty if it were on another modern system I might not have bought it out of the swarm of RPGs that came out this year however it is a fun spin-off and a good fit for the Vita. I recommend picking it up. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Ragnarok Odyssey is more less a game than a mediocre experience of a button masher with slightly deliverd RPG elements and a non existent story.
    I would like to point out some of its flaws.

    First the item system.
    You collect items by finishing enemies, bosses, breaking crates and barrels, this is fine so far.
    BUT this is the ONLY WAY to get anything which becomes annoying if you have to beat the same boss for the FELT thousandth time, just to receive an OH so needed object.
    There is no shop, no other way to achieve very needed items for upgrading or refining.
    Even when you buy NEW equipment, you NEED the listed items, just to BUY the wanted equipment, this is not right and feels so dumb and awkward.

    For example:
    You want to buy Z Armor, but when you go to the trader, it says: "I need item W, X and Y and of course it costs you additionally 10000 zeny."
    WHY, WHY do I have to, as a customer of that trader, get the needed materials myself??? THAT defeats the purpose!!!
    Imagine (in real life now) you buy a NEW car, and the reseller tells you:"Well in order to sell you that car, I need an engine, a gearbox, some tires, some seats and of course a frame. And this is gonna cost you 10000€. To be paid in advance!" Would you buy from there? WHAT were they thinking???

    Also the idea how this item system works makes the use of the ingame currency completely OBSOLET, as you can only buy the fewest equipment without needing material.
    And to topple that, the head gear equipable seems to be just cosmetic, there is no change if I use a head gear or if I don't.
    Which brings me to the DLC available, they have no existence right, nobody playing this product and being right in their mind would BUY the DLC's!
    They add nothing, no status changes, no abilities, no values, simply nothing but a cosmetic change. Which makes soooo much difference in this game.

    Next, mission variety. Honestly this is Ragnarok Odyssey's weakest part.
    As for the variety of doable mission the developers must have been in a complete mental blockade.
    There are only three different types of missions (well if you're very picky there are only two).
    Objective 1: GET X ITEM Y TIMES, means you're grinding through a level only to find the needed amount of whatever kind of item has been asked. Basically you could just rush through the entire map without fighting a single foe. Sounds very plain and dumb, well, it is.
    Objective 2: DEFEAT X ENEMIES, means you're grinding through a level only to kill everything in sight. Basically you could just eliminate the foes in question and skip everything else.
    Very amusing... not really.
    Objective 3: DEFEAT BOSS X, means you have to kill said boss which is basically objective 2. Just with one or two foes.
    Is there any reason not to have a LITTLE broader variety, like an escape mission (run away from said boss) or free prisoners from a monster camp (make sure they escape unharmed)?
    Not even the level design calls for a big variety as there are only 10 different levels with a few areas to explore.
    The absoulte same goes for the enemies, they feel generic and only differ in strength, colour and size, but that's it.
    But there is another problem with the maps, the AMBUSHES, they feel so precalculated, every time you enter a new area you KNOW there is an ambush right after the entrance or directly before the exit.
    This is just a means to stop the player from rushing through the entire level, because the devs know that this would otherwise be a very very short game.
    Well there isn't even variety in boss battles, it's always straight to the main foe, even if there are smaller enemies, I can kill them or ignore them, neither makes a difference.
    Also fighting the same boss over and over and over again isn't going to make the game more apealing. Fighting GRENDEL six times (including 2 BRONZED versions) isn't going to be more interesting, same goes for every other BOSS in game, honestly did the devs run out of BOSSES? The northern mythology offers so many different characters and would make for a good base.
    No, recycling is the key... for a BAD experience.

    Next problem, the gameplay itself is completely UNBALANCED.
    I'm writing this because I have run into trouble a felt TRILLIONth time when there are more than three foes with the right combination of skills and you are playing alone. They stun you, they paralyze you, they bind you, they stagger you and send you flying the whole map. By the time your character gets up, most enemies have reached you and do the same procedure again and again and AGAIN.
    Which is aparently not very amusing, so playing in solo means for a very very very frustrating experience.
    A few people in my surrounding were playing this game which I was multiplaying with, but by now, all of them have laid of THIS, in favor of other not so HARD and BORING games.
    This is an alarming sign.
    There is nothing, literally nothing to be gained by forcing myself to play it through, not even an interesting story end.
    Expand

See all 28 User Reviews