User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 141

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    Like many other sequels, Rayman Legends tries to take the essential elements of it's predecessor Origins and modify them just enough to give it a fresh, shiny new feel. Unfortunately, Legends could have learned from itself in this case by bringing the gameplay "Back to Origins". While Rayman Legends is packed to the gills with content and challenging gameplay, somewhere along the line itLike many other sequels, Rayman Legends tries to take the essential elements of it's predecessor Origins and modify them just enough to give it a fresh, shiny new feel. Unfortunately, Legends could have learned from itself in this case by bringing the gameplay "Back to Origins". While Rayman Legends is packed to the gills with content and challenging gameplay, somewhere along the line it strayed away from some of the basic elements that made Origins so phenomenal in the first place. Collecting lums feels very different, as you are expected to collect even more than before in every level (the giant sleeping lums that turned smaller lums red and made them dance have been replaced with an ordered pair of pink lums that offer the same effect, minus the fun music and timed excitement). Even when playing the 'Back to Origins' stages, these new effects remain. Also, you are now faced with the challenge of finding 10 teensies hidden in every level (smaller levels may have only 3, and this effect is also carried over into the Origins levels). I find it to be an effective change, however it only adds frustration to my experience having to do all of the extra footwork. I'm not sure why Ubisoft decided to change something that didn't seem to be flawed in the first place. Finally, the Murphy levels.....oh the Murphy levels. Forced down your throat, you will get sick of these gimmicky levels very, very quickly. A seemingly good idea at first, but once you've played 2 or even 3 in a given world, you grow sick of them very quickly. I applaud Ubisoft for making the use of touch controls in this scenario, however it strays away from the basic formula that again made Origins so successful in the first place. All this negativity being said, Rayman Legends is certainly not a bad game, and is chock full of charisma and challenging gameplay. Fans of Origins may find themselves getting frustrated with Legends at times, however there is enough of everything in this game to at least keep it balanced and make you want to keep moving forward. Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Tengo que decir que Rayman Legends is one of the best platform games i had ever play, do you want a challenge, this one is a good god challenge, Asi es Amigos, No duden en comprarlo
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    Rayman Legends on the Vita has moments that are absolutely fantastic, and a few that are quite horrible. So let's talk about the good excellent platforming, fun challenge levels, a ton of content, funny, the 3/5 of the music levels are absolutely perfect. This is one of the only games where I actually find it fun to go back and replay a particular level. Now for the bad first the MurphyRayman Legends on the Vita has moments that are absolutely fantastic, and a few that are quite horrible. So let's talk about the good excellent platforming, fun challenge levels, a ton of content, funny, the 3/5 of the music levels are absolutely perfect. This is one of the only games where I actually find it fun to go back and replay a particular level. Now for the bad first the Murphy levels! These are pathetic for us Vita users. At first I thought they were fun, but as it gets more complicated you realize how stupid the AI is which makes them extremely difficult. In addition there is a bug with the accelerometer and many times I had to restart the vita midway through a murphy level as the game was all bugged out and the accelerometer couldn't control it properly. Next, there are a couple music levels that are just "meh". These were a fantastic idea! and the ones that work well are perfect! the others are a disappointment. I'm also a bit unsure what I think about "Origins" content. Of all the lums you collect about 1/3 are coming from Rayman Origins levels that were put into the game.... while there's a "ton of content" this content feels like filler since it's pretty much just Rayman Origins levels. All in all though, the game is good value. I wish so bad they remove the murphy levels, any time i came upon a painting with murphy on it I felt sick, these levels really are a chore. And a few of the music levels are just killer awesome. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This game easily deserves a 10. Its the best platform game I've played in years, if ever. It really is as good as Super Mario Bros, the gameplay is just perfect, the levels are beautiful, the difficulty level is set just right, the game is so much fun and there is loads of replayability with the daily challenges that keep me playing every single day, the cups to get and extra levels toThis game easily deserves a 10. Its the best platform game I've played in years, if ever. It really is as good as Super Mario Bros, the gameplay is just perfect, the levels are beautiful, the difficulty level is set just right, the game is so much fun and there is loads of replayability with the daily challenges that keep me playing every single day, the cups to get and extra levels to unlock, including the Rayman Origins levels.

    Apparently some extra levels that were taken out will be added back in as free DLC, the game has so much content it doesn't really need the extra levels, but its great that the speed run levels will be added back in.

    I really like all the Murphy levels that some don't seem to like. This game is flawless in my opinion, I LOVE it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    This game is just as pleasant as Rayman Origins. But despite it's likeness there are still lots of new staff. New beatifully painted worlds, lots and lots of characters. The main game levels feels slightly easier to play comparing to Origins. But for those who seek to compete there are online challenges in which you ought to put a lot of effort to take acknowledgeable place. The other funThis game is just as pleasant as Rayman Origins. But despite it's likeness there are still lots of new staff. New beatifully painted worlds, lots and lots of characters. The main game levels feels slightly easier to play comparing to Origins. But for those who seek to compete there are online challenges in which you ought to put a lot of effort to take acknowledgeable place. The other fun new staff are levels, where you play with touch panel. I believe it is available only for vita and WiiU gamers. One could not think of a better way to include touch mechanics in a game. The sad thing is that there are no new mosquito stages. But it doesn't really makes this game any worse. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    Rayman origins was one of the best vita games at the time of its lunch. Rayman legends has returned to repeat the fun time that everybody had with Rayman origins. Sure it does Rayman legends consist of 5 chapters and one extra chapter yes the crazy land of livid dead!) which will take a long time to compelete it. also it contains all the origins levels and so much more content andRayman origins was one of the best vita games at the time of its lunch. Rayman legends has returned to repeat the fun time that everybody had with Rayman origins. Sure it does Rayman legends consist of 5 chapters and one extra chapter yes the crazy land of livid dead!) which will take a long time to compelete it. also it contains all the origins levels and so much more content and challenge levels and stuff. Overall gameplay is very pleasing and fun to play. Only weird part that I did not like it is the murphy levels, they could make it optional it makes the gameplay kind of weird, one part its platforming and then suddenly it changed to a touchscreen game.
    OVerall it is a good game.
    Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    7
    This game could be a 10. It is chock full of content, even with the missing invasion levels which are supposed to be patched in later. The platform levels are great and there's some real creative design. So why is this a 7 BECAUSE OF THE AWFUL MURFY LEVELS!!! These might be fun as co-op, but honestly how many people have two vitas in the same house (it's not online). Some of these levelsThis game could be a 10. It is chock full of content, even with the missing invasion levels which are supposed to be patched in later. The platform levels are great and there's some real creative design. So why is this a 7 BECAUSE OF THE AWFUL MURFY LEVELS!!! These might be fun as co-op, but honestly how many people have two vitas in the same house (it's not online). Some of these levels are creative, but they are NOT FUN!!! Also, while you are controlling murfy, the AI is doing the platforming and it's not good AI. The PS360 version of the game allow you to control the platforming and do the murf stuff with button prompts and seems like a lot more fun. I wish they would patch the game so we can play it that way... Expand
  8. Sep 26, 2013
    5
    I have to agree with kingofall214.

    This game shines on the ps3, but the ps vita port is utterly ruined by the Murphy stages. It would have been okay if 50% of the game wasn't dreadful Murphy levels. The game is also lacking content severely. Tons of levels are missing from the console versions, and 40 of the remaining levels are just Rayman origins levels that were put into
    I have to agree with kingofall214.

    This game shines on the ps3, but the ps vita port is utterly ruined by the Murphy stages.

    It would have been okay if 50% of the game wasn't dreadful Murphy levels.

    The game is also lacking content severely. Tons of levels are missing from the console versions, and 40 of the remaining levels are just Rayman origins levels that were put into legends because they had no idea how to artificially lengthen this game. From someone who loved the ps vita version of origins, this game is so painfully disappointing, i feel like smashing my head into a wall. repeatedly. How could they ruin this game so much? The graphics, sound and control are pretty good, but its got a very "seen there, done that" vibe and the story is weak at best. I dreaded every time i had to do the Murphy levels, which force you to guide a dimwitted AI companion through AWESOME levels, that you never get to play. He was constantly skipping lums and dieing, and i just wished that i could platform in those levels, but this game just doesn't let you do that. So basically 60 of the levels in this game are useless, because they are just rayman origins levels, or are just missing entirely. But whats left of the levels? Fun platforming and dreadful Murphy sections, which are basically half the game.

    This game is not bad, but the pathetic levels turns this game sour and you need to avoid it at all costs.
    Expand
  9. Sep 7, 2013
    4
    Removing control from the player in a platforming game is a big no no. The Murphy levels in this game do this and it breaks all immersion. There is no reason why you shouldn't be able to control your character and use the touch screen to move the environment. This game could of been an easy 4/5 with the great normal/music levels but the Murphy levels ruin that chance. The Murphy levels areRemoving control from the player in a platforming game is a big no no. The Murphy levels in this game do this and it breaks all immersion. There is no reason why you shouldn't be able to control your character and use the touch screen to move the environment. This game could of been an easy 4/5 with the great normal/music levels but the Murphy levels ruin that chance. The Murphy levels are fundamentally flawed and as such I give this game a 2/5 or 4/10. Buy Rayman Origins instead. Expand
  10. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    I have to say that this game is extremely beautiful to look at, and it has great controls and level design. There is however, 1 FATAL FLAW that kills the game for me and 2 friends of mine that bought the game for VITA: losing control of your character during the Murphy levels and being forced to complete them using incredibly frustrating touch-screen controls. I find myself skipping theseI have to say that this game is extremely beautiful to look at, and it has great controls and level design. There is however, 1 FATAL FLAW that kills the game for me and 2 friends of mine that bought the game for VITA: losing control of your character during the Murphy levels and being forced to complete them using incredibly frustrating touch-screen controls. I find myself skipping these levels whenever possible because of how rotten they are. Please Ubisoft, patch the game to include the Xbox 360/PS3 controls as an alternate option! Expand
  11. Feb 24, 2015
    1
    I absolutely loved rayman origins. Easily my most enjoyed platformer on any ..ahem.. platform. Perhaps this explains my utter dismay at the absolutely dismal choices they made with the vita version of this game. They have liberally, and i do mean LIBERALLY spread Murphy levels throughout this game, with no indication to signal whether or not you are about to play a Murphy level or not.I absolutely loved rayman origins. Easily my most enjoyed platformer on any ..ahem.. platform. Perhaps this explains my utter dismay at the absolutely dismal choices they made with the vita version of this game. They have liberally, and i do mean LIBERALLY spread Murphy levels throughout this game, with no indication to signal whether or not you are about to play a Murphy level or not.

    What's wrong with Murphy you ask? He's cute, yes, sure, but in Legends, at least on the vita, his gameplay relies exclusively on touchscreen controls... what this means is that, at any moment, and these moments are plentiful (i'm only a handful of hours into the game, but at least half of what I've played thus far, if not more, are these types of levels) you could find yourself forced to poke and swipe your way through a level, wondering why you can't just use the god-given control inputs your vita was born with.

    If I wanted a touchscreen game I'd use my damn phone.. they could have, at the very least, identified these levels, maybe grouped them into their own section so those disinclined could avoid them.. or maybe, supported physical inputs for them.

    gah! this game is awful. I paid
    Expand
  12. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    Wow this Rayman series is fun, funny, and challenge. The Graphics is so gorgeous and beautiful with full colour. This games is so simple just run & hit, but i love the music is so fenomenal, can't wait next rayman series coming out...recommend it
  13. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Perfectly polished platformer full of fresh ideas, action, chalenges and most importantly full of fun.
    Warning: on-line challenges could be addictive.
  14. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    The best game I've played on Vita so far. Gameplay is a lot of fun. Challenging but not frustrating. However, not recommended if you are going for the platinum trophy. You need to repeat challenge levels every day to get that, which could make you sick.
  15. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing as frick. There is lost of content, including a main story campaign that includes five main worlds: Teensies in Trouble, Toad Story, Fiesta de los Muertos, 20,000 Lums Under the Sea, and Olympus Maximus. Plus, there is a bonus world, known as Party of the Livid Dead, which contains a rhythm-based platforming level known as Grannie's World Tour, as well as 5 harder,This game is amazing as frick. There is lost of content, including a main story campaign that includes five main worlds: Teensies in Trouble, Toad Story, Fiesta de los Muertos, 20,000 Lums Under the Sea, and Olympus Maximus. Plus, there is a bonus world, known as Party of the Livid Dead, which contains a rhythm-based platforming level known as Grannie's World Tour, as well as 5 harder, "8-bit" remixed rhythm courses from previous worlds, which are Castle Rock, Orchestral Chaos, Mariachi Madness, Gloo Gloo, and Dragon Slayer. Not only that, but there are tons of unlockable playable characters, including a new heroine introduced in this game, Barbara. There are five Murfy's Challenges levels (exclusive to Vita version), many Teensies to search around in each level for, 40 remastered levels from Rayman Origins, daily and weekly challenges allowing you to compete with other players, a Kung Foot mini-game, and much more. You can even play with a friend, one controlling a platforming character and one controlling Murfy. The graphics are a really beautiful display, and look great on the Vita's OLED screen. The gameplay is just as excellent here as it was in Origins. The controls are even tighter and more fluid than Origins, the levels' designs are really detailed and each course feels distinguished from one another, the game is booming with creativity, introducing new concepts such as Murfy slapping switches, slicing ropes, protecting the character(s) from projectiles, carrying a shield, digging through cake, moving obstacles with handles, and more, and of course, the rhythm-based music levels. The story isn't very robust, but it's Rayman! Who plays a Rayman game for story, anyways? My main complaint, though, is that the Murfy sections aren't as fun. The Murfy sections are often frustrating as you don't have control over the platforming character, as they are CPUs in these sections. And the CPUs don't always do what you want. These sections are more fun in multiplayer mode. Also, the CPU is almost always an ugly Globox re-skin, which is often underwhelming. Plus, the Invasion levels are absent as of now, but Ubisoft stated they would be added via a free patch in the future. Overall, this game gets a 9 out of the 10. Expand
  16. Jan 1, 2014
    7
    This game is visually stunning on the Vita's oLED screen. It reminds me a lot of Mario where you simply can't put down, unfortunately though, the "murfy levels" are a big annoyance. There is simply too many of them. On the big plus are the music levels, simply wow.
  17. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    I really wasn't expecting this to be this awesome, but it just is, The touch screen controls are awesome, responsive and just great, the amount of levels is pretty good, and the fact it includes the best levels of Rayman Origins, really makes it worth it. People have complained it was so obviously made for Wii U is pretty correct, but the touch controls are also on the Vita version, notI really wasn't expecting this to be this awesome, but it just is, The touch screen controls are awesome, responsive and just great, the amount of levels is pretty good, and the fact it includes the best levels of Rayman Origins, really makes it worth it. People have complained it was so obviously made for Wii U is pretty correct, but the touch controls are also on the Vita version, not just Wii U. While it was missing the "invasion levels" the console version had, they were added in a patch quite recently. This is an awesome game, you need to get it. Now. Why are you still reading this when you could be playing one of the best games of the year? Expand
  18. May 19, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome even though its a port it feels like nothing was lost from ps3 to vita and better yet it feels and plays like it was made for vita don't get the first one get this one because most if not all of the levels form the original are in this
  19. Nov 20, 2014
    7
    This is a stunning platformer on Vita. It's as glorious as it is on concoles but also shares the same problems which I mentioned on my Wii U-version review.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends outperforms its predecessor not only quantitative but also in qualitative terms.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    Rayman Legends on PSVita is a solid conversion, marginally plagued by some minor problems. But still: if you're looking for an enjoyable platforming experience on the go, look no further.
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends is a masterpiece on every platform, and the PS Vita version is no exception. Nevertheless the game suffer from minor bugs such as a worst graphical definition and the lack, for now, of some levels. This is also the only other version featuring touch controls which makes this, in terms of gameplay, the closest experience to the WiiU version.