Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Michel Ancel, celebrated creator of Rayman, Beyond Good & Evil and the Raving Rabbids returns to his roots to bring us Rayman Origins: a high-definition, 2D side-scrolling, platforming adventure!
    Play Rayman Origins and discover or rediscover the magical universe and legendary 2D gameplay
    that captured the hearts of fans...
    When the Glade of Dreams is overrun by "nefurrious" Darktoons, the Fairy Council hastily invokes Rayman to save the day; but the hero of light isn't quite all there...To help him, Rayman teams up with his best friend, Globox, and two crafty wizards, the Teensies. Together, the world's most hilarious team of heroes will need to restore peace to the Glade or watch as their beloved home vanishes like a bad dream... [Sony]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    100
    It's one of the best platformers I've ever laid hands on, and it's a shame that I waited this long to play it. How this game didn't top more lists than it did as possible GOTY material in 2011 is beyond me, because it certainly deserves all the accolades it's received thus far (and more!). I don't toss out the A+ often (in fact, this is a first), but Origins totally fits the bill of what an A+ experience is all about.
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    92
    As the name might suggest, Rayman Origins takes us back to the roots of platform gaming, both in its simple 2D, side-scrolling presentation and its fundamental gameplay concepts of running and jumping; not unlike a certain Italian plumber we all know. What was one of the greatest console platform games of 2011 has just become the first great handheld game of 2012 and a must-buy launch title for anyone with a new PlayStation Vita.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    90
    Rayman Origins takes on a genre mastery of ground work laid down decades ago and elevates it to astronomical new standards. It's a spectacular living painting that's as much fun to play as it is to look at, and it's a total triumph.
  4. 90
    Every bit as good as the version for the home consoles. If you've yet to play this game, you're missing out on 60 levels of pure platforming bliss. Our only gripe is the lack of multiplayer, but if anything, that just made us appreciate the spectacular level design even more.
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    90
    Although we don't understand why this PSVITA version has lost its multiplayer component, it is still a great platforming game and one of the best in the platform launch portfolio. Also, the game feels very good in a portable format, and is a very recommended buy for those who don't own the game on another platform.
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    86
    Genius design wrapped in gentle whimsy. [Apr 2012, p.105]
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, Rayman Origins is still a fantastic game, with or without multiplayer. If you haven't checked it out yet, you now have one more reason to give it a shot.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    I was really torn on what game to buy at launch and I'm so glad that I settled for this one. Holy cow! The best platformer I've ever played and it's perfect for a handheld. A must have for ALL gamers of ANY age group. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Best. Vita. Game. Especially the graphics...holy cow. Beautifully executed. This is the must buy game for the Vita that anyone can enjoy. Its platforming brilliance on the same level as Mario, and thats coming from a Nintendo fan. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This is the best Vita game to date. Beautiful from the moment you turn it on. The art design is just breath taking. This is the best Rayman game to date. The touch screen on the Vita fits right into the gameplay. You'll enjoy every moment you have with this game. It's a MUST OWN! Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Brings out what the vita can do. Very cool game too, great music and maybe the best 2D graphics around. Mario has met his match. Have been playing it little by little to savour it for longer (not saying it's short, though), got the platinum today. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    One of the most addictive platform games I've played for a good while. Definitely worth buying if you have just got a new PS Vita, must have. Graphics are bright and the game play is intuitive and capturing. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    A truely fun 2D side scrolling game, I thought Mario and maybe little big planet were all there really was in this genre but when I picked up this game used I was really impressed, it looks great and plays smooth. I've been telling my Vita friend he needs to pick it up. no multiplayer options to speak of but it is a rich enough experience without it. I haven't beaten it yet but I think I'm in for lots of fun! This is a perfect game for the Vita Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    I loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy this terrible game. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games Image
    Published: September 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PlayStation Vita.
  2. Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita

    Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita Image
    Published: February 15, 2012
    Sony's new handheld gaming device arrives in North America next week (or today, for anyone purchasing the first edition bundle). Is it any good? Find out inside, where we survey dozens of reviews for the new PS Vita.