User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 218 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 218

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2012
    10
    After playing through the single player campaign, I can safely say it's a very enjoyable experience. :) Not sure what the reviewers were playing, but it's a good story with pitch-perfect game play mechanics. It is anywhere from 5 to 8 hours, depending on which difficulty you choose. There is some replay value here, specifically with gun upgrades. This will keep me busy for weeks, at least.

    Then, there is the multi-player. THIS is where the game got addicting. I absolutely LOVE the multi-player. You get into the matches very quickly, also...unlike any PSP game. Lol. If you pick it up for nothing else, get it for this. I highly recommend the game to any Vita owner. Again...no idea why anyone would give it a low review. The graphics aren't terrible either. They're fairly good for a handheld title. It may not look AS good as Uncharted: Golden Abyss or Wipeout 2048, but it's pretty close. It's a must-buy!
    Expand
  2. May 29, 2012
    8
    The first dual analog first person shooter, and apart from a little bit of clunky controls and lacking the insomniac polish, this game is alot better than some people are making out. So don't cancel your pre-orders to soon. Sure the game isn't evolutionary but it is robust and offers alot to resistance fans. The campaign is well set out with five main missions which are exactly the right length. The Story is put together with sharp and well presentable cut scenes with better than average audio. With the high level of games on the PlayStation people have come to expect alot from video games with skyrim ranking up over 100 hours. So fans maybe annoyed with the short length to the campaign which at best makes 8+ hours but the fun will carry on in the multiplayer which is fun for short periods of drop in fun, sure the depth is missing but is a foot in the door for the future titles like call of duty to flourish on this evolutionary device. To finish this game shows the bright future ahead for vita and the idea that there is better to come is mouthwatering to say the least. Expand
  3. May 29, 2012
    10
    Playing this now - it's a great FPS and by far the most fun multiplayer on any hand-held. Serves as a taste of what Killzone and Call of Duty will build on to deliver a truly superb bundle of shooting fun!!
  4. May 29, 2012
    8
    I got the game and just got through the 1st chapter of the campaign. I honestly don't know what all the bad reviews are about, or maybe I'm just excited to finally play an FPS on the Vita, but I think the game is a lot of fun. I also don't expect a PS3 or Xbox 360 experience on a handheld, because, well, it's a HANDHELD! The graphics aren't on par with Uncharted, but they're not as poor quality as the PSP, they're kinda in between. I'm already liking it way more than Unit 13 which became so repetitive after a week. Some people have said the controls are clanky, but I find myself double-tapping the back touch panel to run without even thinking twice, and I really enjoy some of the touch-to-drag mechanics of the grenades, grenade launchers and the tagger. I think it's pretty cool. By the way, I'm not a Resistance fanboy, this is the first title in the series I've played, so I'm non-biased.

    On a side note, I haven't had any luck playing online, it keeps saying it's losing connection... pretty typical on first day FPS launches as I recall (*cough* Battlefield). I think it's worth getting, just for the fact that it's a solid FPS on the go.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2012
    8
    The storyline is interesting, touchscreen controls aren't unnecessarily difficult to get the hang of. So the graphics aren't as good as they can be. But keep in mind that this is one of the first games made strictly for the vita and developers obviously aren't able to show the vita's full potential just yet. For the first FPS on the vita, Resistance: Burning Skies is a very solid game. Critics can complain about how often music plays or how the graphics aren't up to their standards, but amazing graphics don't make a game enjoyable. The content does.And this game has good enough content to make me want to pick up my vita instead of one of my consoles. Don't let the critics determine everything for you. I almost did, but I'm glad I didn't. Expand
  6. May 29, 2012
    8
    I bought a Vita just for this game and the shooting is fun as hell. The story's crap but for fps I don't care about it. The weapons are varied and the shooting is fun. Graphics do disappoint. I fought one boss yet and its entertaining for sure. Been in the campaign for 3 hours, haven't finished the game yet. Serves as a COD and Killzone (Vita versions) appetizer for me.
  7. May 29, 2012
    10
    Great Vita FPS! There generally seems to be a media consensus to bad review the Vita games for whatever reason. This game already adds to my Great library of Golden Abyss (easily 90+ rating), The SHow (rating s/be 85+) and Unit 13 (rating 80+).. Easily I would rate Resistance as 80 +. Not looking forward to Gravity Rush, but Metal Gear definitely!
  8. May 29, 2012
    8
    The campaign is what I expected from Nihilistic. Its involvement with the series overall is not much. As Resistance 1-3 was the story about Nathan Hale, for the most part, this game takes apart from all of that and is about the start of the Chimera attack in America. This is not a bad thing though, as the company had a lot of creative freedom with the story at this point. After Retribution, my expectations for a handheld Resistance were really low and Burning Skies soared right past them. First off, I was simply amazed at how fluid most of the controls were. Turning was a little pain when the jumping Chimera were going all over the place, but with the Bullseye's secondary fire being touch based, it's so much easier to tag them than in Resistance 3. Unlike Uncharted: Golden Abyss, the touch controls in this game are much more friendlier. Using the axe is a little awkward, seeing as you have to let go of the camera controlling joystick, but I wouldn't be able to see another alternative anyways. The multiplayer is okay. It will keep you playing for sure. It's not solid though. Lack of Adhoc was disappointing though, making it online only. And when you're like me and have a PS3 with Resistance 3, online isn't that great. HOWEVER, I haven't been able to use this feature yet, but I'm sure with the Party Chat feature on the Vita, gaming with friends is much better. I was the only one of my friends to invest in the Vita, and while I am disappointed with the lack of original titles and PSP backwards compatability, Resistance is one of those few games I'm happy to say is great on the Vita. Expand
  9. May 30, 2012
    5
    Just because its the First FPS for the Vita, it doesnt mean it has to look average. Im paying the same price for this, so I should demand quality! And this game doesnt have it. Get gravity rush instead of this beta test of a FPS, its not worth it.
  10. May 29, 2012
    9
    The singleplayer campaign is very entertaining, looks good and let you get used tot the controls. The multiplayer is even better then the singleplayer campaign. The graphics aren't that bad, but I wanted to play this game mostly for the story.
  11. May 29, 2012
    6
    This game is a great first FPS for vita. Great gameplay and multiplayer, solid graphics, but a short dull story. So what, don't trust critics. If you like the other resistance games or FPSs, get this game.
  12. May 29, 2012
    9
    Really amazing game that shows the beginning of a portable FPS revolution! Plays so good, and the screen pops with epic gun play that rivals the early PS3 shooters. The Vita has so many good games for this early in its life span, and Resistance Burning Skies is a amazing addition to a ever growing list of AAA experiences.
  13. May 30, 2012
    7
    I don't understand all the poor reviews... First Resistance game I play as the PSV is my first PlayStation and I'm really enjoying it. Story is ok, controls are spot-on and graphics are decent. Not a perfect game, but also very far from garbage!
  14. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    I played this game and really enjoyed it. don't listen to the critics they are comparing this game to the ps3 resistance series. over 10 guns myltiplayer is nice i likes it
  15. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    I reviewed this previously and have since played more and have to update. Where is the ammo? You have tons of great guns and you never have more than 20 bullets total. Sad, pathetic game. Selling it!
  16. May 29, 2012
    7
    I don't hate it, but it can definitely use some repairs. I can understand why a lot of magazines are giving it bad reviews, but I don't think this games faults justify the ridiculously low scores it has been receiving. The one problem that really stood out to me was the audio. I could tap on my desk and get a better weapons fire sound than what's in the game. Also, there are no noticeable changes in sound dynamics; everything sounds the same no matter how far or close you are to the source. The graphics are very inconsistent. Most areas are fairy detailed, but some large items I swear I could not make any sense out of it- it was that blurry. But despite these issues, the game is fun. It has never been so satisfying to unload your ammo into the Chimera. Its a pain in the ass to type on this touchscreen phone so Ill get straight to the point: It's a competent, borderline mediocre shooter. It's rough around the edges. At times it even feels incomplete. But its a decent shooter, and most of the time, its fun. Expand
  17. May 29, 2012
    7
    Just got Resistance: BS today and it is a decent game.A note though, I have not finished it yet. Resistance is a run of the mill average shooter, not bad, nit great. The story is decent on the game, it has some emotion to it. You play a fire fighter that is trying to save his family, much like the Resistance 3 game, which was my favorite of the series. The controls work well and the touch screen abilities are not gimicky. The touch screen is used for many features including grenades and secondary fire. For grenades you touch and hold the grenade icon and drag over to where you wan the grenade to land. It takes some getting used to, but but feels quite natural after a half an hour. secondary fire also works much in the same way. For each weapon you use a different hand gesture to do the abilities. For anyone who had played past Resistance games the movements and feels of the guns should be familiar. I have not touch the multiplayer feature yet of the game as well. I will update the review when I get some time in for it. All in all this a decent shooter and is fun. It is the first of it's kind on a handheld so that is saying something. I am not disappointed that I bought the game. If you are looking for a fun FPS to get for your Vita Resistance: Burning Skies is a good choice, since well...it is your only choice at this point, but it is worth the purchase. Expand
  18. May 29, 2012
    1
    Just to get this out, this is a Nhilistic software game which makes really below average games that are not worth buying. This is just another example of that. Going through the single player campaign i finished it around 6-7 hours which is pretty good for a shooter in this day and age. The graphics were so-so and the environments were drab and boring through the whole game. The story was very boring an stereotypical as well. The games only saving grace was its gameplay section. It was fun to shoot enemies and messing around with guns was fun as well. Being the first, FPS for the vita it was ambitious but ultimately it pales in comparison to its console counterparts by far and is just another FPS. It is definitely worth skipping and better to wait for gravity rush or other games that may be announced at E3. Expand
  19. May 29, 2012
    1
    This is game (after the surprisingly good orginal trilogy for the ps3) leaves nothing behind but a sour taste and memories of a dull, uninspiring and short campaign. Don't take the metascore at face value either, this game is defintly lower than a 6, just all the playstation blogs and magazines are the only ones giving it decent reviews.
  20. May 29, 2012
    2
    It's a very mediocre fps (to say the less), graphics are more like those ones from ps2 games. I think Unit 13 is much better (although it's not a fps). What really impress me here is the existence of some positive scores (maybe there are some game developers from nihilistic subscribed).
  21. May 30, 2012
    5
    Just Plain Average. I was surprised to see the franchise stuffed up like this. I really like this franchise and when i saw this game and i played it, it was an instant bore. Just steer clear of it and buy Gravity Rush or Golden Abyss
  22. May 30, 2012
    9
    This game is great! Lovde the Single Player and Multiplayer! I don't know why there are so many bad reviews. The Controls are great and the graphics are okay. I like the weapon upgrades and other features.
    9/10
  23. May 30, 2012
    9
    Don't listen to most of the critics. They haven't kept in mind that this is the first-ever FPS for the PSVIta, and they keep comparing it to the Console Resistance games. They can't compare this game to the console versions. After playing through the campaign, I have found the graphics and gameplay very solid. It is a great FPS, and once they fix the online problem, it will be even better. Don't be disappointed by the critics. I almost cancelled my order for this game, but I am glad I didn't. Expand
  24. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    good grapics for vita 1st gen, fast multi player no lag, n fast load times, buy it don't listen to review idiots, the game is good, new enemies, big bosses, n great score,
  25. Jun 16, 2012
    7
    This game is fairly good. Graphics: 7/10 about as good as Unit 13 Story: 7/10 fun but not that immersive Multiplayer: Not played it but it looks pretty fun but limited so probably 7 or 8/10 Innovation: 6/10 Feels the same as every other shooter in terms of controls, Presentation of title screen (touch) etc and the touch controls (in-game) feel forced. Variety: 9/10 There is loads to do with your guns (Customisation) and the satisfaction of getting a scope (for example) through collecting a blue orb from some random back alley is brilliant. Overall: 7/10 Very fun at times but an overall fairly standard and average game. Worth around the £20 mark (and you need a network pass so get it new!). Pretty good. Expand
  26. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    Resistance Burning Skies isn't the best FPS ever made, but if you're looking for a shooting game with a solid multiplayer experience and a decent single player campaign on your PSVITA the latest Resistance game won't disappoint you.
  27. May 31, 2012
    8
    This is a fun game. I hesitated when I saw the reviews, but I am so glad I bought it. Because ammo is limited and weapons are diverse, there is a great deal of strategy and intense, fun fire fights. There is also a good variety of gameplay. Controls are solid. Graphics are good, and I really like the art style of some of the non-game story segments. Overall a really good pick.
  28. May 30, 2012
    10
    It's a lot of fun playing Resistance: Burning Skies. It's a solid shooter with some really nice graphics (for a portable device of course) and responsive controls. I'm not sure why reviewers are giving this game low scores (maybe they expect something more). The only thing I'd complain about is relatively small areas for fighting and maneuver.
  29. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    after playing this game and have finished it I enjoyed it very much for the 40 dollars I spent on it and reccomend it for anyone else who needs it ti help kill itme which is why i baought the vita
  30. May 31, 2012
    9
    A solid FPS single player experience. It was everything I could have asked for. I was surprised by how well the touchscreen was incorporated into the control mechanics. I was also pleased at how well the dual analog worked as I was afraid it would be too twitchy to play a FPS with. Overall, the game was visually pleasing and the story was good. If you're looking for a platinum trophy, it's very easy to obtain in this game. One play through the game and you'll almost guarantee yourself the platinum trophy. I also recommend that people who usually play shooters on normal to play this game on the "difficult" setting right from the get go, as it's difficulty is quite easy. I can't tell you how the multiplayer was because sadly, I do not have a NAT 2 internet connection, which is required for multiplayer. Expand
  31. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    Let's be honest. If this game didn't have "Resistance" in the title most of us probably wouldnt be paying too much attention to it. Single player mode is fairly generic: not really any moments that will wow you, you probably won't care about the characters. The only thing I found interesting about the story was where you could definitely see something starting between Ellie and Tom even though the point of the game is tom searching for his wife. It was pretty strange. Some parts of the game can look pretty, but overall the graphics are pretty bad and extremely BLAND. Not sure who was in charge of the colour but get ready for different shades of BROWN throughout the entire game. Game seems a little rushed, this is definitely noticeable on the final level where it simply guides you through what feels like a number of "challenge rooms" and just throws enemies at you. There are a couple of bosses that feel pretty cool. Game is extremely easy so I recommend jumping right into the Difficult setting for some challenge. Easiest platinum you'll probably likely to achieve. Less than 5 hours of gameplay. Multiplayer, while having it's issues/glitches, feels intimate and can actually be pretty fun sometimes. The maps are fairly generic again with alot of BROWN. Easy to level up to the max 40. Again you should probably get to max level in less than 5 hours. Expand
  32. May 30, 2012
    10
    Really Underrated game. The game is good. Stands out as a good handheld game, if you compare it to big titles of course its not going to do well. Resistance franchise should have been with Insomniac Games. Nihilistic software is not able to give the polish all other Resistance games have.
  33. May 30, 2012
    7
    I had a good time with resistance burning skies, but some flaws in the game prevented it from being a truly realised portable fps. The game play is fun and predictable shooter action with a slight old school flare and controls pretty well, including the touch screen commands, but to me the biggest problem of this game is the lack of scope. One of the biggest selling points of the console resistance titles is the experience that you are part of a giant war encompassing much of the earth, but in this game you feel like your the only soldier in a tiny battle in NY. Besides the empty environments, the below par sound design also contributes to the emptiness. Also the framerate can dip frequently but this doesn't happen too often. Aside from this I still had fun with this game because the shooting controls felt very nice, but this is definatley a grade b shooter by console standards but is acceptable because you've probably never seen a true fps experience on a portable like this before. I personally found resistance: retribution on the psp was overall a stronger title with a better campaign with more interesting characters and story, but this game has better controls. This is a decent head start for fps' on the vita and proves the potential of the system, but the vita is definably capable of delivering a far better experience than this game. This game is proof that outsourcing your game to a third party developer does not always produce ideal results. Although fun, the vita needs stronger fps titles if it wants to gain footing in the handheld market. Expand
  34. May 29, 2012
    2
    Games like this make me wonder if the developer was even really trying. I was looking forward to this game and it honestly disappointed me. The graphics are a mixed bag, ranging from atrocious to decent, with the latter hardly making an appearance. The touch controls feel tacked on and unintuitive and the enemy AI is ridiculous, with most of the Chimera just standing around waiting to be shot in the face. It would take me far too long to explain everything that is wrong with this game, but to name a few: story mode is ridiculously short and incredibly easy, graphics randomly pop in and out, the touch screen is highly unintuitive during a firefight, and cutscenes are UNSKIPPABLE (this one is just nonsensical). It's a fun game if all you're looking for is an incredibly generic FPS in which you shoot things that don't fight back (maybe the Chimera are peacefully protesting being put in such an abysmal game). If you're looking for more, look elsewhere because this installment is a vapid excuse of a game and nowhere near the caliber of the games that came before it. Expand
  35. May 30, 2012
    0
    I can't believe I'm playing this. First of all i would like to say that i am a huge fan of the Resistance series, and i picked this one up really excited to have fun with it. But when i started playing i was completely surprised. The campaign lasted only a few hours. In the Resistance series the story and the characters are a nice addition to what would normally be a good shooter but in this game there is no real story and the characters are bland and just plain awful. Next the controls, the analog sticks work well but that is expected but everything else is terrible! They add in a large amount of touch controls to do different shots and throw grinds and even to do melee attacks, its clunky and does not fit the flow of an FPS. They also incorporate the back touch screen and that is clunky and sometimes unresponsive. Lastly there is the multiplayer, there are only a few different game types and they are generic things that we have seen multiple times before! the servers are not to great too, also it is hard to even find players, I'm guessing after a month the online part will be completely vacant. Pretty much the only good thing i can says bout it is that it is an easy platinum trophy, and that is it. don't pick it up unless you get it for free, its not worth your money or your time. I hope another company makes a resistance title on the vita to redeem its name form this disappointment. Expand
  36. May 31, 2012
    6
    I just finished the single player campaign today and liked it, but I couldn't get over the feeling that it was rushed and unfinished. The graphics are weird, some areas will look like an old ps1 game while others will look closer to ps2. It seems like they spent most of their time working on the final level which probably looks the best of the game and has the most emotional engagement, though that's not saying much. The characters are forgettable besides the main character. Who'd have thought you'd play a fireman in a first person shooter? Overall I feel it was a decent shooter for a portable system but could have used extra time for more polish. I could forgive the short campaign length if the game itself were smoother, but both together leaves a bad taste in the mouth. On the bright side it offers 5 or 6 easy gold trophies :P I tried multiplayer once just to platinum the game and it seemed okay to me until my game froze about 10 minutes into the match. I don't know if that's normal... Expand
  37. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    I don't understand why the expectations are stacked so high for this game. Think of this game to be the equivalent to the first Resistance on the Playstation 3. The graphics impress yet can definitely be improved, the gameplay is fun and intuitive with the touch integration feeling less gimmicky and more natural. The controls take a little getting used to but showcase the full potential of the first person shooter genre on the Vita. The multiplayer is simplistic yet by no means dull or boring and with interesting weapons and a levelling up system akin to its console counterparts. Viewing this as a launch year game, it is harsh to dwell on the games shortcomings (the audio for gunfire is just awful, character models lack the shine as do certain parts of the game, slow down occurs when things get too hectic and it can be difficult to get into a game online) when it is the first game of the series, the first game by the developer, and the first FPS game for the Vita. As all consoles have proven, the games can only improve graphics wise and gameplay wise year by year e.g. compare the first Uncharted to its sequel Expand
  38. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    I think the game is very impressive FOR A HANDHELD FPS. It's on par with Resistance 1 and for a handheld, that's quite an accomplishment. The critics were WAY to harsh on this game. People need to judge handhelds differently. Game is amazing. Definitely recommend.
  39. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Maybe better than firts Resistance. Short. Casual. Not interesting. You earned a platinum trophy for walkthrough on Easy Mode and one time played in multiplayer. But for PSVita this game is a first experience of FPS. Good portable shooter. Bad game from guys created Vampire Mascarade Bloodlines.
  40. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    I wonder how many people are trolling this game and the rest of the Vita games? I've played the campaign, almost done with the 4th level and I have to say I LOVE this game. It is a great on the go shooter (or late night insomnia shooter when I don't want to wake my gf by going to the living room and turning on the 55"). The touch controls are used for a lot of secondary fires and meleeing, and yes the rear touch pad can be used for running, but I find them all extremely intuitive and simple to use (unless you have carpal tunnel or are just not good with your hands). It's not the greatest shooter ever made but it is a great shooter and an amazing handheld shooter. It holds true to the Resistance franchise despite what IGN's dumb reviewers say. I held out for months buying this game because I trusted them, and they have officially lost all credibility with me. The game is fun, the campaign is good, and the controls are great. The only complaint I see remotely valid is the audio of the guns not being loud enough, but they still sound good just not phenomenal. It's a great game, trust me, and if you like Resistance or shooters then you need to play this. Stop trusting these idiot critics and trolls. It's a great game and probably won't be outdone unti Killzone: Mercenaries comes out. Expand
  41. May 31, 2012
    8
    I really don't understand why the hate from the critics. Remember it's a handheld game, not console.
    The only two problems with the games which need to be polished for the next game or with patches:
    1) The artifacts in the cut scenes. It's not even a movie, but cartoonish scenes and still it looks like it's full of artifacts which shouldn't be there at all.
    2) It's very easy! Although I
    haven't really touched the Multiplayer yet. (only in party mode and that was cool)

    So overall I think the game is pretty good, but ofcourse there are certainly points which should be done better for the next game!
    Expand
  42. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    Resistance: BS was a major let down for me. The in game graphics are average, but even worse are the cut scenes! It's like they recorded a cartoon at half the resolution of the Vita. They play back as a pixelated mess... I can live without great graphics, but the terrible cut scenes just give a rushed feel to this game. Next up is the sound. The gunfire sounds like popcorn popping... I'm not sure how much too expect from the Vita's little speakers, but non the less, the popcorn gunfire is rubbish. There is also very little atmosphere created with the sound. You get the odd footstep as you walk along and thats about it.

    The level design is very sparse and boring. The 'battle to save the world' type feeling is lost due to the lack of people! You come across the odd group of two or three soldiers fighting and occasionally you might find the odd civilian here and there. It's pretty lame....

    The story is pretty generic, but it's a FPS. FPS games generally are a bit lacking in the engaging story side of things. What makes this one extra bad though is the poor voice acting and totally lame / cheesy lines that the characters come out with. Some parts are so lame, I actually laughed a bit.

    A positive point about the game is that the controls are actually pretty good! The touch element isn't overdone or annoying and the twin stick setup is great. The actual shooting of Chimera is pretty good fun. It's just a shame that the campaign is so short and easy to blast through. You could easily complete it in a few hours. Once the campaign is done, there is nothing left to do. You will have just about earnt your platinum trophy.... Multiplayer should have been something that you can move on to, but at this stage it's pretty much broken. If you get into a working lobby, it's pretty good fun, but that is half the battle. Lobbies crash all the time and even if you do get in, they seem to be full of glitches. Look on Youtube for people glitching. It's pretty bad. Even if the connection issues get fixed and the glitches sorted out, the multiplayer is fairly limited and I'm not sure it would be engaging for very long.

    All in all, the game is pretty much sub par. I had fun shooting Chimera and the bosses are satisfying to beat. It serves as a nice tech demo of what a FPS will play like on the Vita. Aside from that, you have a bland, sometimes boring, lamely acted out story. A short and easy campaign and a limited / sometimes broken multiplayer. How anyone could rate this game a 10 is beyond me...? Sure, they might have enjoyed it, but the glitches and broken bits are so obvious that you can't miss them. This game is far from being polished perfection!! Currently it's the best (only) FPS on the Vita. If you want to shoot some stuff, then buy it. Just be warned that it's very short lived and definitely not worth the full retail price.
    Expand
  43. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    I think that 5 or 6 out of 10 is about right.

    I must confess to being fairly underwhelmed by the single player campaign. For the most part it feels sparse, underdeveloped and a little shoddy. We all know, from Uncharted and Unit 13, that the Vita is capable of much better than this. The multiplayer is alright. It's a little choppy but it functions pretty well.

    For £40 I
    expected a lot more. I would however, have paid £30 for a faithful port of Resistance 3.

    Maybe if Sony aren't going to take unique Vita titles more seriously, then they should consider porting existing popular titles instead.
    Expand
  44. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    ......Mini rant!......... Why are people Lying? anyone who got this at launch and then tried online KNOWS that the online multiplayer was fixed the day after launch, yes it sucks that it didn't work right when you got the game but what difference does that make now? ...............

    Actual Review................
    ok. its not a 10, but why the hell is this game getting so panned? I bought
    this game not even checking the reviews and the major gripes people have are true. the AI is terrible, hopefully they patch it. the story wasn't award winning but I remember feeling pretty good about myself when I finished the game in an airport. its a portable device, people! For a portable, I was really impressed most of the time how of well it was pulled off, theres some things I didn't like, but its fun, I've already played this game more than uncharted or most of my other games. the multiplayer isn't the rich experience of Killzone 3 or something but its fun enough and theres no other multiplayer online for the Vita yet so I say Kudos to the Dev team. My gripes: AI is just garbage sometimes.. trophies were way too easy, should have set some harder to get Multiplayer ones. Expand
  45. May 30, 2012
    6
    There is nothing wrong with the Vita, at all, but on this evidence alone I doubt it will grow into a reliable market for future First Person Shooters. Burning Skies had all the promise, hopes and anticipation any game with the Sony brand carries but it's one of those games that just doesn't deliver. It's ideas are tried and tested, and the Vita features are only there for the sake of demonstrating what the platform could possibly do. They're never comfortable or convenient, and much like Golden Abyss they only work to slow the game down. The game itself had potential, exploring an area I think more First Person Shooters should charter ( The role of the civilian ). There are tastes of the Vita's visual prowess on display, particularly when the action picks up and the graphics somehow manage to not tear themselves apart. When you finally do find a comfortable strategy to utilising the touch controls and other Vita senses the gameplay will start making more sense, but that takes some amount of experimenting. Overall this isn't the exciting first step I had hoped for, but at least now we know what we shouldn't do if only for future reference when the market tries to attack the Vita market again. If anyone can crack it, god forbid it'll be the crafty Cambridge lot who'll behind the Killzone for Vita or the brass behind Black Ops II ( If they are actually making it for the Vita ). Expand
  46. May 31, 2012
    7
    I felt like the controls and gameplay were fine. I enjoyed playing the campaign, it was pretty fast paced and fun. It clearly wasn't an Insomniac production but it was far from bad. The story was decent but not very deep. I didn't really have an emotional connection to the characters at all. That being said, this is a vita game, it's for playing on the go, and I felt it did that well. It's too bad I have yet been able to get into a multiplayer game. The servers have been down since day one apparently. If multiplayer is fun I would consider giving the game an 8/10. However, advertising multiplayer and then having it not be functional is a big no-no. One thing stands out to me while I play and think about the gameplay - dual analog sticks are awesome! How come it took this long for a portable to have them? Trophies seem to be a breeze too, so if you enjoy collecting trophies, this is a game for you. I do not regret purchasing the game at all I had just hoped for a wee bit more. Expand
  47. May 30, 2012
    8
    I really think the people rating this game so low are comparing it to PS3 games. That's biased and not fair at all. You need to compare it to other similar Vita games and systems if you are going to compare it at all. I know they tell you they don't use other games when deciding what score to give this game but you know they cant help it. You cant just forget what other games you've liked or not. Anyways I read all the bad reviews the night before i picked it up and even the gamestop guy told me i might want to just put my money elsewhere (he hadn't played it, he only had read the reviews) And I'm really glad i didn't listen to any of them. For a (basically launch window) Vita FPS this game is really all that you could ask for. The analog controls are good, the touch screen controls take about 2 seconds to learn (If you cant take the time to learn a new control scheme you should not be playing video games) The story wasn't "EPIC" but it wasn't bad. A nice selection of weapons, enemies and bosses. And the grey tech (collectable gun upgrades) was a reason to search battlefields and not just run through. As of now the multiplayer is down but it should be fixed in a day. I have been waiting for an online competitive shooter on the vita and I think they did a good job with it. People rating the online badly because it doesn't have as many modes and as big of maps as PS3 is exactly what I'm talking about when I say they are biased. It will take time to make a full fledged PS3 game with 20 different online modes and 20+ players at once on the Vita. So don't listen to these low scores.. Greg Miller at IGN rated Unit 13 2 full points higher... And This game is WAY better than that. But Don't take my word OR their word for it. You need to try it for yourself. I NEVER listen to people that say don't go see a certain movie or play a certain game, because everybody has such different opinions. I know I can't tell you to go buy something based on my rating.. but I strongly believe you shouldn't not try a game (Or see a movie) just because someone else didn't like it Expand
  48. May 30, 2012
    8
    This game is something extraordinary for handhelds. Being the first true dual stick shooter is something we have not seen before and while some of the critics are complaining of its lackluster graphics and story we need to remember that this is a handheld and not the ps3. Playing this i was thoroughly impressed with the graphics and the voice overs. the game play is what you expect from a fps and there touchscreen controls make up for the lack of buttons on the vita. The multiplayer also gives this game a high replay value with upgrades you see in any of your console counterparts. In my opinion this is a great addition to the vita and should really be treated better than it currently is. Expand
  49. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    Spilia4 0 As a critic said" It's not a bad First Person Shooter, but for a Resistance entry, one finds it somewhat lacking". I couldn't agree more. The game is okay, but nothing special. There are 6 story missions, each mission lasting a hour or so. It has a generic storyline, and every bit of it is predictable. There are collectibles in the form of intel, but i never felt the need to collect them. There are also upgrades, but I never felt like the upgrades were upgrading my weapon at all. The only noticeable upgrades were the clip sizes, and they only enlarged by 10 bullets or so (except the Bullseye clip upgrade, that almost doubled the ammo per clip!). The graphics are average, but i disliked the cut scenes. Some were okay, but others were just god awful . They played at the begging of every chapter. It was nice the first time, but they weren't skip able. They were nice the first time, but I didn't want to watch them every time i started up the game! This one time, i had to keep turning off the game cause i didn't have time to play the chapter(or it just glitched on me), and I can't tell you how annoying it was to have to watch that same video over and over again. The glitches were also annoying. There were a lot of glitches. Not major one like unbeatable levels or muted cut scenes, just small ones like locking on to an enemy with secondary fire , and all the bullets missing! The sounds are okay. The voice acting isn't that bad, but the bullet sounds are terrible. It sounds nothing like the real thing,and it sounds like bullets are flying all around you, instead of directly in front of you.The multiplayer is okay, but didn't even work the first 2 days after its release. It's fun for a bit, but i can tell the multiplayer won't spawn a community. The single player is very linear, but sometimes I didn't know where the **** to go! Forgettable characters and average storyline make this a okay game,but you won't come back to it often. But I have to be honest, I did have some fun with it, and if you compare it with other handheld shooters, the game is really good. It's also an easy platinum trophy for you trophy hunters. So it's worth a look when the price drops. So, even with all the downfalls, it's a 7/10. The last boss( if you even consider it a boss) is also a disappointment, but I wont spoil anything. Expand
  50. May 31, 2012
    9
    I haven't had this much fun with a handheld console shooter since, ever. The graphics need a bit of polish, but throwing hand grenades from the touch sceen, sniping with precision, and just bad-assing around with my Vita, especially so early in the development cycle, is a blast. I can easily say, for $39 I've already had more fun with this than a lot of over-hyped $60 titles that get way more love online. It has to be said, no: it's not a PS3 version of Resistance, but it is a super-fun experience, for kicking back with a drink or a coffee, and hanging out blowing up creatures for an hour at a time. Expand
  51. May 31, 2012
    8
    It's fun to hate on the Vita I guess... I almost didn't buy this game because of the ridiculous review scores. All I can say is that compared to portable shooters, this game would rank 10/10 and it still holds it's own compared to console shooters. The graphics DO NOT look like PSP as some reviewers had said (they need to get their eyes checked). The control is good, the enemies are aggressive and fun to battle with and as usual for resistance, the guns are top notch. Do yourself a favor and at least try the demo- you likely won't be disappointed. Expand
  52. May 31, 2012
    8
    keeping in mind that this is an early attempt at an FPS on the Vita, this game delivers. i'm almost done with the campaign and although most of the things said were true (to an extent) about it, i believe that they blew it out of proportion. the gameplay is exceptional, graphics are decent (especially for a handheld), and multiplayer is as fast-pace as anything else out there. though there is little replay value in the campaign, multiplayer works and could keep you occupied for hours.

    there is nothing 'new' here, but this is the best FPS on a handheld and delivers an experience that is equal to that of a B-rate shooter on console.
    Expand
  53. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    This game definitely deserves a higher score than it has been getting, although it is not perfect. Multiplayer is fun, something new on the Vita. Single player was also fun, and even though it was short I enjoyed it. There are problems all over with this game, but in the end it is fun. And bugs can be patched...
  54. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    I was a bit skeptical when reading the reviews for this game. But, I ignored the reviews and went to purchase the game. When i got home with the game, I was a bit disappointed because the online was messed up and I was only able to play the campaign. The campaign was pretty good. Played for a couple of hours. Then a couple of days later I finally got online. The online is amazingly fun. It doesn't feel really "new-age." There is not too much selection when it comes to loadouts, but the game is fun nonetheless. I would DEFINITELY recommend this game to anyone looking for a good online FPS experience. Expand
  55. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    I don't understand why some critics are grading this game so poorly. Having played the game, I found it to be a hell of a lot of fun. There were sound issues, to be sure, but these did not detract from a worthwhile experience. The graphics were good, the game play was smooth (though having to take my thumbs away from the analogue sticks to tap the screen to open some doors didn't help), and the fighting satisfying. What a great little FPS for the pocket.

    Good stuff! 77%
    Expand
  56. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    Was fairly impressed with the first FPS to grace the PS Vita. The Vita handles the game great and the control scheme was very easy to get used to. The campaign mode was a bit bland without a lot of depth however it played well and was action packed. The AI in this game was a big con, too many times a AI opponent would fail to see me standing right in front of them; instead of shooting at a clearly visible target the AI would elect to run back and forth in and out of cover. However the campaign still provides a fun and rewarding challenge, I recommend setting the difficulty to the hardest setting right out of the gate to negate the lack of AI and still allow the game to present a formidable challenge. The online multiplayer was very bare bones however, experiencing an online team death match in the palm of your hand on a 5in screen was a sight to behold and definitely got me hyped for the potential of online shooters to come on the Vita.

    Overall I am glad I gave this game a chance despite the bad reviews it got from the press. It was not an excellent game by any stretch of the imagination, however it was a very solid shooter and if nothing else should serve one great purpose: a game to tide people over for future FPS's (like Call of Duty) coming to the Vita in the future.
    Expand
  57. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    I love this game especially the multiplayer, some issues online but its going to be fixed in the next patch.
    Story is pretty good and i like the Online Multiplayer.
    10.
  58. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    So there I was, sitting in my local game store with two games in my hand. They were Resistance: Burning skies, and FIFA or something like that. I really didn't know which one i should pick, I wanted resistance, but at the same time i hadn't heard great things about it. Needless to say I ended up picking up Resistance, and am now overjoyed that I did. I started with the single player campaign, and honestly it wasn't much to write home about. The set pieces fell a little flat, and the lead character seemed very two dimensional until far too late into the story. Yet I still liked the variety of weapons, and some of the enemies and boss battles were pretty epic. Yet after this 6 hours of mediocrity, i found out what this game is really all about; the multiplayer. The excellent multiplayer is the difference in this game getting an 8 from getting a 6. The multiplayer was (and still is) perfect. The maps are perfectly sized, and most of them are open for all play styles. Enjoy sniping? got it. How about mid range combat with an assault rifle? Yes sir. Shotgunning? Absolutely. Then there is a map or two that really pushes you towards one play style or another, but its nice as a way to switch things up. In the 4 v 4 matches, you hardly ever have trouble finding people, but never get killed as soon as you spawn. The servers are generally very supportive, hardly ever dropping you, and the community is still fruitful even after all these months of the game being out. Overall the single player of this game was underwhelming, but fans of online shooters will be pleased. Expand
  59. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    THIS GAME IS EXCELLENT! Critics and people who claim to be resistance/ps fans unfairly disrespecting this game is absurd. Burning Skies is exponentially better than the subpar Unit 13, Burning Skies actually has a campaign unlike unit 13 and a standard (current day 6-8hr) length campaign that is really good. Burning skies has better graphics that are pretty good actually, a much better frame rate than unit 13. Unit 13 has a horrible frame rate do people not notice this? Yet, Unit gets compared to Burning skies by uninformed people and it out sold BS. I was weary about this game but i still got it because i am an actual playstation and Insomniac fan unlike all you other people down rating this game. So you say you played the game so you obviously have a Vita but you don't deserve to own a Vita or any playstation product if you don't support good sony exclusives go buy Call of Duty on xbox or the ultimate "dude" "Bro man" silly looking muscle bound charactor modeled Gears of War which really has gripping story huh? To the people saying the story sucks, it doesn't at all and even gets strongly emotional when you are forced to do something terribly heart breaking late in the game, now that is a gripping and sad emotional moment granted it doesn't last long enough but it is better story and more emotional than anything in halo or gears and that is one scene on a handheld! Not to mention a good setting taking place in ny/nj even a level inside a giant organic chimera ship where the walls are tissue matter ect. not to mention a battle on a crumbling George Washington bridge! I've heard people say that "how come citizens aren't all over and you only encounter stray random groups or just random individuals a little bit?" The chimera rounded most of them up and put them into camps as outlined in the game. Besides the rest are in hiding as shown the strays you find quivering behind a car or in a basement. Your character Tom Riley is an awsome character he is a 3rd generation nyc fireman on the search for his wife and daughter who uses his dead father's badass fire axe to slay chimera on the streets of nyc. You slash and smash chimera with touchscreen controls using an axe The controls are spectacular and easily the highlight of the game. It handles every bit as well as a console FPS and better than most. For being the frist dual analog FPS on a handheld and nailing the gameplay and controls making it feel seemless to any console FPS fan Nihilistic deserves respect and so does Insomniac for their help and input. Nobody can deny the controls are great and shooting down chimera is....fun, remember that fun thing that so many games neglect.WEAPON WHEEL, nobody can deny that the weapon wheel returning is awsome. IT has a variety of great guns some classics like the bullseye,auger,fareye,hedgehog grenade, the carbine and more. Weapons like a double barrel shotgun with a crossbow attached to it (yes it is as cool as it sounds) the bow part can shoot exploding arrows which you can increase the explosion size with grey tech upgrades as all the weapons in the game are massively customizable from scopes to bigger explosion radius to faster reloads to clip size to more unique upgrades each weapon has i think 6-8 upgrades if you find enough grey tech which is scattered in obscure areas. The game features front and back touchscreen controls which do not feel tacked on at all. They make the game more fun and are precise like touchscreen slashing your axe is great, touchscreen grenade controls and many secondary fire touchscreen controls. They even have a touchscreen control for reloading your arrows in the crossbow which works really well is simple to master and fun. Masterfully crafted controls all in all, huge boss fights on a dual analog HD FPS are you kidding me giant satisfying boss fights, fun multiplayer granted the maps are a little small it has all the current day perks of a console multiplayer obviously an xp leveling with weapon/ability and skin perks.The infected mode for multiplayer was borderline genius as well as getting infected through near and getting double xp, you play as chimera or soldiers in multiplayer and it is fun.Yes the game is easy to platinum if you beat the game you will likely be close to a platinum but you still have to go back and do a few more things, since when did people complain about a platinum being too easy? Or maybe you want the trophy setup like Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus for the Vita making it virtually impossible to platinum-or at least forcing over 150hrs of game time to platinum thanx ninja gay den but no thanx i can proudly say i platinumed Burning skies and im not mad about that. score 9/10RBS Expand
  60. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    This game is not as bad as people are making it out, the graphics are ok and the controls are fine, story pretty decent so far, i am enjoying it, please do not be put off by the low review scores, i imagine a few xbots have reviewed this title and are being very very picky.
    enjoy it for what it is, a shooter on a handheld
  61. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    Its not a bad game. its linear and solid, with a few nice weapons and scripted spawn action. some weapons are not really concepted for playing on such a little device (bad handling on them).
    the main problem is the uncreative gameplay. its just a shooter like quake 2, but never even that good! so in generel, it just looks like a very-low-cost-production... but thats all not THAT bad. the
    game start to being boring and repetitive after 2/3 of gameplay. and the endboss is the worst if ever seen in a shooter. no feel of achieving something. Expand
  62. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    The Resistance franchise has always thrived on being different from all the other shooters cluttering up the market. From the touching personal tale of Resistance 3 to the bleak depictions of urban cities decaying under Chimeran rule. Resistance has always distinguished itself from the competition. Sadly Burning Skies doesn't capitalise on the potential of bringing a fully fledged FPS to the PS Vita. The individuality and the heart of Resistance has been disposed for a lame narrative, dull characters, a hammy script, lack of variety and a general lack of Resistance magic. The weapons are at least decent and there is a solid FPS game beneath the humdrum, but this isn't a true Resistance game. If you can take it for what it is then it's passable fun, but that's a hard ask when Burning Skies diverges from what fans know about the franchise. Expand
  63. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I bought this out of desperation as there is such a lack of games out for the vita at the moment. i thought it was going to be just an excuse to get an FPS on the vita meaning the game would have nothing really going for it. i got it any way despite this as i just wanted a time waster for lunch breaks. however i couldn't have been more wrong. this game is fantastic, multi player works and works well, i can even score hits with a sniper and have never experienced lag. and the campaign is also a very this generation FPS. love this game... i probably love it more than most because of how low my expectations were for it in the first place but this is still worth every penny. MORE LIKE THIS FOR THE VITA PLEASE! Expand
  64. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    8.75 / out of 10. This is by far the best handheld FPS game. Not sure how so many reviews are complaining about the story whenever whomever plays threw it, its clearly noted what is going on.. The gameplay, graphics and controls are excellent. Hopefully they will release an add on with a longer story and more unlockables. Possibly even some more levels and game modes online. Still, I enjoy playing 4-4 TDM. Expand
  65. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    After about 12 hours playing this game, I'd say it's uneven but great at times. The single player campaign seems barely ps2 quality graphics and gameplay- it's jarring (in 2012) to see the bodies of your fallen opponents almost immediately disappear, and the overall look of the campaign just show the power that the vita has. HOWEVER, the multiplayer in this game is awesome for a hand-held device, very nearly a real console-type experience. It's true that there's not much for gun or loadout customization, but this game has real (dare I say COD-style) online multiplayer and it's fun as hell. This might not be the most impressive of the initial vita games, but it probably be the one I play most because I can get that competitive mutiplayer game on the go. I can see where the bad reviews come from, but this game is worth it in spades for me because I love to play online shooters. I would love to see more objective-based MP modes and more guns for this game in the future. Expand
  66. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Well, I cant understand for the life of me why this game has had so many negative reviews! If you enjoyed the PS3 trilogy, then pick this up, it slots into the story at the beginning of the invasion of the US (in this case New York). I very nearly didn't bother due to the bad press it has received, but so glad I did. I haven't really spent a great deal of time on my Vita, but once I started this game (and turned down the look sensitivity) until I completed it, it was impossible for me to put it down (aside the twice I had to recharge the battery coz I ran it flat due to the time I put in to it, oh and sleep, must remember that, sleep is good, ha-ha). Its a top little game, and any Resistance fan (or FPS fan for that matter) should at least rent it to make your own mind up, I'm very very glad I did. Expand
  67. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    The game is not as bad as they seem. The gameplay is no different from previous games, the graphics are nothing special but not bad, the story does not bring anything new but it is consistent, the game characters are normal. It may not be the best game of the PS Vita, but not worth the notes you are taking. For the first FPS is reasonable but could be better.
    Sorry, I was wrong
    in  note. In my view deserves 7.0. Expand
  68. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    I would like to give this game a 8.5 but i rounded up

    Great game. Pretty good story too. I liked that their wasnt no **** ass aim assist. I also liked that i was a Legend and no some guy who does all the work and get no credit in the end.

    I hope they make another one i feel like their was some unfinished business with that random girl. Like it set it up for us to hook up and then i
    walked away.. wtf Expand
  69. Jun 20, 2012
    3
    There is nothing more for this game except being the first full fledged console FPS on a portable system and still has some control issues regarding to having to stretch your thumbs to trow grenades of use the axe. Beyond that the game is not very thrilling or compelling or even good... It's another bland FPS that the industry has been **** out for the last 8 years
  70. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    Resistance: Burning Skies is the Vita's first ever First Person Shooter game, but it's an extremely basic one at that. The story, you as Tom Riley going to stop a Chimera invasion from a rouge Scientist, isn't terribly interesting, but it does do a decent enough job as a framing device that strings levels together for the 5 or 6 hours it will take you to beat it. It hooks nicely to the series lore, but the emotional parts are undeveloped and Tom isn Expand
  71. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    Story not that great, comepare to its amazing PS3 counterparts, but overall, R:BS is the best FPS you can find this days on the PSV.
  72. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    After playing a good deal of the campaign and multiplayer I can say that I am satisfied with the game. Sure the graphics are the best, sound effects could be a little better and there are a few minor glitches BUT I can play an FPS wherever whenever and its fun. Isn't that what really matters? If you are a huge FPS fan and want that itch scratch this will take care of it just fine.
  73. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Before I get started I just want to say that this review is just my first impressions, and I will have a full review once I play it more. Im a restance fan I'll admit that, but I was alittle hesidant about picking this up after I saw the critic reviews, but so far Im glad I did! The countrols are great for the most part, but in muilterplayer, it can be hard to use your guns secondery fire option (sence its on the touch screen and not a buttion). The graphics are really good, I mean they wont blow you away, but for a handheld their good. I played the muilterplayer for a couple of hours, and its really fun. You can have up to 8 players in a game at once, and their are lots of custom loadouts options, which I never seen i a handheld. So far I say buy it. Expand
  74. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Overall, Resitance: Burning Skies is a decent first-person shooter. This is the first dual-analog shooter to be released on any handheld device and they nailed the controls. Even though, they do take some getting used to, which won't take very long, and you can have hours of fun. The graphics are pretty mediocre but the gameplay makes up for it. This game is pretty fun to play through the first time but it is extremely short. It only took me about six hours to beat and platinum this title. The story isn't too great either but maybe I just expected too much from Resistance. Here, you play as Tom Riley, a fireman who has just been caught up in a terrible mess. Your goal is to rescue your family and just kill as many aliens as possible. That pretty much sums up the whole story except for the part that you have a female sidekick, Ellie. During levels she does not seem to follow and just teleports randomly which makes it kind of awkward. The multiplayer is extremely simple and if they even added secondary weapons, it would have made it much more awesome but it is still pretty fun to play. Resistance: Burning Skies definitely isn't a bad game but the graphics and story don't allow this title to be a great one either, but the gameplay is definitely satisfying. Expand
  75. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    I think this is kind of bad publicity - all these bad reviews. This game is not awesome, but it is really ok. Good shooting experience, nice guns, action. I would give 9/10 if there were more bosses.
  76. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    After finishing the game, i looked at the meta critic and was surprised. This game was for from mediocre. This may only be the first fps on a handheld, but it is amazing! The gameplay is smooth and responsive and now that the patch is up, the multiplayer works great! I give this an 8.5 out of ten, but above you will see a ten out of ten. This is because i am trying to bring the average up to where it should be. Expand
  77. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    I do not understand why such a bad review about a lot of people compared with the console version which is stupid!! I give now for Uncharted! Best fps mobile game ever! No comment...
  78. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Do not hesitate about purchasing burning skies because it is one of the best vita titles available. You cannot find a portable FPS like this on any other handheld device.
  79. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Did you ever want to play an FPS on a handheld? Or a console?
    Yeah, me neither.
    Still, it's pretty decent I guess. I think the developers accidentally set everything to grayscale mode in Photoshop two months before shipping and just slapped some brown and grey filters over everything.
    Didn't care for the story. Ridge Racer has shown us that stories do not matter in games. It also has a
    far better use for the dual analog sticks that can be used for...camera control and...............
    anyway, this game was good. Nice sounds (I played the Ridge Racer soundtrack over most of it).
    Expand
  80. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    How do you judge the first FPS on a system? Not by comparing it to the other games in the series, which were released on home consoles. Making such a comparison is completely unfair and unrealistic. The first FPS for the Vita could never have delivered as much as resistance 3. What it does offer is a fresh new handheld experience, which is incredibly enjoyable.

    Resistance: Burning
    Skies' gameplay makes fantastic use of the dual analog sticks. The controls take some getting used to because it is an absolutely new experience. Once you get the hang of it, it comes naturally. The story isn't quite up to par with the console versions of the game, but it still offers a new side to a story we have all come to love. The storytelling was oddly compelling for such a simple idea. The pre-level comic book animations with the radio voice overs really made me fall in love.

    The thing I have been most impressed with is the online modes. There are only 4 modes, but all of them are fun time killers just like any CoD or Battlefield. This is the ONLY true online shooter currently available for the Vita, which is all the more reason to pick it up. The matchmaking is seamless and the games glitch less the CoD. If you have a Vita, like shooters, and aren't playing this... you're missing out. With not many games even out for the system besides the old PSP games, this is a great reason to dust of your Vita until more games are released.
    Expand
  81. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    Excuse me sir, please can you let the developers of the actual Resistance games make the Resistance games in the future please? Cheers, i'm fed up of shooting the same enemy type. Its graphics are so boring to look at. Especially when compared to Super Star Dust Delta. Its a ok game, but really? Why not just spend some times making it not look so dull?
  82. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    Having owned RBS game since release I have to say how impressed I am with the way the Psvita controls the action.The game plays extremely well with no lag online. The lure of online has kept me from the single player campaign this is testament to the game play. Having viewed the reviews online I wondered whether to buy it having enjoyed the last game on the psp soooo much I jumped into the action without regret.
    Fantastic game sets the FPS standard.
    Expand
  83. Jul 27, 2012
    7
    This isn't a full review of Resistance Burning Skies as I haven't finished the campaign or tried the online yet. But I am a few levels into the single player now and feel its enough for a good review.

    Anyway let me start by saying I am a big PS3 Resistance fan so I may be a bit biased but honestly I actually really enjoyed Resistance BS! - and do not understand the hate.

    For starters
    I see a lot of reviews complaining particularly about the touch screen controls. But they don't bother me as I have seen much worse on iPad! (yet those iPad games somehow manage to get glowing reviews?!) yes dragging and dropping your grenades is annoying but you don't need to go through all that you just need to aim above your enemy and tap the grenade icon once to throw a grenade accurately at your target! Other than that I've only so far seen the touch screen involved with using your weapons secondary fire which is occasionally frustrating in the heat of battle (when spreading 2 fingers out to throw out a shield yes that does slow down the action a bit) but its a one time thing. Personally I found doing the puzzles in Uncharted with touch screen more irritating!.

    Moving onto the second big complaint: the graphics. I don't know what game the critics have been playing but I have yet to see my vita struggle in the heat of battle. Yes the environments are not as pretty as Uncharted (it's altogether a bit too grey I reckon) but the explosions and fire fights hold up really well!.

    Although I haven't yet played the online side of the game I am looking forward to giving its weapons as good go as I've been really impressed with them in the SP Campaign! There's a wonderful variation And you always seem to be unlocking more! And when you get a new weapon you'll be desperate to see what new secondary fire the weapon holds! From crossbows napalm to the auger and it's shield deployment every weapon holds and exciting new secondary fire mode!

    One of the other main aspects of the Resistance series has always been the boss battles and Burning Skies is no different! Dont worry I wont spoil anything for you but you can be sure there is some big battles to look forward to!


    Finally in terms of length I'd guess Burning Skies has a good sized campaign! Longer than you're average shooter anyway I suppose the lack of Uncharted-like collectables hunting means the single player has little replay value but then you've always got the online and its unlock system (I keep hearing so much about!).

    To sum up my review: Resistance Burning Skies isn not going to set the shooter genre alight but it is a revelation for handheld gaming and shows good signs for things to come!
    Resistance BS = 8.0 / 10
    Expand
  84. Aug 19, 2012
    4
    It's pretty bad. For starters, both the graphics and sound are below average. Every single area is greyish and bland, and there's rarely any background music to accompany the sound of your footsteps. The story is no better; during the whole singleplayer campaign, I didn't come across one single interesting character. Everyone I met were boring and forgettable, and the plot itself is nothing special. There's a multiplayer component included as well, but it's unbalanced and laggy. There's a few decent aspects to game though, including pretty solid controls, a good amount of weapons at your disposal, as well as decent voice acting, but it's ultimately not enough to save Resistance: Burning Skies from being just another generic shooter. Expand
  85. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    Resistance : Burning skies is by no means a great game , but is a fairly good one , it has plenty of problems however , its biggest being how unambitious the developers were with the game . the campaign is forgettable , the sounds quality of guns is terrible , and the multiplayer ( which is fairly fun ) brings nothing new . however i did find the game very fun to play , which some may considers the biggest part of a game . their is a very good feel to the game on a vita , and most of the touch controls are fairly good , although i would have preferred to just press square instead of having to touch doors to open them . The a.i in the game could have been a bit more active and aggressive toward the player , instead of just appearing in corridors waiting to be decapitated by a fireaxe . the game looks okay , but isn't that great , and the cut scenes could have had the protagonist as the voice-over to bring a better character development , although i would happily have the graphics made worse if it had improved the sound somehow , the gunfire sounds like a finger rapidly tapping against a table . Expand
  86. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    For my full review, please visit http://tencentgaming.com/?p=52

    Here are the cliff notes:

    Presentation
  87. Aug 26, 2012
    3
    Graphics median (next playstation 2), sounds bads , median history but good varieties of weapons, good gameplay and multiplayer acceptable which is pioneering a portable. A good pass time for the Vita.
  88. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    It's played on a safe note little bit, but it's works well and I enjoyed it. You'll find here everything you expect from FPS about alien invasion on Earth from the view of fireman who become a hero.
  89. Oct 5, 2012
    2
    It the first FPS on the psvita but it not good graphic look like the iphone games and story it very weak it worth 10 but no high.The touch controls feel tacked on and unintuitive and the enemy AI is ridiculou
  90. Nov 7, 2012
    5
    Meh. It could have been so much better. The story was very unoriginal, combat was repetetive and you only really need to use 2 guns most of the time. I haven't played multiplayer yet because it doesn't support ad-hoc (still can't believe this) but I've heard that it's a laggy melee and shotgun fest from multiple people.

    Many unforgivable visual glitches that show a lack of attention to
    detail by Nihilistic and an overall lack of pride in their work. Bad checkpoint and progress saving design causes you to have to restart your progress on a level if you close the game.

    Nihilistic is making Black Ops: Declassified, and many of us are thinking twice about buying it simply because they're involved. Then there's the fact that not only is Activision going to be keeping all mobile development inside their company after BO:D, but Nihilistic is changing their name and moving to smartphone app development. Also, there has been absolutely no official releases since the original reveal trailer, which was an abomination. This tells me that Nihilistic is not doing a much better job on BO:D, and not only does Activision know it, but Nihilistic does too.
    Expand
  91. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    It's truly a shame that Resistance: Burning Skies has been under fire in many reviews. Now, everyone's allowed to have their opinion, even though I strongly disagree with it and find some scores to be way off. I'll just say that I can't find anything about this game that'd put it on par with some of the worst games out there. Granted, it's not a perfect gaming product and has its fair share of issues, but none of these really harm the overwhelmingly great experience. This is a very good FPS for the Vita. Even if it were on console, I'd still enjoy it just as much.

    Firstly, the presentation is pretty much great. There are some drawbacks such as lousy gun sounds and some weak texture detail in spots, but these two things don't harm the game much at all. The graphics are overall very nice, with some nicely detailed gun models, solid character models for lead characters, an impressive soundtrack, etc. The story is also one of my favorites in the Resistance franchise.

    Secondly, the gameplay is superb. Dual analogs make this a buttery smooth FPS on the go. I didn't know how I'd feel about the touch controls, but I think most of them work well and make sense since you have two shoulder buttons on the Vita instead of four.

    Thirdly, it's just a fun game that has a good story and great gameplay. An odd little glitch or framerate drop is ultimately just a small drawback and not a game killer.

    Resistance: Burning Skies deserves your attention if you're a Vita owner looking for the next good game to spend your spare time on.

    This is a much better game than Nihilistic's Black Ops: Declassified for Vita.
    Expand
  92. Nov 19, 2012
    5
    A decent PS Vita shooter but doesn't last for long. You can beat the campain on Hard in few hours , with earning the Platinum trophy very easily. Online game is kinda fun but also - not for long. This is the kind of game on which has nothing to offer , just a 6 hours of shooting in frame dropped world with strange creatures which you will want to end very quickly just to finish it already. There is almost no replay value , mainly if you are playing on hard for first time - which is easy, only the last boss can make troubles if you dont know how to kill him properly. For a first FPS shooter on PS Vita i was disappointed. Expand
  93. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    This game is a weak shooter experiance. The single player is ok but nothing earth shattering. The multiplayer (which I did not play very long mind you) was twitchy and hard to control. If you see it 20$ or less pick it up if you are craving a mobile shooter but otherwise stick with Unit 13
  94. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    I really don't understand the low scores for this game. And I don't know what critics and users alike expect of shooters on the Vita. I've not yet played Black Ops Declassified, but I'm on my second run-through of the campaign for this one, and I see no fault in playability besides the touch screen for alt fire (which isn't that hard to get used to). The graphics are great (not quite up to snuff with Uncharted: Golden Abyss), the story is simple but good, and the characters, particularly Tom and Ellie, are likable. I think it is amazing that I can even play a game of this caliber on a hand held with the benefit of dual analog sticks. I have no real complaints with this one. It's great fun on the go or lounging around the house. Expand
  95. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    Resistance Burning Skies is a worthy addition to the Resistance universe. Its a bit linear and the audio falls a little flat but we are talking the first FPS on the system (see Red Faction PS3). Its an exciting start. Its £15 on Amazon and you get a decent length campaign, upgrades for weapons, a variety of weapons, good crash detection, head shots, stack overheat kills, trophies, boss fights, mixed ranged and up close combat. All in the faltering 50's alter-universe of the fading Resistance franchise. I rate by considering the system/hardware/lifecycle and comparables. It got pretty slated but to me an objective look can see its strengths the closest comparison is Resistance PSP (which was brilliant) and this is better, much better... Expand
  96. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    Resistance: Burning Skies
    I think it
  97. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    As the first FPS with dual analog sticks on a handhold, the game is great. However, that does not mean Resistance: Burning Skies does not have issues. Lets start with the story for instance. You play as Tom Riley, a firefighter in engine 174. The campaign starts off fun, but it begins to drag to a point where you may want to just drop your Vita and walk back to the store. STORY: The story feels rushed to such degree that when you think you cant get any more sick of clearing out Chimera infested streets and sewer, something goes terribly wrong and you once again are left face to face with another horde of enemies. There are short cutscenes at the beginning of every level, but you may get sick of watching them every time you load a level. Finally, after going through countless missions, you are never given any additional info on the protagonist. GAMEPLAY: Gameplay in Resistance: Burning Skies is okay, but nothing special. There are no new guns other than the Mule (A crossbow/shotgun crossover) and a fire axe. Nihilistic did bring back some guns from the console versions such as the M5A2 Folsom Carbine, the Bullseye, and the Auger. The variety of weapons is small, but for a game on-the-go, eight weapons plus an overwhelming fire axe is more than enough to keep you interested. GRAPHICS: Resistance: Burning Skies graphics are nothing to rave about. At times the graphics can look great, but after a while the textures look blocky and the pixels become very noticeable. The guns and AI look fine, but nothing pops out. MULTIPLAYER: Where the story lets us down, the multiplayer is good enough to amuse you for a good while. Early Resistance: Burning Skies owners were treated to a terrible multiplayer experience where you were almost always kicked out upon joining a game. I am happy to say that a new update has been released, fixing the multiplayer up pretty good. There are little bugs and none to be necessarily worried about. SCORE: Resistance: Burning Skies features a enjoyable campaign and has a multiplayer that will keep you entertained. Resistance: Burning Skies earns a solid 7.5/10 (B+). Expand
  98. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    I was really looking forward to this game, with it being the first FPS for the vita. The graphics are okay, but nowhere near Uncharted. The AI is pretty dumb, they'll mostly just stand in the same spot and shoot at you till they die. The campaign will last you a decent 6 hours, and it has a pretty good story, but nothing stellar. The multiplayer is a decent distraction if you get past its nagging connection issues. A lot of the time I would get in a lobby and then just get kicked out. The multiplayer doesn't have that many weapons, and only a handful of maps, but it can still be fun. It is, however, full of glitches, with people getting on roofs that you're not supposed to get on, and the sniper and shotgun are way overpowered compared to the other weapons. If you're itching for a FPS on your vita, go ahead and pick this up, but if you're patient, I would wait for a better one. Expand
  99. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    Resistance: Burning Skies isn't a good game, but its not a bad one either. The game has many pros and cons, but ultimately its an enjoyable experience. PROS: 1. First dual analog FPS on a handheld 2. Variety of weapons and enemies 3. 6-7 hour campaign 4. Feels like Resistance 5. Variety of collectibles scattered throughout the campaign (Intel & Upgrades) CONS: 1. Boring and broken multiplayer
    2. Poor graphics
    3. Simple boss fights
    4. Annoying Touchscreen controls (Requires you to drag grenades and touch icon to knife)
    5. Poor storyline

    SCORE: 7/10
    Expand
  100. Aug 10, 2013
    5
    After over twelve years of playing FPS games on the poorly designed PSP, I was extremely relieved when I heard that a Resistance game would be coming to the Vita in a first person perspective. In some ways, Resistance: Burning Skies succeeds in bringing the FPS experience to a handheld, but it ends up being a little underwhelming. The games campaign puts us in the boots of Tom Riley, a New York City firefighter searching for his family during the first weeks of the Chimeran invasion. The story ends up falling somewhere in the old "Save the princess from the castle" genre. Its pretty basic, and doesn't ever catch your attention like the PS3 versions of Resistance do. Throughout the 6-7 hour campaign, you are accompanied by Ellie Martinez, a member of the "minuetmen", a group of resistance fighters. Ellie, along with just about every other character in the game, is underdeveloped and unlikeable. There is a point where Tom falls on top of her, and the two of them just stare at each other. Did the developers forget that Tom has a wife and child? The disappointing story aside, Burning Skies is fun. Not great, but fun. The gameplay is good for the most part. It controls practically the same as just about any other FPS on a console. LT and RT are used to aim and shoot while LS and RS allow you to both look and move around the battlefield. Burning Skies uses the Vitas touchscreen to throw grenades, load and/or shoot secondary fires, and axe Chimera. The axe icon works great during firefights against large packs of Chimera, but grenade throwing often feels awkward and unnatural. The Vitas rear touch pad is used to run. This feature works great, but if you don't like it, you can always just press down on the d-pad as an alternative. During the campaign, you will take part in some boss battles, collect "Grey Tech" to upgrade your guns, and discover some intel scattered across the levels. The bosses are challenging at first, but once you've found the secret to killing them, they become extremely easy to beat. Grey Tech played an extremely minor roll in a couple of the previous Resistance games, and it has returned here as one of the major plot points. You can find Gray Tech hidden in the levels, and then use it to customize weapons. Occasionally, Gray Tech will even alter the overall look of your gun. This is a very nice touch. The intel documents hidden in the games campaign don't really add anything particularly interesting to the story, and are largely forgettable. I can only imagine the largest of Resistance fans finding collecting these documents fun. The gameplay is just about the same in the multiplayer too. Early screenshots depicted a fun multiplayer mode that was very similar to that of which in Resistance 3. Unfortunately, the final product is extremely basic. The gun upgrades are the same as in the campaign, and the Mule (a new shotgun/crossbow crossover) is extremely overpowered. The multiplayer ends up feeling like something "traditional", and that isn' exactly a good thing. The maps are alright, but there a little too small for my taste. I could tell you that if you lowered your expectations you'll have fun, but then again, why should you settle for this period? The game doesn't look good either. Most of the textures are horrendous, and environments are empty. There is absolutely no excuse for the poor visuals. The games developers had a good amount of time to make the game, so why does it look this. In comparison to Uncharted: Golden Abyss, this game is a laughingstock. The games developer Nihilistic (now known as nStigate) showed off Burning Skies as a no compromise FPS on the Vita. They lied. Burning Skies has a boring story, poor visuals, and terrible sound effects. The only redeeming qualities of this shooter are its solid gameplay mechanics and its (while rarely heard) musical score. If you want to be able to tell your friends that you played a mediocre FPS on a handheld, pick Burning Skies up. Just about everyone else can feel free to skip this game. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 63
  2. Negative: 10 out of 63
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    48
    Six hours of your life, roughly one hour per each level, will drain away, leaving you only with disappointment.
  2. Aug 10, 2012
    70
    Resistance: Burning Skies is an admirable effort but ends of leaving a lot to be desired. The game may carry the popular Resistance name, but the experience certainly doesn't mimic the standard(s) set by that previous entries in the series. Still, this is solid proof that the FPS-genre can succeed on a handheld system.
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    Proof that first person shooters can work perfectly on portable consoles. The arsenal is as good as ever in the Resistance-series, but the campaign is quite short and forgettable.