Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As New Jersey fire fighter and National Guardsman Tom Riley, you come face to face with the brutal Chimeran invasion force in this shooter built from the ground up for Vita. This latest installment in the franchise focuses on a new mission that parallels and complements the existingAs New Jersey fire fighter and National Guardsman Tom Riley, you come face to face with the brutal Chimeran invasion force in this shooter built from the ground up for Vita. This latest installment in the franchise focuses on a new mission that parallels and complements the existing Resistance storyline. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 63
  2. Negative: 10 out of 63
  1. May 29, 2012
    88
    Delivers everything you want from the first ever real first person shooter on the Vita: action, story, and multiplayer.
  2. Its insistence on your covering the screen in fingerprints is occasionally frustrating, but otherwise this suggests a very bright future for the FPS genre on Vita.
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    Proof that first person shooters can work perfectly on portable consoles. The arsenal is as good as ever in the Resistance-series, but the campaign is quite short and forgettable.
  4. May 29, 2012
    60
    The shooting is top notch, but poor pacing and bland environments ensure you never engage with what's going on, and technical hiccups and formulaic game modes sour the multiplayer. This game proves the potential power of the genre on its device, but not the potential excellence of its own franchise.
  5. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    Resistance: Burning Skies had every right to be an excellent product from nihilistic, but the lack of innovation makes it feel like chewing gum.
  6. Familiar foes and even familiar ideas await to present a paint-by-numbers challenge. Despite occasional clipping, frequent atmosphere-breaking occurrences of bodies blinking out of existence, and an ally who literally warps to your next objective point, Burning Skies isn't a terrible game – it's just horribly average. Admirable ideas are matched by disappointing decisions. [July 2012, p80]
  7. May 28, 2012
    20
    It is visually atrocious, interactively vapid and incomplete to a degree that a full retail price is an insult. It's tempting to buy this just to have something new on the system, but good things come to those that wait, and it's hard to imagine anything not being good compared to this mess.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 112
  2. Negative: 15 out of 112
  1. May 29, 2012
    10
    After playing through the single player campaign, I can safely say it's a very enjoyable experience. :) Not sure what the reviewers wereAfter playing through the single player campaign, I can safely say it's a very enjoyable experience. :) Not sure what the reviewers were playing, but it's a good story with pitch-perfect game play mechanics. It is anywhere from 5 to 8 hours, depending on which difficulty you choose. There is some replay value here, specifically with gun upgrades. This will keep me busy for weeks, at least.

    Then, there is the multi-player. THIS is where the game got addicting. I absolutely LOVE the multi-player. You get into the matches very quickly, also...unlike any PSP game. Lol. If you pick it up for nothing else, get it for this. I highly recommend the game to any Vita owner. Again...no idea why anyone would give it a low review. The graphics aren't terrible either. They're fairly good for a handheld title. It may not look AS good as Uncharted: Golden Abyss or Wipeout 2048, but it's pretty close. It's a must-buy!
    Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    My personal Game of the century, Resistance: Burning Skies mixes awesome Single-Player experience with jaw-dropping multiplayer, why play anyMy personal Game of the century, Resistance: Burning Skies mixes awesome Single-Player experience with jaw-dropping multiplayer, why play any other game when you can play this? Expand
  3. May 31, 2012
    9
    I haven't had this much fun with a handheld console shooter since, ever. The graphics need a bit of polish, but throwing hand grenades fromI haven't had this much fun with a handheld console shooter since, ever. The graphics need a bit of polish, but throwing hand grenades from the touch sceen, sniping with precision, and just bad-assing around with my Vita, especially so early in the development cycle, is a blast. I can easily say, for $39 I've already had more fun with this than a lot of over-hyped $60 titles that get way more love online. It has to be said, no: it's not a PS3 version of Resistance, but it is a super-fun experience, for kicking back with a drink or a coffee, and hanging out blowing up creatures for an hour at a time. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    Resistance Burning Skies is a worthy addition to the Resistance universe. Its a bit linear and the audio falls a little flat but we areResistance Burning Skies is a worthy addition to the Resistance universe. Its a bit linear and the audio falls a little flat but we are talking the first FPS on the system (see Red Faction PS3). Its an exciting start. Its £15 on Amazon and you get a decent length campaign, upgrades for weapons, a variety of weapons, good crash detection, head shots, stack overheat kills, trophies, boss fights, mixed ranged and up close combat. All in the faltering 50's alter-universe of the fading Resistance franchise. I rate by considering the system/hardware/lifecycle and comparables. It got pretty slated but to me an objective look can see its strengths the closest comparison is Resistance PSP (which was brilliant) and this is better, much better... Expand
  5. May 31, 2012
    7
    I felt like the controls and gameplay were fine. I enjoyed playing the campaign, it was pretty fast paced and fun. It clearly wasn't anI felt like the controls and gameplay were fine. I enjoyed playing the campaign, it was pretty fast paced and fun. It clearly wasn't an Insomniac production but it was far from bad. The story was decent but not very deep. I didn't really have an emotional connection to the characters at all. That being said, this is a vita game, it's for playing on the go, and I felt it did that well. It's too bad I have yet been able to get into a multiplayer game. The servers have been down since day one apparently. If multiplayer is fun I would consider giving the game an 8/10. However, advertising multiplayer and then having it not be functional is a big no-no. One thing stands out to me while I play and think about the gameplay - dual analog sticks are awesome! How come it took this long for a portable to have them? Trophies seem to be a breeze too, so if you enjoy collecting trophies, this is a game for you. I do not regret purchasing the game at all I had just hoped for a wee bit more. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    This game is a weak shooter experiance. The single player is ok but nothing earth shattering. The multiplayer (which I did not play very longThis game is a weak shooter experiance. The single player is ok but nothing earth shattering. The multiplayer (which I did not play very long mind you) was twitchy and hard to control. If you see it 20$ or less pick it up if you are craving a mobile shooter but otherwise stick with Unit 13 Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Did you ever want to play an FPS on a handheld? Or a console?
    Yeah, me neither.
    Still, it's pretty decent I guess. I think the developers
    Did you ever want to play an FPS on a handheld? Or a console?
    Yeah, me neither.
    Still, it's pretty decent I guess. I think the developers accidentally set everything to grayscale mode in Photoshop two months before shipping and just slapped some brown and grey filters over everything.
    Didn't care for the story. Ridge Racer has shown us that stories do not matter in games. It also has a far better use for the dual analog sticks that can be used for...camera control and...............
    anyway, this game was good. Nice sounds (I played the Ridge Racer soundtrack over most of it).
    Expand

See all 112 User Reviews