User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 53
  2. Negative: 6 out of 53

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I could never get into early arcade games, but I love this the way I loved Retro Game Challenge on the DS. The reason, in both cases, is that the game provides what those games themselves could not--story, choice, context, a persistent and interesting world to explore. In the case of Retro City Rampage, this is even more true. Not having played many of the games this game references,I could never get into early arcade games, but I love this the way I loved Retro Game Challenge on the DS. The reason, in both cases, is that the game provides what those games themselves could not--story, choice, context, a persistent and interesting world to explore. In the case of Retro City Rampage, this is even more true. Not having played many of the games this game references, I'm sure there are a lot of inside jokes I am missing, but it doesn't matter. The game provides fantastic controls, options, variety. I have not nostalgia for the graphics, and I worried about this at first. However, for me, the graphics provide a perfect framework for my imagination to fill in the rest. The result it hard to describe--I only know that I have chosen to play this over my console several times in the last few days. It is awesome. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Retro City Rampage is loads of fun. That's all I really need to say. It plays like an old school GTA top-down view clone. It controls well and has a fair amount of content, but this is probably one of the most fun I've had with a downloadable title in a while. If you love the idea of open world games along with splattering 8-bit figures around an NES designed street as much as I do, giveRetro City Rampage is loads of fun. That's all I really need to say. It plays like an old school GTA top-down view clone. It controls well and has a fair amount of content, but this is probably one of the most fun I've had with a downloadable title in a while. If you love the idea of open world games along with splattering 8-bit figures around an NES designed street as much as I do, give it a try. Even with the hefty price tag, I could see no reason for you to be disappointed. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This game is halarious. Its a joy to play. It looks like a classic retro game but also plays like a new game. It has a lot of 8 bit refrences but plays basically like the 2d grand theft auto games.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    Retro City Rampage is a masterpiece. I don't often use this word, but i have to say it: this is a perfect game.
    Why? Because it's really really funny, an awesome graphic style, an awesome 8-bit soundtrack and it takes about 20 hours to complete everything (includes trophies).
    Then on Vita it's the greatest version. If you have this console, this is an obligatory purchase!
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    Retro City Rampage is absolutely epic! Yes, it sports the very definition of paradoxical gameplay, yes there's more tongue-in-cheek humour than you can shake a stick at, and yes the 8bit pixel art is a veritable feast for the senses. Indeed Retro City Rampage is all of these things, but it is so much more besides - it's a wonderfully sprawling openworld adventure that is a joy to behold.Retro City Rampage is absolutely epic! Yes, it sports the very definition of paradoxical gameplay, yes there's more tongue-in-cheek humour than you can shake a stick at, and yes the 8bit pixel art is a veritable feast for the senses. Indeed Retro City Rampage is all of these things, but it is so much more besides - it's a wonderfully sprawling openworld adventure that is a joy to behold. At just £8.99 meanwhile, it's even a rather fantastic bargain too, and it deserves the highest praise. In short, it's the best game I've played since Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP (on iOS), and I utterly adore it. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    Great little game for the Vita. Lots of classic 8 bit references and nudges to the 8 bit era. Enjoyed playing every minute of it so far and now i'm thinking about it I will go play a bit more
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    90
    Retro City Rampage pummels you with fantastic video game and movie references throughout, and has the gameplay to back up the funny.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    70
    It's very clear that the developers really do care about the project and all the sources which are parodied and that helps most of the games faults to be forgiven. Retro City Rampage is certainly a game that fans of retro gaming should play and you should have a great time – it's just not likely you'll return after finishing it.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    89
    Retro City Rampage works as an always funny parody of Grand Theft Auto and classic games. But it's much more than that. There's some devilishly clever content here, including a solid action game with consistently humorous writing. Not every joke lands, but the experience is so dense with ridiculous fun that it's impossible to imagine somebody not having a good time with Retro City Rampage!