Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 39
  2. Negative: 20 out of 39
  1. Instead of focusing on Ridge Racer's strengths, Namco Bandai decided to try out a bizarre new business model. The game ships with just a measly five cars and three tracks. Yes, you read those numbers correctly. [March 2012, p.64]
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    30
    A baffling proposition: a racing game with barely any content. It might be cheap, but it's inexcusably lazy.
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    30
    The gameplay alone is overfamilar enough but the appalling value for money and dearth of content makes this the worst Ridge Racer for years.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    30
    Ridge Racer offers incredibly poor value, with a lack of compelling content to back up its competent arcade racing credentials.
  5. It's an overly complicated system that screams of an attempt to be modern and forward-looking, but will actually end up with a bunch of pissed-off purchasers feeling like they've paid nearly 20 pounds for a trial version. Which, to be perfectly honest, is pretty much all this is.
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    30
    This is one of the biggest disappointments of the system, and the year.
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    30
    A shallow demo with minimal functionality outside Wi-Fi access, this just isn't an appealing offer. If the core game was a free download, things could be different. [March 2012, p.91]
  8. Mar 26, 2012
    25
    Where the original was ultimately a launch-pad for grand ideas in subsequent games, the new one is a cynical, impotent attempt at modernization.
  9. 15
    Ridge Racer is a disappointment on all fronts, and feels more like a horrible car wreck. While the racing itself is decent, it crashes dead smack into a brick wall of poor planning, lazy development, and a complete lack of content.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 15 out of 20
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    3
    I bought this against my better judgment so I'm going to try my best to make a well-informed and detailed review. As you probably alreadyI bought this against my better judgment so I'm going to try my best to make a well-informed and detailed review. As you probably already know, this game is a terrible value, even with the added DLC. For $30 you get 5 cars and 3 courses. If you buy the digital version (which is $25) by April 30th, you get an extra 5 cars and 3 courses. This DLC pack on it's own is $7.50, so to get the same value you will need to wait until the physical copy is ~$17. If you have the extra memory space and must have this game, you should probably buy it now.

    So how is the game itself? Well if it was strong foundation it would have made this $30 investment somewhat more palatable. However, the core game is pretty weak in all respects. First off, there is no single-player campaign. You have either Spot Race (typical 8 car race) or Time Race, and that's it for single-player. This is particularly disappointing given how well done the PSP Ridge Racer was, with many tours that were well paced. Luckily the Vita features Trophies, which gives you a good incentive to keep playing single player. This doesn't replace the campaign by any means, but it's still fun to chase trophies.

    It's a good thing then that the online is pretty robust. You get your standard online racer, but also a mode called Ghost racing, where you try to beat a "ghost"'s fastest time on the track. This offers an online facet without the problems of lag.

    The cars themselves are very detailed and look great. However, the courses are a huge problem. Having play the original Ridge Racer Portable on the Vita immediately before playing this, I see very little difference in the courses' graphics. The courses simply look like anti-aliased versions of the PSP Ridge Racer courses. Moreover, many (if not all) are the same exact courses from Ridge Racer 7. This makes the game's already paltry amount of courses even more mundane.

    Overall, if you are a Ridge Racer fan and own a Vita, you will probably buy this and enjoy it. But ultimately that doesn't change the fact that you'll be angry about spending $30 for this. I would have been much, much happier if they had simply released a remastered, HD version of Ridge Racer Portable 2 (which sadly never came to the States). I really love Ridge Racer but purchasing this game just left a horrible aftertaste in my mouth. Here's to hoping they've learned a harsh lesson with the critical reception and build a much better successor.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    When you get the game it only has 3 tracks on the cart, but the game comes with a downloadable code to give you 3 more tracks(though only twoWhen you get the game it only has 3 tracks on the cart, but the game comes with a downloadable code to give you 3 more tracks(though only two of those are available right now), which brings the total number of tracks to 6. Or 12 if you count the fact that you can reverse each track.

    In April 2012 there will be another set of DLC which will include 3 more tracks, 5 cars and some extra songs and that will cost about 7 bucks.

    Yes there is a lot of DLC in this game but a lot of it is free or reasonably priced.

    There are about 56 free music tracks up for download on PlayStation Network(bringing the total of free music tracks in the game to over 60), this game has more music than any other Ridge Racer game.

    The most important part of the game for me is the gameplay and it is great there and the CPU is challenging; the online mode is pretty fun as well(though its tough at first as some people have much higher car stats).

    After extensive playtime(about 20 hours on game clock) I still highly recommend this game if you want a portable Ridge Racer game that you can take online, I've now leveled up to the highest level and maxed out my vehicles stats and the game is still very fun and challenging.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Look, I'm not going to pretend it's the fullest, best racer ever released...
    BUT
    For me, it's the best racing experience on the Vita (not inc.
    Look, I'm not going to pretend it's the fullest, best racer ever released...
    BUT
    For me, it's the best racing experience on the Vita (not inc. Wipeout - different style)
    For your £17 - you have on your memory card at all times (very handy) 12 tracks (6 back and forward) a host of cars and more downloadable tunes that you can shake a stick at..
    Arcade racing is fun, but the real drive here(!) is going against real opponent ghosts and online lobbies...
    I've played people across the globe with zero lag and tried to best people's ghosts and not to mention the surprise you get when you received the devil's gift!
    Honestly, it plays a million times better than asphalt and all the dross that lingers in the 40s / 50s on metacritic... it's cheap, it handles perfectly the graphics are pretty damned good too...
    Sometimes reviews are wrong - this is one of those times... worth every penny...
    Full Review »