Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 39
  2. Negative: 20 out of 39
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    30
    A baffling proposition: a racing game with barely any content. It might be cheap, but it's inexcusably lazy.
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    30
    Ridge Racer offers incredibly poor value, with a lack of compelling content to back up its competent arcade racing credentials.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    50
    If you're going to ask people to buy your content it's a good idea to make it compelling in the first place, and Ridge Racer doesn't do that.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    30
    This is one of the biggest disappointments of the system, and the year.
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    60
    Disturbing lack of content impedes the score, but what is here is streamlined, speedy fun. [March 2012, p.75]
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    I know I sound mad when I say the lack of content doesn't kill it, but it truly doesn't. I can tell I'm going to be coming back to this for months, even without the extra tracks. This is a surprisingly fun game and I'm glad it exists. Good ol' Ridge Racer.
  7. Mar 29, 2012
    55
    It would have been wise to delay the game for some months in order to create enough content, as what is included in the game is just too limited. Requiring permanent connection to make the most of the game is also a poor decision.
  8. Apr 13, 2012
    58
    Ridge Racer for the PS Vita is the epitome of disappointment. With a serious lack of options and content, racing fans will be let down at every turn by Namco's latest offering. The game is good for a quick pick up, and only then, the appeal wears off after one or two races.
  9. Feb 28, 2012
    50
    An anemic release, even for a budget title. [Issue#119, p.100]
  10. Feb 27, 2012
    54
    Ridge Racer disappoints on Vita, although car handling are top notch.
  11. Feb 16, 2012
    71
    It's decent, yet I'm somewhat disappointed. It doesn't really use the PS Vita features, might as well have been a PSP game. That, and why does only online play really count?
  12. Feb 28, 2012
    40
    Few tracks, few cars, little fun. Ridge Racer is an ugly demo sold at thirty euro with the amazing idea of expanding the game content through DLC.
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    50
    Five cars and three tracks. It makes no sense to buy now Ridge Racer for PS Life. The advice is to wait for the DLC and thought to its purchase.
  14. May 19, 2012
    40
    There's a nice idea hidden somewhere in Ridge Race for the Vita, but it just doesn't come out of its shell. The focus lays on online races, and not even very expansive. Just being able to have a good race has been overlooked with this racer.
  15. Feb 21, 2012
    50
    In essence, Ridge Racer Vita is a pretty fun racer with some interesting concepts. It is sold for a far too high price and with far too little content however, seriously holding back the game's potential.
  16. Mar 22, 2012
    45
    Like clockwork, Ridge Racer is sliding in for the launch of a new PlayStation. Rather than delivering a fast-paced payload, this Vita racer is here just to take your money and run.
  17. Feb 22, 2012
    30
    The gameplay alone is overfamilar enough but the appalling value for money and dearth of content makes this the worst Ridge Racer for years.
  18. Feb 22, 2012
    40
    Ridge Racer for PS Vita is simply the worst experiment in the video games industry that we've seen in ages.
  19. It's an overly complicated system that screams of an attempt to be modern and forward-looking, but will actually end up with a bunch of pissed-off purchasers feeling like they've paid nearly 20 pounds for a trial version. Which, to be perfectly honest, is pretty much all this is.
  20. Mar 11, 2012
    55
    If it was released for free, as a platform to hook people on paid-for DLC, Ridge Racer would be pretty cool. As it stands, at full retail price, it's one of the most preposterously ridiculous and - frankly - offensive attempts at separating a gamer from their money that we've ever seen.
  21. Feb 24, 2012
    40
    Simply put, the content doesn't match with the price, not even close. There is space for alternative price models, but Ridge Racer asks way too much for this first step, which ruins the whole idea. It may have a future, but its present is poor.
  22. Feb 22, 2012
    48
    Released for free, this would have been an interesting experiment – if still backed up with a boring, chugging racing game. As it stands it's the latter point mixed in with a £20-shaped slap in the face. Absolutely pointless.
  23. 40
    An example of how unsympathetic and otherwise hilarious a game can be. For not a lot of money you get the plain base and the rest you have to buy – and play it in multiplayer only. [March 2012]
  24. Feb 14, 2012
    30
    A shallow demo with minimal functionality outside Wi-Fi access, this just isn't an appealing offer. If the core game was a free download, things could be different. [March 2012, p.91]
  25. The problem here is the convoluted content and pricing structure: 30 bucks delivers a measly three tracks and five cars. [June 2012, p.79]
  26. Feb 20, 2012
    62
    Thankfully the shaky framerate and the meager content with focus on DLC and track recycling are not exemplary for Vita games. Ridge Racer disappoints on the new platform, although soundtrack and car handling are top notch.
  27. Mar 26, 2012
    25
    Where the original was ultimately a launch-pad for grand ideas in subsequent games, the new one is a cynical, impotent attempt at modernization.
  28. Mar 27, 2012
    40
    It has a criminally low number of courses that have all appeared in previous Ridge Racer games, no interesting career structure whatsoever, a new car customizing feature that somehow manages to make the "machines" feel less unique, and a bunch of music that also appeared in the old games. You'd have to be extremely hard up for any form of ridge racing for this to add up to something worth purchasing.
  29. The only way this Vita version differentiates itself from the umpteenth Ridge Racers out there is the way it feels like a demo. You only get three cars and five tracks and no solo career. Want more content? Start paying, sucker. [April 2012, p79]
  30. Feb 22, 2012
    50
    I wouldn't necessarily be too concerned about the track and car count, but I would have liked to have seen a more substantial single player.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 15 out of 20
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    3
    I bought this against my better judgment so I'm going to try my best to make a well-informed and detailed review. As you probably already know, this game is a terrible value, even with the added DLC. For $30 you get 5 cars and 3 courses. If you buy the digital version (which is $25) by April 30th, you get an extra 5 cars and 3 courses. This DLC pack on it's own is $7.50, so to get the same value you will need to wait until the physical copy is ~$17. If you have the extra memory space and must have this game, you should probably buy it now.

    So how is the game itself? Well if it was strong foundation it would have made this $30 investment somewhat more palatable. However, the core game is pretty weak in all respects. First off, there is no single-player campaign. You have either Spot Race (typical 8 car race) or Time Race, and that's it for single-player. This is particularly disappointing given how well done the PSP Ridge Racer was, with many tours that were well paced. Luckily the Vita features Trophies, which gives you a good incentive to keep playing single player. This doesn't replace the campaign by any means, but it's still fun to chase trophies.

    It's a good thing then that the online is pretty robust. You get your standard online racer, but also a mode called Ghost racing, where you try to beat a "ghost"'s fastest time on the track. This offers an online facet without the problems of lag.

    The cars themselves are very detailed and look great. However, the courses are a huge problem. Having play the original Ridge Racer Portable on the Vita immediately before playing this, I see very little difference in the courses' graphics. The courses simply look like anti-aliased versions of the PSP Ridge Racer courses. Moreover, many (if not all) are the same exact courses from Ridge Racer 7. This makes the game's already paltry amount of courses even more mundane.

    Overall, if you are a Ridge Racer fan and own a Vita, you will probably buy this and enjoy it. But ultimately that doesn't change the fact that you'll be angry about spending $30 for this. I would have been much, much happier if they had simply released a remastered, HD version of Ridge Racer Portable 2 (which sadly never came to the States). I really love Ridge Racer but purchasing this game just left a horrible aftertaste in my mouth. Here's to hoping they've learned a harsh lesson with the critical reception and build a much better successor.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    When you get the game it only has 3 tracks on the cart, but the game comes with a downloadable code to give you 3 more tracks(though only two of those are available right now), which brings the total number of tracks to 6. Or 12 if you count the fact that you can reverse each track.

    In April 2012 there will be another set of DLC which will include 3 more tracks, 5 cars and some extra songs and that will cost about 7 bucks.

    Yes there is a lot of DLC in this game but a lot of it is free or reasonably priced.

    There are about 56 free music tracks up for download on PlayStation Network(bringing the total of free music tracks in the game to over 60), this game has more music than any other Ridge Racer game.

    The most important part of the game for me is the gameplay and it is great there and the CPU is challenging; the online mode is pretty fun as well(though its tough at first as some people have much higher car stats).

    After extensive playtime(about 20 hours on game clock) I still highly recommend this game if you want a portable Ridge Racer game that you can take online, I've now leveled up to the highest level and maxed out my vehicles stats and the game is still very fun and challenging.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    1
    I'm a big Ridge Racer fan and have been since day 1. This is 15% of the content of a normal RR title so I am disgusted that I was charged £20 for it. I got a Vita and thought 'RR is usually a safe bet.....' This belongs in the 'Fireworks' and 'TTFB' pricerange ie FREE. Shame on you SCEE. Full Review »