Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    100
    I should emphasize, however, that while these flaws exist, they're really fairly minor. They certainly didn't detract from my overall enjoyment of Rocketbirds and, I suspect, they won't hurt anyone else's enjoyment of it either. You'll forget about them pretty quickly, and you'll be left with the memory of a smart, funny inventive game long after you're done.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    90
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken was a genuine surprise. I wasn’t expecting much outside of a silly romp that pitted chickens against penguins for world supremacy. What I got was a game that had contained the plight of child soldiers, guerrilla warfare and redemption all wrapped in a near-inappropriate layer of silliness.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    86
    A real gem for every game collection. We felt greatly entertained by its black humor, its sarcasm and the brutal comic action. The controls which are easy to pick up round out this enjoyable package which is already whetting our appetite for the second installment.
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    80
    Hilarious, insane, intense, violent, and at the same time, completely ridiculous, Rocketbirds is a truly enjoyable game. The otherwise great game is only held back by sluggish controls that keep it from achieving its true potential as a great game.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Ratloop Asia's greatest achievement with Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is the successful combination of diverse 2D gameplay, dark story tones, atmospheric visual settings, and imaginative audio work. This delightful handheld port will surprise Vita gamers who wrongly anticipate a generic platformer or shooter.
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Rocketbirds is more heavyweight than featherweight, with slick puzzling and oodles of style.
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    The perfect game for those who grew up playing 16 bit games and watching Rambo movies. Loads of 2D action, fun and platforming in this title, that fits pretty well in the PSVita scheme.
  8. Apr 13, 2013
    78
    Rich environments and stylish visuals fit perfectly on the handheld, and the levels are varied and darkly amusing. [May 2013, p.81]
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    75
    In the end, it feels like the externals were worked on more than the gameplay, making the game more style than substance.
  10. Feb 18, 2013
    74
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is an interesting, addictive and funny platformer.
  11. Feb 25, 2013
    73
    With some personality, a sense of humor and a new co-op campaign, Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken presents an offer for the Playstation Vita that is hard to beat. When compared to the PlayStation 3 version, the new features are scarce and do not make a real different, but the fact that we can carry around this adventure and its fair price can very well justify its purchase.
  12. Mar 10, 2013
    70
    Ratloop's Rocketbirds: Hardiboiled Chicken give to a rather conventional shooter/platforming game some unexpected depth, in the form of an interesting storyline and characters introspection. What stands out is its value production, more than brilliant level design or brand new ideas. A good choice for any PS Vita gamer out there.
  13. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a really interesting and funny platformer available for PS Vita, with amazing graphics and superb soundtrack. Control schema is a bit clumsy and integration with Vita’s hardware could have been better, but it’s definitely worth a try.
  14. Feb 22, 2013
    70
    There’s a polish here that belies the game’s browser origins, even if the Vita-specific additions – a tilt-controlled camera, rear touch for aiming grenades – are little more than token gimmicks.
  15. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    The Vita desperately needs good new games such as Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken. It's not a system seller, but this is solid and stylish side-scrolling action for hardcore players and beginners alike.
  16. Feb 15, 2013
    68
    Control hiccups and odd design choices keep breaking the game's spell.
  17. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    What’s rather galling and confusing is the fact this is the third version of this game to exist after the PS3 and the original browser game.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is properly awesome! I'm only halfway through the campaign right now, and I'm yet to try the multiplayer modes, but my early impressions are so overwhelmingly positive that I wanted to give those still sitting on the fence a very quick heads up: buy this game now!! I'll post more detailed impressions soon. Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    wonderful game from start to finish, reminds me a lot of Blackthorne that came out in the 90's. tight gameplay controls, minimal touch screen usage (thankfully), beautifully drawn and animated graphics and a fun story really separate this game from the rest. a definite must own! Full Review »
  3. May 20, 2013
    8
    A good game for a very low price. I was shockingly impressed by the amazing cutscenes and music. I have yet to try the multiplayer, but the campaign has been top notch. I can easily recommend this to anyone who is a fan of action games on the go. Full Review »