Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Feb 18, 2013
    74
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is an interesting, addictive and funny platformer.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    73
    With some personality, a sense of humor and a new co-op campaign, Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken presents an offer for the Playstation Vita that is hard to beat. When compared to the PlayStation 3 version, the new features are scarce and do not make a real different, but the fact that we can carry around this adventure and its fair price can very well justify its purchase.
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    70
    Ratloop's Rocketbirds: Hardiboiled Chicken give to a rather conventional shooter/platforming game some unexpected depth, in the form of an interesting storyline and characters introspection. What stands out is its value production, more than brilliant level design or brand new ideas. A good choice for any PS Vita gamer out there.
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a really interesting and funny platformer available for PS Vita, with amazing graphics and superb soundtrack. Control schema is a bit clumsy and integration with Vita’s hardware could have been better, but it’s definitely worth a try.
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    70
    There’s a polish here that belies the game’s browser origins, even if the Vita-specific additions – a tilt-controlled camera, rear touch for aiming grenades – are little more than token gimmicks.
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    The Vita desperately needs good new games such as Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken. It's not a system seller, but this is solid and stylish side-scrolling action for hardcore players and beginners alike.
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    68
    Control hiccups and odd design choices keep breaking the game's spell.
  8. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    What’s rather galling and confusing is the fact this is the third version of this game to exist after the PS3 and the original browser game.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is properly awesome! I'm only halfway through the campaign right now, and I'm yet to try the multiplayerRocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is properly awesome! I'm only halfway through the campaign right now, and I'm yet to try the multiplayer modes, but my early impressions are so overwhelmingly positive that I wanted to give those still sitting on the fence a very quick heads up: buy this game now!! I'll post more detailed impressions soon. Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    wonderful game from start to finish, reminds me a lot of Blackthorne that came out in the 90's. tight gameplay controls, minimal touch screenwonderful game from start to finish, reminds me a lot of Blackthorne that came out in the 90's. tight gameplay controls, minimal touch screen usage (thankfully), beautifully drawn and animated graphics and a fun story really separate this game from the rest. a definite must own! Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2016
    9
    As far as PS Vita games go, RocketBirds has a firm spot in the list of top 5 games to own. I'm not generally a huge fan of side scrollers,As far as PS Vita games go, RocketBirds has a firm spot in the list of top 5 games to own. I'm not generally a huge fan of side scrollers, but Rocketbirds is an exceptional game. Its got fun gameplay, good graphics, great aesthetics, great soundtrack, and a surprisingly good plot. In fact some of the cut scenes are downright inspired. Maybe as a game across all platforms this title may rest at around the 7/10 level, but as far as PS Vita games are concerned this game is an easy 9/10. When you consider its a title that's only around 10 bucks on PSN, this game is a must have for vita owners who want to get the more bang for their cluck. Yeah. I went there. Full Review »