Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    100
    I should emphasize, however, that while these flaws exist, they're really fairly minor. They certainly didn't detract from my overall enjoyment of Rocketbirds and, I suspect, they won't hurt anyone else's enjoyment of it either. You'll forget about them pretty quickly, and you'll be left with the memory of a smart, funny inventive game long after you're done.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    90
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken was a genuine surprise. I wasn’t expecting much outside of a silly romp that pitted chickens against penguins for world supremacy. What I got was a game that had contained the plight of child soldiers, guerrilla warfare and redemption all wrapped in a near-inappropriate layer of silliness.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    86
    A real gem for every game collection. We felt greatly entertained by its black humor, its sarcasm and the brutal comic action. The controls which are easy to pick up round out this enjoyable package which is already whetting our appetite for the second installment.
  4. Dec 28, 2015
    82
    Rocketbirds Hardboiled is an excellent and really fun platform shooter, with good level design, mind hacking mechanics, explosive soundtrack and a bunch of great weapons.
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    80
    Hilarious, insane, intense, violent, and at the same time, completely ridiculous, Rocketbirds is a truly enjoyable game. The otherwise great game is only held back by sluggish controls that keep it from achieving its true potential as a great game.
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Ratloop Asia's greatest achievement with Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is the successful combination of diverse 2D gameplay, dark story tones, atmospheric visual settings, and imaginative audio work. This delightful handheld port will surprise Vita gamers who wrongly anticipate a generic platformer or shooter.
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Rocketbirds is more heavyweight than featherweight, with slick puzzling and oodles of style.
  8. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    The perfect game for those who grew up playing 16 bit games and watching Rambo movies. Loads of 2D action, fun and platforming in this title, that fits pretty well in the PSVita scheme.
  9. Games Master UK
    Apr 13, 2013
    78
    Rich environments and stylish visuals fit perfectly on the handheld, and the levels are varied and darkly amusing. [May 2013, p.81]
  10. Apr 1, 2013
    75
    In the end, it feels like the externals were worked on more than the gameplay, making the game more style than substance.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is properly awesome! I'm only halfway through the campaign right now, and I'm yet to try the multiplayerRocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is properly awesome! I'm only halfway through the campaign right now, and I'm yet to try the multiplayer modes, but my early impressions are so overwhelmingly positive that I wanted to give those still sitting on the fence a very quick heads up: buy this game now!! I'll post more detailed impressions soon. Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    wonderful game from start to finish, reminds me a lot of Blackthorne that came out in the 90's. tight gameplay controls, minimal touch screenwonderful game from start to finish, reminds me a lot of Blackthorne that came out in the 90's. tight gameplay controls, minimal touch screen usage (thankfully), beautifully drawn and animated graphics and a fun story really separate this game from the rest. a definite must own! Full Review »
  3. Dec 6, 2015
    9
    Got this game via PS+ and didn't really know what to expect, but was very happily surprised. It's a great mix of genresGot this game via PS+ and didn't really know what to expect, but was very happily surprised. It's a great mix of genres (action/puzzle/platform) with really beautiful graphics. Superb humour too! Good (Dutch) localisation effort in general. I can highly recommend it for your PSV collection! Full Review »