User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is properly awesome! I'm only halfway through the campaign right now, and I'm yet to try the multiplayer modes, but my early impressions are so overwhelmingly positive that I wanted to give those still sitting on the fence a very quick heads up: buy this game now!! I'll post more detailed impressions soon.
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    wonderful game from start to finish, reminds me a lot of Blackthorne that came out in the 90's. tight gameplay controls, minimal touch screen usage (thankfully), beautifully drawn and animated graphics and a fun story really separate this game from the rest. a definite must own!
  3. Oct 1, 2016
    9
    As far as PS Vita games go, RocketBirds has a firm spot in the list of top 5 games to own. I'm not generally a huge fan of side scrollers, but Rocketbirds is an exceptional game. Its got fun gameplay, good graphics, great aesthetics, great soundtrack, and a surprisingly good plot. In fact some of the cut scenes are downright inspired. Maybe as a game across all platforms this title mayAs far as PS Vita games go, RocketBirds has a firm spot in the list of top 5 games to own. I'm not generally a huge fan of side scrollers, but Rocketbirds is an exceptional game. Its got fun gameplay, good graphics, great aesthetics, great soundtrack, and a surprisingly good plot. In fact some of the cut scenes are downright inspired. Maybe as a game across all platforms this title may rest at around the 7/10 level, but as far as PS Vita games are concerned this game is an easy 9/10. When you consider its a title that's only around 10 bucks on PSN, this game is a must have for vita owners who want to get the more bang for their cluck. Yeah. I went there. Expand
  4. May 20, 2013
    8
    A good game for a very low price. I was shockingly impressed by the amazing cutscenes and music. I have yet to try the multiplayer, but the campaign has been top notch. I can easily recommend this to anyone who is a fan of action games on the go.
  5. Dec 6, 2015
    9
    Got this game via PS+ and didn't really know what to expect, but was very happily surprised. It's a great mix of genres (action/puzzle/platform) with really beautiful graphics. Superb humour too! Good (Dutch) localisation effort in general. I can highly recommend it for your PSV collection!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 28, 2015
    82
    Rocketbirds Hardboiled is an excellent and really fun platform shooter, with good level design, mind hacking mechanics, explosive soundtrack and a bunch of great weapons.
  2. Games Master UK
    Apr 13, 2013
    78
    Rich environments and stylish visuals fit perfectly on the handheld, and the levels are varied and darkly amusing. [May 2013, p.81]
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    75
    In the end, it feels like the externals were worked on more than the gameplay, making the game more style than substance.