Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Apr 8, 2012
    45
    Shinobido 2 is a game with a few nice ideas. For instance: it has a decent pace for a stealth game with open levels that offer multiple paths. But before you'll be able to see the good that it has to offer, you'll most likely be scared off by the other awful aspects it has, like atrocious graphics, too many menus and load screens, a boring and cliché-filled story and constant repetition in gameplay.
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    45
    Just a bunch of poorly controlled quests weaved together with a very thin story. If it was only a few bucks, it would be a decent distraction for people looking to be ninjas on the go, but as a full price PlayStation Vita, I can't recommend it.
  3. Mar 1, 2012
    40
    Mediocre stealth action is the order of the day in this forgettable sequel.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    40
    Feels like it's been hiding in the bushes for years, growing old as it waits to spring out on stealth fans. [March 2012, p.92]
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    35
    Exploitable enemy AI and finicky physics spoil Shinobido 2's stealthy aspirations.
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    33
    I'm certainly not opposed to playing a great Tenchu-style stealth game, but Shinobido is a far cry from what I'd call great. It has a handful of decent ideas that are surrounded by lackluster presentation and gameplay. A bit more variety, in both level design and enemies, would have gone a long way towards making this a better experience. As it stands, I can't really suggest picking this title up, even if you're a fan of Acquire's previous work.
  7. Apr 12, 2012
    30
    This one's a dud. [May 2012, p.83]
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    6
    I gave Shinobido 2 a 6. I did juggle with the idea of giving a 7 score, but I believe the game doesn't offer enough variety to warrant aI gave Shinobido 2 a 6. I did juggle with the idea of giving a 7 score, but I believe the game doesn't offer enough variety to warrant a higher score. My initial playthrough has lasted around 8 hours, a fair length - and the game does dole out an array of optional character skins and costumes to make further plathroughs more enjoyable.
    The reason why Shinobido 2 didn't score higher for me, is because it suffers from a fairly flat execution of it's story, the cutscenes, while visually at a fairly nice standard, with a nice attention to detail, generally don't pack much of a visual punch. The characters themselves are pretty one dimensional, with our hero, Zen, being almost irritatingly stubborn. It's clear this is a direct sequel to the first game, so the story is harder to grasp to newcomers to the series like myself. It also makes the intentions of the villain fairly obscured because it relates directly to events that happened in the previous game.
    It simply comes across as being half baked, the creators could have done so much more with such a combination of unusual characters, but it feels as though we gleam most of the characteristics of these people from the ending montage!
    Another conflicting aspect of the game is the overall presentation, beautiful music dampened by basic sound effects, pretty locations plagued with repetition, nice character models with basic animation.
    The missions themselves offer various styles, including kidnapping, sabotage, retrieving documents, bodyguard work, annihilation, hunting and good old assassination - this is where the game works it's magic. Going back to the most basic forms of stealth gameplay, the game offers the most enjoyment - suffering only when we're forced to do face-to-face combat because the janky, unyielding nature of the gameplay can frustrate.
    Another aspect of the game that regrettably under-delivers is the daimyo, or warlord association. By carrying out missions from certain daimyo you can improve your reputation with them, unlocking certain gifts and rarer missions. Basically you can aid certain daimyo to win the war, by favouring one over another you can sway the outcome of the war however you like. The outcome itself doesn't appear to affect the story - however I did unlock a unique cutscene at the end of the game along with my A ranking *wink wink* So again, while it does fall short of what it could have been, it does offer replay value should you choose to back the other daimyo (three to choose from) in future playthroughs
    Shinobido 2 is a game of potential, and there is a lot of value in it should you choose to seek it, just don't expect to be blown away in your playthrough, with a steep curve to attune yourself with the controls, and the gameplay in general, many people will be put off straight away. After a few hours though I did very much enjoy the good old Tenchu nature of the game, and I will continue to jump in every now and then to back those other daimyo, and perhaps play as a bear!
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    It is sooo obvious which publishers are paying the critics and who aren't. How could anyone score MW3 higher than shinibido 2? This game isIt is sooo obvious which publishers are paying the critics and who aren't. How could anyone score MW3 higher than shinibido 2? This game is deep and highly enjoyable, totally disregard the critics and go with user reviews needless to say. Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2012
    3
    The controls are the worst I've ever seen. The graphics are okay I guess and the storyline is even more **** Best not spend your hard earnedThe controls are the worst I've ever seen. The graphics are okay I guess and the storyline is even more **** Best not spend your hard earned money on this title ;). Full Review »